wazua Fri, Feb 28, 2025

Voluntary Colonialism a cure for underdevelopment?
radiomast
#21 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 5:41:59 PM

The fact that Muzungu demanded that Africans must have kipande is far outweighed by the fact that they ensured that your parents and grandparents were educated. Africans went to good schools like Maseno, Alliance and so forth. In my home area for example, the local muzungu chief would actually come to the village and admonish parents who were not sending their children to school. This is not a joke. Oustanding students went to good schools on merit. Not through connections and bribes.

Many of the schools that exist today were built by mkoloni. Many hospitals were built by mkoloni. Much of the infrastructure including the main railway, roads etc were built by them. Nearly all the stadiums and sports grounds were built by them even the ones in Eastlands like Jericho Sports ground. They built social halls in Eastlands, free movie halls etc. . .....................

Mwafrika for his part has focused on grabbing public land. Kill his fellow Mwafrika. Loot the treasury. Sow tribal divisions. Steal elections. Foment violence. Kill political opponents. Insult other tribes. Discriminate against other tribes. Defend corrupt people from your tribe. ......................
#22 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 5:43:11 PM

Germany's Minister for African affairs believes African countries should lease out land to bodies like EU and World Bank for 50 yrs. These bodies will then build new cities and run them in order to boost economic growth and create jobs. These cities will not be under host country's laws but will have their own independent ones

The idea is to create Hong Kong like enclaves. Hong Kong was under British rule up to 1997 when it was reverted to China.

AU has rejected this idea. Its envoy for infrastructure believes Africa will experience an economic miracle by 2063
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-46017551

Why don't we lease them the uninhabitable parts of Noth Eastern?

But this whole argument means they know what to do with the land and we don't yet information is freely available and we have Kenyans and Africans who have schooled in those developed nations but can't bring the knowledge back. It also means our governments are a joke.

FYI 75% of the beef (and goats) you consume in nairobi comes from north eastern. Those lands mint billions each year via the cattle industry. The lands have their owners and are not "uninhabitable".

Infact quite a big % of the livestock from north eastern is sourced from somalia particularly southern somalia. Cattle are moved from afmadow in somalia to the garissa livestock market and then onwards to nairobi slaughter houses.

RINK
radiomast
#23 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 5:44:24 PM

Also the Ukoloni that the German is proposing is vastly different from what pertained before 1963. Its a more benign Ukoloni. Like the French one. Note that the French still hold on to some of their colonies like the Islands of Re Union, Mayotte, Caledonia, Guadaloupe, French Guyana and so forth. Those natives are much better off under French rule than they would be under Mwafrika. They are not agitating for independence because they know that Mwafrika will ruin everything.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 7:40:34 PM

radiomast wrote:
The fact that Muzungu demanded that Africans must have kipande is far outweighed by the fact that they ensured that your parents and grandparents were educated. Africans went to good schools like Maseno, Alliance and so forth. In my home area for example, the local muzungu chief would actually come to the village and admonish parents who were not sending their children to school. This is not a joke. Oustanding students went to good schools on merit. Not through connections and bribes.

Many of the schools that exist today were built by mkoloni. Many hospitals were built by mkoloni. Much of the infrastructure including the main railway, roads etc were built by them. Nearly all the stadiums and sports grounds were built by them even the ones in Eastlands like Jericho Sports ground. They built social halls in Eastlands, free movie halls etc. . .....................

Mwafrika for his part has focused on grabbing public land. Kill his fellow Mwafrika. Loot the treasury. Sow tribal divisions. Steal elections. Foment violence. Kill political opponents. Insult other tribes. Discriminate against other tribes. Defend corrupt people from your tribe. ......................

We agree with you... totally! It happened that we took over... jipange as it is... we are not going back there! be responsible and not in a hurry - even watoto wako wanaweza jenga kenya!
#25 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 7:44:51 PM

radiomast wrote:
Also the Ukoloni that the German is proposing is vastly different from what pertained before 1963. Its a more benign Ukoloni. Like the French one. Note that the French still hold on to some of their colonies like the Islands of Re Union, Mayotte, Caledonia, Guadaloupe, French Guyana and so forth. Those natives are much better off under French rule than they would be under Mwafrika. They are not agitating for independence because they know that Mwafrika will ruin everything.

we are not interested in joining them...
#26 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 8:03:33 PM

@Mathokoma, @hardestwoord, what if, in our negotiation with EU, we establish laws in those enclaves encouraging equality but guaranteeing host country citizens of jobs?

Let's prosecute the idea from the point of view of a good humanitarian developer of a new city like Konza not a racist overlord like the Brits were.

