wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

6 Pages«<3456>
Slavery
#81 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 10:11:25 AM

@hardwood, that's so wrong. And it's how xenophobia starts. The Indians in Kenya are hard working, honest Kenyans. I honestly see no difference from other Kenyans. Of course there are a few rogue elements who are a drop in the ocean compared to our own criminals in offices. If the African Kenyan citizens had the Indian Kenyan citizens mentality, Kenya would be a first world country. Let's not generalize because I can tell you I have met the most amazing and humble geniuses from the Indian community in our tech, banking and manufacturing industries, people who inspire you to think big and different and it's all from their upbringing. I've actually learnt a few things from them that I teach my kids so they can grow their entrepreneural minds instead of feeling entitled.

I am not disputing your claim but I wish we would examine it a bit more -

If the African Kenyan citizens had the Indian Kenyan citizens mentality, Kenya would be a first world country.

Let's not generalize because I can tell you I have met the most amazing and humble geniuses from the Indian community in our tech, banking and manufacturing industries, people who inspire you to think big and different and it's all from their upbringing.

Why isn't India not "first world"? Why do they have more people dying from cleaning sewers manually hunting for gold?

They possibly have the worst culture I know when it comes human relations ... just google 'rapes in india' and see.

This is what we need to understand as africans - this is our part of the world - everyone else is just visiting... some are staying longer than others but they should always remember we have let them live here... we can make their living unbearable if we wish - our dignity is not up for debate... we have given their dignity and we are not asking but demanding we get ours...

The Indians pose no threat to Kenya. The people we should be cautious of is the Chinese. At the rate we're going, we'll have more Chinese in Kenya than Indians in another 20yrs. And they treat Africans like crap.

#82 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 12:00:10 PM

It's only in africa where muhindis are big headed. In the Uk, Australia, canada, middle east (e.g. dubai, qatar) etc they are very meek and humble sucking up to their musungu and arab hosts.
#83 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 12:30:31 PM

It's only in africa where muhindis are big headed. In the Uk, Australia, canada, middle east (e.g. dubai, qatar) etc they are very meek and humble sucking up to their musungu and arab hosts.

True. And what does that tell us?
Every human race has it's "place" in the food chain and Africans are at the bottom. That's why we must work harder and not be each other's enemy as well. Raise our kids to be confident, more educated and knowledgeable.
My problem with this race thing is we expect others to fight for us yet we all know that they will only fight for themselves.
We Kenyans for example, talk of being the African silicon savannah, yet the Chinese are running all our communication... Instead of our govt. sending hundreds of Kenyans to Cuba to learn medicine, we're bringing in their doctors and paying them triple and send a few to learn basic medicine there... We need to...

#84 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 12:41:23 PM

@hardwood, that's so wrong. And it's how xenophobia starts. The Indians in Kenya are hard working, honest Kenyans. I honestly see no difference from other Kenyans. Of course there are a few rogue elements who are a drop in the ocean compared to our own criminals in offices. If the African Kenyan citizens had the Indian Kenyan citizens mentality, Kenya would be a first world country. Let's not generalize because I can tell you I have met the most amazing and humble geniuses from the Indian community in our tech, banking and manufacturing industries, people who inspire you to think big and different and it's all from their upbringing. I've actually learnt a few things from them that I teach my kids so they can grow their entrepreneural minds instead of feeling entitled.

If the African Kenyan citizens had the Indian Kenyan citizens mentality, Kenya would be a first world country.

Let's not generalize because I can tell you I have met the most amazing and humble geniuses from the Indian community in our tech, banking and manufacturing industries, people who inspire you to think big and different and it's all from their upbringing.

Why isn't India not "first world"? Why do they have more people dying from cleaning sewers manually hunting for gold?

They possibly have the worst culture I know when it comes human relations ... just google 'rapes in india' and see.

This is what we need to understand as africans - this is our part of the world - everyone else is just visiting... some are staying longer than others but they should always remember we have let them live here... we can make their living unbearable if we wish - our dignity is not up for debate... we have given their dignity and we are not asking but demanding we get ours...

The Indians pose no threat to Kenya. The people we should be cautious of is the Chinese. At the rate we're going, we'll have more Chinese in Kenya than Indians in another 20yrs. And they treat Africans like crap.

it's not about 'threat' per se but rather than knowing hapa ni kwetu... plus... EVERYONE TREATS AFRICANS LIKE CRAP KWAO. what we need to do is ensure that they are not too comfortable here... comfortable enough to shout these derogatory statements. Make it such that they have to look over their shoulder before yapping such words. The rest of the people around should look shocked and embrassed and step away like the person who run his mouth had Ebola.

