9 Pages«<45678>»
The Cancer Menace
#101 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2018 9:21:14 PM

Njunge wrote:
Most, if not all, disease, is caused by psycho physiological disturbance.

Smoke is mostly a corelate.

And it(smoke) is more conspicuous because it's part of breath.

We must start by understanding how the human works first before creating treatments and solutions.

In simple language coz this is a serious thread .....smile

When you try to use an instrument or equipment and find it malfunctioning, you try to come with a diagnosis. But that diagnosis is based on the validity of a hypothesis you had about the equipment.

That hypothesis depends on the functional model of the equipment.

But what happens when you have no functional model of the equipment? You blunder about... No?

Now ask yourself, do we have a functional model of the human as an integrated system? Now, I've gone through many books and papers, and most google pages regarding this, and I can say that the answer is, 'no. We don't have such a model in present knowledge systems'. The model is only suggested.

At least, there's a recent Nobel prize that brought the model closer. The Nobel prize for medicine for 2017.

The results of the above work go back to previous research across various disciplines, and the result is a 'game computation model of the atom'.

Now all composite systems follow the game computation model. Ditto humans.

When you look closer, you discover that the organs integrited through the brain, are transceivers and effectors of computations by the integral human system. And the main computational areas are the body plexus.

So the secret of disease and health depends on the robustness of the computational centers. When these computational areas are sub-optimal, then sub-oltimal responses ensue and different kinds of switches are activated, and depending on probabilities and resonances among different vectors diseases ensue.

Ngai Mwathani. Is this the simplest you can???.....actual, what have you said?Pray Sad

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly d'oh!
#102 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2018 10:08:47 PM

Njunge wrote:
Most, if not all, disease, is caused by psycho physiological disturbance.

Smoke is mostly a corelate.

And it(smoke) is more conspicuous because it's part of breath.

We must start by understanding how the human works first before creating treatments and solutions.

In simple language coz this is a serious thread .....smile

When you try to use an instrument or equipment and find it malfunctioning, you try to come with a diagnosis. But that diagnosis is based on the validity of a hypothesis you had about the equipment.

That hypothesis depends on the functional model of the equipment.

But what happens when you have no functional model of the equipment? You blunder about... No?

Now ask yourself, do we have a functional model of the human as an integrated system? Now, I've gone through many books and papers, and most google pages regarding this, and I can say that the answer is, 'no. We don't have such a model in present knowledge systems'. The model is only suggested.

At least, there's a recent Nobel prize that brought the model closer. The Nobel prize for medicine for 2017.

The results of the above work go back to previous research across various disciplines, and the result is a 'game computation model of the atom'.

Now all composite systems follow the game computation model. Ditto humans.

When you look closer, you discover that the organs integrited through the brain, are transceivers and effectors of computations by the integral human system. And the main computational areas are the body plexus.

So the secret of disease and health depends on the robustness of the computational centers. When these computational areas are sub-optimal, then sub-oltimal responses ensue and different kinds of switches are activated, and depending on probabilities and resonances among different vectors diseases ensue.

Ngai Mwathani. Is this the simplest you can???.....actual, what have you said?Pray Sad

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly d'oh!

I can understand what you're saying. I'll find a way to be simpler. I only need to figure out how... Patience please.
#103 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2018 10:39:15 PM

Njunge wrote:
[quote=Swenani][quote=Mukiri]Any philanthropists here (or ways how to go about getting sponsors)?

Thing is, smoke causes a myriad of diseases, cancer being amongst them. Our rural folk use firewood to cook. Most use 3-stones which is inefficient and produces the killer smoke.

It's never occurred to mePray Pray .....but i connected this with two cases i know from around my village. Some old folks who raised us back in the days and i am certain they used firewood all their lives. I have also seen news of Mama Oliech's death ( May she rest in peace). One of the pictures doing rounds shows her in the famous fish place and i noted a couple of firewood jikos. She was a known cancer case. How bad is it and are there deliberate steps to tide the use of firewood since it seems our women are cooking for us into their early graves??Pray Pray

If you've ever operated a 3-stone jiko then without doubt you know what I mean. Look inside the room where 3-stones are (for ease of reference, you can call them kitchens), even if they are outdoor, they are coated with soot. Sebuse lungs? Those 3 stones are worse than cigarettes! Our old folks were saved an early grave by the food they ate and the activities they undertook, which translated to exercise. Times have changed... They now eat bread and take public transport.

The onus is upon you, the educated offsprings, to save them. Mulipelekwa shule ya nini?

