wazua Fri, Apr 19, 2024

Homeownership journeys
LosAngeles~254
#41 Posted : Friday, January 11, 2019 10:39:53 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
Speaking of extreme home ownership journeys. If you have a plot, one idea is to buy a camping tent, put your household items in storage at one of your relatives places, move out of your rental to your plot and start saving the rent money towards building. For water just buy a tank and call a bowser whenever it empties or get it from a nearby borehole supplier. Every little bit counts. But this is only for the self employed. A corporate drone hawezi mek. Cooking will be with a jiko or using an outdoor fire. The upshot is you will learn valuable survival skills and minimalist living.

@MugundaMan, yes that would be an awesome idea! But only if a secure area. 'Cause what's the point of saving in that minimalist living situation only to spend that money for hospital visits after being clobbered by thugs? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Other than the tent security issue, I think it's a brilliant idea for the hardcore saver (which i think i am).

As a side note bro 'cause ur looking for a wifey, let me add that you CANNOT do this with these girlfriends or wives nowadays ...atahepa before u finish the words "sweetie tufanye minimali...." Laughing out loudly Brick wall Laughing out loudly
God. Real Estate. Fast Cars. Hot Chicks. Philanthropy.
MugundaMan
#42 Posted : Friday, January 11, 2019 10:49:45 AM

LosAngeles~254 wrote:

@MugundaMan, yes that would be an awesome idea! But only if a secure area. 'Cause what's the point of saving in that minimalist living situation only to spend that money for hospital visits after being clobbered by thugs? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Other than the tent security issue, I think it's a brilliant idea for the hardcore saver (which i think i am).

As a side note bro 'cause ur looking for a wifey, let me add that you CANNOT do this with these girlfriends or wives nowadays ...atahepa before u finish the words "sweetie tufanye minimali...." Laughing out loudly Brick wall Laughing out loudly

True but part of true minimalism is learning self defense Laughing out loudly
Might not hurt to apply to be a licensed gun owner while at it. And there is not much to steal from the tent anyway!
Another option is to build a tiny home chap chap, cool out in it for a year or so as the main house comes up with the saved rent money, then use the tiny house as an SQ afterwards.

As for the wifey if she cannot live with the kwuy in a tent when he is starting out she has no right to live with him when the beautiful maisonette is done and dusted. In fact that could be an excellent way to test her Laughing out loudly

MugundaMan
#43 Posted : Monday, January 14, 2019 9:27:34 PM

This weeks episode was dust bowl heavy Dancing

On the homeownership journey, dude converted his home into a Boutique Hotel and is doing well Applause Kudos to him.
wukan
#44 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 10:35:37 AM

MugundaMan wrote:

On the homeownership journey, dude converted his home into a Boutique Hotel and is doing well Applause Kudos to him.

Yaani 10m houses are huko Athi river, and kite.d'oh! d'oh!
MugundaMan
#45 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 11:04:14 AM

wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

he he he Wukan you amaze me
https://house.jumia.co.k...option=offer_type%3Abuy

Did you think we were running to DC to only build 7m kshs bungalows for sale? Laughing out loudly
#46 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 11:08:47 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

Did you think we were running to DC to only build 7m kshs bungalows for sale? Laughing out loudly

38M, OK give it for dustbowl basi Applause Applause Applause Though the design yawa d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
MugundaMan
#47 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 11:14:38 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

38M, OK give it for dustbowl basi Applause Applause Applause Though the design yawa d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

If you think that design is bad what about this one Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

https://house.jumia.co.k...ea=3893&category=15

125 milli

I think the guy was trying to build a space ship of some sort while smoking some really bad ndhom as he designed it. Whoever buys this property should just tear the place down and do something better with those beautiful 5 acres.
Fyatu
#48 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 11:59:08 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

If you think that design is bad what about this one Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

https://house.jumia.co.k...ea=3893&category=15

125 milli

I think the guy was trying to build a space ship of some sort while smoking some really bad ndhom as he designed it. Whoever buys this property should just tear the place down and do something better with those beautiful 5 acres.

