hardwood wrote:Driving through the city. Beautiful city. No garbage. No hawkers. No boda bodas. And their traffic lights actually work and everyone obeys them, which is a sign of a civilized people unlike kenyans.
that's the most interesting thing about Niugini...when they do something they do it fairly well. they follow traffic lights, when they recarpet a road - it will be done well. it may take time before it's re-carpeted again but first time inafanywa sawa. when they are developing residential areas sio kuuza tu mashamba... they do proper survey,have road access, water, sewage before building. Kuuza shamba unaweka kwa gazeti for people to bid. They do have lots of land issues because most of the land is communal but once gava gets it - it's done fairly properly. It's a land of contradictions and the unexpected. You cannot just deposit money into your account ovyo ovyo... for large sums utazunguka... very strict. They do have issues with poverty and life is expensive. but unaweza ona an ungroomed, jamaa na sleeve-less, meno red imejaa buai, buai imemwagika kwa kifua, in shorts and slippers queuing behind you in a bank... halafu atoe 80K kina (over 2M) kwa account na aende.
Some of those boats at the yatch club are houses for people. They figured it's cheaper to buy a boat -park it and live in it then sail home when you are done. There is poverty and crime as well. brazen robberies to establishments... cafes e.t.c. possibly because of the inequality but having said that... I never experienced negativity from the citizens my issues were always from Australians... they are racists of the worst type - they don't know they are racists.