wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

Bangi ni kitu mbaya
MugundaMan
#1 Posted : Sunday, September 09, 2018 11:24:24 PM

Mpaka the cops with their bashed in car look helpless as the daredevil youths "warmed up" for Meru. Ya Kenya twetu tweli twashangaza.
#2 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 6:20:14 AM

Testing Matiang'i
#3 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 7:17:24 AM

Testing Matiang'i

Watashangaa...
#4 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 8:22:52 AM

We had an opportunity to bann matatus some years back but we never took it. Now, another even better opportunity has presented itself and with an outgoing president who has nothing to lose politically. Get rid of this fake entrepreneurship.

#5 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 8:27:20 AM

Testing Matiang'i

Watashangaa...

Highly doubt. You might have noticed the police vehicle was parked on the road as the madness was going on. These are untouchable vehicles. It's what happens when corruption becomes a way of life.

You might have noticed that traffic cops nowadays only harass private motorists. Simple reason. You can't touch matatus. Every Sacco has a budget for the traffic department. The annual figure is in excess of 1B. Was shocked to learn that a very disciplined sacco with a remarkable safety record has a Kes 6M budget annually. In their books it's recorded as marketing expenses. Can only imagine the budget for umoinner, ongataline, citihoppa and the other lawless saccos.

Knowing how jubilee leaders are, this money goes all the way up. Higher than matiangi.
#6 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 8:50:58 AM

We had an opportunity to bann matatus some years back but we never took it. Now, another even better opportunity has presented itself and with an outgoing president who has nothing to lose politically. Get rid of this fake entrepreneurship.

Do you ban all pubs just because one pub decided to play loud music at 3an? Nope. You deal with that one offending pub. Thus if 3 matatus out of 200000 misbehaved they should be delt with individually.
#7 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 9:51:19 AM

Guys don't value their lives. How do you even attempted to do that. Best way do deal with this is to get the owners of the Matatu and deal with them proper. Weka kwa yard for a month.
#8 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 9:56:51 AM

Do you ban all pubs just because one pub decided to play loud music at 3an? Nope. You deal with that one offending pub. Thus if 3 matatus out of 200000 misbehaved they should be delt with individually.

Who authorized grafitti to reappear back on the matatus? We all know that Michuki had taken out the edge in childish competition between the matatus based on street cred.. But the two men have brought this on us. I miss Kibaki

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#9 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 10:18:39 AM

Who authorized grafitti to reappear back on the matatus? We all know that Michuki had taken out the edge in childish competition between the matatus based on street cred.. But the two men have brought this on us. I miss Kibaki

Boss, I thought we agreed on this forum that it is grossly unfair to compare kibaki to jubilee. Like our people say,"you do not compare sleep to death."
#10 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 10:19:20 AM

Guys don't value their lives. How do you even attempted to do that. Best way do deal with this is to get the owners of the Matatu and deal with them proper. Weka kwa yard for a month.

Nope. A matatu is just a machine, some equipment for trade that is operated by a person called a PSV driver. It is the personnel operating the equipment who should be answering charges of recklessly operating the machine thus causing harm to members of the public and property. The culprit here is the driver, not the matatu or owner.
#11 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 10:42:36 AM

Boss, I thought we agreed on this forum that it is grossly unfair to compare kibaki to jubilee. Like our people say,"you do not compare sleep to death."

Econ 101. A matatu is a business and you can't force competing businesses to use uniform branding or no branding at all. All businesses use their unique branding to connect with their customers. Ever heard of market segmentation or market positioning? Or should govt also force KQ, Fly540 and airkenya to all be painted white with a yellow stripe and not to offer any inflight entertainment to stop "childish" competition?
#12 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 10:53:31 AM

A single 33 seater matatu is a business worth at least 6m (depends on the branding), employing at least 2 people directly, making the shareholder at least Ksh 300,000 a month and serving hundreds of customers each day and provides a critical service to the public and economy. So how can you call that fake entrepreneurship?
#13 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 11:01:19 AM

Econ 101. A matatu is a business and you can't force competing businesses to use uniform branding or no branding at all. All businesses use their unique branding to connect with their customers. Ever heard of market segmentation or market positioning? Or should govt also force KQ, Fly540 and airkenya to all be painted white with a yellow stripe and not to offer any inflight entertainment to stop "childish" competition?

Have you been to Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, Rwanda, Ethiopia? Its possible to have a uniform color scheme for public transport.. Let us not argue for the sake of it. In the USA they have the yellow cab, while in UK its the black cabs and red buses.. Globally it has been done, so why not our matatus? Of what benefit to Kenyan society is it to have a matatu named Savage or Killa with half naked ladies printed on its sides and deafening music on the inside.. Muchuki had a clear mind

#14 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 11:12:54 AM

Have you been to Uganda, Tanzania, Burundi, Rwanda, Ethiopia? Its possible to have a uniform color scheme for public transport.. Let us not argue for the sake of it. In the USA they have the yellow cab, while in UK its the black cabs and red buses.. Globally it has been done, so why not our matatus? Of what benefit to Kenyan society is it to have a matatu named Savage or Killa with half naked ladies printed on its sides and deafening music on the inside.. Muchuki had a clear mind

The matatu branding industry is worth billions and employs thousands. You should look at the bigger picture. Also it's up to the govt to ensure decency in the branding and advertisement just like it does for all other businesses.
#15 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 11:41:49 AM

Nope. A matatu is just a machine, some equipment for trade that is operated by a person called a PSV driver. It is the personnel operating the equipment who should be answering charges of recklessly operating the machine thus causing harm to members of the public and property. The culprit here is the driver, not the matatu or owner.

The owner of the business is responsible for it and i don't understand how Matatu business is no different. The day we recognize this and start dealing with them according, then order will be achieved. Hakuna meneno na driver, ooh sacco etc, deal with the owner kabisa.
#16 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 11:55:33 AM

The matatu branding industry is worth billions and employs thousands. You should look at the bigger picture. Also it's up to the govt to ensure decency in the branding and advertisement just like it does for all other businesses.

Striking off graffitti on the matatu doesn't necessarily mean that the painter would be jobless. White is a color too and so is the yellow stripe. It would actually be a faster paint job than the devilish things they paint on matatus

#17 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 12:02:34 PM

My friend,I know we may not want to change the status quo, but matatus time should have come to an end a while back especially for major towns. The problem is not the matatus, the problem is that matatu culture is outdated and hence the many troubles. The do not fit in with this time. The only reason we keep them is political (read votes) and lack of ideas of how to get decent jobs for our youth.

#18 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 12:04:26 PM

The owner of the business is responsible for it and i don't understand how Matatu business is no different. The day we recognize this and start dealing with them according, then order will be achieved. Hakuna meneno na driver, ooh sacco etc, deal with the owner kabisa.

If a bouncer kwa pub misbehaves do you arrest the pub owner and close the business? No, you arrest the bouncer and he answers for his crimes. Same with the matatu driver.
#19 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 2:46:19 PM

If a bouncer kwa pub misbehaves do you arrest the pub owner and close the business? No, you arrest the bouncer and he answers for his crimes. Same with the matatu driver.

If a bouncer misbehaves, you don't close the club but if bouncers misbehave, you close it.

#20 Posted : Monday, September 10, 2018 7:23:19 PM

The police appeared unconcerned until their vehicle was knocked. They lobbed teargas to disperse the youth.