5 acres is quite a huge chunk of land.I am not surprised by the price
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
wukan
#49 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 12:33:39 PM

125 milli for 1.5 acres in DC. Utter dumb money. For 120 milli you can get 1/4 acre on forest road for prime redevelopment.
MugundaMan
#50 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2019 1:08:19 PM

wukan wrote:
125 milli for 1.5 acres in DC. Utter dumb money. For 120 milli you can get 1/4 acre on forest road for prime redevelopment.

He he he he he Kitengela IS prime baba and you ain't seen NuFfIn yet! My predictions for 4brr maisonnettes on a quarter in specific estates in DC by 2022 are as follows :

Chuna (Kitengelas future Runda) -60m
Milimani 32m
Kibiku Ngong 42m
Rongai - 40m
Kiserian -35m
Matasia -30m
Kerarapon Ngong - 100m
Olkeri -25m
Muigai Prestige - 38m
New valley -30m
Acacia -45m
Yukos - 50m

MugundaMan
#51 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2019 8:11:39 AM

1. I wish they did less talking and showed more of the house. Story mingi bila views of the house and details on how she acquired it gets boring after the first few minutes of listening to it.

2. The move out of Nairobi for all who want to get ahead by owning their own home is inevitable as this Nairobi bred lady's story shows. A few weeks back one of these property shows also highlighted a lady born and raised in Nairobi who moved to Nakuru and built a lovely huge maisonette there. She was raving about how she does not deal with traffic issues, cost of living is cheaper etc. This move out of Nairobi should not surprise anyone in a developing economy with a red hot economy growing at 5%+ per year. As the middle class booms it inevitably fans out to places that fit its pocket and standards of living expected. If you grew up in Lavington, for example, what are the chances that unless you are a drug dealer or seed of "old money" (as Wukan proudly claims Laughing out loudly) you can afford to buy a 500m kshs bungalow with huge garden to live there in? Not happening any time soon. The logical thing is to move to a place like Jewel in the Crown (Kitengela) buy a 1/4 acre and build a lovely maisonette that preserves your standard of living but at a pocket friendly price. As hundreds of thousands of fellow middle classers do so, they create new "Lavingtons" in DC, Nyeri, Nakuru, Ruiru, Naivasha, etc etc, and where the middle class moves to, the corporates also follow and so do government services (eventually) due to the economic power and clout of this group.

3. This trend also mirrors what has happened in western countries with regards to the "inner cities." The affluent fan out of the older core of the city and build beautiful new suburbs that they either commute from to work or live and work in. Unfortunately this leads to urban blight and deterioration of neighbourhoods within the city's core as the middle classes leave and the core becomes more commercialised. We are already having glimpses of this with Ngara and Kariakor which used to be elite middle class areas in the 60s but are now becoming urban eyesores if they aren't so already, despite the prime locations they inhabit. I hope these areas will not become "the Hillbrows" of Nairobi. This is why I say DC is the future. It's a no brainer really. SGR 4 stations, roads being built like crazy, houses coming up like weeds and those who want to secure their future permanently are either there or on their way there. Nobody wants to live in cramped apartments in Nairobi for the rest of their life. You need space for your totos to do somersaults in the back yard fuaa. A stand alone maisonette and lifestyle in the suburbs is the new Kenyan dream IMHO.

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu!
#52 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2019 9:00:49 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:

He he he he he Kitengela IS prime baba and you ain't seen NuFfIn yet! My predictions for 4brr maisonnettes on a quarter in specific estates in DC by 2022 are as follows :

Milimani 32m
Kibiku Ngong 42m
Rongai - 40m
Kiserian -35m
Matasia -30m
Kerarapon Ngong - 100m
Olkeri -25m
Muigai Prestige - 38m
New valley -30m
Acacia -45m
Yukos - 50m

Whats DC?
#53 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2019 10:38:08 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:

Milimani 32m
Kibiku Ngong 42m
Rongai - 40m
Kiserian -35m
Matasia -30m
Kerarapon Ngong - 100m
Olkeri -25m
Muigai Prestige - 38m
New valley -30m
Acacia -45m
Yukos - 50m

Whats DC?

