151 Pages«<129130131132133>»
Law Capping interest rates
#2601 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2018 7:17:46 PM

wukan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
bird_man wrote:
So loans at 13% and savings interest at 9%?
If you were James Mwangi, would you deploy your 10 Billion capital to earn 4%pa? I have not even included cost of production.

What's your problem here, I don't get it.

As things stand now, banks are making supernormal profits, no other industry is even close to competing (save for Safaricom).

Mark you banks don't even require much in terms of fixed capital outlay, they simply just pay wages (to non specialised employment pools), no other longterm investment is needed, compare this with say KQ that needs to buy 15B aeroplanes, or a cement company that needs to set up capital intensive factory or even a power generation plants that cost 100Bn in initial capital outlay.

They have it easy, they should be quietely enjoying their loot and hoping new entrants don't join and share their pie?

I am just loving this. I remember being castigated here for supporting rate cap using river road economic theory. I just love the proposal that 20% of lending be channelled to sme's and micro businesses.

Try find out how Zambia is fairing on after their experiment. You cannot repeal the laws of economicsd'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Anyway we have discussed this topic ad nauseam.... wacha katambe bora uhaismile smile

Its really heart-breaking following some of these arguments. The rate capping experiment has run for two full years. Its been a total flop. But the ruling class has just found a new bogeyman, greedy banks. Not the governments insatiable appetite and reckless spending. And it is nauseating when the cheering squad includes folks from this forum.

That someone on this forum could actually believe that MPs refused to repeal the rate capping out of altruism is beyond belief. The same MPs increased the mandatory housing fund contribution from the 0.5% recommended to 1.5%. Never mind that unlike NSSF or NHIF, the contributor to this new cash cow has no benefit. The same MPs passed the 16% VAT on fuel. But they are so caring for the common man that they refused to remove the rate cap on interest rates.
#2602 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2018 7:29:19 PM

wukan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
bird_man wrote:
If you were James Mwangi, would you deploy your 10 Billion capital to earn 4%pa? I have not even included cost of production.

As things stand now, banks are making supernormal profits, no other industry is even close to competing (save for Safaricom).

Mark you banks don't even require much in terms of fixed capital outlay, they simply just pay wages (to non specialised employment pools), no other longterm investment is needed, compare this with say KQ that needs to buy 15B aeroplanes, or a cement company that needs to set up capital intensive factory or even a power generation plants that cost 100Bn in initial capital outlay.

They have it easy, they should be quietely enjoying their loot and hoping new entrants don't join and share their pie?

I am just loving this. I remember being castigated here for supporting rate cap using river road economic theory. I just love the proposal that 20% of lending be channelled to sme's and micro businesses.

Try find out how Zambia is fairing on after their experiment. You cannot repeal the laws of economicsd'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Anyway we have discussed this topic ad nauseam.... wacha katambe bora uhaismile smile

Its really heart-breaking following some of these arguments. The rate capping experiment has run for two full years. Its been a total flop. But the ruling class has just found a new bogeyman, greedy banks. Not the governments insatiable appetite and reckless spending. And it is nauseating when the cheering squad includes folks from this forum.

That someone on this forum could actually believe that MPs refused to repeal the rate capping out of altruism is beyond belief. The same MPs increased the mandatory housing fund contribution from the 0.5% recommended to 1.5%. Never mind that unlike NSSF or NHIF, the contributor to this new cash cow has no benefit. The same MPs passed the 16% VAT on fuel. But they are so caring for the common man that they refused to remove the rate cap on interest rates.

You do know about quorum in parliament.. The VAT bill was passed with minimal numbers of the majority party as the same was state sponsored.. The 1.5% housing thing will never see light of day.. Meanwhile, assist in defining total flop of the rate cap

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Baratang
#2603 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2018 8:01:22 PM

wukan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
bird_man wrote:

@FRM2011, I borrowed some money to accomplish a task three years ago and I have been repaying the loan at close to kshs 110k per month. Before the rate cap the monthly repayment stood at kshs 130k. So you want me to go to a rooftop pissing metal, curse all and sundry and cry out loudly because the rates cap law is not being repealed???
I am not knowledgeable in the financial fields but I know when I am really oppressed. On this one from a Wanjiku perspective, whether the mpigs are caring or not, neenda ukawahubirie watu wenu hiyo injiri...the rate cap has so far saved me a cool kshs 1/4 million!!!

