wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

5 dead @ Uhuru park NO rally...how will the NSE react.
the deal
#1 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 1:39:51 AM

Political risk has reared its ugly head again...according to KTN news channel 5 people have been confirmed dead after unknown people threw bombs on a crowd who had gathered @ Uhuru park for a prayer...Big question? HOW WILL THE GITTERY FOREIGN INVESTORS REACT TO THIS??? WILL THEY HOLD ON OR DO WE SEE A SELL OFF LIKE 2007?
#2 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 7:05:24 AM

The bastards doing this are causing untold damage to our economy.

Expect a sell-off within a few days as this story gains traction... I do not blame foreign investors when even I am jittery coz this could take an ugly turn...
Stealth
#3 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 9:09:33 AM

Bloody buggers they are. Things (economic recovery) were heading in the right direction, then they pull this off! Silly indeed. Hoping pple will take time to assess the impact n not do massive sell off.
Blackberry
#4 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 9:53:24 AM

it is indeed really sad.
Lakini what were ppl still doing at the rally past seven ama hii rally iikuwa ya usiku? Talk about sheep being led..... but on the other hand I Thank God it didnt happen in the afty...no appologies for being emotional but life is sacred;

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

RVP
#5 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 10:09:34 AM

Look at the international comments (over 240 already) on this news post to see how damaging this is http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/af_kenya_explosion
#6 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 10:43:15 AM

sell-off imminent... I wud buy if I had cash!

@blackberry - Kwani??? So what if they are there at night... security shud be 24/7
#7 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 10:46:16 AM

This is not good for us...
Blackberry
#8 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 10:50:50 AM

@vvs
exactly my dilemna!! agenda gani hii hawa watu wako nayo...did U hear arap s saying ati there were no police?? surely . shame shame shame!!! him and the organising Nosayers should be put in jail for life ...

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

Seeders
#9 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 11:06:00 AM

definition - pet·ty (pt) adj. pet·ti·er, pet·ti·est
1. relatively worthless or unimportant; trivial; insignificant
2. small-scale; minor
3. having or showing a tendency to make much of small matters
4. small-minded; mean, narrow, ungenerous, etc.
5. relatively low in rank; subordinate

context - people attacked, dead and injured vis a vis they did not leave at 6pm
#10 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 11:15:13 AM

I think a smart investor (and I believe most are) will look at the facts and realise that this is a non or isolated issue. No need to panic.

#11 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 12:31:45 PM

Jeez! Anybody else read the comments by jungus on the above yahoo news link? These pple r quite daft! Quote: "hope Obama's birth cert wasnt blown up" "hope obama's cousins arent behind it". Americans are truly out of touch with reality!
the deal
#12 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 12:46:07 PM

KQ will come undet pressure due to this weekend blasts...others are TPS serena but the rights and bonus will keep sellers at bay..
Fundaah
#13 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 12:54:07 PM

No much Impact on the NSE....The greatest impact will be seen on 5 Aug 2010.....Positive .... Yes .... Negative No....and investors (foreign:read Americans and allies....and local.... manufacturers(Read Kenya Association of Manufacturers)....have said it in the media....it's up to kenyans to decide what they like :+ve or -ve economicwise.....
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
sky5
#14 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 1:03:10 PM

No need to panic. I believe the situation is gonna be under control and unlikely to escalate to PEV levels. We should stay calm and alert.
Dash
#15 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 1:38:58 PM

@ simonkabz
wow!! I have read a few of those comments in that link and i just logged out. Its not worth anyones time. I am even surprised some people reply to such.
the deal
#16 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 2:00:12 PM

Kenyan shiling has slumped to 1 week low following blast...www.bloomberg.com...
Morey
#17 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 2:28:46 PM

I just hope the Al shabaab wont claim responsibility.But I agree with Brackberry,I dont trust the guy at all,he can do anything for the sake of power.2007 is till fresh in our memories.
sky5
#18 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 2:37:00 PM

The Al Shabaab (a.k.a. Al Qaeda in Somalia) may not be responsible for the blasts. The group doesn't play with toy bombs and fire crackers. Their bombing missions are executed with precision and meant to cause collateral damage. (Death and mass destruction).
Wa_ithaka
#19 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 2:42:07 PM

From the NSE investors (especially the foreigners) and business perspective, Aug 5th is v important.
Both are saying very clearly "its upto you how you vote, as long as you vote Yes".

Anything else will create uncertainity.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Morey
#20 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 2:50:22 PM

Hope not,but by launching such toys and cause death in our capital city can be viewed as victory by itself.It showsa how insecure and weak our security system is.Btw did the police manage to apprehend anyone after the previous blast during the 2007 campaing time.