wazua Fri, Feb 28, 2025

Lake Turkana Wind Power
#1 Posted : Sunday, July 29, 2018 9:53:14 PM

So now Wanjiku is staring at Kshs 1 Billion fine per month if LTWP is not connected by Jan 2019. Most disheartening is that,as consumers cried due to high cost of power, LTWP has been sitting on idle 310MWs due the incompetence of KETRACO and by extension, Uhuru's government, since 2016. Na watu ni kutangatanga tuuSad Sad Sad .NKT!!!
#2 Posted : Sunday, July 29, 2018 10:10:08 PM

alittlebit of sensational reporting but good that this has come to light. the PS has clarified that the contractor became bankrupt on the way. they got the Chinese to finalize the tlines on condition that the contractor will pay for any delays due.though the PS seems not to read from the same script from the MD of the wind power generating parastatal ...kibathi?

sitetei mtu but this is what I could deduce from the story
#3 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2018 9:31:18 AM

alittlebit of sensational reporting but good that this has come to light. the PS has clarified that the contractor became bankrupt on the way. they got the Chinese to finalize the tlines on condition that the contractor will pay for any delays due.though the PS seems not to read from the same script from the MD of the wind power generating parastatal ...kibathi?

Which PS has clarified what?. Keter?...My view though is that the entire project has been over-delayed due to government bureaucracy and the lack of kickbacks. If there were transformers and poles involved, you can bet the project would have ended a decade ago. Secondly, it's worst way to treat investors. Here is a group who have invested their 70 billions since 2009 and you really don't give a damn. 10 years is such a long time to get a 450Km transmission line in place . The investors have a right to be mad and rightly so.... and then there is Wanjiku. She has been denied cheap power so the powers that be can continue feeding from thermal plants. Is this not so?

ooh@Newfarer. I am a little surprised you do not know Mugo Kibati!
kawi254
#4 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2018 9:57:53 AM

Njunge wrote:

Which PS has clarified what?. Keter?...My view though is that the entire project has been over-delayed due to government bureaucracy and the lack of kickbacks. If there were transformers and poles involved, you can bet the project would have ended a decade ago. Secondly, it's worst way to treat investors. Here is a group who have invested their 70 billions since 2009 and you really don't give a damn. 10 years is such a long time to get a 450Km transmission line in place . The investors have a right to be mad and rightly so.... and then there is Wanjiku. She has been denied cheap power so the powers that be can continue feeding from thermal plants. Is this not so?

ooh@Newfarer. I am a little surprised you do not know Mugo Kibati!

In the Citizen TV interview P.S Njoroge said in 5 Weeks (End of August 2018) the Transmission line will be complete ...stringing works 30% complete. Pylon tower works 80% complete.

So August 31st sio mbali.
#5 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2018 10:00:48 AM

I hope it's not the same transmission line that TTT wanted to pass through a certain Airforce Base (free land) so that they could save some for siphoning.

Ile impunity itakuwa hii nichi twedi twedi tu wacha tu.

#6 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2018 10:15:50 AM

kawi254 wrote:
[quote=Njunge][quote=newfarer]

In the Citizen TV interview P.S Njoroge said in 5 Weeks (End of August 2018) the Transmission line will be complete ...stringing works 30% complete. Pylon tower works 80% complete.

So August 31st sio mbali.

Is it?.....The T-Line initial route was to pass through Laikipia (Rumuruti?), Nyandarua North (Slightly to the East of Nyahururu town, pass by close to Shamata, drop down to Kipipiri, Gilgil,Naivasha to Suswa.....I haven't seen any new pylons around this areas and that would make work on Pylons at less than 50%.......ama i am blind?Pray Pray .....The other thing is,31st August is a LIE!!!!

Five Years delayShame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you ....See page 30

https://www.afdb.org/fil...0-%20ESIA%20Summary.pdf
#7 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2018 4:46:15 PM

Njunge wrote:
So now Wanjiku is staring at Kshs 1 Billion fine per month if LTWP is not connected by Jan 2019. Most disheartening is that,as consumers cried due to high cost of power, LTWP has been sitting on idle 310MWs due the incompetence of KETRACO and by extension, Uhuru's government, since 2016. Na watu ni kutangatanga tuuSad Sad Sad .NKT!!!

We Kenyans pay 4 times the rate of electricity per kilowatt as the United States. 4 times!!!! And we are expected to pay more in the coming days....Big 4 my foot. Incompetence is very expensive.
#8 Posted : Saturday, September 01, 2018 5:05:03 PM

have we been billed the 1 billion per month?
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2018 5:04:05 PM

Reuters wrote:
LOIYANGALANI, Kenya, - A high voltage power line to carry electricity from a 310 megawatt (MW) wind power plant to central Kenya from the north is complete and supply to the national grid will stabilise by December, the energy minister said, replacing diesel generation.

The 266-mile (428km), 400-kilovolt power line is critical for the Lake Turkana Wind Power project, to carry electricity from Loiyangalani in the north to Suswa in the centre of Kenya.
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2018 9:39:20 AM

Njunge wrote:
kawi254 wrote:

So August 31st sio mbali

.ama i am blind?Pray Pray .....The other thing is,31st August is a LIE!!!!

