50 dead - Muhoroni highway bus crash
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 8:46:28 AM

Sad. And it's not December yet.

#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 9:43:34 AM

A limo crash killed 20 in NY and the accident was termed as the worst in 9 years. Here 50 is just another number in the tally. Are inspections really carried out not just by NTSA but even at the assembly place.
kayhara
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 9:56:41 AM

Well we relaxed the michuki rules, does NTSA even check the expensive speed governors they made PSV buy? even the uniforms are gone many crew do not wear them, NTSA is a revenue collector not a single initiative to improve safety but instead they impose new fines, a way to collect more money.
Kebs does not check the locally built buses heck we have never seen a crash test,our traffic police is even worse, God help us with December approaching
To Each His Own
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 11:54:39 AM

As our traffic police happily collect bribes on the roads.
But why shouldn't they, yet nothing happens to their colleagues who are arrested even on camera? Have you ever seen or heard of one charged or dismissed?

#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 12:39:00 PM

I once heard a traffic police officer arrogantly brag that they have the medal for corruption and they won't let it go anytime soon. not even the president can change that.that is the attitude in the traffic department.the death count will just continue as long as no vehicle inspection takes place.just look at the noisy matatus at Tom mboya and moi avenue and see the traffic police just across there and tell me if anything will ever change.impunity reigns at country bus station. you can easily find yourself in Nakuru without your luggage while you were heading to thika.

I call this so called accidents genocides. government watching its people kill one another without taking any action. drivers kill innocent people with police just taking bribes.

I would only believe the government is genuine if the head of traffic department and the the officers where such accidents takes place are sent home every time a serious accident takes place.with
seat belts ,speed governors and uniformed disciplined crew accidents would be minimal.

who can give me the job to tame accidents?
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 1:05:05 PM

But these buses.. they look like cheap mabati iron sheets.
It's a pity.
My heartfelt condolences to the bereaved.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 1:14:48 PM

Interesting how kenyans blame everyone else except the real culprit. The bus driver is solely to blame for the accident. Not the police, NTSA, KEBS, michuki, bumps, potholes, darkness, rain etc. If he had driven safely, the bus wouldn't have gone off the road and rolled. Safety starts with you.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 1:23:19 PM

Interesting how kenyans blame everyone else except the real culprit. The bus driver is solely to blame for the accident. Not the police, NTSA, KEBS, michuki, bumps, potholes, darkness, rain etc. If he had driven safely, the bus wouldn't have gone off the road and rolled. Safety starts with you.

Accidents do happen for a reason , maybe speeding- drivers fault, faulty car no regulations etc. But should the number of those dead be that many?
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 1:49:11 PM

if the basic michuki rules were in force,the casualties would have been quite few.working speed governors can easily reduce accidents considerably then we are left to deal with human failures.but how many matatus physically go for inspection? you just pay 3000 and the inspection certificate is brought to you.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 1:52:40 PM

So you think the driver was suicidal?

The blame goes to the system because you cannot entrust 1 person with the lives of 70 people just like you cannot put all the trust in a pilot but the airline and system. That's why you don't need to know the CID report of the pilot before you board.

#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 1:52:45 PM

Accidents do happen for a reason , maybe speeding- drivers fault, faulty car no regulations etc. But should the number of those dead be that many?

speed contributes to such numbers by over 70%.at 60-80kph impact would have been lesser.50 souls is a huge number .equivalent of two classes in a school gone is seconds.this should make everyone shiver in anger.I can see leaders falling over themselves sending condolences.we will hear them again in the next bigger one.expect no action.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 2:44:00 PM

The blame goes to the system because you cannot entrust 1 person with the lives of 70 people just like you cannot put all the trust in a pilot but the airline and system. That's why you don't need to know the CID report of the pilot before you board.

Most systems have blind spots, even humans. Would we still blame the system for having a blind spot?

Again, what does it mean to blame the system? For me, it seems like 'blaming the system' is an easy way for shifting responsibility and doing nothing.

Which system exactly do we want to blame? Why not blame for example, the health care system, or economic system? Or spiritual system?

It appears to me that we may be swimming in a world whose words are just sounds with no meaning.
thuks
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 5:00:35 PM

Most systems have blind spots, even humans. Would we still blame the system for having a blind spot?

Again, what does it mean to blame the system? For me, it seems like 'blaming the system' is an easy way for shifting responsibility and doing nothing.

Which system exactly do we want to blame? Why not blame for example, the health care system, or economic system? Or spiritual system?

It appears to me that we may be swimming in a world whose words are just sounds with no meaning.

System ya ma-ja-mba_zi
I care!
Sansa
#14 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 5:19:11 PM

This might sound harsh but I think we as passangers are also to blame. If you know night time PSV travel has been banned, where are you going at night?
#15 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 5:53:19 PM

Sansa wrote:
This might sound harsh but I think we as passangers are also to blame. If you know night time PSV travel has been banned, where are you going at night?

Night travel should be safer. Fewer cars and no hurry.

#16 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 6:01:38 PM

thuks wrote:

System ya ma-ja-mba_zi

Systems are created to protect us all, be it financial, mechanical or otherwise. It's easier to fix the systems than the human. This time the system failed and placed all the powers in the human's hand. We don't know if he was speeding or he he was overworked and fell asleep behind the wheel or an undetected mechanical fault caused it or the owner's greed... To me, whichever way, the system failed.

#17 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 6:24:30 PM

speed contributes to such numbers by over 70%.at 60-80kph impact would have been lesser.50 souls is a huge number .equivalent of two classes in a school gone is seconds.this should make everyone shiver in anger.I can see leaders falling over themselves sending condolences.we will hear them again in the next bigger one.expect no action.

Are there crash tests performed by the assemblies building buses we have in Kenya? What is the standard?
#18 Posted : Wednesday, October 10, 2018 9:55:17 PM

Are there crash tests performed by the assemblies building buses we have in Kenya? What is the standard?

Nganya standards.
Tokyo
#19 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2018 2:59:49 AM

The transport CS could have resigned by now. Trump’s shit hole country.
work to prosper
#20 Posted : Thursday, October 11, 2018 3:25:59 AM

Tokyo wrote:
The transport CS could have resigned by now. Trump’s shit hole country.

He has not even spoken about the tragedy. Condolences & with you in prayer & pey move on to the next accident slaughter.