wazua Wed, Apr 24, 2024

772 Pages«<596597598599600>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
Ericsson
#11941 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2019 10:54:48 PM

Fyatu wrote:
I am not a sharehoder of KQ but would like to comment about the PPP document posted by @Obiero.

On page 69. of the document there are two graphs. One showing competition by other airlines for KQ at Nairobi hub(JKIA) and another showing competition for Ethiopian in Addis. The KQ graph on the left shows a steep rise in competition circa 2015-2016. I suspect the cause of this sharp rise in competition was a government policy to open airspace(reference needed). If this is the cause then government can write another policy revoking the other policy.

On page 8,of the document they list one of the benefits of the SPV as infrastructure upgrade. They further talk of runway efficiency without building a second runway. They also talk about building terminal 1E permanently and upgrading other terminals etc in page 10.

The question is,.....

is the government/KAA/ministry of transport not able to build infrastructure?

Who has been running JKIA if not GoK/KAA?

So if JKIA is fully owned by GOK and Bole in Addis is fully owned by govt. of Ethiopia, why do we need SPV when government and MPs can write policy/legislation to ensure all operations at JKIA are consolidated and airspace is skewed towards KQ's favour?Do we need SPV for this?

Where is the SPV going to get money to build terminals, runway and buy 20 planes?Is it going to be our taxes since the document states that the reasons Ethiopian, Rwandair and Air Tanzania are competing well is because their own hubs are owned by their governments/tax payers/wananinchi.

Is this document telling Kenyans that KQ proposes that government of Kenya takes over JKIA, buys out all shares of KQ so as KQ becomes 100% govt. owned like Air Tanzania?Do we need SPV to achieve this?

@Fyatu the only profitable airports in Kenya are Wilson and JKIA.. That's why KQ needs JKIA whose success is likely to spur other airports into profitability.. GoK doesn't have any more funds to throw at KAA or KQ, thus the SPV

KAA can source for loans on its own,use the money to develop the Airports in kenya and repay without the assistance of KQ
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#11942 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2019 11:27:46 PM

Ericsson wrote:
A kenyan can be sourced and at a cheaper package and he will do a wonderful job

National Oil picks British consultant to guide its turnaround
https://www.businessdail...34662-f7iqf5z/index.html
#11943 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 12:09:12 AM

[quote=Ericsson]A kenyan can be sourced and at a cheaper package and he will do a wonderful job

National Oil picks British consultant to guide its turnaround
https://www.businessdail...4662-f7iqf5z/index.html[/quote]

Kenyattas pick mzungus to head parastatals where they have strategic interests but we see through their smoke screens.
ArrestedDev
#11944 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 1:37:13 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:
nairobby wrote:
[quote=obiero]The much anticipated and misunderstood PIIP document http://www.winda.co.ke/Proposed-PPP-KAA-KQ.pdf[/quote]

I love KQ but this doc doesn't explain how this PPP will reduce KQ's biggest problem which is the crazy high cost structure

The cost structure was primarily laden with expensive debt. That line is now down 41% post restructuring. Fleet rationalization also hit at the expenses by 18%.. Overall the expense lines are under unrelenting attack hence union agitation

What do you mean by saying fleet rationalisation hit the expenses by 18%. Fleet reduction is among the stupid decisions made during the restructuring being referred to by Mikosz in the recent press conference he held.

MJ is being quoted saying the opposite of what Mikosz said. They are not reading from the same script. KQ recovery is far away.

The reduction in services being mentioned by Mikosz includes terminating routes e.g. Newyork.

Cancel NYC flights? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
After all the drama we were subjected to? d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Hard drugs.. NYC will not be pulled out

It will go with Mikosz. KQ cannot sustain expansion if it is not making money.

This is why Mikosz is stepping out if KAA deal does not go through.

Even the B777 coming back this year will likely be sold as KQ won’t afford to repay the lease costs.
ArrestedDev
#11945 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 1:42:36 AM

Ericsson wrote:

Really? Which Kenyan CEO is doing an amazing job at a parastatal?

The best guy for the job as I always say(said) was Yves... The cartels pushed him out... He was around the other day and said he should be back...

