ID card number verification
#61 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 4:55:27 PM

By the way is "your" id card number your personal property? Does someone knowing it make it criminal? Coz I know Moi, Njonjo and Kibaki's numbers. At what point does knowing people's id number become criminal? 5! 10 million? I think the issue here is an issue of source. If you can draw a line between the data they have and your data (which you collected/regenerated)- you can cry foul but not without that

Give me your ID number uone

Leo kwa people daily zimejaa.... sijui how many pages!

Ben Chege Ngumi...An Investor of the NSE...The last digits of your Bank account end with ...660. Your official PO Box ends with 98. Niendelee ama nisiendelee????

yeah.... there is a thread with my identity and another with my salary on this forum but some of that info. is really old info... I don't use that account and the p.o box ilifungwa.... but even if it was correct - it's still useless information to have. But based on what you have gotten - You just queried the Central Depository System with old info about some stocks I bought along time ago. Anyway.... I was expecting identity theft bwana sio information on who a certain guy is... I know Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi has id no 0000001 and Kibaki has 0000002, Njonjo has 0000003.... e.t.c.

Just FYI, I dint querry the CDSC database..anyway do you know how much any malicious person would do with that info? I dont think anyone knowing your salary is any important since that's a variable data...
But with your name...and ID number(in Kenya I can easily get a fake one), and now that your Employer details are here...with a salary, I can open an account in your name, I can take up a loan using your name...true or false?
#62 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 5:05:03 PM

Just FYI, I dint querry the CDSC database..anyway do you know how much any malicious person would do with that info? I dont think anyone knowing your salary is any important since that's a variable data...
But with your name...and ID number(in Kenya I can easily get a fake one), and now that your Employer details are here...with a salary, I can open an account in your name, I can take up a loan using your name...true or false?

yeah... you can do that - only that it won't be me... and you really will have to have a bozo bank to do all that - They would lose a lot of money that way.
just because you show up with and ID card with someone else's name and your photo?

Let's assume its possible to pull it off - ok... you have a database of perhaps 1million ID numbers - why haven't you done that before or has that not been done before?

by the way - Based on what you have returned and the fact that you have used the term 'Employer' details - I am sure the employer details are really old but I digress.
#63 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 5:13:44 PM

yeah... you can do that - only that it won't be me... and you really will have to have a bozo bank to do all that - They would lose a lot of money that way.
just because you show up with and ID card with someone else's name and your photo?The bank will not suffer before you do. The grief you might go though by getting a lawyer and going through the process of proving that its not you who took up the money will cost you...dearly. Apart from that....How credit worthy will you be...

Let's assume its possible to pull it off - ok... you have a database of perhaps 1million ID numbers - why haven't you done that before or has that not been done before? Because am not malicious but that is not to say that someone else cannot do it. By the way..To put the record straight here....I have no intention of doing anything with your data..but someone else can,..and that is what is dangerous

by the way - Based on what you have returned and the fact that you have used the term 'Employer' details - I am sure the employer details are really old but I digress.

We live in the digital age...and in Kenya, almost everything is tied to your ID....be careful how you use it.
#64 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 7:15:52 PM

I think the confusion between what our ID number is and what the American SSN is what is sumbuaring people in their heads... a matching name and ID number here is actually nothing! We leave it all over the place... hospital systems, you give it to cashiers, MPESA, Watchmen, Employers, Voter reg people. It's synonymous to a phone number - it means nothing! if it meant something we would not have all this info. It's just a number that loosely identifies you... by the way do you know it's not even unique? most are but not all of them are....
sitaki.kujulikana
#65 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 7:55:01 PM

in kenya data is treated soo casually, you would be surprised as to how your data is handled at banks, by the tax man employees, employees at the other companies that have your data.

the most worrying for me was how the medical insurance guys treat peoples data, its soo easy to know what conditions many medical insurance holders suffer from, plus its data if one is very interested in getting can be purchased.

In kenya there is no privacy, unless one lives in the rural areas, is unemployed, does not own a phone at least not one with mpesa.

the saving grace in kenya is that nothing much can happen even if your identity is stolen.

its not like akna @kiash who would become suicidal if his identity was stolen and used to mess up his credit rating or associate a jail term with it.
#66 Posted : Wednesday, October 14, 2015 8:36:08 PM

I think the confusion between what our ID number is and what the American SSN is what is sumbuaring people in their heads... a matching name and ID number here is actually nothing! We leave it all over the place... hospital systems, you give it to cashiers, MPESA, Watchmen, Employers, Voter reg people. It's synonymous to a phone number - it means nothing! if it meant something we would not have all this info. It's just a number that loosely identifies you... by the way do you know it's not even unique? most are but not all of them are....

It would have been better if Kenyans had another form of ID given the way we go around leaving our IDs everywhere...When you get hit by identity theft thats when you'll know how much it will mean. In the mean time..Kamau is collecting your data.

