Bangi ni kitu mbaya
#21 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 7:29:45 PM

Guys don't value their lives. How do you even attempted to do that. Best way do deal with this is to get the owners of the Matatu and deal with them proper. Weka kwa yard for a month.

Nope. A matatu is just a machine, some equipment for trade that is operated by a person called a PSV driver. It is the personnel operating the equipment who should be answering charges of recklessly operating the machine thus causing harm to members of the public and property. The culprit here is the driver, not the matatu or owner.

The owner of the business is responsible for it and i don't understand how Matatu business is no different. The day we recognize this and start dealing with them according, then order will be achieved. Hakuna meneno na driver, ooh sacco etc, deal with the owner kabisa.

If a bouncer kwa pub misbehaves do you arrest the pub owner and close the business? No, you arrest the bouncer and he answers for his crimes. Same with the matatu driver.

If a bouncer misbehaves, you don't close the club but if bouncers misbehave, you close it.

At least 4 Psv vehicles at Central Police Station. Good, let us see next course of action. Though these policemen are talking and their body language shows them like they are helpless.
#22 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 7:39:53 PM

Guys don't value their lives. How do you even attempted to do that. Best way do deal with this is to get the owners of the Matatu and deal with them proper. Weka kwa yard for a month.

Nope. A matatu is just a machine, some equipment for trade that is operated by a person called a PSV driver. It is the personnel operating the equipment who should be answering charges of recklessly operating the machine thus causing harm to members of the public and property. The culprit here is the driver, not the matatu or owner.

The owner of the business is responsible for it and i don't understand how Matatu business is no different. The day we recognize this and start dealing with them according, then order will be achieved. Hakuna meneno na driver, ooh sacco etc, deal with the owner kabisa.

If a bouncer kwa pub misbehaves do you arrest the pub owner and close the business? No, you arrest the bouncer and he answers for his crimes. Same with the matatu driver.

If a bouncer misbehaves, you don't close the club but if bouncers misbehave, you close it.

At least 4 Psv vehicles at Central Police Station. Good, let us see next course of action. Though these policemen are talking and their body language shows them like they are helpless.

What about the personal cars? They should also be impounded and licenses withdrawn
#23 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 7:44:48 PM

What about the personal cars? They should also be impounded and licenses withdrawn

So does that heap of metal aka matatu have a brain to know what is right or wrong for it to be detained for breaking the law?
#24 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 7:52:31 PM

So does that heap of metal aka matatu have a brain to know what is right or wrong for it to be detained for breaking the law?

I do not understand you
#25 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 9:40:05 PM

I do not understand you

The heap of metal aka matatu is exhibit for the police to produce in court what 'you' used to cause havoc to other road users.
Speculz
#26 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 8:45:55 AM

I have always thought one way to have more responsible psv drivers is to have them deposit some amount ( sort of collateral) to be held in case of any traffic offenses this would be affected, right now nothing ties them to that vehicle they drive, accident today, move to a new one tomorrow.
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
#27 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 9:44:09 AM

Speculz wrote:
I have always thought one way to have more responsible psv drivers is to have them deposit some amount ( sort of collateral) to be held in case of any traffic offenses this would be affected, right now nothing ties them to that vehicle they drive, accident today, move to a new one tomorrow.

I see where you are coming from but this might make the matter worse because only the wealthy will afford to get in the business. What is lacking is regulation because police are in this business hence the level of Impunity. You cannot behave this way without godfathers. Matatu is a culture, one that needs to die for Nairobi's public transport to work. When you have a metropolitan public transport system that cannot cater or is safe for everyone, something is wrong.

#28 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 10:02:36 AM

So 'bangi' is another word for botched thinking and systems and has nothing to do with the herb.

Because I was getting concerned...

Even the euphoria in the video seems to be pointing to pombe... and other bad stuff.
kayhara
#29 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 10:55:50 AM

This vehicles have owners, the government should not spend lots of money trying to govern the sector, just impose the big fines to the owner for mistakes committed by their employees most owners don't even care about who is driving their matatu, the employed drivers give squads to other drivers who disappear once an accident happens.
To Each His Own
#30 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 11:13:37 AM

kayhara wrote:
This vehicles have owners, the government should not spend lots of money trying to govern the sector, just impose the big fines to the owner for mistakes committed by their employees most owners don't even care about who is driving their matatu, the employed drivers give squads to other drivers who disappear once an accident happens.

