wazua Fri, Feb 28, 2025

Voluntary Colonialism a cure for underdevelopment?
#1 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2018 7:50:47 AM

Germany's Minister for African affairs believes African countries should lease out land to bodies like EU and World Bank for 50 yrs. These bodies will then build new cities and run them in order to boost economic growth and create jobs. These cities will not be under host country's laws but will have their own independent ones

The idea is to create Hong Kong like enclaves. Hong Kong was under British rule up to 1997 when it was reverted to China.

AU has rejected this idea. Its envoy for infrastructure believes Africa will experience an economic miracle by 2063
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-46017551
#2 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2018 8:18:04 AM

Talk shop... of course hakuna kitu kama hii. Why not do it close by in asia as well.
Tokyo
#3 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2018 9:03:23 AM

I support.
work to prosper
#4 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2018 8:08:57 PM

They can start in KE by taking over the dying Shopping Malls and resuscitating them as viable businesses before they build new cities.
radiomast
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2018 7:00:58 PM

Its too late now. But Africa would have been better off if colonization went on for another 30 years. Go look at the old Nairobi thread.
madhaquer
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2018 8:34:10 PM

There was no 'free development' in the colonial period. It was slavery, forced labour, violation, trickery and alienation of land. Hong Kong also was not given up by the Chinese for 'free' it was part of the Nanking Treaty ending the Opium Wars and the Chinese were tricked into ceding it.

To call a Charter City it 'free development' is a blatant lie. There are no free things! You will give up your sovereignty for something else.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 27, 2018 9:03:53 PM

madhaquer wrote:
There was no 'free development' in the colonial period. It was slavery, forced labour, violation, trickery and alienation of land. Hong Kong also was not given up by the Chinese for 'free' it was part of the Nanking Treaty ending the Opium Wars and the Chinese were tricked into ceding it.

To call a Charter City it 'free development' is a blatant lie. There are no free things! You will give up your sovereignty for something else.

wachana ha hawa watu! it's like slaves wishing to go back to slavery since 'they were better off' then. Be responsible people and learn to be responsible for your own destinies instead of waiting for people to do things for themselves then you dandia... all those things in 'old Nairobi' were not for the black people... they were for Mzungu! you had to walk around with a chain on your neck like a dog and had to ask for permission to visit the Nairobi you post photos of
radiomast
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 12:54:38 AM

madhaquer wrote:

Is Kenya any better under Jomo, Moi, Kibaki and UK?
I think not !

Alienation of land: Kenyan politicians have grabbed more land than the colonialists ever did. Look at how much land the Kenyatta family grabbed.

Trickery: See how Kenyan rulers have turned Kenyan tribes against each other so while we are busy fighting each other, they loot the treasury.

Kenyans are far more tribally divided then they would ever be if muzungu was in charge.

Violation: Kenyan politicians are responsible for more deaths of Kenyans than the muzungu ever did.

Kenyatta and the Kapenguria six were the biggest threat to Muzungu yet the muzungu spared his life. Kenyatta on the other hand killed or detained anyone he considered a threat.

The colonial govt actually sent Kenyans to the UK to study. People were sent to Universities, to military and police training colleges, to polytechnics etc so they could come back and run the colony competently. Nowadays the govt is giving scholarships to relatives of bigwigs.

Look at how much of a mess Nairobi is due to poor planning. Incessant traffic. Water shortages. Power cuts. Crime. Garbage piles. No sanitation. No housing. Slums. It would not have been this much of a mess had muzungu stayed in power. A key difference between Muzungu and Mwafrigha is that the former can actually delay gratification and plan for the future. Mwafrigha is so greedy that he wants everything now. He has no concept of planning for the future. All this land grabbing and greed is why Nairobi is such a mess.

If muzungu was still in charge I doubt the myriad corruption scandals that have plagued Kenya would still exist.

Masukuma speaks of kipande laws. Yet in Kenya today we are so tribally divided that a member of one tribe would be hesitant to settle in a different province or start a business in a different province. This is Kibaki's legacy. When he stole the 2007 elections, businesses and property belonging to so called "foregn people" was burned and looted. This people are still to afraid to go back to some of these places.
Conquestador
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 10:24:52 AM

radiomast wrote:
madhaquer wrote:

I think not !

Talk for yourself. Each one of the above titles yielded some fabulously successful people/ businesses, clusters in all walks of life Like it happens the world over. The country has moved forward in all ways and will always will.

Alienation of land: Kenyan politicians have grabbed more land than the colonialists ever did. Look at how much land the Kenyatta family grabbed.

Any evidence sir/madam? What have you done with the little land that you have if any, such that you need more of it to increase certain output? Have 'we' already maxed out on the little land we have?

Trickery: See how Kenyan rulers have turned Kenyan tribes against each other so while we are busy fighting each other, they loot the treasury.

