wazua Thu, Apr 18, 2024

8-year old rule on imported used cars
jitetee
#1 Posted : Sunday, July 19, 2009 5:44:00 PM

Calling on the motoring gurus on SK.

Up to what point should you dabble with importing a 7-8 year old car?

What I mean is,is there an issue with importing a 2001 car this year 2009? Or do I need to know the exact date of manufacture so that by the time it lands here. it will be within the 8 year period give or take some allowance for unforeseen delays?

What happens if it lands having breached this period?

I am toying with the idea of importing a 2002 car via IBC-Japan but was just curious to know what would happen were someone to import a 2001.

Time and chance happen to all.
jerry
#2 Posted : Sunday, July 19, 2009 6:03:00 PM

You appear to know the law and are bent to breaking it.

Hotels will always serve the fruits/vegs of the season. In stocks,ur duty as a trader is to identify the HOTshare of the season.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
thuks
#3 Posted : Sunday, July 19, 2009 6:13:00 PM

endless list of possibilities but being released on kenyan roads will not be on the cards

Time is your life,what do you do with yours?
I care!
Layman
#4 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2009 5:07:00 AM

Its based on the date of Manufacture and has nothing to do with when it arrives in kenya as long as you declared the import appropriately. It could arrive after a year,you know.

The future is already here!
giddy
#5 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2009 5:22:00 AM

Its very simple,with the 8 year rule,in 2009 you can import from 2002 onwards.Dont even think of 2001.You cant get it in the country. the month within 2002 does not mattter. I imported a,2002 Jan car and it landed in April an there were no issues.If you require more advice. Hola.
Kwanini
#6 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2009 6:58:00 AM

By tha way,the car could be manuf. 2001 but the FIRST registration must be not later than one year i.e 2002. Thats why KRA requires the JEVIC and export cert. So long as the car is declared na makaratasi yako,uko sawa on cut off date,lakini nasikia jevic do not issue the cert's past around Nov 15. due to smart alecks such as ...Now you know....

For i am the master and the captain of my fate !
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
B.Timer
#7 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2009 7:19:00 AM

Even within the 8 year limit,the month the car gets into Kenya,has a bearing on the tax regime,especially if it lands a month earlier than the Month of Manufacture.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
kamaumash
#8 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2009 7:42:00 AM

look for acar of 2002 they are many,for 2001 is later

invest slowly on a monthly basis dont wait till ati u get millions
kamaumash
#9 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2009 7:42:00 AM

look for acar of 2002 they are many,for 2001 is later

invest slowly on a monthly basis dont wait till ati u get millions
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 4:18:17 PM

Taurrus
#11 Posted : Monday, February 25, 2019 5:45:42 AM

How old are the locomotives the government is importing ?Sad
chiaroscuro
#12 Posted : Friday, March 29, 2019 9:40:46 AM

This headline belongs in the "Hogwash Press" thread!
Taurrus
#13 Posted : Monday, April 01, 2019 2:36:41 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:

This headline belongs in the "Hogwash Press" thread!

Reason?