DC Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Dustbowl County (Kite, Ronga, Kise, Ngong & surrounding) kwako included as per Mugundaman!!!
wukan
#54 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2019 11:26:24 AM

MugundaMan wrote:

1. I wish they did less talking and showed more of the house. Story mingi bila views of the house and details on how she acquired it gets boring after the first few minutes of listening to it.

2. The move out of Nairobi for all who want to get ahead by owning their own home is inevitable as this Nairobi bred lady's story shows. A few weeks back one of these property shows also highlighted a lady born and raised in Nairobi who moved to Nakuru and built a lovely huge maisonette there. She was raving about how she does not deal with traffic issues, cost of living is cheaper etc. This move out of Nairobi should not surprise anyone in a developing economy with a red hot economy growing at 5%+ per year. As the middle class booms it inevitably fans out to places that fit its pocket and standards of living expected. If you grew up in Lavington, for example, what are the chances that unless you are a drug dealer or seed of "old money" (as Wukan proudly claims Laughing out loudly) you can afford to buy a 500m kshs bungalow with huge garden to live there in? Not happening any time soon. The logical thing is to move to a place like Jewel in the Crown (Kitengela) buy a 1/4 acre and build a lovely maisonette that preserves your standard of living but at a pocket friendly price. As hundreds of thousands of fellow middle classers do so, they create new "Lavingtons" in DC, Nyeri, Nakuru, Ruiru, Naivasha, etc etc, and where the middle class moves to, the corporates also follow and so do government services (eventually) due to the economic power and clout of this group.
Maoni yangu tu!
a) Yes Nakuru is positioning itself as the ideal retirement for Nairobi middle class fed up with the dysfunctional Nairobi county govt. It has a rich agricultural hinterland which has not been turned into real estate like Kiambu so cost of living is cheaper. Lots of good projects there like Itare dam to supply low fluoride water, menengai geothermal plants, naivasha SGR and SEZ.
b) The places you mentioned Nyeri, Nakuru, Ruiru and Naivasha do not have the pace and vibrancy of Nairobi streets. DC being the bedroom of Nairobi has kidogo vibrancy. It will take more numbers of middle class relocation to move the economic power to the new "Lavingtons". Plus most of the places also have bad urban planning.
c) Lavington and Kilimani areas with bungalow and huge garden is colonial old school. That is something for the govt civil servants most of home are now in the sunset years. Those areas nowadays look like ghost towns with many overpriced empty apartments. The modern concept is penthouse living like what the chinese are doing at the Global Trade centre. That's why you see a place like Dusit2 was really popular with politicians sons and daughters and wheeler dealers.
d) Kitengela and generally dustbowl and lets say Kangudo road, Ruiru, Juja is the place for the new Kibaki era middle class which is yet to attain the economic clout to move corporates or govt services.

