Riverside / Dusit Hotel
#241 Posted : Sunday, January 20, 2019 12:10:02 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
ohhhh. I have hurt your feelings?

How do you think a Kenyan Somali feels every time you and your ilk compares them to terrorists. Again I want to remind you, it's not Muslims, it's terrorists. Lest you forget one of these fellas was called Erick.

Grow up.

Now you go create another hashtag. Men are busy talking.

@alma you are an IDIOT! What will you say now????

https://www.the-star.co....s-inside-dusit_c1880464

Yesterday, investigations took a dramatic twist after police traced 26-year-old Eric Kinyanjui Munyi to a hospital in Kiambu and established that he was not among the attackers killed.

DCI officers have been pursuing Kinyajui after it emerged that a cell phone the dead terrorists used was registered with his particulars.

Detectives from Dagoretti DCI traced Kinyanjui to Nazareth Hospital where he is currently working as a trainee nurse. Kinyanjui was in shock when the officers questioned him about the Dusit Hotel attack.

Kinyanjui told the police he was not in communication with any of the killed men and that his identity card and particulars could have been used to register the cell phone which the terrorists were using.

Kinyanjui was questioned by the police but was not required to travel to Nairobi to record statements.

Kinyanjui told the police he lost his identity card sometime last July and he reported the matter to the police and obtained a police abstract. He later used the abstract to replace his lost ID which he believes the criminals used to register their cell phone.

I guess those who argue just for the sake of it can now see why it is wise to keep your IDs private. I realised that Safaricom doesn't audit its information esp if you change your number. You better reach out to them to find out how many numbers are registered using your ID

lakini the ID is a sequential number, its not random, someone can just extrapolate the same and design a photocopy look like and get a sim card.

It would be interesting to come across someone who has guessed those 8-9 numbers and matched your names as stored on the national database.
#242 Posted : Sunday, January 20, 2019 12:58:46 PM

The US killed 52 al-shabab militias in Somali in last night's air strikes. A swift reaction to the attack at 14 Riverside.

#243 Posted : Sunday, January 20, 2019 2:31:50 PM

How do you think a Kenyan Somali feels every time you and your ilk compares them to terrorists. Again I want to remind you, it's not Muslims, it's terrorists. Lest you forget one of these fellas was called Erick.

Grow up.

Yesterday, investigations took a dramatic twist after police traced 26-year-old Eric Kinyanjui Munyi to a hospital in Kiambu and established that he was not among the attackers killed.

DCI officers have been pursuing Kinyajui after it emerged that a cell phone the dead terrorists used was registered with his particulars.

Detectives from Dagoretti DCI traced Kinyanjui to Nazareth Hospital where he is currently working as a trainee nurse. Kinyanjui was in shock when the officers questioned him about the Dusit Hotel attack.

Kinyanjui told the police he was not in communication with any of the killed men and that his identity card and particulars could have been used to register the cell phone which the terrorists were using.

Kinyanjui was questioned by the police but was not required to travel to Nairobi to record statements.

Kinyanjui told the police he lost his identity card sometime last July and he reported the matter to the police and obtained a police abstract. He later used the abstract to replace his lost ID which he believes the criminals used to register their cell phone.

I guess those who argue just for the sake of it can now see why it is wise to keep your IDs private. I realised that Safaricom doesn't audit its information esp if you change your number. You better reach out to them to find out how many numbers are registered using your ID

How can you keep it private? Unless you don't use mpesa agents and you don't go various premises where you have to leave your ID or log it in with the Security guards.
And remember you can still lose your wallet!
#244 Posted : Sunday, January 20, 2019 5:32:47 PM

Grow up.

How can you keep it private? Unless you don't use mpesa agents and you don't go various premises where you have to leave your ID or log it in with the Security guards.

And that's the question, personally I am really rethinking my interuction with the mpesa people. Lipa na mpesa is a great help. And withdrawals over ATM.

#245 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 11:00:25 AM

You should apologise for suggesting that I was peddling falsehoods when I said these guys were Kikuyus. I was wrong. In fact, there were 2 Kikuyus involved.

It's been confirmed that NONE of the terrorists were okuyo. Ali Salim is NOT okuyo. Erick Kinyanjui was not involved in the attack but rather terrorists used his lost ID to register telephone lines used to coordinate the attacks. Therefore you should stop this habit of kupayuka ovyo ovyo and always wait for facts to emerge before opening your mouth. I hope we have now settled this issue. Okuyos are not terrorists. You should now apologize to all okuyos for tarnishing their character.
#246 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 11:10:37 AM

Grow up.

And that's the question, personally I am really rethinking my interuction with the mpesa people. Lipa na mpesa is a great help. And withdrawals over ATM.