Ericsson
#2604 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2018 8:09:16 PM

Baratang wrote:
wukan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
bird_man wrote:

@FRM2011, I borrowed some money to accomplish a task three years ago and I have been repaying the loan at close to kshs 110k per month. Before the rate cap the monthly repayment stood at kshs 130k. So you want me to go to a rooftop pissing metal, curse all and sundry and cry out loudly because the rates cap law is not being repealed???
I am not knowledgeable in the financial fields but I know when I am really oppressed. On this one from a Wanjiku perspective, whether the mpigs are caring or not, neenda ukawahubirie watu wenu hiyo injiri...the rate cap has so far saved me a cool kshs 1/4 million!!!

A law should be passed to limit how much GoK can borrow from banks per annum.
With depressed GoK borrowing interest rates charged by banks will automatically fall.
Tactic that was used by Pres.Kibaki+Minister Mwiraria+CBK Gov.Andrew Mullei in 2003/4
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#2605 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2018 8:25:52 PM

Baratang wrote:
wukan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
bird_man wrote:

was able to secure a substantial amount of loan in March this year to finalize some pending projects without much sweat ,do you want me to cry that the capping is not going
.to hell with abnormal profits .its wanjikus time to eat.
.one man poison another man's food
HaMaina
#2606 Posted : Monday, August 27, 2018 8:53:15 PM

wukan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
bird_man wrote:

I'm sorry for you're sadness, you'll get over it. Just give it some time.
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
bird_man
#2607 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2018 1:02:15 AM

bird_man wrote:

What this scenario leads to is:
1.Banks move from retail (mwananchi) & SME banking to investment banking.They will specialise is bonds,bills,papers,syndicated loans etc.
2.They will move to micro lending...every bank will have an Mshwari type product coz you can flip the capital many times over in a year.

The two above cannot help Mwananchi develop.SMEs are totally left out. You are lucky if payslipped and working for a big company...else...
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#2608 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2018 11:54:14 AM

wukan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
bird_man wrote:

Whats heartbreaking is your mixing of issues and not even giving this debate a credible point of view from your perspective.

Lets evaluate the outcome for the players from a layman's perspective:
1. Wanjiku has gained - able to save interest costs as has been attested to by many here
2. Banks have gained - still making record breaking billions in profits
3. Wanjiku lost on access to risky loans - difficulty in accessing loans where risk is high, but as a result primarily of excessive govt borrowing in the domestic market which has nothing to do with the rate cap. The proposed amendment in parliament wants to cure this.

So @Frm2011, who is losing out again as a result of the rate cap
#2609 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2018 11:59:03 AM

Baratang wrote:
wukan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
bird_man wrote:

was able to secure a substantial amount of loan in March this year to finalize some pending projects without much sweat ,do you want me to cry that the capping is not going
.to hell with abnormal profits .its wanjikus time to eat.
.one man poison another man's food

Wanjiku and SME's just need to be educated on loans application process, the era of walking into a bank with some logbook or title deed is now long gone. Try approaching a bank with a well laid out business plan demonstrating ability to pay and a strong credit history and for sure regardless of size of your business, you will walk out with the loan you wanted.

IFRS 9 has put alot of emphasis on provisioning for bad and doubtfull debt and this will impact access to high risk loans from banks even more than the rate cap.
lochaz-index
#2610 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2018 2:22:15 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
wukan wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
bird_man wrote:

Whats heartbreaking is your mixing of issues and not even giving this debate a credible point of view from your perspective.

Lets evaluate the outcome for the players from a layman's perspective:
1. Wanjiku has gained - able to save interest costs as has been attested to by many here
2. Banks have gained - still making record breaking billions in profits
3. Wanjiku lost on access to risky loans - difficulty in accessing loans where risk is high, but as a result primarily of excessive govt borrowing in the domestic market which has nothing to do with the rate cap. The proposed amendment in parliament wants to cure this.

So @Frm2011, who is losing out again as a result of the rate cap

Let me try to simplify this for you:

1. What was the weighted average cost of money (interest rates) from all sources (banks, shylocks, saccos, friends/family, microfinance institutions, fintech et al) before the rate caps?

2. What is the weighted average cost of money (from all sources as above) now under the rate cap regime?

3. Has the cost increased or decreased and what do you suppose is happening to SMEs, Wanjiku and the economy (intended beneficiaries from the cap laws) at large?
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
kayhara
#2611 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2018 2:40:59 PM

Is it parliament with the last word on this law or is there another avenue for repeal?
in my opinion the rate cap, the fuel price and any other business price fixing should be left to the market to decide.
To Each His Own
HaMaina
#2612 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2018 3:28:12 PM

kayhara wrote:
Is it parliament with the last word on this law or is there another avenue for repeal?
in my opinion the rate cap, the fuel price and any other business price fixing should be left to the market to decide.

