15 Pages«<12131415>
Riverside / Dusit Hotel
Fyatu
#261 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 2:05:39 PM

############Long post alert##########
###########Matusi kidogo also part of post########

In Tanzania.....

Lets say you are a fresh immigrant from Kenya and has found a house in "Wacha apotee" village in Tandale slums. The landlord will take you to the mjumbe(headman/chief of nyumba kumi) where an informal interview will be conducted and you will furnish all your details e.g., who you are, where you emanate from, your economic activity/source of income etc to the mjumbe. You can lie if you want but the people will find out sooner rather than later..This is applicable even middle class areas of Kivukoni,mikocheni, masaki, mbezi etc. In basic terms Wakenya lazima tukuwe watiaji for us to be safe

Someone in wazua told us here the other day that after 9/11, folks in the USA adopted the mantra "if you see something, say something". This is what githeri media/civil society/government should be pumping into our ears/brains every few seconds either on radio or TV and not the pea brained Sophia Wanuna and others on prime time tv annoying Kenyans by going on and on about how intelligence has failed blaming everyone and anyone.

Havin said that, It is my view that We the citizens of Kenya have abdicated our role as responsible citizens and blame government for everything and yet proclaim sometimes, especially during electioneering season, that "We the people are the government"...kumbaff sana,,,senji

In Angola, if you happen not to speak good "Angolian" a random 10 year old boy/girl(leave alone adults or police) will demand to see your passport and sio tafadhali.Lazima utatoa kitambulisho my friend and state your business there or lack thereof.

Those who have been to Ethiopia know how watiaji those wanachi of that country are. They smell a whiff of bangi(not to say bangi is bad) from your house and the next thing you know you are shirtless in an overcrowded police cell in downtown Addis awaiting to be sentenced(guaranteed) to a minimum jail term. Hapa Kenya, Nigerians and other immigrants are smoking bangi in apartments and commiting all manner of crimes(prostitution,racketeering) and we just coil our tails between our legs and clap for them.

Your neighbour(in that ka gated community) drives in usiku wa manane every other night with his loud subaru, musik blaring and yet the watchman/security guard and househelps know he/she stays in the house the whole day bila works and no red flag is raised..coz nobody wants to be labelled a snitch/mtiaji.

So dear wazuans, the next time you see something fishy in your neighbourhoodcall 911(IG Boinett told us that it works).

I mean anything. Hata bwana akipiga bibi or vise versa, call the cops.....hapana laumu serikali kwa kila kitu
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#262 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 2:22:44 PM

Fyatu wrote:
############Long post alert##########
###########Matusi kidogo also part of post########

In Tanzania.....

Lets say you are a fresh immigrant from Kenya and has found a house in "Wacha apotee" village in Tandale slums. The landlord will take you to the mjumbe(headman/chief of nyumba kumi) where an informal interview will be conducted and you will furnish all your details e.g., who you are, where you emanate from, your economic activity/source of income etc to the mjumbe. You can lie if you want but the people will find out sooner rather than later..This is applicable even middle class areas of Kivukoni,mikocheni, masaki, mbezi etc. In basic terms Wakenya lazima tukuwe watiaji for us to be safe

Someone in wazua told us here the other day that after 9/11, folks in the USA adopted the mantra "if you see something, say something". This is what githeri media/civil society/government should be pumping into our ears/brains every few seconds either on radio or TV and not the pea brained Sophia Wanuna and others on prime time tv annoying Kenyans by going on and on about how intelligence has failed blaming everyone and anyone.

Havin said that, It is my view that We the citizens of Kenya have abdicated our role as responsible citizens and blame government for everything and yet proclaim sometimes, especially during electioneering season, that "We the people are the government"...kumbaff sana,,,senji

In Angola, if you happen not to speak good "Angolian" a random 10 year old boy/girl(leave alone adults or police) will demand to see your passport and sio tafadhali.Lazima utatoa kitambulisho my friend and state your business there or lack thereof.

Those who have been to Ethiopia know how watiaji those wanachi of that country are. They smell a whiff of bangi(not to say bangi is bad) from your house and the next thing you know you are shirtless in an overcrowded police cell in downtown Addis awaiting to be sentenced(guaranteed) to a minimum jail term. Hapa Kenya, Nigerians and other immigrants are smoking bangi in apartments and commiting all manner of crimes(prostitution,racketeering) and we just coil our tails between our legs and clap for them.