Sad Sad ....That lying PS is now running around looking for fuel truck drivers. Hii serikali ya Uhuru iko na ngombe wengi sanaSad
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2018 10:48:33 AM

Njunge wrote:
kawi254 wrote:

So August 31st sio mbali

.ama i am blind?Pray Pray .....The other thing is,31st August is a LIE!!!!

Sad Sad ....That lying PS is now running around looking for fuel truck drivers. Hii serikali ya Uhuru iko na ngombe wengi sanaSad

diversion
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2018 11:48:05 AM

Reuters wrote:
LOIYANGALANI, Kenya, - A high voltage power line to carry electricity from a 310 megawatt (MW) wind power plant to central Kenya from the north is complete and supply to the national grid will stabilise by December, the energy minister said, replacing diesel generation.

The 266-mile (428km), 400-kilovolt power line is critical for the Lake Turkana Wind Power project, to carry electricity from Loiyangalani in the north to Suswa in the centre of Kenya.

So August moved to December. December itafika tu, this tano tena is becoming a joke.
kawi254
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 06, 2018 1:03:50 PM

Reuters wrote:

So August moved to December. December itafika tu, this tano tena is becoming a joke.

As per above clip, Tranmission line is complete but it takes time to synchronise the new power to the grid frequency.

LTWP guys sold the lie that they will pump 310 MW but wind conversion to energy is not efficient so and so far from testing it is not know what output LTWP can feed in to grid. MoE expects average of 150 MW below which national grid is destabilised.

If LTWP has been penalising GoK for 310MW delay they need to pay back if proved they can't deliver 310MW.
kawi254
#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2018 6:21:49 PM

LTWP Power Purchase Agreement has below clause ..

"Kenyans will also have to contend with a 14 per cent inflation adjustment on the Sh8.6 per kWh as per the 20-year long Power Purchase Agreement struck between the wind farm and the government."

What does the 14% Inflation adjustment mean over a 20 year period?Is this a compound or simple interest adjustment every year? That would make the Wind Power more expensive than thermal. I think ERC/GoK/KPLC send rookies to negotiate these PPAs.
wazuaguest
#15 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2018 6:54:42 PM

Civil servants who enter into contracts where government lose money should be surcharged.Otherwise we will continue losing Billions.
Africa belongs to Africans.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2018 7:15:16 PM

kawi254 wrote:

"Kenyans will also have to contend with a 14 per cent inflation adjustment on the Sh8.6 per kWh as per the 20-year long Power Purchase Agreement struck between the wind farm and the government."

What does the 14% Inflation adjustment mean over a 20 year period?Is this a compound or simple interest adjustment every year? That would make the Wind Power more expensive than thermal. I think ERC/GoK/KPLC send rookies to negotiate these PPAs.

14%? Who comes up with these numbers? Another thing can KPLC choose not to buy the power?
limanika
#17 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2018 8:00:56 PM

kawi254 wrote:
Reuters wrote:

As per above clip, Tranmission line is complete but it takes time to synchronise the new power to the grid frequency.

LTWP guys sold the lie that they will pump 310 MW but wind conversion to energy is not efficient so and so far from testing it is not know what output LTWP can feed in to grid. MoE expects average of 150 MW below which national grid is destabilised.

If LTWP has been penalising GoK for 310MW delay they need to pay back if proved they can't deliver 310MW.

So the govt has constructed transmission infrastructure for 310MW which will not be fully utilized????
kawi254
#18 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2018 8:19:57 PM

kawi254 wrote:

14%? Who comes up with these numbers? Another thing can KPLC choose not to buy the power?

The PPA is a 'take or pay' meaning that if the wind blows at 3a.m and LTWP generates 250MW and KPLC don't need it because we still on 12hour economy KPLC pays for the full 250mw generated but not sold...i wonder how the grid handles this 'unpredictable power'

Word bank bailed out of funding the LTWP due to the 'take or pay' PPA clause which is the clause that had GoK paying penalties for delayed transmission line
#19 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2018 8:29:26 PM

kawi254 wrote:

The PPA is a 'take or pay' meaning that if the wind blows at 3a.m and LTWP generates 250MW and KPLC don't need it because we still on 12hour economy KPLC pays for the full 250mw generated but not sold...i wonder how the grid handles this 'unpredictable power'

Word bank bailed out of funding the LTWP due to the 'take or pay' PPA clause which is the clause that had GoK paying penalties for delayed transmission line

Correct me if am wrong. Surely.... in my wild imagination I imagine we are using the full capacity day and night(si ni about 3000MW?) Bulbs do not take up so much energy plus more industry runs during the day than at night.

I also imagine by now KPLC has a team dedicated to power coming in from wind and they sit someone analyzing the wind gusts experienced wherever we have these wind farms eg Ngong and LT. Is this the case?
limanika
#20 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2018 8:30:08 PM

kawi254 wrote:

And did the PPA state they would compensate KP equivalent to the shortfall if at any time they generate less than 310MW