Why depend on one man.. What makes you think KALPA will welcome him with open arms. The debate has now turned racist and Kenyans appear to want a black CEO, like Bob Collymore 😁

Nothing racist on this. The guy does not understand what it is required to pull the Airline out of the mess.

He cannot blame the pilots for asking a pay rise yet he is keeping consultants duplicating roles at a hefty pay, appointing slay queens to very critical roles and spending big in his funded company account on top of his hefty salary.

ArrestedDev
#11946 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 1:49:58 AM

Ericsson wrote:

The best guy for the job as I always say(said) was Yves... The cartels pushed him out... He was around the other day and said he should be back...

The problem is that he never questioned the stupid and childish decisions made by Naikuni and Ngunze.

He only misses the hefty pay and the king like lifestyle they are accorded in Kenya.

@maka whom did he meet while he was there, MJ? If this is the case then Mikosz is being ejected. The recent press conference tells a lot.
#11947 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 5:59:51 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
I am not a sharehoder of KQ but would like to comment about the PPP document posted by @Obiero.

On page 69. of the document there are two graphs. One showing competition by other airlines for KQ at Nairobi hub(JKIA) and another showing competition for Ethiopian in Addis. The KQ graph on the left shows a steep rise in competition circa 2015-2016. I suspect the cause of this sharp rise in competition was a government policy to open airspace(reference needed). If this is the cause then government can write another policy revoking the other policy.

On page 8,of the document they list one of the benefits of the SPV as infrastructure upgrade. They further talk of runway efficiency without building a second runway. They also talk about building terminal 1E permanently and upgrading other terminals etc in page 10.

The question is,.....

So if JKIA is fully owned by GOK and Bole in Addis is fully owned by govt. of Ethiopia, why do we need SPV when government and MPs can write policy/legislation to ensure all operations at JKIA are consolidated and airspace is skewed towards KQ's favour?Do we need SPV for this?

Where is the SPV going to get money to build terminals, runway and buy 20 planes?Is it going to be our taxes since the document states that the reasons Ethiopian, Rwandair and Air Tanzania are competing well is because their own hubs are owned by their governments/tax payers/wananinchi.

Is this document telling Kenyans that KQ proposes that government of Kenya takes over JKIA, buys out all shares of KQ so as KQ becomes 100% govt. owned like Air Tanzania?Do we need SPV to achieve this?

@Fyatu the only profitable airports in Kenya are Wilson and JKIA.. That's why KQ needs JKIA whose success is likely to spur other airports into profitability.. GoK doesn't have any more funds to throw at KAA or KQ, thus the SPV

KAA can source for loans on its own,use the money to develop the Airports in kenya and repay without the assistance of KQ

@Ericsson that will not address the competitive positioning of KQ. The airline is under attack by its rivals and needs a model that's aligned to stay in the game

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#11948 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 6:03:39 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Why depend on one man.. What makes you think KALPA will welcome him with open arms. The debate has now turned racist and Kenyans appear to want a black CEO, like Bob Collymore 😁

Nothing racist on this. The guy does not understand what it is required to pull the Airline out of the mess.

He cannot blame the pilots for asking a pay rise yet he is keeping consultants duplicating roles at a hefty pay, appointing slay queens to very critical roles and spending big in his funded company account on top of his hefty salary.

Recently you had a different opinion. I hope it's not the letter by KAWU that swayed you

snifadog
#11949 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 7:39:04 AM

a letter penned by striking workers making all manner of accusations against the senior management... I would not be quick to believe much of what was written
Fyatu
#11950 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 8:40:46 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

The question is,.....

@Ericsson that will not address the competitive positioning of KQ. The airline is under attack by its rivals and needs a model that's aligned to stay in the game

@Obiero, from my understanding of the PPP document, KQ argues that the reason that Ethiopian and Rwandair are succeeding is that they are fully(100%) owned by respective governments. Also,that their key hubs Bole and Kigali are also 100% owned by government.

My question is, isn't JKIA 100% owned by government of Kenya? If not, who are the other shareholders?

