wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Lawyer Chesang
#21 Posted : Monday, March 04, 2019 5:16:10 PM

wukan wrote:

Yaani Uhuru makes one appointment of Kinoti and the DCI roars back to life as the one institution that can take on the hitherto untouchables !!!! Had it been Muhoro's time, 10M bribe and the case disappears.

Anyone who has read crime fiction knows criminals always get caught because of one mistake; they assume they are smarter than they actually are.

A former NIS guy organizes the hit, recruits rogue cops and tells them they are going to kill a criminal. They were not expecting to be up against a renewed DCI with officers who gather and analyze evidence methodically. During Muhoro's time, they could just have arrested a known criminal in Kayole, execute him and plant the killer gun on them. Case closed.

Aren't we lucky to be living in this Kenya ?

Uhuru has done well with his security sector reforms from Boinet, Haji, Kinoti. This will be his major legacy. DCI is slowly regaining its former glory. Our judiciary is where the rotten apples are still left.

I have also noticed a trend where suspects are now coming out clean and telling investigators on the ring leaders without the torture that used to be prevalent. Criminals will now be deterred knowing there is no honor among kiriminos.

The institutional capacity of the DCI was always there. It was a leadership problem. When a young internal auditor at Nakumatt was shot in broad daylight, someone powerful put pressure on Muhoro. The case was wrapped up in 2 months with water-tight evidence. Sadly, we are still in Maraga courts.

#22 Posted : Monday, March 04, 2019 6:06:33 PM

wukan wrote:

Yaani Uhuru makes one appointment of Kinoti and the DCI roars back to life as the one institution that can take on the hitherto untouchables !!!! Had it been Muhoro's time, 10M bribe and the case disappears.

Anyone who has read crime fiction knows criminals always get caught because of one mistake; they assume they are smarter than they actually are.

A former NIS guy organizes the hit, recruits rogue cops and tells them they are going to kill a criminal. They were not expecting to be up against a renewed DCI with officers who gather and analyze evidence methodically. During Muhoro's time, they could just have arrested a known criminal in Kayole, execute him and plant the killer gun on them. Case closed.

Uhuru has done well with his security sector reforms from Boinet, Haji, Kinoti. This will be his major legacy. DCI is slowly regaining its former glory. Our judiciary is where the rotten apples are still left.

I have also noticed a trend where suspects are now coming out clean and telling investigators on the ring leaders without the torture that used to be prevalent. Criminals will now be deterred knowing there is no honor among kiriminos.

The institutional capacity of the DCI was always there. It was a leadership problem. When a young internal auditor at Nakumatt was shot in broad daylight, someone powerful put pressure on Muhoro. The case was wrapped up in 2 months with water-tight evidence. Sadly, we are still in Maraga courts.

@FRM, I'm glad to hear that something was done about the internal auditor. Is it possible to give me more details, maybe even a link? I'll appreciate greatly...
sitaki.kujulikana
#23 Posted : Monday, March 04, 2019 7:32:21 PM

interesting, but figures would be better to give the actual scenario, like how many convictions did muhoro vs kinoti achieve at given timelines - I remember when mutua started his term and everyone thought he was god send, but it happens he was very good at communicating.
thuks
#24 Posted : Monday, March 04, 2019 7:40:28 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

interesting, but figures would be better to give the actual scenario, like how many convictions did muhoro vs kinoti achieve at given timelines - I remember when mutua started his term and everyone thought he was god send, but it happens he was very good at communicating.

Today, someone stole 1.7m, found guilty but was fined 600k. What justice is this?
Maragas courts are to behold in dispensing justice.
I care!
safariant
#25 Posted : Monday, March 04, 2019 9:53:33 PM

safariant wrote:
Waah, marriage is really hard and unpredictable

Tumefika kwa copy pasting comments?

I saw that too...very lazy.

Oi
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#26 Posted : Monday, March 04, 2019 11:40:40 PM

Her mugshot is out

kawi254
#27 Posted : Tuesday, March 05, 2019 9:54:48 AM

Her mugshot is out

What if one refused to hold the mugshot board? I mean you are already in a police cell, It is not like they will release you if you hold it.
#28 Posted : Tuesday, March 05, 2019 12:08:38 PM

kawi254 wrote:
Her mugshot is out

What if one refused to hold the mugshot board? I mean you are already in a police cell, It is not like they will release you if you hold it.

Have you been in a police cell? The cops will just ask hardened criminals to 'persuade' you!
#29 Posted : Tuesday, March 05, 2019 12:47:28 PM

kawi254 wrote:
Her mugshot is out

Have you been in a police cell? The cops will just ask hardened criminals to 'persuade' you!

All suspects are presumed innocent until proven guilty. So hii maneno ya splashing mugshots of individuals on the internet should stop. What if a suspect is found innocent while his name and career prospects have already been messed up by those online photos?