The are thousands of lost IDS pinned on street corners, malls, offices, hospitals, churches, pubs, matatus etc etc. The thugs would have to exhaust all those before coming for your ID.
#247 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 11:15:26 AM

Grow up.

The are thousands of lost IDS pinned on street corners, malls, offices, hospitals, churches, pubs, matatus etc etc. The thugs would have to exhaust all those before coming for your ID.

With 'right' connections and afew kshs '000 you can get any ID you want fro you know where. Kenya!!!!!!
#248 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 11:18:19 AM

Grow up.

With 'right' connections and afew kshs '000 you can get any ID you want fro you know where. Kenya!!!!!!

I thought those manenos iliisha with kajwang (no pun intended).
#249 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 12:00:22 PM

@murchr Many people have more than one tel number registered under their ID eg you could have your main line, side hustle business line, safcom modem line, line for tablet comp, car tracking device line, line for your underage 16yr old, house phone line to call the housegirl or kids etc. Those are 7 active safaricom lines registered with one ID by a law abiding citizen. So imagine the havoc if safcom switched off all extra lines registered under your ID.

@kaka2za imagine all the personal data we leave each day? You visit office A and at the gate you have to note on some hard cover book your name, ID, telephone no, car details etc and on top of that leave your original ID at the gate. Image if you visit more than 1 office each day. Also if you are applying for jobs you email a copy of your id, CV, certificates and other details to numerous companies/organisations and you have no control of all that digital data. You may have your ID in the pocket but your details are all over.
#250 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 12:26:30 PM

@murchr Many people have more than one tel number registered under their ID eg you could have your main line, side hustle business line, safcom modem line, line for tablet comp, car tracking device line, line for your underage 16yr old, house phone line to call the housegirl or kids etc. Those are 7 active safaricom lines registered with one ID by a law abiding citizen. So imagine the havoc if safcom switched off all extra lines registered under your ID.

@kaka2za imagine all the personal data we leave each day? You visit office A and at the gate you have to note on some hard cover book your name, ID, telephone no, car details etc and on top of that leave your original ID at the gate. Image if you visit more than 1 office each day. Also if you are applying for jobs you email a copy of your id, CV, certificates and other details to numerous companies/organisations and you have no control of all that digital data. You may have your ID in the pocket but your details are all over.

My point exactly! So don't be surprised to find that some strangers have registered lines under your name.
May be the service providers should have a platform where one can find all the lines registered under his/her name.
#251 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 5:51:15 PM

Sad. Now they don't even want roads. Jinga.

Sansa
#252 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 5:51:50 PM

This practice needs to stop. What's the purpose anyway? If they want to collect info on people going in and out of buildings they should introduce some kind of scanner/swipe machine that either verifies your ID is valid, or collects the data and securely stores it for a limited amount of time.
#253 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 6:48:43 PM

Wouldn't it be prudent to find out? Or coming back later to act suprised is more of your thing?

I sent a tweet to Safcom and they had one number (which I owned previously) listed under my name, I put in a request to take it off. There is no problem if you can Identify all the 50 phones under your ID, but what about that extra number that might land you in great shit? Safaricom is paying someone to manage their data integrity. Mine is not to feel woishe for him or her.

As for all these places you leave your details, how do the information they collect help? Dont you think its time they changed the practice? How are those records helpful after 1 week?
#254 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 7:41:55 PM

You should apologise for suggesting that I was peddling falsehoods when I said these guys were Kikuyus. I was wrong. In fact, there were 2 Kikuyus involved.

It's been confirmed that NONE of the terrorists were okuyo. Ali Salim is NOT okuyo. Erick Kinyanjui was not involved in the attack but rather terrorists used his lost ID to register telephone lines used to coordinate the attacks. Therefore you should stop this habit of kupayuka ovyo ovyo and always wait for facts to emerge before opening your mouth. I hope we have now settled this issue. Okuyos are not terrorists. You should now apologize to all okuyos for tarnishing their character.

Okuyus don't kill customers. They rob them and let them live so that they can steal from them again.
#255 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 9:38:27 PM

I am watching some news item on citizen tv regarding nyumba kumi and i think it's just very simplistic and doesn't make sense. Few people in urban areas care about who their neighbours are or what they do. If your neighbour drives his car into his compound, and closes his gate, how would you know what he is carrying or is up to?

So unless you come up with estate regulations that say that at all home owners/tenants cars are searched at the gate, and the estate security committee searches the bedrooms of all home owners/tenants every weekend, then there is no way of knowing what your neighbours are up to. And am 100% sure that no home owners/tenants would pass a law that demands that their cars are searched at the estate gate every time they leave or return to their homes or to have their homes searched.

Maybe nyumba kumi could work in the slums where neighbours could be aware that a neighbour is a small time thug in the estate where anapiga watu ngeta or steals neighbours chicken or phones. But in many areas even car jackers, conmen never steal from their neighbors. They commit crimes elsewhere, and then drive or walk back home and lead normal lives just like their neighbours.