Your neighbour(in that ka gated community) drives in usiku wa manane every other night with his loud subaru, musik blaring and yet the watchman/security guard and househelps know he/she stays in the house the whole day bila works and no red flag is raised..coz nobody wants to be labelled a snitch/mtiaji.

So dear wazuans, the next time you see something fishy in your neighbourhoodcall 911(IG Boinett told us that it works).

I mean anything. Hata bwana akipiga bibi or vise versa, call the cops.....hapana laumu serikali kwa kila kitu

Very very true, i wish we could adopt this in our beloved Kenya. Lakini wapi, even in the village, nobody snitches on suspicious characters until something bad happens. That is when you hear tales over tales of the individual.
#263 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 3:15:58 PM

In Kenya, if you are suspicious, dodgy, fishy but from my tribe, I will vote for you, forget reporting you...
#264 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 3:25:11 PM

Gathige wrote:
I am watching some news item on citizen tv regarding nyumba kumi and i think it's just very simplistic and doesn't make sense. Few people in urban areas care about who their neighbours are or what they do. If your neighbour drives his car into his compound, and closes his gate, how would you know what he is carrying or is up to?

So unless you come up with estate regulations that say that at all home owners/tenants cars are searched at the gate, and the estate security committee searches the bedrooms of all home owners/tenants every weekend, then there is no way of knowing what your neighbours are up to. And am 100% sure that no home owners/tenants would pass a law that demands that their cars are searched at the estate gate every time they leave or return to their homes or to have their homes searched.

Maybe nyumba kumi could work in the slums where neighbours could be aware that a neighbour is a small time thug in the estate where anapiga watu ngeta or steals neighbours chicken or phones. But in many areas even car jackers, conmen never steal from their neighbors. They commit crimes elsewhere, and then drive or walk back home and lead normal lives just like their neighbours.

Also how are neighbours huko Runda supposed to know that their fellow neighbours who work as CEOS huko NYS, Kenya pipeline, Youth Fund etc are big thieves and kiriminos who should be reported to the Runda nyumba kumi and to DPP Haji, Kinoti?

Nyumba kumi is a joke for fighting terrorism. It's for catching chicken thieves and pipping Toms.

Fighting terrorism requires intelligence. And I think the people in charge of intelligence failed us big time on this one.
I know they have prevented many attacks but remember that these guys only need to succeed once and they did. Again, I would understand at most if this was a lone gunman although we should honestly expect similar to what is happening in the west where they use cars and kitchen knives. These were 5 well organized men who have been to Somali, how did they get into Nairobi without being detected? The minute someone comes from Somali, he should automatically be a person of interest even if he had traveled there for business. That's my thought.

@2012, the Ethiopian version of Nyumba Kumi, Kebele System, works perfect. Google it and check how it works

Also note that Ethiopia strictly does not allow Somalis into their country, including citizens from countries associated with terrorism.

Nyumba kumi can work in Ethiopia and Tanzania where there's ujamaa but in Kenya, I don't even know my neighbour. Landlords don't even know or run a background check on their tenants as long as they are paying rent. Employers hire on cv only - fake or otherwise. Relatives only meet in funerals and may be a ka-wedding. Parents don't even know where their young adults spend their day. Sasa, how can Nyumba kumi work if hata family hawezi kukuambia watoto wao hufanya kazi gani?

When a jambazi sugu is gunned downed in the act, it is the parents/relatives who are the first to cry foul despite knowing how their son/daughter lived. We, as a society, are not helping at all.

Precisely. Even thugs are well known in the community, but our concept of innocent until proved guilty, makes people not to give info.
radiomast
#265 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 5:08:28 PM

The issue that needs to be addressed quickly is corruption. When I mention corruption as a major issue some people on wazua are dismissive. But our corruption is literally killing us. Police are accepting bribes to allow terrorists to come into the country. KDF are engaged in shady activities in Somalia. And how the heck did Ali Gichunge get a fake registration for his vehicle?
#266 Posted : Thursday, January 24, 2019 4:42:33 PM

Insurance agent held

How can an insurance agent know that a customer is a criminal?
#267 Posted : Thursday, January 24, 2019 5:01:09 PM

Insurance agent held

How can an insurance agent know that a customer is a criminal?

KYC guidelines for financial institutions smile
#268 Posted : Thursday, January 24, 2019 5:47:41 PM

radiomast wrote:
The issue that needs to be addressed quickly is corruption. When I mention corruption as a major issue some people on wazua are dismissive. But our corruption is literally killing us. Police are accepting bribes to allow terrorists to come into the country. KDF are engaged in shady activities in Somalia. And how the heck did Ali Gichunge get a fake registration for his vehicle?