Can you imagine you forgetting your driving license at home, drinking past mututho hours, alcoblow or some other minor offence and then you are booked at the station and your mugshot taken and uploaded on the internet where it will reside forever? Then when your current or future employer, client, kids, embassy visa officials etc google your name they find you holding that huge board saying you are a criminal? Surely this must stop.
wukan
#30 Posted : Tuesday, March 05, 2019 1:19:37 PM

All suspects are presumed innocent until proven guilty. So hii maneno ya splashing mugshots of individuals on the internet should stop. What if a suspect is found innocent while his name and career prospects have already been messed up by those online photos?

Can you imagine you forgetting your driving license at home, drinking past mututho hours, alcoblow or some other minor offence and then you are booked at the station and your mugshot taken and uploaded on the internet where it will reside forever? Then when your current or future employer, client, kids, embassy visa officials etc google your name they find you holding that huge board saying you are a criminal? Surely this must stop.

presumption of innocence is not the same thing as being innocent. A suspect is never found innocent the courts will find "not guilty". Mugshots are important for 'marking' entering someone in the system and following up on their conduct over time. Those who get onto the system even for minor offences tend to re-offend over time. That's how you get a rap sheet and how the police know all the crooks in/from your village. Your potential employer can also ask for a Certificate of good conduct.

@maka in post #3 tells you that the wife of the deceased was known as live wire from her college days. If she had been 'marked' back then it would have been easier to stop her from being a magistrate. I wouldn't be surprised if she had numerous misconduct reports in the judiciary.

Finally would you let your kids play with someone who was arrested for defilement and found "innocent" by the court?

#31 Posted : Tuesday, March 05, 2019 2:54:08 PM

wukan wrote:

@FRM, I'm glad to hear that something was done about the internal auditor. Is it possible to give me more details, maybe even a link? I'll appreciate greatly...

https://www.sde.co.ke/th...killed-nakumatt-auditor

https://www.standardmedi...fter-receiving-sh80-000

@tycho, cops used the boda-boda number plates captured by the CCTV cameras. The bodaboda guy was traced to Kangemi doing his usual boda business. An analysis of his phone calls and movement revealed the evil trio of him, a nakumatt manager and a cop who was the hitman.
tinker
#32 Posted : Tuesday, March 05, 2019 2:55:42 PM

wukan wrote:

presumption of innocence is not the same thing as being innocent. A suspect is never found innocent the courts will find "not guilty". Mugshots are important for 'marking' entering someone in the system and following up on their conduct over time. Those who get onto the system even for minor offences tend to re-offend over time. That's how you get a rap sheet and how the police know all the crooks in/from your village. Your potential employer can also ask for a Certificate of good conduct.

@maka in post #3 tells you that the wife of the deceased was known as live wire from her college days. If she had been 'marked' back then it would have been easier to stop her from being a magistrate. I wouldn't be surprised if she had numerous misconduct reports in the judiciary.

Finally would you let your kids play with someone who was arrested for defilement and found "innocent" by the court?

I have not seen DCI arraigning ordinary traffic offenders, commercial dispute suspects or ordinary assault suspects.
DCI deals with outright criminals suspects who have reigned in our country with impunity !!.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#33 Posted : Thursday, March 07, 2019 7:52:10 PM

wukan wrote:

https://www.sde.co.ke/th...killed-nakumatt-auditor

https://www.standardmedi...fter-receiving-sh80-000

@tycho, cops used the boda-boda number plates captured by the CCTV cameras. The bodaboda guy was traced to Kangemi doing his usual boda business. An analysis of his phone calls and movement revealed the evil trio of him, a nakumatt manager and a cop who was the hitman.

Thanks a lot @FRM.
Tokyo
#34 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2019 3:17:38 PM

The flamboyant deceased lawyer last saw/visited his dear peasant mother over 20years ago. I always lack sympathy to those kinds of individuals but may justice prevail
work to prosper
#35 Posted : Friday, March 08, 2019 3:26:06 PM

Tokyo wrote:
The flamboyant deceased lawyer last saw/visited his dear peasant mother over 20years ago. I always lack sympathy to those kinds of individuals but may justice prevail

How now, is that true/possible yawa .... really? Sad Sad Sad d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#36 Posted : Tuesday, March 12, 2019 11:00:13 PM

Taurrus
#37 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 12:46:26 PM

Nghai! the wife demands to bury his husband!
#38 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 12:50:18 PM

Tokyo wrote:

How now, is that true/possible yawa .... really? Sad Sad Sad d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Heshimu na upende baba na mama yako ili siku zako duniani ziwe mingi na zenye baraka.

If it is true,then maybe just maybe he is paying for something.
#39 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 1:32:40 PM

Taurrus wrote:

Inheritance plans tu
Taurrus
#40 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2019 7:24:33 PM

Taurrus wrote:

Inheritance plans tu

Amazing World this one!