Actually high fines are self defeating. The fines are already too high and that is why most prefer to grease the palms of cops. For example,the fine for obstruction could be as high as 35,000 which most drivers cant afford so they bribe the cops. This would be different if the fine was around 5,000.
If the cop refuses the bribe,the matter can still be sorted out in court where you give the clerk 10K and he gives you a fine receipt of 5K for a different charge altogether.
Fullykenyan
#31 Posted : Tuesday, September 11, 2018 1:11:58 PM

The gvt can fund her budget through fines from matatus and other reckless
roadusers not unnecessary taxes like. That is what they do in Britain and in Germany
#32 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 12:09:46 AM

Hata hii ni bangi. How do you crash within a gated community???? I hope the Mercedes is also detained at the police station alongside the matatus as a "court exhibit" since it was being driven in a manner endangering life and property.

#33 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 2:51:19 AM

kayhara wrote:

Actually high fines are self defeating. The fines are already too high and that is why most prefer to grease the palms of cops. For example,the fine for obstruction could be as high as 35,000 which most drivers cant afford so they bribe the cops. This would be different if the fine was around 5,000.
If the cop refuses the bribe,the matter can still be sorted out in court where you give the clerk 10K and he gives you a fine receipt of 5K for a different charge altogether.

Now give us a scenario where there would be no fines or no consequences

#34 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 7:02:44 AM

We had an opportunity to bann matatus some years back but we never took it. Now, another even better opportunity has presented itself and with an outgoing president who has nothing to lose politically. Get rid of this fake entrepreneurship.

Do you ban all pubs just because one pub decided to play loud music at 3an? Nope. You deal with that one offending pub. Thus if 3 matatus out of 200000 misbehaved they should be delt with individually.

Who authorized grafitti to reappear back on the matatus? We all know that Michuki had taken out the edge in childish competition between the matatus based on street cred.. But the two men have brought this on us. I miss Kibaki

Boss, I thought we agreed on this forum that it is grossly unfair to compare kibaki to jubilee. Like our people say,"you do not compare sleep to death."

Econ 101. A matatu is a business and you can't force competing businesses to use uniform branding or no branding at all. All businesses use their unique branding to connect with their customers. Ever heard of market segmentation or market positioning? Or should govt also force KQ, Fly540 and airkenya to all be painted white with a yellow stripe and not to offer any inflight entertainment to stop "childish" competition?

Have you been to Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, Rwanda, Ethiopia? Its possible to have a uniform color scheme for public transport.. Let us not argue for the sake of it. In the USA they have the yellow cab, while in UK its the black cabs and red buses.. Globally it has been done, so why not our matatus? Of what benefit to Kenyan society is it to have a matatu named Savage or Killa with half naked ladies printed on its sides and deafening music on the inside.. Muchuki had a clear mind

it's a whole enterprise on it's own... same to the fashion industry. I think Cabs in the US and UK have strict color codes (similar to the reason our school buses have to be yellow) for identification. since kawaida cars and taxis have the same make and model it makes sense to have them have one color so that people know which one to stop. it doesn't make sense with matatus - who here cannot identify a matatu from others?
For each country you name as having strict color codes - I can point to another that has the opposite
Indian buses

Pakistani buses

Filipino Jeepneys

London Buses have started
#35 Posted : Wednesday, September 12, 2018 8:29:06 AM

We had an opportunity to bann matatus some years back but we never took it. Now, another even better opportunity has presented itself and with an outgoing president who has nothing to lose politically. Get rid of this fake entrepreneurship.

Do you ban all pubs just because one pub decided to play loud music at 3an? Nope. You deal with that one offending pub. Thus if 3 matatus out of 200000 misbehaved they should be delt with individually.

Who authorized grafitti to reappear back on the matatus? We all know that Michuki had taken out the edge in childish competition between the matatus based on street cred.. But the two men have brought this on us. I miss Kibaki

Boss, I thought we agreed on this forum that it is grossly unfair to compare kibaki to jubilee. Like our people say,"you do not compare sleep to death."

Quote of the year. Admin Please promote @FRM2011 to the Rank of Chief Elder!