From a political point of view, the President who approves this will lose power.

we are simply not interested in joining the cult of people who worship economic growth over everything else... wakae huko kwao wakitaka kuja wakuje kama watalii, wawekezaji and everything else... THIS IS BLACK MAN COUNTRY. we are not going to allow them to create enclaves like Orania for themselves hapa... we are not interested kabisa - we will do it ourselves even if it takes 200 years. let's stop being irresponsible.
madhaquer
#27 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 8:52:01 PM

All those in support of the idea of those charter cities should start by understanding that there is nothing that comes for free. @radiomast can try to paint a rosy picture of colonialism but history and the facts available prove that wrong.

Let the Germans come do business. To expect free land to 'build a city' with the intention of curbing immigration to Europe is ridiculous.
radiomast
#28 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 8:56:53 PM

I think @masukuma is having a meltdown because the truth hit him in the face and he cannot handle the truth. The truth is that Mwafrika is useless and we would be better off under colonial rule.

But maskuma you need to calm down. None of the stuff being discussed on this thread is going to happen. Its just hypothetical.

Even the British would not be interested in taking over this sheet-hole of ours. They left us a pristine country and we ruined it with our greed and sycophancy

But if you were to have an election, I am certain that a significant number of Kenyans maybe even over 50% would select colonial rule over the none-sense we have now.

Kenya has not had a legitimate election since 2002. Kenyan elections are determined by the elites who have access to the election server. We really don't have self-determination. Only those who have benefited from the election thefts are happy.

In fact Kenya has not had a duly elected president for most of its history. We have mostly had one party dictators or people who just stole elections.

Thats why there was talk of splitting the country. Many Kenyans are quite frankly fed up with living on neo-colonialism and fed up with living with the constant theft of public resources while they are asked to pay more taxes.

Even that talk of splitting the country is just hypothetical like this thread. It will not happen. But its a reflection of how people feel.
radiomast
#29 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 9:06:59 PM

madhaquer wrote:
All those in support of the idea of those charter cities should start by understanding that there is nothing that comes for free. @radiomast can try to paint a rosy picture of colonialism but history and the facts available prove that wrong.

Let the Germans come do business. To expect free land to 'build a city' with the intention of curbing immigration to Europe is ridiculous.

I havent painted a rosy picture. I am saying we would be better off had Muzungu stayed longer.

The evidence suggests that countries where Muzungu stayed longer tend to function better
#30 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 9:23:52 PM

radiomast wrote:
I think @masukuma is having a meltdown because the truth hit him in the face and he cannot handle the truth. The truth is that Mwafrika is useless and we would be better off under colonial rule.

But maskuma you need to calm down. None of the stuff being discussed on this thread is going to happen. Its just hypothetical.

Even the British would not be interested in taking over this sheet-hole of ours. They left us a pristine country and we ruined it with our greed and sycophancy

But if you were to have an election, I am certain that a significant number of Kenyans maybe even over 50% would select colonial rule over the none-sense we have now.

Kenya has not had a legitimate election since 2002. Kenyan elections are determined by the elites who have access to the election server. We really don't have self-determination. Only those who have benefited from the election thefts are happy.

In fact Kenya has not had a duly elected president for most of its history. We have mostly had one party dictators or people who just stole elections.

Thats why there was talk of splitting the country. Many Kenyans are quite frankly fed up with living on neo-colonialism and fed up with living with the constant theft of public resources while they are asked to pay more taxes.

Even that talk of splitting the country is just hypothetical like this thread. It will not happen. But its a reflection of how people feel.

When will you take responsibility? you are as human as the mzungu you are praising... jipange...convince your neighbours to do the same. be responsible - even wazunguz did not start like this and have killed themselves more. so stop being a child and accept that it's your role and your children's role to make this place better and not spend energy in engaging in counterfactuals... let's just agree... IT WON'T HAPPEN - so start from that.. Mzungu harudi hapa especially sio yule anatuambia anataka kuja kutusaidia... NEVER! start from there!
#31 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 10:32:54 PM

radiomast wrote:
madhaquer wrote:

I havent painted a rosy picture. I am saying we would be better off had Muzungu stayed longer.

The evidence suggests that countries where Muzungu stayed longer tend to function better

Like in South Africa or Zimbabwe where they stayed longer and enslaved Africans for longer periods? In SA blacks were confined in homelands/villages and its only now that they are demanding their lands back. At least in Zimbabwe they had a true leader Mugabe who got their lands back.
Conquestador
#32 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 11:19:06 PM

radiomast wrote:
I can't waste time with that bogus post from conquestador. He actually denies that kenyatta was a land grabber or that kenyatta killed his political opponents. He even denies that Nairobi is an infrastructural disaster. I can't discuss with people who chose to deny the obvious.