3. This trend also mirrors what has happened in western countries with regards to the "inner cities." The affluent fan out of the older core of the city and build beautiful new suburbs that they either commute from to work or live and work in. Unfortunately this leads to urban blight and deterioration of neighbourhoods within the city's core as the middle classes leave and the core becomes more commercialised. We are already having glimpses of this with Ngara and Kariakor which used to be elite middle class areas in the 60s but are now becoming urban eyesores if they aren't so already, despite the prime locations they inhabit. I hope these areas will not become "the Hillbrows" of Nairobi. This is why I say DC is the future. It's a no brainer really. SGR 4 stations, roads being built like crazy, houses coming up like weeds and those who want to secure their future permanently are either there or on their way there. Nobody wants to live in cramped apartments in Nairobi for the rest of their life. You need space for your totos to do somersaults in the back yard fuaa. A stand alone maisonette and lifestyle in the suburbs is the new Kenyan dream IMHO.
a) American cities are different from western cities. America has "white fear/black pain" complex and car culture that influences the development of its cities. The white flight to suburbs killed American cities urban core but this has reversed in recent years. The suburbs have become the new poverty areas that's where the 'breaking bad' meth labs are now located. There has been a move back to the urban cores that's why places like Harlem look radically different from what you saw in the rap videos. The Hillbrows of Nairobi will look radically different in 10 years.
b) Transit Oriented Development is the new gospel spreading across America.It's all about creating vibrant, walkable, mixed-use communities surrounding transit stations. Compact development of cities makes more sense. E.g. There are 24 Sewage Treatment Plants in Nairobi, the main ones being the Dandora and Kariobangi Sewage Treatment Plants. The Dandora Plant has design capacity of 120,000m3/day and handles an average flow of 76,000m3/day while the Kariobangi plant has design capacity of 32,000m3/day and handles an average flow of 11,000m3/day. Most of the sewage treatment plants are operating at very low efficiency despite the fact that they receive flows below their design capacity. Why would govt build sewage treatment plants in dustbowl if the nairobi capacity is hardly utilized.
c) Nairobi has more of an archipelago complex where building communities is done like small islands which are somehow disconnected from each other. The only glue is the city's core which has served as the transit zone. Cities have this pattern of extending to the suburbs then returning to the urban core.
d) GoK has drunk the modern urbanism cool aid and the paper plans are heavily influenced by the transit oriented development concept. You will see govt building up the Railway city around the Nairobi central station, the commuter rail system to serve kiambu and dustbolw districts and BRT system to serve the city core. In the near future if you are from dustbowl and work in Nairobi you will be squeezing yourself in the train because operating your car will be too expensive. If you are a property developer and you don't get the TOD concept you will end up with ghost apartments.

Ni hayo maoni yangu tu!

MugundaMan
#55 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2019 11:37:39 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:

Milimani 32m
Kibiku Ngong 42m
Rongai - 40m
Kiserian -35m
Matasia -30m
Kerarapon Ngong - 100m
Olkeri -25m
Muigai Prestige - 38m
New valley -30m
Acacia -45m
Yukos - 50m

Whats DC?

DC Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Dustbowl County (Kite, Ronga, Kise, Ngong & surrounding) kwako included as per Mugundaman!!!

smile smile
MugundaMan
#56 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2019 11:40:05 AM

Wukan, washa ngelele mingi and come here. Sarah Village in DC is selling these for 18m

Savanna Relocations and Homes.
#57 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2019 6:06:36 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:

Milimani 32m
Kibiku Ngong 42m
Rongai - 40m
Kiserian -35m
Matasia -30m
Kerarapon Ngong - 100m
Olkeri -25m
Muigai Prestige - 38m
New valley -30m
Acacia -45m
Yukos - 50m

Whats DC?

lol...Kiserian...Kiserian is cool lakini...Esp if you have like 3 to 5 acres....
#58 Posted : Friday, January 18, 2019 12:27:33 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
wukan wrote:

Milimani 32m
Kibiku Ngong 42m
Rongai - 40m
Kiserian -35m
Matasia -30m
Kerarapon Ngong - 100m
Olkeri -25m
Muigai Prestige - 38m
New valley -30m
Acacia -45m
Yukos - 50m

Whats DC?

lol...Kiserian...Kiserian is cool lakini...Esp if you have like 3 to 5 acres....

@Maka, The breeze from Ngong hills is quite refreshing and the views esp at Corner Baridi just owesome and quite a sight to behold.
MugundaMan
#59 Posted : Thursday, January 24, 2019 7:35:53 AM

You have got to hand it to them. Naijos always do things big. Is this a maisonette or a shopping mall? This house is a little too big for a family to live comfortably. You may find you have not visited some rooms in years due to the sprawling size and number of rooms therein.
MugundaMan
#60 Posted : Thursday, January 24, 2019 7:40:51 AM

Unless you are a commercial farmer 3 to 5 acres within 50km radius of Nairobi CBD is too much for one person. Perhaps to sell. In fact 1/4 acre is huuuuuuuuge. Hata 1/8th is enough to build a decent maisonette and still have plenty of space to feed the neighbourhood if that is your thing. The problem with Kenyans is they are always competing to outdo each other which is always a lose lose game.