Policing the kenya somalia border is no joke. Do you know that half of mandera town lies geographically in somalia? Then we have a 700km border which is basically an imaginary line running though the plains and villages. So someone may not travel 500km to mandera border control office to have their passport stamped so as to be allowed into kenya when they can simply walk at any place across the 700km imaginary line into ke. That is why the govt is building a wall to try and control movement into the country. FYI Trump is also having problems controlling illegal aliens moving across the border with mexico. That is why he also wants a wall.

#269 Posted : Thursday, January 24, 2019 5:54:52 PM

radiomast wrote:

Also you dont have to bribe anyone to walk across the border as senators found out.

https://www.capitalfm.co...kenya-to-get-education/

NAIROBI, Kenya Jan 21 – Free Primary Education (FPE) could be contributing to the increased number of illegal immigrants crossing into Kenya from Somalia, a Senate Committee has been told.

The Senate Committee on National Security which is in Mandera County on a fact-finding tour into the bus and quarry attacks that took place late last year, were told that majority of the students who attend schools near the Kenyan border are Somalis.

When the Senators conducted a spot check of the Mandera Border Control Post, they witnessed many students crossing the border – at non designated points – from Somalia and into Kenya to attend classes at Township Primary School.

“Almost 70 percent of students in the schools next to the borders are Somalis. They are more keen on education than the Kenyan Somalis because they know once they are about to sit for their KCPE they will get birth certificates in order to register for the national exams,” said a KDF soldier stationed at the border control point who spoke to the press on condition of anonymity.

“With a Kenyan birth certificate and result slip, they go through the system and when they turn 18, there’s nothing to stop them from getting a Kenyan ID. And with such a person you cannot know where his loyalties lie,” he added.

During the meeting, Mandera County Senator Billow Kerrow put them to task to explain why Somali students were being admitted into Kenyan schools without being processed via the Immigration Department.

“Many citizens of Somalia are taking advantage of the Free Primary Education Programme. Owing to the failure of the Immigration Department, the students are registered for KCPE as Kenyan citizens and compete with Kenyan students for placement in schools across the country,” said Mandera DEB Headmaster, Mohamed Farah.

Farah explained that, ideally, registers of students to be enrolled from Somalia and Ethiopia should be submitted from the schools to the Immigration Department for registration as foreign students.

Once processed through immigration the students would then be required to pay requisite fees before attending Kenyan schools.

radiomast
#270 Posted : Thursday, January 24, 2019 9:41:28 PM

@hardwood

You just made my point about corruption and Kenyan lawlessness. For example, the link you posted says that Somalian children are illegally attending Kenyan primary schools, getting free education and going all the way from standard 1 to standard 8 and are being issued birth certificates?

Seriously what the heck is wrong with Kenyans ?
Just how rotten is our culture of corruption?

Also all that money we lose in maize scandal, NYS scandal and so forth is money that can be used used to construct a border wall and a trench.

If a building is located where the actual border is supposed to be located then that building is illegal and should be demolished.

The solutions are not that difficult. And they are not meant to be bullet proof either. But you have to make it more difficult for Al Shabaab
radiomast
#271 Posted : Thursday, January 24, 2019 9:50:41 PM

When I say corruption, lack of accountability and incompetence are the major issues in Kenya that needs to be urgently tackled, you will see some people being dismissive about it and suggesting that they are fine with it. Then you read paragraphs like the one below from the link hardwood posted and you are left wondering how broken this country is

Many citizens of Somalia are taking advantage of the Free Primary Education Programme. Owing to the failure of the Immigration Department, the students are registered for KCPE as Kenyan citizens and compete with Kenyan students for placement in schools across the country,” said Mandera DEB Headmaster, Mohamed Farah.

Then come 2022, instead of voting for a candidate who will address corruption, Kenyans will be looking for a victory for their tribe. As if that will make them safer.
#272 Posted : Thursday, January 24, 2019 11:46:26 PM

the Star wrote:
The DPP plans to charge Diamond Trust Bank with aiding and abetting a terrorist attack by allowing a Dusit attack suspect to withdraw more Sh5 million in a day.

Hassan Nur made 13 withdrawals of Sh400,000 each within short intervals on January 4, with an additional withdrawal of Sh100,000 the same day.

It said the bank ought to have alerted authorities when such withdrawals were made.

