wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

36 Pages«<89101112>»
President Uhuru Kenyatta 2nd Term - 2017/2022
#181 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 9:53:24 AM

80% of kenyans live in the rural areas and use firewood or charcoal for cooking.

They also don't pay zilch in taxes, why should we the 20% bear the burden for the 80%
Ryko
#182 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 10:00:04 AM

The Kenyan Cycle:
Raise taxes -> Cost of Living Increases -> Teachers Strike-> Lecturers Strike/Nurses etc -> Ksh Weakens -> Mugundas go Up....

On to the next phase: Strikes season will be back soon, everyone needs a payrise.
I work so I can afford the amount of alcohol required to continue going to work
#183 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 11:47:54 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
80% of kenyans live in the rural areas and use firewood or charcoal for cooking.

They also don't pay zilch in taxes, why should we the 20% bear the burden for the 80%

Please explain the tax part. I see tax deduction on my grandma's tea crop monthly payment slip.
#184 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 1:03:44 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Please explain the tax part. I see tax deduction on my grandma's tea crop monthly payment slip.

They also commute (pay fare to the veh owner who paid taxes acquiring the vehicle and fueling) and use household goods which are thoroughly taxed.
#185 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 3:41:20 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

They also commute (pay fare to the veh owner who paid taxes acquiring the vehicle and fueling) and use household goods which are thoroughly taxed.

The only tax you must pay is income tax, the other indirect taxes you can choose to pay or avoid. I mean PAYE on their incomes which in some cases are quite substantial.
#186 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 4:07:22 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

The only tax you must pay is income tax, the other indirect taxes you can choose to pay or avoid. I mean PAYE on their incomes which in some cases are quite substantial.

Pray,how can you avoid indirect taxes?
PAYE is for employment income only.
#187 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 4:28:14 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

No, PAYE is for every individual with an income
sitaki.kujulikana
#188 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 4:41:50 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

in general rural kenya has extreme poverty, Even if kra camped in every village looking for that income to tax they would end up spending more for whatever they would get.

I see employed guys complaining about that paye tax, I wish thy could try moving to those rural areas and try farm ndio wajue employment even with that paye deducted is still way better.
sitaki.kujulikana
#189 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 4:43:21 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

hapo sijaelewa, how does a landlord pay paye
#190 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 5:05:39 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

You mean to say you have never done your tax returns?
#191 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 5:09:35 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

in general rural kenya has extreme poverty, Even if kra camped in every village looking for that income to tax they would end up spending more for whatever they would get.

I see employed guys complaining about that paye tax, I wish thy could try moving to those rural areas and try farm ndio wajue employment even with that paye deducted is still way better.

I agree, rural areas have majority poor folks, lakini there are always some well off guys.

But even more urgent for govt should be to net the businessmen and people in the informal sector, they make soo much more than employed people but pay no taxes.

I am talking about that landlord/slumlord, that Gikomba trader, matatu owner, that guy delivering cabbages with a canter to marikiti, those largescale farmers in Kitale, Narok etc, those tea farmers in central etc. they are all there and contribute zilch to the economy in the form of taxes.
#192 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 5:21:48 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

I agree, rural areas have majority poor folks, lakini there are always some well off guys.

But even more urgent for govt should be to net the businessmen and people in the informal sector, they make soo much more than employed people but pay no taxes.

I am talking about that landlord/slumlord, that Gikomba trader, matatu owner, that guy delivering cabbages with a canter to marikiti, those largescale farmers in Kitale, Narok etc, those tea farmers in central etc. they are all there and contribute zilch to the economy in the form of taxes.

Im still lost by this statement. Its totally false/fallacious. No man escapes the taxman.

The informal sector probably suffers more due to the unpredictability of their incomes.

Matatu owners heavily contribute to taxes. How many Matatus do we have in Kenya? 30,000? Consuming on average Ksh 4000 of fuel daily (for the vans only).....that translates to more than Ksh 2000 daily taxes per vehicle, or Ksh 60,000 per month per van...

The figure shoots up sharply for buses and trucks to over 10,000 bob worth of taxes daily.....

These are the same people who partake in the village bars and contribute significantly to alcohol sales, which comprise of nearly 50% taxes......
#193 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 5:28:10 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Im still lost by this statement. Its totally false/fallacious. No man escapes the taxman.