Kenyatta did not grab land. He purchased off land previously owned by mizungu. That he did it from a position of advantage does not equate to grabbing. There are records you can verify.

Kenyatta did not kill his political opponents. Jaramogi, the only known opponent died 16 years after Kenyatta in old age and from natural causes.

During Kenyatta reign, people killed other people for real and imagined reasons; business, political, filial etc and it was and is always convenient to hide behind the man with immunity from prosecution. Hear that from a ex sleuth.

Having read your posts keenly, one observes a pattern of bitter post election blues of sore looser who refuse to evolve with times like your preferred leaders did. You are Kenyatta-phobic, possibly not well travelled outside Kenya, a racist alter ego of a pink man trapped in chocolate skin, hero worshiper, a perpetual pessimist deficient in economics, political science and one person who seldom reads widely.

Challenge me factually on my hypothesis.

Masukuma (and I highly respect him, one of the most accomplished, well traveled and exposed wazuan. Heed his counsel) has a point that, you ought to look ahead instead of looking back through side mirrors.
Conquestador
#33 Posted : Thursday, November 29, 2018 6:44:17 AM

radiomast wrote:

Now you have outed your beef! Election hangovers.

Dude! On matters elections, you should be cajoling masukuma to school you. Any election is only fair to the winner and no election in the world over is ever free and fair.

You may have heard of the cliche; it is not the voters who count, it is the counters who vote'. Are you old enough to remember Bushes (W and Jeb) Vs Al Gore? Never mind....did you observe Florida and Georgia 2weeks ago - those were your mzungu imps.

Elections is a contest of lunatics. The more potent one wins, but the general rule is to unify the vote and the voice post election. Uhuru has done that admirably but you seem to be an outlier.

Delink yourself from electioneering and outcomes thereof. Simply, get a life!
radiomast
#34 Posted : Thursday, November 29, 2018 5:38:44 PM

When will you take responsibility? you are as human as the mzungu you are praising... jipange...convince your neighbours to do the same. be responsible - even wazunguz did not start like this and have killed themselves more. so stop being a child and accept that it's your role and your children's role to make this place better and not spend energy in engaging in counterfactuals... let's just agree... IT WON'T HAPPEN - so start from that.. Mzungu harudi hapa especially sio yule anatuambia anataka kuja kutusaidia... NEVER! start from there!

I have spent my whole life convincing people to take responsibility and stop worshipping our useless leaders. I have tried to convince sycophants like yourself. And I will not stop. My own life is fine. But I want other Kenyans to succeed as well.

And stop dwelling on whether it will actually happen. We all agree it will not happen. Instead you should be dwelling on what we can do to fix the problem. You keep talking about kujipanga without giving any details. Thats the typical nonsense we hear from our leaders.

We can all agree that Mwafrika has so far proven incapable of governing himself. We are easily persuaded into voting for thieves. Thats why our countries are sheet-holes.

The first step towards addressing the problem is to actually admit that we have a problem. And you masukuma are failing the very first step.

And people in developed countries don't go around killing their political opponents nowadays. You will not find Msando and Jacob Juma type assassinations that are never resolved. But mwafrika just accepts this as normal. If you kill a person huko majuu, you will likely face justice.

Even until now, bigwigs are grabbing land that belongs to schools and people here on wazua are acting like sycophants defending them.
radiomast
#35 Posted : Thursday, November 29, 2018 5:50:19 PM

I think the reason Mwafrika always wants instant gratification and cannot plan for the future is because of how we evolved.

Muzungu evolved in Europe where they have brutal winters. To plan for winter the cavemen had to store food while it was available. They had to collect firewood and store it for use in the winter or else they would never survive sub zero temperatures. Its difficult to hunt and fish in the winter because lakes are frozen. Those incapable of planning for winter died early (natural selection)
Therefore the concept of delaying gratification and planning ahead is ingrained in their DNA and in their culture.

Mwafrika peasant never had to worry about planning for winter. If he found food he just ate it. When food became scarce in one area, he simply migrated to another. And food was often available in abundance. Until the last 50 years, there were wild bananas and wild fruit trees growing all over the place.

This inability to delay gratification and plan for the future is why cities like Nairobi are so poorly planned and are a infrastructural nightmare.

The first step in solving a problem is to understand what the problem is. What is the root cause of the problem and how it can be addressed. It is a bitter pill to swallow. But as Africans we have to first admit that we have a problem.

All that kujipanga nonsense that masukuma is pushing is the kind of short term thinking and selfishness that has been the bane of Africans.

