wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

5 Pages<1234>»
2018 KCPE Results
#21 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 3:41:51 PM

Hallo wazuans,

Lets say your son had 430 marks, and his 1st choice was Alliance, which means he is assured of admission at Alliance. Then a good private school offers him full scholarship for 4 years. The normal school fees for the private school is in the range of 300K per year.

Would you take the offer ??

Alliance it is for formation and life skills.
kayhara
#22 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 4:04:55 PM

Sadly in my former primary school no kid has broken my kcpe record 17 years down the line SMH, but man that was first even some boys are not yet circumcised na ndio hizo results, anyway congrats to all your grand children.
To Each His Own
#23 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 4:28:30 PM

Hallo wazuans,

Lets say your son had 430 marks, and his 1st choice was Alliance, which means he is assured of admission at Alliance. Then a good private school offers him full scholarship for 4 years. The normal school fees for the private school is in the range of 300K per year.

What's the history of the private school in terms of performance, discipline,etc Again very few private secondary schools zinaweza fikia league ya kina alliance,lenana,etc scholarship or no scholarship if any can anyone point them out
@kayhara You are right nephew alipelekwa sunday and they were about 40 boys.No phones or visitation mpaka next week tuesday wondering if they know the results are out amakunaendaje lakini there must be one mouthy person huko
#24 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 4:30:24 PM

Hallo wazuans,

This is a real situation a close relative is handling. The boy will most likely be the brightest at the private school. The private school is looking at a clean A in 4 years time to boost the school rating. But at Alliance, the competition will push him to be at his best. He will learn a lot from his classmates and form networks that might last a lifetime.

Never thought I would live to see the day where I am advising someone to turn down a Kes 1.2M scholarship.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 4:36:23 PM

Hallo wazuans,

Only if it's St. Andrew's Turi, not just any private school.

#26 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 4:41:43 PM

kayhara wrote:
Sadly in my former primary school no kid has broken my kcpe record 17 years down the line SMH, but man that was first even some boys are not yet circumcised na ndio hizo results, anyway congrats to all your grand children.

Toddler speak
#27 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 5:04:25 PM

Hallo wazuans,

This is a real situation a close relative is handling. The boy will most likely be the brightest at the private school. The private school is looking at a clean A in 4 years time to boost the school rating. But at Alliance, the competition will push him to be at his best. He will learn a lot from his classmates and form networks that might last a lifetime.

Never thought I would live to see the day where I am advising someone to turn down a Kes 1.2M scholarship.

Take the scholarship. Alliance is overrated. If he had the discipline to attain 430 in KCPE he has what it takes to do well in KCSE.
Ryko
#28 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 5:54:34 PM

what about this '..Peleka mtoto private, holiday hire mwalimu wa Alliance for Tution.."

but, honestly I prefer Alliance option

Let me be Money Minded:

I thought one of the main goals for parents with kids in highschool is to ensure the kid atleast take themselves to a public university. The fee is alittle less and less pressure to the parent in the long run.

Imagine paying for Alliance, then the kid score a C and goes for parallel, you fork another million for a univerity course, Double tragedy!! Private may save a parent so much financial trauma
I work so I can afford the amount of alcohol required to continue going to work
#29 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 6:37:45 PM

Hallo wazuans,

1. 430 does not assure him of Alliance;
2. Alliance is not a school. It is 100 years track record and history;
3. If 100k per year at Alliance is a challenge, take the scholarship.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 6:58:51 PM

Hallo wazuans,

Take your time to learn more about the private school, example, GCSE or 844, boarding or day etc. many of the private schools have caught up with the national public schools in terms of wholesome learning for pupils.

I think education to score an A and become some doctor is a thing of the past, there's so much more that today's millennials are aiming for, and this private schools are very good at molding students to today's standards

Now 300,000 per year does not sound very impressive unless its tuition only, a good private school should charge much more in my opinion, so as to cover other costs associated with wholesome learning so also expect additional learning materials, school trips etc to be substantial.

Example,Personally, I would take Nova Academy over Alliance any day.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 7:08:38 PM

Personally, i think the background of the kid is a point to consider.

Also where will you take the kid for University after form 4. Some of this things make or break kids. It is not a universal cut clothe things.
Liv
#32 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 7:19:42 PM

Hallo wazuans,

I support this.... and I was at Alliance. He will discover his other talents and skills.

In the private school, that wants to make a name, it will be purely academic pursuit and nothing much.

kawi254
#33 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 9:09:36 PM

Liv wrote:

Hallo wazuans,

I support this.... and I was at Alliance. He will discover his other talents and skills.

In the private school, that wants to make a name, it will be purely academic pursuit and nothing much.

At the private school He/She will be the special/genius kid while at Alliance will just be a regular kid.

Lakin Alliance waache hii Tabia ya running everywhere...it is like a military camp
madhaquer
#34 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 10:19:17 PM

Liv wrote:

Hallo wazuans,

At every school, a child will discover other talents and skills.