Furthermore, If KQ fully reverts back to GoK, then it purely becomes mali ya umma and hence a taxpayers asset/liability. So where is the need for SPV? Are Kenyan taxpayers going to be funding a private company(SPV) in the guise of 100% government owned?
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Ericsson
#11951 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 8:45:32 AM

Kq i its current state is having difficulties repaying its debt.
It wants to use JKIA revenue for that
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
ArrestedDev
#11952 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 10:14:40 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Recently you had a different opinion. I hope it's not the letter by KAWU that swayed you

It is now evident as per his recent press conference that he have no idea of how to pull the Airline out of the loss making position.

He is wasting his time blaming Naikuni and Ngunze. What they did is now past tense and the fellow should be working hard to reverse the effects of the past decisions.

Blaming staff won’t solve the underlying issues. We know the cost of staffing in KQ is way less than the global rates.

Just looking for scapegoats is childish and stupid.
#11953 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 11:35:04 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:
nairobby wrote:
[quote=obiero]The much anticipated and misunderstood PIIP document http://www.winda.co.ke/Proposed-PPP-KAA-KQ.pdf[/quote]

I love KQ but this doc doesn't explain how this PPP will reduce KQ's biggest problem which is the crazy high cost structure

The cost structure was primarily laden with expensive debt. That line is now down 41% post restructuring. Fleet rationalization also hit at the expenses by 18%.. Overall the expense lines are under unrelenting attack hence union agitation

What do you mean by saying fleet rationalisation hit the expenses by 18%. Fleet reduction is among the stupid decisions made during the restructuring being referred to by Mikosz in the recent press conference he held.

MJ is being quoted saying the opposite of what Mikosz said. They are not reading from the same script. KQ recovery is far away.

The reduction in services being mentioned by Mikosz includes terminating routes e.g. Newyork.

Cancel NYC flights? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
After all the drama we were subjected to? d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Mmmmmh...d'oh! It shouldnt have even started.
muandiwambeu
#11954 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 3:23:49 PM

ArrestedDev wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

It is now evident as per his recent press conference that he have no idea of how to pull the Airline out of the loss making position.

He is wasting his time blaming Naikuni and Ngunze. What they did is now past tense and the fellow should be working hard to reverse the effects of the past decisions.

Blaming staff won’t solve the underlying issues. We know the cost of staffing in KQ is way less than the global rates.

Dreams are valid. Just get to dream. Deliverables made. Almost achieving a milestone goal.
God help allqueer, and help @obiero to sniff the pure truth and get high on it
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
nairobby
#11955 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 4:53:37 PM

ArrestedDev wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

That KAWU letter was full of hogwash, most claims were factually incorrect and meant to elicit the reaction it did. However labour cost at KQ is a big big cost to the company. For example cost per employee is 3x that of Ethiopian. Sebastian has a point.
Anyway, KQ will most probably die soon with or without the KAA plan.
#11956 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 5:49:14 PM

nairobby wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

That KAWU letter was full of hogwash, most claims were factually incorrect and meant to elicit the reaction it did. However labour cost at KQ is a big big cost to the company. For example cost per employee is 3x that of Ethiopian. Sebastian has a point.

The deal is signed, sealed and delivered

#11957 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 5:58:46 PM

nairobby wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

@Obiero kuja hapa give the figures I gave you on salaries... Its only very senior managers and pilots who earn crazy cash in that company... There was even a comparison I posted here on staff cost ...ET...SAA...KQ
#11958 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2019 8:21:54 PM

nairobby wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

@Obiero kuja hapa give the figures I gave you on salaries... Its only very senior managers and pilots who earn crazy cash in that company... There was even a comparison I posted here on staff cost ...ET...SAA...KQ

That's confidential.. Wacha tuvuke hii mpaka ya JKIA

ArrestedDev
#11959 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 8:40:13 AM

nairobby wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

That's confidential.. Wacha tuvuke hii mpaka ya JKIA

What Mikosz said is hogwash. He doesn’t have any point to raise. Directors including him take home very hefty pay checks.

KAWU press release had some substance on it. There are not finance people and they might have missed some figures but it is true the KLM stooges and the bogus polish consultants are bleeding KQ dry and they now want to bleed KAA too.

ArrestedDev
#11960 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2019 8:51:01 AM

No feasibility study. Nothing at all.

Just Kinyua and Macharia taking care of the masters’ interests.

https://www.nation.co.ke...36366-qyfs9qz/index.html