Should men earn more than women?
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Iceland has made it illegal for men to earn more than women. Now, I know most of us don't know that women earn less than men on the same job grade, unless of course, you are in HR. Previously, there were two believes that led to this. Oh, make that three. 1. Women were expected to get married meaning the man is the family financier. 2. We men were considered weaker and were given 'lighter duties' usually to help men eg. secretaries. 3. And the rediculous one is women were considered less on the intelligence front than men. Of course we know otherwise now. I've always worked in organizations that paid for work done, not based on the sex but in a country where the paycheck is kept more secret than murder, it's hard to know about most organizations. What are your experiences on this? BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Traditionally (read earlier in the times) men were expected to provide for the women... and largely these men did their job. That ideally meant the women did not need to worry about their welfare and maintenance. But! Today the boychild is sleeping on the job, he is no longer striving to be the provider. So what should the girl child do, sit there and starve? She is now working harder... so be it, let her earn more proportionate to the effort she is putting in.
AlphDoti wrote:Traditionally (read earlier in the times) men were expected to provide for the women... and largely these men did their job. That ideally meant the women did not need to worry about their welfare and maintenance. But! Today the boychild is sleeping on the job, he is no longer striving to be the provider. So what should the girl child do, sit there and starve? She is now working harder... so be it, let her earn more proportionate to the effort she is putting in. Whether a woman earns more or not. A MAN should provide for his family. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Traditionally (read earlier in the times) men were expected to provide for the women... and largely these men did their job. That ideally meant the women did not need to worry about their welfare and maintenance. But! Today the boychild is sleeping on the job, he is no longer striving to be the provider. So what should the girl child do, sit there and starve? She is now working harder... so be it, let her earn more proportionate to the effort she is putting in. Whether a woman earns more or not. A MAN should provide for his family. Why then should the woman be earning?
Lolest! wrote:Swenani wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Traditionally (read earlier in the times) men were expected to provide for the women... and largely these men did their job. That ideally meant the women did not need to worry about their welfare and maintenance. But! Today the boychild is sleeping on the job, he is no longer striving to be the provider. So what should the girl child do, sit there and starve? She is now working harder... so be it, let her earn more proportionate to the effort she is putting in. Whether a woman earns more or not. A MAN should provide for his family. Why then should the woman be earning? To pay the househelp and her chamas and extended relatives If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
Equal pay for equal work.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Swenani wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Traditionally (read earlier in the times) men were expected to provide for the women... and largely these men did their job. That ideally meant the women did not need to worry about their welfare and maintenance. But! Today the boychild is sleeping on the job, he is no longer striving to be the provider. So what should the girl child do, sit there and starve? She is now working harder... so be it, let her earn more proportionate to the effort she is putting in. Whether a woman earns more or not. A MAN should provide for his family. I agree with you. Check details here
Swenani wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Traditionally (read earlier in the times) men were expected to provide for the women... and largely these men did their job. That ideally meant the women did not need to worry about their welfare and maintenance. But! Today the boychild is sleeping on the job, he is no longer striving to be the provider. So what should the girl child do, sit there and starve? She is now working harder... so be it, let her earn more proportionate to the effort she is putting in. Whether a woman earns more or not. A MAN should provide for his family. I'm sure you mean a man should provide direction and vision as the head? Surely, we cannot go hungry when times are tough and you have a load saved up. I also think we should balance out expenses, of course the man should always take up the rent. What do you think, who should foot what supposing we're earning the same and you want your marriage to last? BBI will solve it :)
Testing Testing ffffhuuu ffffhuuu Testing ohh the mic is working hamjaboo... now eeh Quote:I'm sure you mean a man should provide direction and vision as the head? Surely, we cannot go hungry when times are tough and you have a load saved up.
I also think we should balance out expenses, of course the man should always take up the rent.
What do you think, who should foot what supposing we're earning the same and you want your marriage to last? I agree, personally I'd rather earn more, there is the joke... if the man has 10,000/- and the wife 30,000/= how much money does the household have? and the answer is 10000 hehe, Though IMHO if from the word go you agree on what expense each person should foot in the house, it becomes lasting and easy. expenses like rent, school fees etc hio I guess should be for the man, then the mama pays the mboch, the daily sukuma wikis and the likes.
