wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

Vacations from Kenya getting ridiculously cheap
MugundaMan
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 9:07:03 PM

I need one soonest and just flipping through what is available I am shocked at the bargains. Check this one out. Under 50k for 5 days in Dubai return air tickets and a gang of other amenities inclusive!

Hebu I disappear from Wazoo early next month and go ride landcruisers in the desert with waarabus jameni, God willing. These deals are too good to be true there must be a catch. I heard Bonfire is also dishing out similar deals.

https://expeditions.co.k...package-from-49999-kes/

#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 9:43:28 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
I need one soonest and just flipping through what is available I am shocked at the bargains. Check this one out. Under 50k for 5 days in Dubai return air tickets and a gang of other amenities inclusive!

Hebu I disappear from Wazoo early next month and go ride landcruisers in the desert with waarabus jameni, God willing. These deals are too good to be true there must be a catch. I heard Bonfire is also dishing out similar deals.

Vacations to dubs and Europe are cheaper for a kenyan than visiting Zanzibar
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 10:11:22 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

no
MugundaMan
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 17, 2018 10:18:07 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

And that is why I say these prices are crazy! There has to be a catch of some sort, or these guys pre-negotiated a super bulk deal on tikos that they are then passing on to the customer.

https://expeditions.co.k...anzibar-holiday-package/
#5 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 2:33:01 AM

Euge wrote:
[quote=MugundaMan]I need one soonest and just flipping through what is available I am shocked at the bargains. Check this one out. Under 50k for 5 days in Dubai return air tickets and a gang of other amenities inclusive!

How many days can you stay and how many places can you visit in Zanzibar with a budget of $4k for a family of 4(2adults +2kids) excluding flight costs?
A friend with family did 4 countries in europe for 10days with $4k excluding return tickets from kenya
MugundaMan
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 9:34:15 AM

http://www.bonfireadvent.../dubai-5-days-packages/

4 star hotel 5 days Dubs 55k with Bonfire. Ya dunia ni mengi. Why didn't you guys tell me all this time that such bargains were available?

#7 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 9:56:11 AM

MugundaMan wrote:
http://www.bonfireadventures.com/package/dubai-5-days-packages/

4 star hotel 5 days Dubs 55k with Bonfire. Ya dunia ni mengi. Why didn't you guys tell me all this time that such bargains were available?

Why are we not exploiting the opportunies in chalbi desert even though there are no sand dunes? We can't come up with something innovative? The current limited packages for chalbi are only for sight viewing
Thitifini
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 12:43:20 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

That's the promo. Actual, count about 90k pp excluding meals. The extra costs will be added in small doses as you get into the box. So have like 150k pp incl shopping etc (men).

You will never forget the experience by the way, will always find yourself saving yearly for a return....

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Thitifini
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 12:45:53 PM

Euge wrote:
[quote=MugundaMan]I need one soonest and just flipping through what is available I am shocked at the bargains. Check this one out. Under 50k for 5 days in Dubai return air tickets and a gang of other amenities inclusive!

How many days can you stay and how many places can you visit in Zanzibar with a budget of $4k for a family of 4(2adults +2kids) excluding flight costs?
A friend with family did 4 countries in europe for 10days with $4k excluding return tickets from kenya

I once did a 5 country budget road trip in the region. Total cost was about $2k total for three adults.

Still have the plan and budget.

Mike Ock
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 2:37:57 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

And that is why I say these prices are crazy! There has to be a catch of some sort, or these guys pre-negotiated a super bulk deal on tikos that they are then passing on to the customer.

https://expeditions.co.k...nzibar-holiday-package/[/quote]

The common "catches" in crazy travel offers are:

1. It's low season, meaning terrible weather
2. It's in downtown/dustbowl ya kule
3. There are many hidden charges added on after
MugundaMan
#11 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 4:24:46 PM

Thitifini wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

That's the promo. Actual, count about 90k pp excluding meals. The extra costs will be added in small doses as you get into the box. So have like 150k pp incl shopping etc (men).

You will never forget the experience by the way, will always find yourself saving yearly for a return....

I knew there had to be a catch.
Kumbe its a bait and switch deal.
Will budget appropriately...asante for the tips and advice!
MugundaMan
#12 Posted : Thursday, October 18, 2018 4:26:24 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

The common "catches" in crazy travel offers are:

1. It's low season, meaning terrible weather
2. It's in downtown/dustbowl ya kule
3. There are many hidden charges added on after

I can handle one and two but 3 ai hapana. I will ask them advance to list all hidden charges/add ons before I book so I know exactly what I am dealing with. Wakikataa let them stay with their Dubai.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2018 8:09:38 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

For Dubs, ask where they will accommodate you and check it out. That could be the catch. Then they put you On a flight where you buy your meals. Pack some ugali.

I am interested in Capetown. Let me enquire and see how it goes. I think the catch is having to pay more to go to visit places such as the table mountains, the cape of good hope etc....
MugundaMan
#14 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2018 4:08:25 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

Why are we not exploiting the opportunies in chalbi desert even though there are no sand dunes? We can't come up with something innovative? The current limited packages for chalbi are only for sight viewing

Because a lot of jobless youth are too busy wailing for nonexistent jobs and worshipping their politicians to get together and offer such things to tourists. Good idea by the way. Kenya has so much untapped tourism potential, in fact if we fully developed it here at home there would be no need to go to the dry desert called Dubai!
Thitifini
#15 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2018 7:31:41 PM

MugundaMan wrote:

Because a lot of jobless youth are too busy wailing for nonexistent jobs and worshipping their politicians to get together and offer such things to tourists. Good idea by the way. Kenya has so much untapped tourism potential, in fact if we fully developed it here at home there would be no need to go to the dry desert called Dubai!

The best sandy beach I've enjoyed most is the trully white sandy beaches of Turkana especially in the early morning. Interesting they are never marketed worldwide.

safariant
#16 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2018 7:53:35 PM

Thitifini wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

The best sandy beach I've enjoyed most is the trully white sandy beaches of Turkana especially in the early morning. Interesting they are never marketed worldwide.

Security?
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
Thitifini
#17 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2018 11:41:38 PM

safariant wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

Security?

Very good. You can actually sleep in the open if you're the adventurers type.

The only areas in Turkana that are insecure are along the Pokot & SSA tribal borders. If you drive you need security crossing these areas (bout 4k, plus lots of water) but the rest you just need a local guide.....eg from Lodwa to L. Tur.

If you fly, hire a 4x4 from Lodwa and you're all set......

Actually I hired a probox from one of these peoplesmile .....

MugundaMan
#18 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2018 9:03:18 AM

Thitifini wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

I can imagine. In fact I should start buying mugundas there! With LAPPSET in high gear and resort cities expected up there maybe I should start developing Mugundaman's Beach Tavern pale pale
Thitifini
#19 Posted : Thursday, October 25, 2018 1:10:38 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

I can imagine. In fact I should start buying mugundas there! With LAPPSET in high gear and resort cities expected up there maybe I should start developing Mugundaman's Beach Tavern pale pale

Unfortunately in the interior areas ie the Lake, they don't sell land. They give you free 10 acres beach allocation if you do 2 things;
1. Ask
2. Show you're one of them i.e. by tribe or marrying one of their daughters.

The two hotels near the lake were acquired by an Israeli and a German through number 2 anove.