wazua Sat, Apr 25, 2026

Kiambu raises land rates by 300%
MugundaMan
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2018 2:29:13 PM

https://www.businessdail...36346-ysqdpt/index.html

But why introduce taxes on freehold land? Laughing out loudly Is that even constitutional?

All the more reason for all of you Kiambu landholders to move to d-bowl Jameni. You guys are being skinned alive with crazy taxes that make no sense!
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2018 2:34:18 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com

But why introduce taxes on freehold land? Laughing out loudly Is that even constitutional

All the more reason for all of you Kiambu landholders to move to d-bowl Jameni. You guys are being skinned alive with crazy taxes that make no sense.

freehold land is liable to rates. The reasoning is, you are benefitting in value increase even when you do nothing to improve your land e.g when govt constructs a road leading to your place
MugundaMan
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2018 3:05:46 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com

But why introduce taxes on freehold land? Laughing out loudly Is that even constitutional

All the more reason for all of you Kiambu landholders to move to d-bowl Jameni. You guys are being skinned alive with crazy taxes that make no sense.

freehold land is liable to rates. The reasoning is, you are benefitting in value increase even when you do nothing to improve your land e.g when govt constructs a road leading to your place

None of the freeholds that I own are subject to even a cent in taxes legally/constitutionally and practically as far as I know. Even after the repeal of the old land and titles acts. I'm surprised we have not heard of any owners of freehold land in Kiambu headed to court to sue.
shocks
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2018 9:12:45 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/counties/Kiambu-raises-land-rates-for-homeowners-by-300pc/4003142-4836346-ysqdpt/index.html

But why introduce taxes on freehold land? Laughing out loudly Is that even constitutional?

All the more reason for all of you Kiambu landholders to move to d-bowl Jameni. You guys are being skinned alive with crazy taxes that make no sense!

Rent and rates, ngombe na mbuzi
MugundaMan
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 13, 2018 9:52:08 PM

shocks wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/counties/Kiambu-raises-land-rates-for-homeowners-by-300pc/4003142-4836346-ysqdpt/index.html

You pay rents and/or rates on your agricultural freehold? smile
jmbada
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2018 7:57:47 AM

MugundaMan wrote:

They CANNOT tax freehold land. It is the owner's to hold free and clear of all authority. They have no remedy if the tax is not paid as they can never take posession of the land.
MugundaMan
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2018 8:21:05 AM

jmbada wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

They CANNOT tax freehold land. It is the owner's to hold free and clear of all authority. They have no remedy if the tax is not paid as they can never take posession of the land.

It's crazy, man. As I said I am surprised we do not hear of anyone challenging this in court.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2018 8:26:27 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
shocks wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

You are supposed to. Problem is that county governments and their predecessors the local authorities are not doing well on enforcement.
MugundaMan
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2018 8:55:54 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
shocks wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

You are supposed to. Problem is that county governments and their predecessors the local authorities are not doing well on enforcement.

Pray tell, under which law? smile Quote cap and section, please.
wukan
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 14, 2018 9:44:11 AM

jmbada wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

No freehold does not mean that. GoK can actually take away your land and compensate you for it. Freehold only means you do not have a time limitation like you do in leashold like 99 year lease. You also do not pay land rent to GoK

The katiba you voted for is clear in Art 209(3) that a county may impose property rates(sorry if baba read for you). What the county needs to pass is the law to impose those rates like what kiambu has done. Surely if the county is grading the roads to your shamba you need to pay for those local services.