2012 wrote:Swenani wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Traditionally (read earlier in the times) men were expected to provide for the women... and largely these men did their job. That ideally meant the women did not need to worry about their welfare and maintenance. But! Today the boychild is sleeping on the job, he is no longer striving to be the provider. So what should the girl child do, sit there and starve? She is now working harder... so be it, let her earn more proportionate to the effort she is putting in. Whether a woman earns more or not. A MAN should provide for his family. I'm sure you mean a man should provide direction and vision as the head? Surely, we cannot go hungry when times are tough and you have a load saved up. Man up chief. Depending on a woman month in month out is mannerless moreso for an african man. Only touch a woman's money when you have an emergency and not MONTHLY emergenciesI also think we should balance out expenses, of course the man should always take up the rent. Man should pay rent/buy hse, cater for your ladies(wife+daughters+MK) saloon and other expenses, buy food, shopping, pay fees and fuel the car for her.You shouldn't even check what she earnsWhat do you think, who should foot what supposing we're earning the same and you want your marriage to last? She should only foot for her househelp salary, kitchenwares(na mathogothanio ingine yote ya kurembesha nyumba)extended relatives expenses,family gifts and her drinks when she goes out with the ladies For peace of your mind, don't touch a woman's money especially taking her money do for use on capital expenditure. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:2012 wrote:Swenani wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Traditionally (read earlier in the times) men were expected to provide for the women... and largely these men did their job. That ideally meant the women did not need to worry about their welfare and maintenance. But! Today the boychild is sleeping on the job, he is no longer striving to be the provider. So what should the girl child do, sit there and starve? She is now working harder... so be it, let her earn more proportionate to the effort she is putting in. Whether a woman earns more or not. A MAN should provide for his family. I'm sure you mean a man should provide direction and vision as the head? Surely, we cannot go hungry when times are tough and you have a load saved up. Man up chief. Depending on a woman month in month out is mannerless moreso for an african man. Only touch a woman's money when you have an emergency and not MONTHLY emergenciesI also think we should balance out expenses, of course the man should always take up the rent. Man should pay rent/buy hse, cater for your ladies(wife+daughters+MK) saloon and other expenses, buy food, shopping, pay fees and fuel the car for her.You shouldn't even check what she earnsWhat do you think, who should foot what supposing we're earning the same and you want your marriage to last? She should only foot for her househelp salary, kitchenwares(na mathogothanio ingine yote ya kurembesha nyumba)extended relatives expenses,family gifts and her drinks when she goes out with the ladies For peace of your mind, don't touch a woman's money especially taking her money do for use on capital expenditure. So, let's say I provide for everything, yaani 100% provision, will you still ask me where it's coming from or why I'm late or where I've been? Or will you woman up as well like the African woman? (as quoted above). BBI will solve it :)
Mambo ya watu wawili is only unique to those two individuals. If a woman earns more than her husband and they decide on whatever they want to do with that combined basket, there will be no thunder from heaven. Don't get caught up subscribing to many people's theories. Mkiskizana ni sawa pia. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
2012 wrote:Swenani wrote:2012 wrote:Swenani wrote:AlphDoti wrote:Traditionally (read earlier in the times) men were expected to provide for the women... and largely these men did their job. That ideally meant the women did not need to worry about their welfare and maintenance. But! Today the boychild is sleeping on the job, he is no longer striving to be the provider. So what should the girl child do, sit there and starve? She is now working harder... so be it, let her earn more proportionate to the effort she is putting in. Whether a woman earns more or not. A MAN should provide for his family. I'm sure you mean a man should provide direction and vision as the head? Surely, we cannot go hungry when times are tough and you have a load saved up. Man up chief. Depending on a woman month in month out is mannerless moreso for an african man. Only touch a woman's money when you have an emergency and not MONTHLY emergenciesI also think we should balance out expenses, of course the man should always take up the rent. Man should pay rent/buy hse, cater for your ladies(wife+daughters+MK) saloon and other expenses, buy food, shopping, pay fees and fuel the car for her.You shouldn't even check what she earnsWhat do you think, who should foot what supposing we're earning the same and you want your marriage to last? She should only foot for her househelp salary, kitchenwares(na mathogothanio ingine yote ya kurembesha nyumba)extended relatives expenses,family gifts and her drinks when she goes out with the ladies For peace of your mind, don't touch a woman's money especially taking her money do for use on capital expenditure. So, let's say I provide for everything, yaani 100% provision, will you still ask me where it's coming from or why I'm late or where I've been? Or will you woman up as well like the African woman? (as quoted above). She should woman up too and stop asking the man of the house petty questions If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Should men earn more than women?