As was said on anther thread, Jomo Kenyatta lived in London for 20 years. He observed all the problems of a growing city and how they can be addressed. When he came back to Kenya he could have acted like a patriot and applied the lessons he learned from observing the city of London grow through problems. He could have set aside land for proper expansion of the city. Instead he apportioned the land to himself and his family and his friends while also grabbing beach plots in Mombasa. Now both cities are a complete mess. Thats what I mean by greed and instant gratification.
#36 Posted : Thursday, November 29, 2018 6:19:15 PM

radiomast wrote:
I think the reason Mwafrika always wants instant gratification and cannot plan for the future is because of how we evolved.

Muzungu evolved in Europe where they have brutal winters. To plan for winter the cavemen had to store food while it was available. They had to collect firewood and store it for use in the winter or else they would never survive sub zero temperatures. Its difficult to hunt and fish in the winter because lakes are frozen. Those incapable of planning for winter died early (natural selection)
Therefore the concept of delaying gratification and planning ahead is ingrained in their DNA and in their culture.

Mwafrika peasant never had to worry about planning for winter. If he found food he just ate it. When food became scarce in one area, he simply migrated to another. And food was often available in abundance. Until the last 50 years, there were wild bananas and wild fruit trees growing all over the place.

This inability to delay gratification and plan for the future is why cities like Nairobi are so poorly planned and are a infrastructural nightmare.

The first step in solving a problem is to understand what the problem is. What is the root cause of the problem and how it can be addressed. It is a bitter pill to swallow. But as Africans we have to first admit that we have a problem.

All that kujipanga nonsense that masukuma is pushing is the kind of short term thinking and selfishness that has been the bane of Africans.

As was said on anther thread, Jomo Kenyatta lived in London for 20 years. He observed all the problems of a growing city and how they can be addressed. When he came back to Kenya he could have acted like a patriot and applied the lessons he learned from observing the city of London grow through problems. He could have set aside land for proper expansion of the city. Instead he apportioned the land to himself and his family and his friends while also grabbing beach plots in Mombasa. Now both cities are a complete mess. Thats what I mean by greed and instant gratification.

So just when did the Mzungu have DNA change? Just when was this change made?
It's not DNA it's simply culture... the Mzungu's DNA has not changed at all in thousands of years just that their culture has changed! They were (still are) very war like and killed each other, in order to survive and take over lands they built large armies that needed to be fed and thus they did lots of agriculture... you think grabbing is a problem? you have no idea how much land the kings of 'wazungu' own! You must be crazy! do you know the whole of UK belongs to the Queen? Unamchezo sana. While this is more ceremonial ownership now - the Monarchs of Wazungu technically owned everything they had an army over plus the people. Do you even know what 'Crown lands' were?

You are right about instant gratification... the very thing that makes you complain bitterly online.. "oh we should have developed in 50 years...oh Nairobi should have been planned earlier so that I can live a good life... oh our cities are a mess - quit being a child and take ownership of your fate... stop arguing that we would be better under some other people! take responsibility and know that it's not necessarily the person who plants a tree that eats the fruit... WEWE FANYA WHAT YOU THINK NEEDS TO GET DONE! DON'T WAIT FOR OTHERS! WE NEED THAT IN OUR CULTURE!
radiomast
#37 Posted : Thursday, November 29, 2018 6:54:06 PM

It's not DNA it's simply culture... the Mzungu's DNA has not changed at all in thousands of years just that their culture has changed! They were (still are) very war like and killed each other, in order to survive and take over lands they built large armies that needed to be fed and thus they did lots of agriculture... you think grabbing is a problem? you have no idea how much land the kings of 'wazungu' own! You must be crazy! do you know the whole of UK belongs to the Queen? Unamchezo sana. While this is more ceremonial ownership now - the Monarchs of Wazungu technically owned everything they had an army over plus the people. Do you even know what 'Crown lands' were?

You are right about instant gratification... the very thing that makes you complain bitterly online.. "oh we should have developed in 50 years...oh Nairobi should have been planned earlier so that I can live a good life... oh our cities are a mess - quit being a child and take ownership of your fate... stop arguing that we would be better under some other people! take responsibility and know that it's not necessarily the person who plants a tree that eats the fruit... WEWE FANYA WHAT YOU THINK NEEDS TO GET DONE! DON'T WAIT FOR OTHERS! WE NEED THAT IN OUR CULTURE!

You obviously don't understand evolution even though you claim to. You are grossly ignorant. So let me explain to you.

DNA by itself rarely changes in one human being. What happens is that people with characteristics that allow them to survive are the ones who live long enough to pass their characteristics to the next generation.