Kenyans are far more tribally divided then they would ever be if muzungu was in charge.

Again, a populist view but empty on facts. Nowhere in the world that tribes pull along. If you think your mzungu god is infallible - appraise yourself on the Belgian tribal divide. And that is the seat of EU, the HQ of modern day westernized 'civilization'.

Violation: Kenyan politicians are responsible for more deaths of Kenyans than the muzungu ever did.

No. Murderers regardless of skin color are responsible individually for any killing. If you have evidence that any politician killed anybody, give it to the police.

Kenyatta and the Kapenguria six were the biggest threat to Muzungu yet the muzungu spared his life. Kenyatta on the other hand killed or detained anyone he considered a threat.

Its trendy, if lazy to accuse an individual for the ills in the society. Difficult to substantiate actions of faceless mzungu and faceful Kenyatta.

The colonial govt actually sent Kenyans to the UK to study. People were sent to Universities, to military and police training colleges, to polytechnics etc so they could come back and run the colony competently. Nowadays the govt is giving scholarships to relatives of bigwigs.

There are thousands of graduates spewing out of our universities every year. Kenya government is run quite competently by Kenyan - educated men and women. That is why you have space and platform to express your knowledge or lack of it. If, may goodness forbid, you have any education, that would be a disgrace to kindergartners.

Look at how much of a mess Nairobi is due to poor planning. Are you a planning expert or how did you determine that Nairobi is poorly planned? Do you have standards that we do not measure up to?

Incessant traffic. An indicator of upward mobile population. For your info, No city worth its salt does not have traffic issues. Different issues but issues nonetheless.

Water shortages. Sorry about that. Perhaps you need to check the plumbing in your house. There is plenty of water in Nairobi.

Power cuts. It is advisable to pay your bill promptly to avoid the cuts. And when cut, the re-connection charges are quite affordable.

Crime. Please report any criminal activity you know of to the police. Nairobi is not at all ranking as a crime city; ever heard of Johannesburg, Rio de Janeiro?

Garbage piles. Garbage is a sign of consumption. Evidence that the country is eating! Look at yourself - How do you dispose of your waste? Can you please improve on it to avoid the pile up? You are advised to separate your waste into glass, plastic, and biodegradable items. The first thing you should do is buy 3 bins. Let it start with you.

No sanitation. Sorry again. you may consider moving to an area/ house with proper ablutions like millions of other city dwellers have done.

No housing. If you google, 'house to let', you will be spoilt of choice. If you want to buy one, there are house merchants even here in wazua.

Slums. Every city in the world has what others would consider as slums. But those who live there find it practical, convenient and sufficient. The ancient houses in European cities are slums in others view. Check that study showing the quality of life in Kibera - satellite dishes, double door friges etc.

It would not have been this much of a mess had muzungu stayed in power.

Their cities are a mess. Have you visited any of them?
A key difference between Muzungu and Mwafrigha is that the former can actually delay gratification and plan for the future. Mwafrigha is so greedy that he wants everything now. He has no concept of planning for the future. All this land grabbing and greed is why Nairobi is such a mess.

Which area of Nairobi do you live? We will be happy to lift you off that mess; and also a tourist attraction it will be.

If muzungu was still in charge I doubt the myriad corruption scandals that have plagued Kenya would still exist.

It will help your global view if you read beyond weekly citizen and kenya daily post. Corruption scandals is a universal problem as corruption is a derivative of human survival instincts. Including in your mzungu god-countries.

Masukuma speaks of kipande laws. Yet in Kenya today we are so tribally divided that a member of one tribe would be hesitant to settle in a different province or start a business in a different province. This is Kibaki's legacy. When he stole the 2007 elections, businesses and property belonging to so called "foregn people" was burned and looted. This people are still to afraid to go back to some of these places.

Speak for yourself, sir or madam. Different tribes are doing roaring businesses far from their province of origin. In my immediate office of 10 we speak 5 lanuages and we are nicely kicking ass!!

#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 11:54:35 AM

Conquestador wrote:
radiomast wrote:
madhaquer wrote:

I think not !

Talk for yourself. Each one of the above titles yielded some fabulously successful people/ businesses, clusters in all walks of life Like it happens the world over. The country has moved forward in all ways and will always will.

Any evidence sir/madam? What have you done with the little land that you have if any, such that you need more of it to increase certain output? Have 'we' already maxed out on the little land we have?

Again, a populist view but empty on facts. Nowhere in the world that tribes pull along. If you think your mzungu god is infallible - appraise yourself on the Belgian tribal divide. And that is the seat of EU, the HQ of modern day westernized 'civilization'.

No. Murderers regardless of skin color are responsible individually for any killing. If you have evidence that any politician killed anybody, give it to the police.

Its trendy, if lazy to accuse an individual for the ills in the society. Difficult to substantiate actions of faceless mzungu and faceful Kenyatta.