Secondly, the emirates, china e.t.c. have a certain law - you can come.. live here as long as you want BUT the emirates are for emiratis. China is for chinese. I have a friend who married a chinese woman. they have kids... lived there for years but never got citizenship... residency YES... citizenship NO!
YOUR COUNTRY IS THE ONLY COUNTRY YOU SHOULD HAVE ODDS SHAMELESSLY STEEPED IN YOUR FAVOUR! what kind of shitty country do you have to be when the system is stacked against you? Even countries like Liberia have laws that say land ownership and citizenry is for black people and shamelessly state that some business can only be owned by citizens. Live live... come we get into an arrangement - you build a hotel on my land but never own the land.
#85 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 12:51:02 PM

I remember this kuzusha by Maasais in TZ

He asked people to go investigate "if there is a clan of the Maasai living in Dubai before reaching an agreement with the Arabs"
#86 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2018 11:05:50 AM

it's not about 'threat' per se but rather than knowing hapa ni kwetu... plus... EVERYONE TREATS AFRICANS LIKE CRAP KWAO. what we need to do is ensure that they are not too comfortable here... comfortable enough to shout these derogatory statements. Make it such that they have to look over their shoulder before yapping such words. The rest of the people around should look shocked and embrassed and step away like the person who run his mouth had Ebola.

Secondly, the emirates, china e.t.c. have a certain law - you can come.. live here as long as you want BUT the emirates are for emiratis. China is for chinese. I have a friend who married a chinese woman. they have kids... lived there for years but never got citizenship... residency YES... citizenship NO!
YOUR COUNTRY IS THE ONLY COUNTRY YOU SHOULD HAVE ODDS SHAMELESSLY STEEPED IN YOUR FAVOUR! what kind of shitty country do you have to be when the system is stacked against you? Even countries like Liberia have laws that say land ownership and citizenry is for black people and shamelessly state that some business can only be owned by citizens. Live live... come we get into an arrangement - you build a hotel on my land but never own the land.

Surely, we need to take responsibility for some things. If we feel inferior to every other race that seems to be more financially able than ourselves then maybe the problem is in our minds. In the words of Bob Marley, this is self imposed mental slavery.

#87 Posted : Sunday, May 20, 2018 9:21:46 PM

Surely, we need to take responsibility for some things. If we feel inferior to every other race that seems to be more financially able than ourselves then maybe the problem is in our minds. In the words of Bob Marley, this is self imposed mental slavery.

I agree totally...100% - my rant has nothing to do with outsiders, it's our own people. We need to understand some simple matters -
1) there is no way a country like ours will create a company that will sell abroad a product that can also be produced abroad without having a local consumer. you will not sell a v 0.0.1 of any product abroad IF you don't have a base here. (Talking tech sio maua or vitu kama hizo)
2) you need to eat your dog food before selling it to others. The government should skew the playing field kabisa... we are too eager to kusanya taxes then ship it abroad then flaunt shiny things from abroad.
We need to remember Nyerere's statement - in boxing there are many weights... heavyweights, welterweight, featherweight e.t.c. heavyweights box against heavyweights... middleweights against middleweights. while the rules are exactly the same - there shall never be a bout between a heavyweight and a flyweight - no! that will be murder. Why then do we want to compete against heavyweights in our markets?
#88 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2018 9:18:17 AM

I agree totally...100% - my rant has nothing to do with outsiders, it's our own people. We need to understand some simple matters -
1) there is no way a country like ours will create a company that will sell abroad a product that can also be produced abroad without having a local consumer. you will not sell a v 0.0.1 of any product abroad IF you don't have a base here. (Talking tech sio maua or vitu kama hizo)
2) you need to eat your dog food before selling it to others. The government should skew the playing field kabisa... we are too eager to kusanya taxes then ship it abroad then flaunt shiny things from abroad.
We need to remember Nyerere's statement - in boxing there are many weights... heavyweights, welterweight, featherweight e.t.c. heavyweights box against heavyweights... middleweights against middleweights. while the rules are exactly the same - there shall never be a bout between a heavyweight and a flyweight - no! that will be murder. Why then do we want to compete against heavyweights in our markets?

Cost of production!

The other day I gave an example of a simple thing like a bicycle... What did you say?
#89 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2018 9:51:37 AM

Cost of production!

The other day I gave an example of a simple thing like a bicycle... What did you say?

Let's also be honest and admit that the government is unwilling or unable to play their role of creating a conducive environment for business and especially manufacturing.

#90 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2018 9:31:15 PM

Cost of production!

Let's also be honest and admit that the government is unwilling or unable to play their role of creating a conducive environment for business and especially manufacturing.

