wazua Thu, Mar 28, 2024

39 Pages«<7891011>»
KCB 2018 and Beyond
#161 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 11:38:10 AM

CBA is looking to buy JBB and NIC. It will become the #3 bank should both deals go through.
Furthermore, the push to push new mobile lending products at APRs higher than CBR+4% continues unabated by CBA.

The rate cap will be modified. It's just a matter of time.
#162 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 11:46:33 AM

CBA is looking to buy JBB and NIC. It will become the #3 bank should both deals go through.
Furthermore, the push to push new mobile lending products at APRs higher than CBR+4% continues unabated by CBA.

The rate cap will be modified. It's just a matter of time.

By about end of 2020 it will be modified when nani has nothing to lose ~ legacy would have been won or lost by then smile .
wukan
#163 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 12:22:15 PM

There are no permanent friends or enemies in politics. Just interests.

THE family is in banking big time. Wait until the day the mum will wake up and demand that something must be done. And we are talking about an African mum!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly imagine if you followed african mum into kenya power and you gave it capital at the right issue at 19/- hoping she will not let it be mismanaged. Hope is not an investment strategy. You are better off holding onto your cash
lochaz-index
#164 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 1:00:31 PM

wukan wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:
bartum wrote:
I have small amount, can I buy KCB at 38 or I hold to drop

Time to buy kcb was yesterday.

And that might actually be literally.

I am also planning to buy KCB for my kids. Will be doing that later this month or January. I have a feeling I can get them at 35-36 and coz I am buying many, the 3/= difference from current price is huge!!

The worst is yet to be seen.
2019 will be blood on the streets

Why say so?

Because banks are headed for zero growth this year and next

The new IFRS9 accounting standards provided a window in 2018 that created an anomaly in bank profits for 2018 as some banks used capital reserves to clean up bad books, including cleaning up some credit losses earmarked for 2018.

Better explained by Moses Muthui

https://www.businessdail...34810-o3owko/index.html

I concur with the article. Regulatory risk cannot be overestimated in the short term (roughly 2 years). Whether the rate cap stays or is repealed the downside for bank returns is almost certain. On the plus side this consolidation cycle will underwrite the floor for the banking sector and thereafter be the spring board for future growth.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
#165 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 1:01:05 PM

wukan wrote:

There are no permanent friends or enemies in politics. Just interests.

THE family is in banking big time. Wait until the day the mum will wake up and demand that something must be done. And we are talking about an African mum!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly imagine if you followed african mum into kenya power and you gave it capital at the right issue at 19/- hoping she will not let it be mismanaged. Hope is not an investment strategy. You are better off holding onto your cash

He he he. I have never understood African mum's inaction at Kenya Power and I mentioned that in the Kenya Power thread. Of course there is a big difference between shareholding (Kenya Power) and outright ownership (banking) and there might be more undercurrents in the former.

Of course it is not an investment strategy (although a smart investors is always cognisant of where the smart money is going). I have been in banks way before some wazuans (SKerians) made careers out of bashing Equity and I have never regretted.

I am buying because I am happy with the prices under the current circumstances. I am not buying hope. The hope is added benefit. If it happens, well and good. If it doesn't happen I'm still okay. Like @vvs and I at KK. Wanunue Wasinunue, tuko sawa!!!
#166 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 1:10:46 PM

Having said that, don't underestimate THE African mum!!! Talk to people who have and have lived to regret it. In business, in politics, in life!
Ericsson
#167 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 9:55:54 PM

Moses Kuria is a messenger that has being sent by the master.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson
#168 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2019 4:02:17 PM

A high of 41 clocked
Ericsson
#169 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 1:02:40 PM

Ericsson wrote:
A high of 41 clocked

A huge leap in share price today.
What news is cooking?
Superprime1
#170 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 1:24:13 PM

Ericsson wrote:
A high of 41 clocked

What news is cooking?

Just that buses are taking off. Look at KCB, Equity, Coop (today), Centum etc. Buyers positioning for div.
bartum
#171 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 1:30:59 PM

Superprime1 wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
A high of 41 clocked

What news is cooking?

Just that buses are taking off. Look at KCB, Equity, Coop (today), Centum etc. Buyers positioning for div.

Still at discount,dividend yeild 7%
kaimbaga2012
#172 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 1:45:26 PM

Is it safe to say that the bull has began.
bartum
#173 Posted : Monday, January 21, 2019 2:32:46 PM

kaimbaga2012 wrote:

Mini bull to 3250
Horton
#174 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 7:16:57 AM

bartum wrote:
kaimbaga2012 wrote:

Mini bull to 3250

I hope you bought a few KCB as U had intended
bartum
#175 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 8:15:40 AM

Horton wrote:
bartum wrote:
kaimbaga2012 wrote:

Mini bull to 3250

I hope you bought a few KCB as I had intended

@hurton bought at 36.40
Horton
#176 Posted : Tuesday, January 22, 2019 10:25:09 AM

bartum wrote:
Horton wrote:
bartum wrote:
kaimbaga2012 wrote:

Mini bull to 3250

I hope you bought a few KCB as I had intended

@hurton bought at 36.40

Well done
Ericsson
#177 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2019 9:13:11 AM

https://www.standardmedi...sition-deals-for-growth

KCB, which also operates in Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi and South Sudan, expects regulatory approval to buy more than Sh25 billion ($248.76 million) worth of assets from Imperial Bank, which collapsed in 2015. The price of the assets has not been disclosed.

This purchase will help KCB to strengthen its small and medium enterprises banking business, since Imperial had many such customers, Oigara said.

Oigara, who joined KCB in 2013 after a stint as finance chief at Bamburi Cement, said the group’s return on equity, a measure of profitability, was set to climb towards 24 percent after dropping to 20 percent from 25-27 percent in the wake of the rate cap.

He said the recovery was mainly due to deals done via mobile lending services like KCB M-Pesa, a partnership with Safaricom, which owns the M-Pesa platform.

The boom in mobile phone lending has also been driven by demand from small traders locked out of normal bank loans by the rate cap, Oigara said.

“We expect our non-funded (fee) income to reach 40 percent (of total) by 2020. Today it is around 33 percent,” he said.

The bank lends out 300 million shillings daily on the KCB M-Pesa platform, about half of the 600-700 million shillings lent out by all banks daily on such platforms. Mobile phone loans are usually for 30 days.
Ericsson
#178 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2019 2:00:08 PM

Kenya Commercial Bank (KCB) has announced the closure of one of its major branches, Lokichoggio Branch.

In a public announcement through the local dailies, KCB announced that March 30 will be the last operating day for the branch.

“We wish to notify all our customers that the last operating day for KCB Lokichoggio Branch will be Saturday 30th March 2019,” the statement read.
Additionally, they provided the customers whom they serve through that branch with an alternative branch to use, the new KCB Kakuma Branch.

“Effective Monday 1st April 2019, kindly access normal banking services at our new KCB Kakuma Branch,” they stated.
bartum
#179 Posted : Friday, February 22, 2019 3:24:02 PM

When do kcb release FY18 earnings results
Ericsson
#180 Posted : Friday, February 22, 2019 6:10:56 PM

bartum wrote:
When do kcb release FY18 earnings results

Sometime in March