Also how are neighbours huko Runda supposed to know that their fellow neighbours who work as CEOS huko NYS, Kenya pipeline, Youth Fund etc are big thieves and kiriminos who should be reported to the Runda nyumba kumi and to DPP Haji, Kinoti?
#256 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 12:03:07 PM

Okuyus don't kill customers. They rob them and let them live so that they can steal from them again.

Sad how tribe creeps into everything Kenyan. This had nothing to do with tribe but hopelessness. When someone is able to convince you to go on an evil suicide mission, he must have targeted you as an individual and understood you and your circumstances very well. So, since one came from Mombasa, why isn't anyone spotlighting Mombasa? Ama it's expected from coasterians?

#257 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 12:11:56 PM

I am watching some news item on citizen tv regarding nyumba kumi and i think it's just very simplistic and doesn't make sense. Few people in urban areas care about who their neighbours are or what they do. If your neighbour drives his car into his compound, and closes his gate, how would you know what he is carrying or is up to?

So unless you come up with estate regulations that say that at all home owners/tenants cars are searched at the gate, and the estate security committee searches the bedrooms of all home owners/tenants every weekend, then there is no way of knowing what your neighbours are up to. And am 100% sure that no home owners/tenants would pass a law that demands that their cars are searched at the estate gate every time they leave or return to their homes or to have their homes searched.

Maybe nyumba kumi could work in the slums where neighbours could be aware that a neighbour is a small time thug in the estate where anapiga watu ngeta or steals neighbours chicken or phones. But in many areas even car jackers, conmen never steal from their neighbors. They commit crimes elsewhere, and then drive or walk back home and lead normal lives just like their neighbours.

Also how are neighbours huko Runda supposed to know that their fellow neighbours who work as CEOS huko NYS, Kenya pipeline, Youth Fund etc are big thieves and kiriminos who should be reported to the Runda nyumba kumi and to DPP Haji, Kinoti?

Nyumba kumi is a joke for fighting terrorism. It's for catching chicken thieves and pipping Toms.

Fighting terrorism requires intelligence. And I think the people in charge of intelligence failed us big time on this one.
I know they have prevented many attacks but remember that these guys only need to succeed once and they did. Again, I would understand at most if this was a lone gunman although we should honestly expect similar to what is happening in the west where they use cars and kitchen knives. These were 5 well organized men who have been to Somali, how did they get into Nairobi without being detected? The minute someone comes from Somali, he should automatically be a person of interest even if he had traveled there for business. That's my thought.

#258 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 1:28:23 PM

Nyumba kumi is a joke for fighting terrorism. It's for catching chicken thieves and pipping Toms.

Fighting terrorism requires intelligence. And I think the people in charge of intelligence failed us big time on this one.
I know they have prevented many attacks but remember that these guys only need to succeed once and they did. Again, I would understand at most if this was a lone gunman although we should honestly expect similar to what is happening in the west where they use cars and kitchen knives. These were 5 well organized men who have been to Somali, how did they get into Nairobi without being detected? The minute someone comes from Somali, he should automatically be a person of interest even if he had traveled there for business. That's my thought.

@2012, the Ethiopian version of Nyumba Kumi, Kebele System, works perfect. Google it and check how it works
#259 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 1:39:13 PM

Gathige wrote:

@2012, the Ethiopian version of Nyumba Kumi, Kebele System, works perfect. Google it and check how it works

Also note that Ethiopia strictly does not allow Somalis into their country, including citizens from countries associated with terrorism.

Nyumba kumi can work in Ethiopia and Tanzania where there's ujamaa but in Kenya, I don't even know my neighbour. Landlords don't even know or run a background check on their tenants as long as they are paying rent. Employers hire on cv only - fake or otherwise. Relatives only meet in funerals and may be a ka-wedding. Parents don't even know where their young adults spend their day. Sasa, how can Nyumba kumi work if hata family hawezi kukuambia watoto wao hufanya kazi gani?

#260 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 1:59:15 PM

Gathige wrote:

Also note that Ethiopia strictly does not allow Somalis into their country, including citizens from countries associated with terrorism.

Nyumba kumi can work in Ethiopia and Tanzania where there's ujamaa but in Kenya, I don't even know my neighbour. Landlords don't even know or run a background check on their tenants as long as they are paying rent. Employers hire on cv only - fake or otherwise. Relatives only meet in funerals and may be a ka-wedding. Parents don't even know where their young adults spend their day. Sasa, how can Nyumba kumi work if hata family hawezi kukuambia watoto wao hufanya kazi gani?

When a jambazi sugu is gunned downed in the act, it is the parents/relatives who are the first to cry foul despite knowing how their son/daughter lived. We, as a society, are not helping at all.