Investor
Stocks
Safaricom FY2018
obiero wrote:murchr wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:Ericsson wrote:HY 2018/2019 results is 3 weeks away I don't blame Safcom or anyone else. Had they not done so, GoK would have whacked them with higher taxes. Now I await some GoK crooks who will say that Safcom should not pass on extra costs the consumers... These guys are reckless. They should not pass the cost to consumers. How much profit is enough profit Are they taxing profitability or the service? The profit is taxed, if the govt feels they need more taxation out of the service safaricom is providing then the subscribers should foot it There's no corporate ethics behind this.. Kenya is a poor state and the citizens need a break Whoever feels they are poor at Safaricom can move to a firm that recognizes their poverty. Safaricom doesn't set taxes in Kenya. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,804 Location: NAIROBI
VituVingiSana wrote:murchr wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:Ericsson wrote:HY 2018/2019 results is 3 weeks away I don't blame Safcom or anyone else. Had they not done so, GoK would have whacked them with higher taxes. Now I await some GoK crooks who will say that Safcom should not pass on extra costs the consumers... These guys are reckless. They should not pass the cost to consumers. How much profit is enough profit Are they taxing profitability or the service? The profit is taxed, if the govt feels they need more taxation out of the service safaricom is providing then the subscribers should foot it True. I am going to hurt but the increased taxes but the Dynamic Duo didn't get into power without the consent of 50%+1. Well spoken like a chief @vvs Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:Ericsson wrote:HY 2018/2019 results is 3 weeks away I don't blame Safcom or anyone else. Had they not done so, GoK would have whacked them with higher taxes. Now I await some GoK crooks who will say that Safcom should not pass on extra costs the consumers... These guys are reckless. They should not pass the cost to consumers. How much profit is enough profit I may not be a fan of Safcom as a consumer but for the last 10 years they have innovated like crazy. Other monopolies eg KQ and KPLC have crashed. From M-Pesa, to Tills/Buy Goods to FTTH. These are long-term projects that needed massive investments in time and resources. Celtel/Zain/Airtel dropped the ball. Telkom/Orange/Telkom was a non-starter. I prefer a (competitive) market economy to price controls that kill off innovation. I want Airtel, Telkom and Faiba to step up and force Safcom to lower prices thanks to competition. Well spoken and very true.Airtel,Telkom and Fiba should step up. Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:Ericsson wrote:HY 2018/2019 results is 3 weeks away I don't blame Safcom or anyone else. Had they not done so, GoK would have whacked them with higher taxes. Now I await some GoK crooks who will say that Safcom should not pass on extra costs the consumers... Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:Ericsson wrote:HY 2018/2019 results is 3 weeks away I don't blame Safcom or anyone else. Had they not done so, GoK would have whacked them with higher taxes. Now I await some GoK crooks who will say that Safcom should not pass on extra costs the consumers... These guys are reckless. They should not pass the cost to consumers. How much profit is enough profit I may not be a fan of Safcom as a consumer but for the last 10 years they have innovated like crazy. Other monopolies eg KQ and KPLC have crashed. From M-Pesa, to Tills/Buy Goods to FTTH. These are long-term projects that needed massive investments in time and resources. Celtel/Zain/Airtel dropped the ball. Telkom/Orange/Telkom was a non-starter. I prefer a (competitive) market economy to price controls that kill off innovation. I want Airtel, Telkom and Faiba to step up and force Safcom to lower prices thanks to competition. Well spoken and very true.Airtel,Telkom and Fiba should step up.  Hata iwe free sitaki... possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,346 Location: Nairobi
I had Zuku and on some days I spent more time calling them about service issues than I spent on the internet! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 14,213 Location: nairobi
Angelica _ann wrote:obiero wrote:murchr wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:Ericsson wrote:HY 2018/2019 results is 3 weeks away I don't blame Safcom or anyone else. Had they not done so, GoK would have whacked them with higher taxes. Now I await some GoK crooks who will say that Safcom should not pass on extra costs the consumers... These guys are reckless. They should not pass the cost to consumers. How much profit is enough profit Are they taxing profitability or the service? The profit is taxed, if the govt feels they need more taxation out of the service safaricom is providing then the subscribers should foot it There's no corporate ethics behind this.. Kenya is a poor state and the citizens need a break Whoever feels they are poor at Safaricom can move to a firm that recognizes their poverty. Safaricom doesn't set taxes in Kenya. Wewe unaongea nikama uko na pesa mingi sana.. Injustice to one of us is injustice to all.. KQ ABP 4.26
obiero wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:obiero wrote:murchr wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:Ericsson wrote:HY 2018/2019 results is 3 weeks away I don't blame Safcom or anyone else. Had they not done so, GoK would have whacked them with higher taxes. Now I await some GoK crooks who will say that Safcom should not pass on extra costs the consumers... These guys are reckless. They should not pass the cost to consumers. How much profit is enough profit Are they taxing profitability or the service? The profit is taxed, if the govt feels they need more taxation out of the service safaricom is providing then the subscribers should foot it There's no corporate ethics behind this.. Kenya is a poor state and the citizens need a break Whoever feels they are poor at Safaricom can move to a firm that recognizes their poverty. Safaricom doesn't set taxes in Kenya. Wewe unaongea nikama uko na pesa mingi sana.. Injustice to one of us is injustice to all.. Very good point @Angel....@Obiero address the proper channel....the piper calling the tune "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 14,213 Location: nairobi
murchr wrote:obiero wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:obiero wrote:murchr wrote:obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:maka wrote:Ericsson wrote:HY 2018/2019 results is 3 weeks away I don't blame Safcom or anyone else. Had they not done so, GoK would have whacked them with higher taxes. Now I await some GoK crooks who will say that Safcom should not pass on extra costs the consumers... These guys are reckless. They should not pass the cost to consumers. How much profit is enough profit Are they taxing profitability or the service? The profit is taxed, if the govt feels they need more taxation out of the service safaricom is providing then the subscribers should foot it There's no corporate ethics behind this.. Kenya is a poor state and the citizens need a break Whoever feels they are poor at Safaricom can move to a firm that recognizes their poverty. Safaricom doesn't set taxes in Kenya. Wewe unaongea nikama uko na pesa mingi sana.. Injustice to one of us is injustice to all.. Very good point @Angel....@Obiero address the proper channel....the piper calling the tune The two men will finish us KQ ABP 4.26
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,346 Location: Nairobi
The margin per transaction may be smaller for Safcom (among others) but the volumes may make up for the shortfall. Mobile deals cross the Sh1 trillion mark in Q3 https://www.businessdail...10556-3jb5d8z/index.htmlGreedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Investor
Stocks
Safaricom FY2018