The transactions were done DTB Eastleigh branch. Branch manager Sophia Mbogo has already been arrested.

ATPU's inspector Monicah Githaiga said Mbogo failed to report suspicious transactions after Nur withdrew the cash.

Mbogo is being held alongside five other suspects including lawyer Abdinoor Ismael, journalist Ismael Ambitham of Horizon TV and the TV's marketing manager Ali Khamis.

Others are businessman Faisal Mohamed, who runs a parcel business. He is believed to have been contracted to deliver parcels to DusitD2 hotel and office complex by lead attacker Ali Gichunge.

All the suspects except Mbogo were in communication with the attackers involved in the Dusit attack on Tuesday last week and other contacts in Somalia.

In a replying affidavit, Mbogo said records likely to be sought by the prosecution have been stored by the bank and Safaricom Limited.

#273 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 7:17:18 AM

radiomast wrote:
When I say corruption, lack of accountability and incompetence are the major issues in Kenya that needs to be urgently tackled, you will see some people being dismissive about it and suggesting that they are fine with it. Then you read paragraphs like the one below from the link hardwood posted and you are left wondering how broken this country is

Many citizens of Somalia are taking advantage of the Free Primary Education Programme. Owing to the failure of the Immigration Department, the students are registered for KCPE as Kenyan citizens and compete with Kenyan students for placement in schools across the country,” said Mandera DEB Headmaster, Mohamed Farah.

Then come 2022, instead of voting for a candidate who will address corruption, Kenyans will be looking for a victory for their tribe. As if that will make them safer.

Now you know why its becoming difficult for kids to get places at alliance and other schools since slots have been taken up by such alien kids and also those from refugee camps in daadab and kakuma.

Also this birth certificate scandal must explain the unusual explosion of the "kenyan Somali population" in the census which some NE people like the mullah are stupidly explaining that its due to Somali women getting 7 kids each eti while central men cant sire because they have been finished off by phombe.
#274 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 7:42:51 AM

So who is next to be arrested? Bombi Call-Me-More?

https://www.businessdail...49982-kudr6e/index.html

A bank manager accused of aiding the flow of money linked to the Dusit terror attack through M-Pesa has shifted the blame to Safaricom .

Ms Sophia Njoki Mbogo, the branch manager at Diamond Trust Bank Eastleigh branch, Thursday said through court papers that she was acting on the instructions of Safaricom in releasing funds to a man the prosecution says was a terrorism financier.

Ms Mbogo’s court application was in response to the request by Anti-Terrorism Police Unit to have her and six other suspects detained for 30 days for deeper investigations.

Ms Mbogo’s troubles are linked to Mr Nur’s M-Pesa business in Eastleigh.

He allegedly used to withdraw Sh400,000 severally in a day through a till number, sparking suspicions.

The police are accusing her as branch manager of allowing huge sums of monies to be cashed within a very short period of time without demanding evidence.

Ms Mbogo says Safaricom is the firm that verifies the identity of registered M-Pesa agents and authorises the bank to release trading cash to the agent when in need of float or money for transactions.

“The bank being an agent of Safaricom releases the float according to the instructions issued by Safaricom being the principal,” notes Ms Mbogo.

gk
#275 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 3:46:34 PM

Kemunto, the bride has been nabbed in Makueni.
#276 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 3:49:04 PM

gk wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
thuks
#277 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 4:11:43 PM

gk wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

This investigation is thorough
I care!
#278 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 4:16:55 PM

thuks wrote:
gk wrote:

This investigation is thorough

Whooa! that girl is bad news.
Now let's wait for maragas courts to release her on cash bail.
#279 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 4:25:49 PM

gk wrote:

If she was already in Makueni, who nabbed her? God or Satan?
#280 Posted : Friday, January 25, 2019 4:31:06 PM

radiomast wrote:

Now you know why its becoming difficult for kids to get places at alliance and other schools since slots have been taken up by such alien kids and also those from refugee camps in daadab and kakuma.

Also this birth certificate scandal must explain the unusual explosion of the "kenyan Somali population" in the census which some NE people like the mullah are stupidly explaining that its due to Somali women getting 7 kids each eti while central men cant sire because they have been finished off by phombe.

Are you doubting that @hardwood? I read a report on the world's changing demographics, and there is nothing you can do...

It was in 2012 when we saw it in central counties women demonstrating in protest in the streets!! Because their men who drink a lot of alcohol failed in satisfying their wives! Experts agree...