wazua Fri, Feb 28, 2025

Raila Odinga Road
#1 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2019 11:51:56 AM

Why not?

I mean we have estates named after Ambrose Ofafa(councillor killed by Mau Mau), Wabera(DC killed by Shifta)

Kenyatta & Moi have enough streets, lakes, schools, universities, airports named after them

The Odingas need some recognition too. Not like the one done by Joho for Fidel. Something better, less sycophantic

Rename University Way to Odinga Way!
#2 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2019 11:55:54 AM

Why not?

I mean we have estates named after Ambrose Ofafa(councillor killed by Mau Mau), Wabera(DC killed by Shifta)

Kenyatta & Moi have enough streets, lakes, schools, universities, airports named after them

The Odingas need some recognition too. Not like the one done by Joho for Fidel. Something better, less sycophantic

Rename University Way to Odinga Way!

The southern bypass
radiomast
#3 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2019 10:03:59 PM

Too many roads, hospitals, bridges, Universities and schools are named after Moi and Jomo Kenyatta, the two people who did the most damage to the country.

I hope someday a true second liberation happens and we have streets and other infrastructure named after Kenya's true heroes. I hope also that our history books are re-written to document their true contribution in uniting Kenyans and fighting for the common man.

1. Pio Gama Pinto
2. Oginga Odinga
3. Masinde Muliro
4. Tom Mboya
5. Bildad Kaggia
6. JM Kariuki

Na wengineo

Kenya will start to make progress if we elevate such people. We are doomed if we continue to elevate thieves.

And also we need to name streets after genuine African heroes like:

Lumumba
Sankara
Biko
Mandela
Amilcar Cabral
Che Guevara,
Fidel Castro
Malcolm X

This way the youth can learn about these people and aspire to be selfless. Today many Kenyan youth aspire to be thieves, con artists and hustlers. If you speak to some youth in Kenya you would be appalled. Many of them see that the politicians are stealing so they also want to jipanga so they can get opportunities to steal. They basically aspire to be thieves like our politicians. For that matter, so do many adults. Many of these carjacker types are subconsciously inspired by our culture of elevating thieves.

Hii ndio Kenya ya sasa. We need to take small steps to change our rotten culture.
#4 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2019 10:12:08 PM

Oh I didn't know that Ofafa Jericho was named after a person.interesting.

Forget that and Wait for chinese names in a few yrs.
radiomast
#5 Posted : Friday, January 04, 2019 10:17:45 PM

We actually have a street in Nairobi named after Kamuzu Banda and possibly even a school. Yet Banda was a kleptomaniac and one of the few black leaders who openly and unapologetically collaborated with the apartheid regime.