Quick question to Safcom employees....when we leave our names and ID numbers on those MPESA books...what do you do to them?
Anti_Burglar
#67 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2015 8:54:09 AM

Anti_Burglar wrote:
By the way is "your" id card number your personal property? Does someone knowing it make it criminal? Coz I know Moi, Njonjo and Kibaki's numbers. At what point does knowing people's id number become criminal? 5! 10 million? I think the issue here is an issue of source. If you can draw a line between the data they have and your data (which you collected/regenerated)- you can cry foul but not without that

Give me your ID number uone

Leo kwa people daily zimejaa.... sijui how many pages!

The internet will not forget.

I don't want it to forget.... the whole thing about privacy is misplaced! privacy is dead! long live privacy.

Plan B. Anonymity! This I will fight for to the bitter end.

I have always felt anonymity has it's context
1) when you are living in a really dictatorial society and you need to 'voice' your opinions
2) when you want to say something really shady but don't want repuccussions of the same to follow you in real life i.e. you want to be a hypocrite!

The 1st one is the only good application of anonymity - the second one can be just cowardly... have you read the youtube comments lately? nasty people... hiding undershadows... that's why there is only one masukuma.... lol!

And you live in a society where you do everything that you want? I do not want you to know my name, Ben Chege Ngumi, and it is not for you or anyone to question why. It is my choice. You, on the other hand, no longer have that option. Welcome to dictatorship. Hehehehe.
PeterReborn
#68 Posted : Thursday, October 15, 2015 10:22:11 AM

What do you mean?Can two people share the same ID Number?If that is the case then it should not be called an identity number.The ID number should be a key identifier just like registration numbers in schools.
Consistency is better than intensity
#69 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2016 11:32:47 PM

I came across a site called findrealme which to my understanding is a database for filing crimes committed by a domestic worker...is this legal by any means? How are they able to verify that the information given to them is real and authentic?
chemirocha
#70 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2016 7:09:28 AM

I came across a site called findrealme which to my understanding is a database for filing crimes committed by a domestic worker...is this legal by any means? How are they able to verify that the information given to them is real and authentic?

I am aware some firms can query the database at the registrar of persons so in theory the details of the identity document can be verified independently. Verifying criminal records is a function of the police and to the best of my knowledge it is neither an automated system nor available to the general public.

In practice I suspect they run their own internal database based on user submitted information. Such a system would be limited by the number of people who submit queries and the amount of effort the firm puts into independently verifying the data. So many theoriticals so far!

If you must very such details then it would be cheaper and more effective for the worker to submit a valid certificate of good conduct from CID.
Tara
#71 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2016 11:03:37 PM

I was recently informed by a police officer at a huduma center that you can find the ID number on a passport. I didn't have my passport with me that day so he couldn't show me where to look. Does anyone know where this number is located.
chemirocha
#72 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2016 7:47:40 AM

Tara wrote:
I was recently informed by a police officer at a huduma center that you can find the ID number on a passport. I didn't have my passport with me that day so he couldn't show me where to look. Does anyone know where this number is located.

Its on the bottom line of the back page.
kiash
#73 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2016 7:52:17 AM

Tara wrote:

Mmmh i think huyo officer alikuwa amekunywa kidogo Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly for those below 18 they can have passports and yet they do not have their IDs so what happens? the number is blank ??? will it be the dad's or the mum's ID number? They only ask for a birth certificate for you to get a passport. (which by the way is not even proof of Kenyan citizenshipd'oh! d'oh! )
kimanimsc
#74 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2016 8:25:13 AM

kiash wrote:
Tara wrote:

Mmmh i think huyo officer alikuwa amekunywa kidogo Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly for those below 18 they can have passports and yet they do not have their IDs so what happens? the number is blank ??? will it be the dad's or the mum's ID number? They only ask for a birth certificate for you to get a passport. (which by the way is not even proof of Kenyan citizenshipd'oh! d'oh! )

It's true the ID no. is at the info page towards the end of the last line.
Runner
#75 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2016 3:17:59 PM

kimanimsc wrote:
kiash wrote:
Tara wrote:

Not entirely true. If you have had passports issued to you previously (expired or filled up), it will show the number of the last passport before the current one.
kiash
#76 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2016 6:05:43 PM

Runner wrote:
kimanimsc wrote:
kiash wrote:
Tara wrote:

Not entirely true. If you have had passports issued to you previously (expired or filled up), it will show the number of the last passport before the current one.

not ID
Tara
#77 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2016 11:57:38 PM

kiash wrote:
Runner wrote:
kimanimsc wrote:
kiash wrote:
Tara wrote:

not ID

So then is the ID number on the first passport?
#78 Posted : Saturday, January 05, 2019 3:17:53 AM

We had a conversation about ID numbers a while ago, 2015....see post 66 above. Identity theft is here with us.

You can read the rest on facebook, so apparently she has to pay the loans taken in her name. Chungeni mfuko.
MugundaMan
#79 Posted : Saturday, January 05, 2019 9:28:47 AM

She should sue Safaricom and have them present the agents who registered the fraudulent lines as well as the documents used. This could be her chance at a monster size payday!
#80 Posted : Saturday, January 05, 2019 1:02:13 PM

Revisiting a different issue. Shouldn't it be illegal for building security guards to demand that you leave your ID Card to access a building if the card is that sensitive? But whoever came up with the idea of leaving behind your ID?