It was market driven all along for both fuel and interest until parliament who are meant to be the peoples chosen voice took up the matter and passed laws to curtail over exploitation of their constituents. Note both the banks and fuel companies were either too arrogant, or didn't see like parliament had a say in this that they sat back and ignored calls from parliament for dialogue.
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
Wakanyugi
#2613 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2018 4:01:09 PM

kayhara wrote:

The only appeal is the IMF. But since Chinaman showed up on the scene, Christine Largade's mojo has been servery curtailed.

P.S. Of course there is the President's veto too, but Uhuru is not going to risk his big 4 by starting a fight with Parliament - the Finance bill is usually an Omnibus (pass it all or reject it all). Can you see the headlines? "Uhuru rejects bill to save Banks." Plus the MP's already gave him his 16% VAT on fuel etc, despite the screams of Wanjiku.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
mamilli
#2614 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2018 4:04:39 PM

kayhara wrote:

Unfortunately the executive(read kamwana) has the final say over this whole fiasco...the noisy mpigs are watching out for themselves,once the banksters prescribe "special" loan rates for them,wanjiku will be left out in the cold.
Never lose your position in a bull market,BTFD.
HaMaina
#2615 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 11:53:41 AM

mamilli wrote:
kayhara wrote:

Unfortunately the executive(read kamwana) has the final say over this whole fiasco...the noisy mpigs are watching out for themselves,once the banksters prescribe "special" loan rates for them,wanjiku will be left out in the cold.

These banks seem to forget that what they offer is a product that can either be bought or not. Its not a favor that they are offering us we pay cost plus profit(interest). If they don't sell their products then they lose,and are left with unsold products. They should not expect us to come pleading on our knees to buy from them.

wukan
#2616 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 2:07:58 PM

HaMaina wrote:
mamilli wrote:
kayhara wrote:

These banks seem to forget that what they offer is a product that can either be bought or not. Its not a favor that they are offering us we pay cost plus profit(interest). If they don't sell their products then they lose,and are left with unsold products. They should not expect us to come pleading on our knees to buy from them.

The first and only product that banks offer is security of deposits. They are then allowed to leverage their own capital and the deposits to give out loans. Ask the Imperial bank depositors how they feel to have lifetime savings wiped out.
#2617 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 3:09:11 PM

HaMaina wrote:
mamilli wrote:
kayhara wrote:

Do you know who can teach the banks a lesson they will never forget ? The market.

You may never know this but around year 2003, 91-day t-bill rate dropped to between 1-2%. Stanbic started lending @ 8%. I know its unfair to compare Kibaki to Jubilee or Jude Njomo, but still.

Around the year 2000, BBK and Stanchart left what they decided were non-viable towns. Equity and Family Bank quickly moved into these towns. In several towns, Family bank took over BBK's premises as they were. They didn't even spend a shilling to renovate or paint (both share same corporate colour). Then Kibaki happened. You should see the kiosk that Barclays operates from in a town called Kerugoya after they came back tail betweens the legs. A few meters from them, Family bank roars from BBK's old premises. The market knows how to punish those who don't respond to the needs of their customers.

As it is, banks are still making super profits, but we can't get loans.

#2618 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 3:46:54 PM

Finance bill finally on the floor of the house. There are numerous amendments on the bill. Lets see how this goes.
Ericsson
#2619 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 3:48:25 PM

HaMaina wrote:
mamilli wrote:
kayhara wrote:

Do you know who can teach the banks a lesson they will never forget ? The market.

You may never know this but around year 2003, 91-day t-bill rate dropped to between 1-2%. Stanbic started lending @ 8%. I know its unfair to compare Kibaki to Jubilee or Jude Njomo, but still.

Around the year 2000, BBK and Stanchart left what they decided were non-viable towns. Equity and Family Bank quickly moved into these towns. In several towns, Family bank took over BBK's premises as they were. They didn't even spend a shilling to renovate or paint (both share same corporate colour). Then Kibaki happened. You should see the kiosk that Barclays operates from in a town called Kerugoya after they came back tail betweens the legs. A few meters from them, Family bank roars from BBK's old premises. The market knows how to punish those who don't respond to the needs of their customers.

As it is, banks are still making super profits, but we can't get loans.

If government reduces borrowing,currency stabilises;lending rates will fall to single digits.
Banks are still making super profits due to lending to government.
How many staff and branches do you need to lend to government ksh.1bn?
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#2620 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 4:00:18 PM

Finance bill finally on the floor of the house. There are numerous amendments on the bill. Lets see how this goes.

Debate has started. Several amendments adopted. Seems this one on interest capping will not be among the agenda being discussed. Does it mean it passes the way it was originally presented by Rotich ?? I don't know but that would be a stroke of genius. Parliament is heading for recess.

Meanwhile, distractions galore !!

https://citizentv.co.ke/...irds-gender-rule-210910/