wazua Sat, Jan 3, 2026

Mutahi Ngunyi:Why is Columnist Spreading These Myths and Half-Truths?
Fundaah
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 23, 2010 11:30:07 AM

Njoki Ndung'u

http://www.nation.co.ke/...6/-/vywp9a/-/index.html

Vs
Mutahi Ngunyi

http://www.nation.co.ke/...28/-/c0pajl/-/index.html
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Pastor M
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 23, 2010 1:22:05 PM

@Fundaah I have read the katiba and the two articles by Mutahi and the other one by Njoki from my personal view they are talking pure truth infact they are quoting section of the proposed katiba,However they are opposing each other.This shows us how this proposed katiba leaves lot of doors for speculation...is it ok to have this kind of katiba that is not clear that even the Judges,Lawyers and even members of COE are having problems to interprete.....tell me
rasilio
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 23, 2010 1:45:40 PM

Pastor Wacha kutuhadaaaLaughing out loudly hawa mapastor wanasoma shule moja ya uongo.

kama unadhania mutahi is stating facts then read njokis post. The part about going back to read the katiba or go for civil education...muache oungo hadharani jameni.d'oh!

the only people with a problem of interpretation are the No group. 70% ya wakenya hawana shida..

the last poll showed that the lower the education level of respondents, the more likely they vote no....so what say you....can you interpret ama ni visions.

gohill
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 23, 2010 1:53:32 PM

Let the people decide
Wa_ithaka
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 23, 2010 3:27:23 PM

Eeh ata ma pastor manaongeo uongo!

Mutahi has actually taken advantage of the fact that many kenyans still haven't read the new katiba.
Njoki's column is factual
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Theu
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 10:14:14 AM

Good people, i do read Mutahi's column but i never take him seriously. Sometime back he was on the bench and he admits he is not always serious. He admitted to being surprised by how people take his thoughts and speculation/analysis as facts! The guy is normally out to entertain. May be in the beginning he was serious.
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 10:34:51 AM

They guy doesn't know what he is saying and he ends up contradicting himself every week. How do you explain statements such as "I am right, but I could be wrong......... I do not choose to be right/wrong"
HOGWASH!!!!!!!!!!
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 11:18:45 AM

...Mutahi has to be sensational for him to remain relevant... I do not think he believes in what he writes... I understand he gets 150k per article...Nobody would read a story that is just a case of a dog biting a man... His stories are always twisted so that it is the man biting the dog... Infact his stories are a classic case of a man f***ing a dog!!! He is that bad... People watch this man... And Magigi is back in black and black...
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 11:24:27 AM

@Magigi........Has your maize been affected by aflatoxin?
Brewer
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 11:33:45 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Eeh ata ma pastor manaongeo uongo!

Mutahi has actually taken advantage of the fact that many kenyans still haven't read the new katiba.
Njoki's column is factual

Sticking to issues will hurt no one. Not to rush to insult people; not to rush to agree with others.

SEE THIS:
Mutahi Ngunyi: "And this is because Article 3 removes Section 59 of the current constitution. This is the section that tells us how to dissolve Parliament. Because the President will not dissolve Parliament, it must dissolve five years from when it first sat on January 16, 2008."

Njoki Ndungú: "Until this date, the current President still retains all his executive powers under the former Constitution, including the power to dissolve Parliament for the 2012 election."

Article 3 of the transitional provisions in draft:

"..(2) Sections 30 to 40, 43 to 46 and 48 to 58 of the former
Constitution, the provisions of the former Constitution
concerning the executive, and the National Accord and
Reconciliation Act, 2008 (No.4 of 2008) shall continue to
operate until the first general elections held under this
Constitution, but the provisions of this Constitution
concerning the system of elections, eligibility for election and
the electoral process shall apply to that election."