So if you are a poor planner and cannot plan for the bitterly cold winter, you will die by age 20. You will likely not pass your genes to the next generation because even your children will have no food in winter.

If you are good at planning for winter, you will live to 50 and above. You will pass on your planning genes to the next generation. Within a few generations defective DNA will be eliminated from the gene pool. Its called natural selection. Go pick up a form one biology book so you don't expose your sheer ignorance here.

And the notion that the queen owns all of the UK exists only in theory. You can purchase a house anywhere in the UK and the queen will not suddenly evict you. Unlike here where the royal families like the kenyattas literally took land away from peasants.

During the feudal days, its true that the royal families owned everything. But they realized long ago that such a system is not sustainable. Mwafrika does seem to learn. We have seen the detrimental effects of land grabbing and looting. Yet we still support these thieves and defend them. masukumas solution is that everyone must jipanga.
radiomast
#38 Posted : Thursday, November 29, 2018 6:58:38 PM

I recently saw a video of William Ruto bragging about how he knows how to kujipanga. He was saying that Cyrus Jirongo is just bitter with him because Jirongo hakujipanga.

The problem is that Ruto enriched himself at the expense of Kenyans. All his initial riches came from public money (YK92). And since then he has relentlessly grabbed land whether it be land for water towers or land belonging to schools. If you grab forest land, you will eventually have droughts which affect a large segment of the population. These people will then be reduced to beggars.

Heck if Ruto was an Indian politician he would have gone to North sentinel Island and evicted all the sentinelese and grabbed the entire forest even if they all died in the process.

This is the kind of selfishness that masukuma is promoting here eti kujipanga.

When youth in Nairobi see this, they also conclude that they must jipanga by becoming carjackers, thieves and burglars. If the bigwigs are stealing then why can't the youth? They will ask. No wonder the crime rate is beyond the pale.
#39 Posted : Thursday, November 29, 2018 7:44:03 PM

radiomast wrote:

You obviously don't understand evolution even though you claim to. You are grossly ignorant. So let me explain to you.

DNA by itself rarely changes in one human being. What happens is that people with characteristics that allow them to survive are the ones who live long enough to pass their characteristics to the next generation.

So if you are a poor planner and cannot plan for the bitterly cold winter, you will die by age 20. You will likely not pass your genes to the next generation because even your children will have no food in winter.

If you are good at planning for winter, you will live to 50 and above. You will pass on your planning genes to the next generation. Within a few generations defective DNA will be eliminated from the gene pool. Its called natural selection. Go pick up a form one biology book so you don't expose your sheer ignorance here.

And the notion that the queen owns all of the UK exists only in theory. You can purchase a house anywhere in the UK and the queen will not suddenly evict you. Unlike here where the royal families like the kenyattas literally took land away from peasants.

During the feudal days, its true that the royal families owned everything. But they realized long ago that such a system is not sustainable. Mwafrika does seem to learn. We have seen the detrimental effects of land grabbing and looting. Yet we still support these thieves and defend them. masukumas solution is that everyone must jipanga.

Please... you cannot teach me about evolution kaka... yes... that's natural selection! the problem you have is thinking that the trait you see exhibiting itself is a result of genetics rather than memes! Planning is a product of human culture not genetics! Your simple brain confuses correlation and causation! You suffer from drawing assertions from simplistic transitive relationships. it goes something like this
- A Black man differs from a White man because of a genetic difference
- A black man is a bad planner
- it means that the genetic difference that differentiates the white man from the black man is also responsible for better planning on the part of the white man.
wukan
#40 Posted : Thursday, November 29, 2018 8:15:18 PM

@radiomast what @masukuma is saying true it's the culture that changed. Mzungus after the fall of rome were unable to maintain the high culture of the roman and greek civilzation. It's actually the arabs who preserved the writings of earlier civilizations. Mzugnus had to undergo an age of enlightenment to catch up. However, the war like nature of mzungus is in their DNA those Neanderthal genes. The history of conflict shows they are the most violent race. Heck even the EU was formed to stop them from going violent again.

Mwafrka too had a high culture for over 3000 years in Egypt until they slaughtered all the high society people and started wandering in the forests.

All in all if you travel in Africa in areas which were properly colonized (kenya, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Botswana, Namibia, Morocco) there is a marked difference in culture when compared to the areas with indirect rule.

The other thing @masukuma is ignoring is the rapid population growth especially in the Sahel countries. This is where the German minister had in mind to establish chartered cities. Spreading high culture will be pretty difficult. Ever tried to argue with people from Juba or Congo or the loud Guineans, you will appreciate Kenyans pleasant high culture courtesy of being colonized by the upper class British society