wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

8 Pages«<678
State of Poverty in Kenya
#141 Posted : Wednesday, February 27, 2019 1:12:21 AM

tom_boy wrote:
Since poverty is a state of mind, what would happen if the govt took drastic measures to change the mindset of a people? eg Why should there be poor people in western Kenya yet these poor people hold fertile land that can grow crops of all types? If the govt imposed a tax levy on all land holders, Inc those with less than 2 acres .. wouldn't these fellas be forced to lease this land for cash which they can use to improve their social welfare? If you drive from Kitale to Eld, there's so much idle land which i believe is being hoarded.

Those who have lived in the west, you know that the local Govt has a say on what kind of housing is approved on certain locales. If you dont take care of your house it is condemned and sold out. If such a remedy was imposed on our people (of course politics will play against this) don't you think the social conditions of a people would improve? All the glitter we see out there has been forced. Just like it is in Rwanda..on the grass thatched houses.

Only the rich can afford to argue like this. Surely you have no comprehension of the financial state of majority of Kenyans. They lack basic food and you are saying let them eat cake. Wewe ni hiyo rika ya UK eti, " gazetti ni za kufunga nyama"

Not the rich, only an idiot can utter such. Recall when he insisted the poor people living in filthy conditions in the city should make their own roads sijui like Runda people did....... You are dealing with a coke addict ndugu. All his posts have these ma-airs......I consider it so tragic to be richyet so thick
#142 Posted : Wednesday, February 27, 2019 4:43:48 AM

tom_boy wrote:
Since poverty is a state of mind, what would happen if the govt took drastic measures to change the mindset of a people? eg Why should there be poor people in western Kenya yet these poor people hold fertile land that can grow crops of all types? If the govt imposed a tax levy on all land holders, Inc those with less than 2 acres .. wouldn't these fellas be forced to lease this land for cash which they can use to improve their social welfare? If you drive from Kitale to Eld, there's so much idle land which i believe is being hoarded.

Those who have lived in the west, you know that the local Govt has a say on what kind of housing is approved on certain locales. If you dont take care of your house it is condemned and sold out. If such a remedy was imposed on our people (of course politics will play against this) don't you think the social conditions of a people would improve? All the glitter we see out there has been forced. Just like it is in Rwanda..on the grass thatched houses.

Only the rich can afford to argue like this. Surely you have no comprehension of the financial state of majority of Kenyans. They lack basic food and you are saying let them eat cake. Wewe ni hiyo rika ya UK eti, " gazetti ni za kufunga nyama"

Not the rich, only an idiot can utter such. Recall when he insisted the poor people living in filthy conditions in the city should make their own roads sijui like Runda people did....... You are dealing with a coke addict ndugu. All his posts have these ma-airs......I consider it so tragic to be richyet so thick

😂😂😂😂😂 which poor person owns flats in the city?

People just enjoy settling for less yet landlords are making a killing off them. Truth be told, the economy is built by the poor and the so called middle-class. The rich make money off you. Stop running your mouths, pause and think about it.

And yes, the govt is only responsible for the road that takes you to the estate, access roads to your house should be catered for by Mr. Money bags landlords. Only those who have lived in Mugoya South C, Nyayo Estates and such like housing arrangements get value for their rent. Wale wa kuruka sewage when the rains pour have settled.
#143 Posted : Wednesday, February 27, 2019 5:35:48 AM

radiomast wrote:

I dont know about Eldy for sure. But a lot of land in Kenya is held by speculators. Kenyans obsession with buying land is too much. Land Speculation is bad for the economy. I would suggest that gava starts to take drastic action like charging steep property taxes on all idle land except family land.

Co-signed. Land is a resource of production, if its held for speculation without a tax, it becomes expensive due to hoarding creating scarcity. Who wonders why housing is so expensive?
radiomast
#144 Posted : Wednesday, February 27, 2019 8:25:44 PM

Serikali saidia mentality is far more prevalent in developed countries. Kenyans have no expectation of getting help from gava.

As an example, that mzee who was given a home by UK. He is taking care of 3 disabled children. Had he been majuu, he would be getting 3 disability cheques every week from gava.

Huko majuu, poor people are given food vouchers and rent vouchers. Healthcare is given for free to poor people even to illegal aliens.