ISSUE: Is section 59 of the current constitution giving the President power to dissolve parliament one of the " provisions concerning the executive"? If answered in the affirmative, Njoki is probably right. If it is not, then there is ambiguity. Note that in the current constitution section 59 giving the President power to dissolve parliament is under Chapter III titled "Parliament" while Chapter II is titled "Executive".
MY OPINION: Njoki is wrong!
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 11:37:29 AM

@Mwenza...after going through what we have gone through, our mothers can't afford to let any moisture into the maize. I remember when I was young and growing up...my work was to remove the maize every morning from the store and 'spread' it outside to dry...When I asked my mother why I had to do this every day, she would tell me that if we dont do that the maize will not be good for eating...and she went only upto std 4!!! My precious old mum. So, yes Mwenza, 'mbemba sya mawitu syi sawa!!!
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 24, 2010 6:09:49 PM

@Theu na Fundaa: I too don't take him serious. How do you reconcile his arguements at one time saying that its the PEV ended too soon and we'd rather have had it go on as a carthesis and an opportunity of rebirth and the next moment he is advocating for the status quo "stability"?
#13 Posted : Friday, June 25, 2010 2:03:12 AM

All these critics of Mutahi Ngunyi. Where is your sense of humour, where is your imagination, your sense of judgement?? If the only books you have ever read are textbooks then you only expect cold hard facts from any writing. Writers use irony, sarcasm and sometimes say the most outrageous things tongue in cheek. The idea is to stretch your imagination to encompass the different possibilities of in this case interpretations of the constitution.

Good writers provoke reaction and discussion and by the reaction by Ndungu and all the comments on Mutahi's article I think he is doing a great job. By his writings we are better informed on the contents of the constitution. He also gives his opinion on it and this is where you may be at pains if you are only a textbook reader; you do not have to agree with him. If he succeeds in making you find reasons why you disagree with him he has succeeded as a writer.

Philip Ochieng also uses this style of writing with great effect. He is provocative, informative and thoroughly entertaining. The difference between a journalistic article and a columnist is that a columnist is allowed to have an opinion on whatever he is is dicussing while a journalist should just tell it as it is. So do not read Mutahi's articles to find out what the constitution says, read it to find out what he thinks about it.
#14 Posted : Saturday, June 26, 2010 5:57:24 PM

...Mutahi has to be sensational for him to remain relevant... I do not think he believes in what he writes... I understand he gets 150k per article...Nobody would read a story that is just a case of a dog biting a man... His stories are always twisted so that it is the man biting the dog... Infact his stories are a classic case of a man f***ing a dog!!! He is that bad... People watch this man... And Magigi is back in black and black...

150K per article is good moneyLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#15 Posted : Sunday, June 27, 2010 12:21:30 PM

...where is this retrogressive man's column today...ama he has been shown the door for uneducating further kenyan citizens with small brains!!!
Jaina
#16 Posted : Sunday, June 27, 2010 12:54:09 PM

@ magigi, am not suprised that ngunyi's article is not there today. Wameleta some Njungu. Am sure nobody would pay 150K if you are not recouping the cost. I can confess that i have become addicted to Ngungi's articles on sundays, not because i believe entirely on what he writes, but because he interprates issues from perspectives that we couldnt imangine.

Njoki's article is just a tip of the iceberg, The "goverment" must have prevailed upon Nation newspapers NOT to publish ngunyi's articles unless of course they are neutral. They are entitled to that since NO people would be having free advertisement at the cost of Nation newspapers.

But since Prof. Makau is a YES man, why retain his articles?.

tuvok
#17 Posted : Sunday, June 27, 2010 4:26:50 PM

#18 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 11:22:08 AM

I could be right, then I could be wrong...but 150k of kenya's crisp legal tender is an awful lot of money to pay someone for fooling around using some old chinese arts of war by Sun Tzu
#19 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 11:33:25 AM

150k per article... people have weird imaginations.
#20 Posted : Monday, June 28, 2010 1:09:41 PM

mukiha wrote:
150k per article... people have weird imaginations.

So you really are Mutahi Ngunyi as alleged earlier in another thread?