The informal sector probably suffers more due to the unpredictability of their incomes.

Matatu owners heavily contribute to taxes. How many Matatus do we have in Kenya? 30,000? Consuming on average Ksh 4000 of fuel daily (for the vans only).....that translates to more than Ksh 2000 daily taxes per vehicle, or Ksh 60,000 per month per van...

The figure shoots up sharply for buses and trucks to over 10,000 bob worth of taxes daily.....

These are the same people who partake in the village bars and contribute significantly to alcohol sales, which comprise of nearly 50% taxes......

But after all that their 'net' income is not subjected to tax like other formal organization and those who are in formal employment.
#194 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 5:55:56 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

But after all that their 'net' income is not subjected to tax like other formal organization and those who are in formal employment.

@Angelica you put it perfectly,

@SimonKabz, you are confusing cost of doing business with taxes, all those matatu costs you are referring to are passed to the office worker who uses the matatus as transport in the form of fare, if for example the fare was equal to the cost of running a matatu, then the owner would bare no cost at all, but we all know the fares are much higher and thats how the matatu owner gets to buy a new matatu every 6 months to one year. this is the income i am referring to as not getting taxed.
#195 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 6:34:05 PM

Uhuraila get their way in parliament.

#196 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 7:50:50 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

PAYE is just one form of income tax and it is witheld by employers.

You are clearly commenting on a subject that you know little about.

If you operate a matatu you don't pay PAYE,you pay advance tax. PAYE is for employed people!
radiomast
#197 Posted : Thursday, September 20, 2018 9:40:40 PM

Gathige wrote:

Everybody must contribute to the development of the Country. Taxation will raise the consciousness of the masses so they can start demanding accountability from leaders and lead in Citizen's arrest of thieves.

Eti Kenyans will demand accountability.
Kenyans are easily persuaded by appeals to tribalism. The tribal leaders have been stealing for 55 years and you haven't held them accountable because they have convinced you that the other tribe is the bigger enemy.
sitaki.kujulikana
#198 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2018 12:17:18 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

still can not get how say as a landlord i pay paye, i thought the later is for those in employment and its the employer who deducts the same, I might be wrong but I don't think paye is for everyone with an income, there are other forms of tax but not paye is a specific tax for a specific group.
#199 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2018 9:17:07 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

still can not get how say as a landlord i pay paye, i thought the later is for those in employment and its the employer who deducts the same, I might be wrong but I don't think paye is for everyone with an income, there are other forms of tax but not paye is a specific tax for a specific group.

Ok let me simplify it for you.

The tax on net income in Kenya is 30% regardless of source.

If you are employed, the employer deducts PAYE (meaning Pay as you earn).

Now if you are in business (or self employed)(be it rental income, matatu income, consultancy, farming etc), you are ideally supposed to self assess and remit taxes at the same max 30%.

The govt introduces such measure as advance tax for commercial vehicles to try and capture the taxes as much as possible in the most cost effective way, but such are not final taxes, as a matatu owner, you are still required to declare your net income from the Matatu business at end of year, calculate tax thereof, net off the advance tax already paid and then pay the difference if any.

If you are running your business through a company then you have to separate your income if your company employs you from company income and pay tax on the 2 entities separately.

I hope i have helped you.
#200 Posted : Friday, September 21, 2018 9:43:42 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Ok let me simplify it for you.

The tax on net income in Kenya is 30% regardless of source.

If you are employed, the employer deducts PAYE (meaning Pay as you earn).

Now if you are in business (or self employed)(be it rental income, matatu income, consultancy, farming etc), you are ideally supposed to self assess and remit taxes at the same max 30%.

The govt introduces such measure as advance tax for commercial vehicles to try and capture the taxes as much as possible in the most cost effective way, but such are not final taxes, as a matatu owner, you are still required to declare your net income from the Matatu business at end of year, calculate tax thereof, net off the advance tax already paid and then pay the difference if any.

If you are running your business through a company then you have to separate your income if your company employs you from company income and pay tax on the 2 entities separately.

I hope i have helped you.

You are doing better now. Was shocked when you said everyone pays PAYE.
Personal Income(Not all income) is taxed at max rate of 30%. The matatu owner could also be employed and also has few rental houses and will file returns like any one else.
The argument that Matatus dont pay taxes is therefore baseless.