What is this which we are manufacturing? it has to be for local consumption - it's difficult getting capital at a good price and if you do - building stuff here is expensive.
this is from a TV show but worth thinking about

#91 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2018 11:51:27 AM

Cost of production!

What is this which we are manufacturing? it has to be for local consumption - it's difficult getting capital at a good price and if you do - building stuff here is expensive.

This might be a cliché but Japan is a major manufacturing nation yet they import over 95% of their raw materials. We already possess the three main ingredients in plenty, raw materials, creativity and youth. All we need is visionary and selfless leadership.
And don't tell me we're not Japan. After all why should we be comparing ourselves against the mediocres like us or slightly better than us?

#92 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2018 12:11:54 PM

Cost of production!

This might be a cliché but Japan is a major manufacturing nation yet they import over 95% of their raw materials. We already possess the three main ingredients in plenty, raw materials, creativity and youth. All we need is visionary and selfless leadership.
And don't tell me we're not Japan. After all why should we be comparing ourselves against the mediocres like us or slightly better than us?

Japan has never invented anything that they manufacture. They just copied inventions from the west. From cars to TVs to refrigerators, computers, phones etc. Infact the landcruiser was a copy of the jeep. Right now S. korea and china are leading in mobile phone manufacturing after copying the iphone. Like the asians, the answer to our industrialization lies in copying not inventions. Let msungus do the inventing as they hibernate during winter. Let us copy and handle the intellectual property rights issues later. Even samsung is still battling apple on same issues as they power ahead in their copying and manufacturing.
#93 Posted : Saturday, August 11, 2018 4:48:10 AM

#94 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2019 4:41:39 AM

Did you know more whites were brought into White Slavery!! than blacks?

Mostly in North Africa / Ottoman Empire?

This might explain why mzungu really hates waisilamu.

#95 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2019 12:04:28 PM

This could be a lie... History is always written by the winners (by Dan Brown)!

As Napoleon once said, 'What is history, but a false agreed upon?'
#96 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2019 12:15:48 PM

History is always written by the winners (masters). When two cultures clash, the loser is obliterated, and the winner writes history books - books which glorify their own cause and disparage the conquered foe. As Napoleon once said, 'What is history, but a false agreed upon?' Dan Brown
#97 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2019 1:31:21 PM

History is always written by the winners (masters). When two cultures clash, the loser is obliterated, and the winner writes history books - books which glorify their own cause and disparage the conquered foe. As Napoleon once said, 'What is history, but a false agreed upon?' Dan Brown

But that can't be true. Maybe we can talk about access to history being limited by the dominant power. But both the victor and vanquished have equal capacity to write history.

Let's take the Murumbi collection as an example. It is a historical text written by the vanquished.
#98 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2019 2:52:21 PM

But that can't be true. Maybe we can talk about access to history being limited by the dominant power. But both the victor and vanquished have equal capacity to write history.

Let's take the Murumbi collection as an example. It is a historical text written by the vanquished.

Three points if you do not mind:

A. The question is: whose books are in the Murumbi's collection museum?

B. Also, having equal capacity to write and actually writing are two different things.

C. Dan Brown said: History is always written by the winners, are you saying he was wrong?

D. Which historical text written by the vanquished?
#99 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2019 3:23:05 PM

This could be a lie... History is always written by the winners (by Dan Brown)!

As Napoleon once said, 'What is history, but a false agreed upon?'

The article is crafted with intention to conceal: by focusing only on Blacks (I assume this means Africans), the winner, the writer in this case the white man, makes you forget about (1). the South Americans enslaved by the Spanish and Portugese, (2). the Red Indians by Christopher Columbus team, (3). those taken out of Africa, put in in boats, bring them to Europe, to America by British, Dutch, French, Spanish, and Americans, (4). those enslaved inside Africa (Congo, South Africa) by the Boers from Germany, Apartheid became acceptable system, (5). the "Aboriginal" in Australia, (6). those in the land of India and China, (7). the Far East, Philippine, Indonasia...

Why does the writer choose to focus on Africans taken out alone comparing that to the whites?

This is a smart way to re-write history... Smart people cannot buy that story. If you want to talk white slavery, talk those slaves by the whites.
#100 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2019 3:31:42 PM

Blacks were the most recent groups to suffer from mass slavery. the truth is slavery is as old as humanity. people working for others? didn't start in 1500s. Every bunch of people put weaker groups into slavery. even within the Americas - Mayans and Aztecs did that to people like them. All those west african kingdoms were slave owning (black people owning other black people), Romans had slavic people as slaves. heck it's only recently that slavery was a racial thing. during the roman era anyone could be a citizen of rome so Black people (Aethiopes) could have Germanic (white) slaves!