At Alliance, it is about being with peers. Other young adults who achieved the same academically. They will challenge him/her academically. Whether the child excels in extra curricular activities depends on several other factors. There will definitely be students from very diverse backgrounds which is perhaps a positive thing.

At the private school. You really need to check if they will be other peers and if the child will be challenged to compete. The scholarship could be more for marketing the school than for the benefit of the child.

The other thing to consider is the network of associates and contacts that the child builds which goes far and beyond the 4 years they will be in the school.
tinker
#35 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 10:22:57 PM

kayhara wrote:

Kumbe you are this Greeen....and you are a Veteran in Wazua.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#36 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2018 5:21:44 AM

The home environment is more important than any school the child goes to. In my opinion the best school is a day school where the teachers show up to teach and then the child goes home.

The people who think highly of Alliance only know of the few prominent individuals not the many average ones and definitely not the many dysfunctional alcoholics, university dropouts and Mathare patients. A 14-15 year old is not a man, he is a child who needs stability and guidance. Many Alliance parents abdicate this responsibility because they think their child has arrived.

FRM2011, you are a reasonable man. If the parents of this child are looking to you for guidance let them know that the child has not grown up just because they have done well in KCPE. If he ends up going to Alliance be sure to visit as often as you can to encourage and talk to him. Visiting is not just about taking food or going to admire him and praise him but a time to find out what is really going on with his life, what his fears and anxieties are and to encourage ...... to foster the courage within him to face challenges but also to know that he has parents and other adults who care about his well being.
tom_boy
#37 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2018 7:21:41 AM

madhaquer wrote:
Liv wrote:

Hallo wazuans,

At every school, a child will discover other talents and skills.

At Alliance, it is about being with peers. Other young adults who achieved the same academically. They will challenge him/her academically. Whether the child excels in extra curricular activities depends on several other factors. There will definitely be students from very diverse backgrounds which is perhaps a positive thing.

At the private school. You really need to check if they will be other peers and if the child will be challenged to compete. The scholarship could be more for marketing the school than for the benefit of the child.

The other thing to consider is the network of associates and contacts that the child builds which goes far and beyond the 4 years they will be in the school.

I would take the private school option. He will still make great contacts at the school. The parents of this school will be well to do folks generally who will open opportunities for their kids in life and by extension this boy will have great networks.

A private school may be more deliberate on extracurricular activities.

The boy needs to be careful not to develop a star mentality. Parents must focus deliberately on him getting extra tuition if need be over the holidays and must set high grade targets, not gauging performance by class position.

The private school might look up to him to be a leader and role model for the other kids. This cuts two ways, it may stress him too much or he may just excel beyond expectations. This is depending on his personality.

Parents can use the saved school fees for constructive/ investment activities that will pay off in future.

However, you really need to investigate this private school. 300k per year does not sound prestigious at all. Is it a start up? Is it well equiped? Do they have enough teachers? Does the scholarship include all other payments? You may find that extracurricular activity payments cost more than the school fees at Alliance.

I think which particular high school one attends is overrated. What matters is what you learn while there, both academic and non academic.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2018 7:57:39 AM

Hallo wazuans,

We talked to someone who understands the admission process and he assured the boy will get his slot at alliance. If you were to list the top 300 boys in kcpe, 430 will definitely be there. Even if they had all chosen alliance as first choice, our boy still gets his slot.
#39 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2018 8:03:59 AM

The home environment is more important than any school the child goes to. In my opinion the best school is a day school where the teachers show up to teach and then the child goes home.

The people who think highly of Alliance only know of the few prominent individuals not the many average ones and definitely not the many dysfunctional alcoholics, university dropouts and Mathare patients. A 14-15 year old is not a man, he is a child who needs stability and guidance. Many Alliance parents abdicate this responsibility because they think their child has arrived.

FRM2011, you are a reasonable man. If the parents of this child are looking to you for guidance let them know that the child has not grown up just because they have done well in KCPE. If he ends up going to Alliance be sure to visit as often as you can to encourage and talk to him. Visiting is not just about taking food or going to admire him and praise him but a time to find out what is really going on with his life, what his fears and anxieties are and to encourage ...... to foster the courage within him to face challenges but also to know that he has parents and other adults who care about his well being.

This is deep man. The boy's mom is a single mother so I am a mentor to this kid.

My other worry with the private school is discipline and specifically how the school management handles the same. There is a case in court of a parent whose daughter was bullied excessively at nova academy. The school was not willing to take any drastic action against the culprits. Eventually, the parent withdrew the daughter Rom the school.
#40 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2018 9:15:44 AM

In my view, the KCPE and KCSE type of education is overrated. Let your kid(s) be literate and teach them life skills.

In my short life on this planet earth, I have not seen any correlation between academic excellence and career/life excellence.