There are thousands of graduates spewing out of our universities every year. Kenya government is run quite competently by Kenyan - educated men and women. That is why you have space and platform to express your knowledge or lack of it. If, may goodness forbid, you have any education, that would be a disgrace to kindergartners.

Look at how much of a mess Nairobi is due to poor planning. Are you a planning expert or how did you determine that Nairobi is poorly planned? Do you have standards that we do not measure up to?

Incessant traffic. An indicator of upward mobile population. For your info, No city worth its salt does not have traffic issues. Different issues but issues nonetheless.

Water shortages. Sorry about that. Perhaps you need to check the plumbing in your house. There is plenty of water in Nairobi.

Power cuts. It is advisable to pay your bill promptly to avoid the cuts. And when cut, the re-connection charges are quite affordable.

Crime. Please report any criminal activity you know of to the police. Nairobi is not at all ranking as a crime city; ever heard of Johannesburg, Rio de Janeiro?

Garbage piles. Garbage is a sign of consumption. Evidence that the country is eating! Look at yourself - How do you dispose of your waste? Can you please improve on it to avoid the pile up? You are advised to separate your waste into glass, plastic, and biodegradable items. The first thing you should do is buy 3 bins. Let it start with you.

No sanitation. Sorry again. you may consider moving to an area/ house with proper ablutions like millions of other city dwellers have done.

No housing. If you google, 'house to let', you will be spoilt of choice. If you want to buy one, there are house merchants even here in wazua.

Slums. Every city in the world has what others would consider as slums. But those who live there find it practical, convenient and sufficient. The ancient houses in European cities are slums in others view. Check that study showing the quality of life in Kibera - satellite dishes, double door friges etc.

It would not have been this much of a mess had muzungu stayed in power.

Their cities are a mess. Have you visited any of them?
A key difference between Muzungu and Mwafrigha is that the former can actually delay gratification and plan for the future. Mwafrigha is so greedy that he wants everything now. He has no concept of planning for the future. All this land grabbing and greed is why Nairobi is such a mess.

Which area of Nairobi do you live? We will be happy to lift you off that mess; and also a tourist attraction it will be.

It will help your global view if you read beyond weekly citizen and kenya daily post. Corruption scandals is a universal problem as corruption is a derivative of human survival instincts. Including in your mzungu god-countries.

Speak for yourself, sir or madam. Different tribes are doing roaring businesses far from their province of origin. In my immediate office of 10 we speak 5 lanuages and we are nicely kicking ass!!

Why are we engaged in counterfactuals? ed are here... don't waste time with people who are looking at the past with nostalgia.... we are HERE (I.e. the reality I am clamouring for won)... don't waste time.
wukan
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 1:09:09 PM

Talk shop... of course hakuna kitu kama hii. Why not do it close by in asia as well.

From history you can see Europe(barbarians) benefited from being colonized by the Romans. Most of the developed European urban centres are along the roman built trading routes. Even Londinium started off as a roman fort.

Colonialism is not bad thing it's only the racist way Europe went about it in Africa that made it bad. If the other person has a superior way of working then you learn and adopt. The Swahili city states were basically colonies which learnt and adapted from the Arabs.

The German minister is right the way we are building cities is really over-glorified villages.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 1:20:00 PM

wukan wrote:

From history you can see Europe(barbarians) benefited from being colonized by the Romans. Most of the developed European urban centres are along the roman built trading routes. Even Londinium started off as a roman fort.

Colonialism is not bad thing it's only the racist way Europe went about it in Africa that made it bad. If the other person has a superior way of working then you learn and adopt. The Swahili city states were basically colonies which learnt and adapted from the Arabs.

The German minister is right the way we are building cities is really over-glorified villages.

People don't know what 'Colonialism' was... it was an extension of their nations/states/countries into ours... which is fine... they came and started creating systems... which was fine... but the best of the system was for themselves.... which is fine! we parted ways and they went back to their small countries. we are figuring this thing out and they want to come back...We are not interested in what they have to offer! if we wanted we would have been begging them to come back but we are not! We will figure this one out. 50 years is a such a short time in human history... such a short time when it comes to a country with 42 small nations in it. Show me a western country that ever marched forward with so many nations within it's borders.
wukan
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 1:41:04 PM

wukan wrote:

People don't know what 'Colonialism' was... it was an extension of their nations/states/countries into ours... which is fine... they came and started creating systems... which was fine... but the best of the system was for themselves.... which is fine! we parted ways and they went back to their small countries. we are figuring this thing out and they want to come back...We are not interested in what they have to offer! if we wanted we would have been begging them to come back but we are not! We will figure this one out. 50 years is a such a short time in human history... such a short time when it comes to a country with 42 small nations in it. Show me a western country that ever marched forward with so many nations within it's borders.

Figure it out but at what cost? African population is very young avg 16-18 years. When Europe was that young it was very militarized. Europe is full of old people and China is heading that way in 20 years. If the Europeans don't take care of Africa then Africans will just go and sack Europe same way the Gauls and Visgoths did under King Alaric.

Europeans fear that what they did to Rome is what Africans and Middle East guys will do to them. The trade off is to build the industrial supply chains in Africa and keep the young africans within the continent. The 42 small nations is the European way of keeping Africans in check.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 1:51:24 PM

Germany's Minister for African affairs believes African countries should lease out land to bodies like EU and World Bank for 50 yrs. These bodies will then build new cities and run them in order to boost economic growth and create jobs. These cities will not be under host country's laws but will have their own independent ones

The idea is to create Hong Kong like enclaves. Hong Kong was under British rule up to 1997 when it was reverted to China.

AU has rejected this idea. Its envoy for infrastructure believes Africa will experience an economic miracle by 2063

Why don't we lease them the uninhabitable parts of Noth Eastern?

But this whole argument means they know what to do with the land and we don't yet information is freely available and we have Kenyans and Africans who have schooled in those developed nations but can't bring the knowledge back. It also means our governments are a joke.

#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 2:00:40 PM

Colonialism meant Africans being rounded up from their lands and being locked up in colonial native villages where they would provide slave labor to European farms. Nairobi was a no go zone for africans unless you had evidence that you were employed in the city and even they you could not live with your family in the city. Basically you needed a permit/visa to move from your village. Africans couldn't grow cash crops, couldn't buy land or even take tusker beer. For anyone to say that colonialism was a good thing it shows the level of ignorance about matters colonialism.

#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 2:13:24 PM

Colonialism meant Africans being rounded up from their lands and being locked up in colonial native villages where they would provide slave labor to European farms. Nairobi was a no go zone for africans unless you had evidence that you were employed in the city and even they you could not live with your family in the city. Basically you needed a permit/visa to move from your village. Africans couldn't grow cash crops, couldn't buy land or even take tusker beer. For anyone to say that colonialism was a good thing it shows the level of ignorance about matters colonialism.

@hardwood, Wachana na hawa watu! they would be locked in their mashambani smoky wooden houses huko kwao. Wazungu came and did what they did and we are happy they went... People never protested Mzunguz coz they thought they would do a better job than them - no! it was for liberty and freedom. What idiocy is this that we are ceding this for some shiny toys? Ati we give them some dry parts of the country - waende kwao... let them look for dry parts of their own countries and do what they want to do. We should not allow them to try and create an Orania here... Africans... who bewitched you? To worship economics and cede freedom?
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 2:23:11 PM

Why don't we lease them the uninhabitable parts of Noth Eastern?

But this whole argument means they know what to do with the land and we don't yet information is freely available and we have Kenyans and Africans who have schooled in those developed nations but can't bring the knowledge back. It also means our governments are a joke.

FYI 75% of the beef (and goats) you consume in nairobi comes from north eastern. Those lands mint billions each year via the cattle industry. The lands have their owners and are not "uninhabitable".
wukan
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 2:50:28 PM

Colonialism meant Africans being rounded up from their lands and being locked up in colonial native villages where they would provide slave labor to European farms. Colonialism also meant that missionaries came established schools and hospitals, systems of governance, land tenure, the modern economy, it meant infant mortality went down. Why are africans risking everything to travel to Europe? Why are Africans held and auctioned like slaves in Libya? Why did you go to Trumpland?

Nairobi was a no go zone for africans unless you had evidence that you were employed in the city and even they you could not live with your family in the city.Basically you needed a permit/visa to move from your village. There are other parts of Africa other than Nairobi where Africans lived comfortably? Why didn't the native village blossom into cities? Why did Lagos end up as slum city?

Africans couldn't grow cash crops(why produce crops that you don't consume?), couldn't buy land(wrong-Africans bought and sold land) or even take tusker beer(what is special about tusker beer? why not muratina or busaa?). For anyone to say that colonialism was a good thing it shows the level of ignorance about matters colonialism(Don't worry some of us come from strong mau mau heritage and trust me we know the good and bad of colonialism).

#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 4:11:06 PM

@Mathokoma, @hardestwoord, what if, in our negotiation with EU, we establish laws in those enclaves encouraging equality but guaranteeing host country citizens of jobs?

Let's prosecute the idea from the point of view of a good humanitarian developer of a new city like Konza not a racist overlord like the Brits were.

From a political point of view, the President who approves this will lose power.
radiomast
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 5:35:19 PM

I can't waste time with that bogus post from conquestador. He actually denies that kenyatta was a land grabber or that kenyatta killed his political opponents. He even denies that Nairobi is an infrastructural disaster. I can't discuss with people who chose to deny the obvious.