Ebu organize for funding we make these molds for en-mass production of smokeless firewood jikos... and wood vinegar, we curb killer pesticides

#104 Posted : Sunday, July 22, 2018 12:37:57 PM

@Angelica, @Njung'e and c. I've been trying to find an easy way of explanation and I realize that means a short course in the emerging scientific paradigm - though it's also the traditional and ancient paradigm.

So Stephen Wolfram's 'A new kind of science' would be a fair introduction to some of the key concepts that can make my above post more intelligible.

One may also do a google course by starting with the book's wikipedia page and intelligently move along the links. A week of doing so may be a sufficient introduction.

I don't know where you can get a good introduction in traditional medicine, maybe if you ask me questions.

We're certainly moving into a 'new' paradigm that has a better grasp of how a human works, a comprehensive philosophy of mind and generally, a new cosmology.

With it comes a new understanding of disease and its treatment.

#105 Posted : Sunday, July 22, 2018 1:10:55 PM

aaahhh!!.... Found this. Lemme start with it. I am on holiday so i have all the time. I am hoping my aging brain will come alongsmile

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_eC14GonZnU
#106 Posted : Sunday, July 22, 2018 5:42:24 PM

[quote=Njunge]aaahhh!!.... Found this. Lemme start with it. I am on holiday so i have all the time. I am hoping my aging brain will come alongsmile

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_eC14GonZnU[/quote]

Happy learning!

Never mind the brain. There are some who believe that after 25, and with proper care, our brains can only get better with age...
#107 Posted : Tuesday, August 07, 2018 4:29:38 PM

ATTENTION:

FDA wrote:
FDA announces voluntary recall of several medicines containing valsartan following detection of an impurity

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration is alerting health care professionals and patients of a voluntary recall of several drug products containing the active ingredient valsartan, used to treat high blood pressure and heart failure. This recall is due to an impurity, N-nitrosodimethylamine (NDMA), which was found in the recalled products. However, not all products containing valsartan are being recalled. NDMA is classified as a probable human carcinogen (a substance that could cause cancer) based on results from laboratory tests. The presence of NDMA was unexpected and is thought to be related to changes in the way the active substance was manufactured.

Information for Patients and Health Care Professionals

Because valsartan is used in medicines to treat serious medical conditions, patients taking the recalled valsartan-containing medicines should continue taking their medicine until they have a replacement product.

To determine whether a specific product has been recalled, patients should look at the drug name and company name on the label of their prescription bottle. If the information is not on the bottle, patients should contact the pharmacy that dispensed the medicine.

If a patient is taking one of the recalled medicines listed below, they should follow the recall instructions provided by the specific company. This information will be posted to the FDA’s website.

Patients should also contact their health care professional (the pharmacist who dispensed the medication or doctor who prescribed the medication) if their medicine is included in this recall to discuss their treatment, which may include another valsartan product not affected by this recall or an alternative treatment option.

https://www.fda.gov/news...uncements/ucm613532.htm

#108 Posted : Sunday, August 12, 2018 8:29:06 PM

#109 Posted : Sunday, August 12, 2018 9:08:41 PM

An interesting thing about this case is also about how it exposes the abuse/misuse of science to justify the needs of capital. Capital may be a cause of cancer...

But my concern is how one can take responsibility of himself to the point of not being duped by science and big money in order to have an optimal life.

#110 Posted : Sunday, August 12, 2018 9:24:05 PM

An interesting thing about this case is also about how it exposes the abuse/misuse of science to justify the needs of capital. Capital may be a cause of cancer...

But my concern is how one can take responsibility of himself to the point of not being duped by science and big money in order to have an optimal life.

Sasa wewe unaongea nini in simple terms?
Nkt

#111 Posted : Sunday, August 12, 2018 10:01:41 PM

Nkt

https://www.theguardian....r-cancer-dewayne-johnson
#112 Posted : Sunday, August 12, 2018 10:02:07 PM

Nkt

Monsato paid scientists to create doubt that the agent/product in roundup actually causes cancer
#113 Posted : Sunday, August 12, 2018 10:13:06 PM

#114 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2018 5:23:49 PM

theStar wrote:
The government chemist has established that flasks with asbestos pellets can cause cancer.

The agency said flasks are widely used in the country.

"Inhaling fibres of asbestos material is toxic and can lead to cancer of the abdomen and asbestosis (cancer of the pleura)," a report signed by S. G. Njoroge, on behalf of the government chemist, says.

The report says that the flasks contain Tremolite –a type of asbestos- responsible for different types of cancers cases.

This followed tests on a thermos flask sent by Mohammed Ibrahim from Garissa on September 21.

An official at the government chemist told the Star in confidence that the exposure to cancer follows if the flasks are handled poorly, gets cracks or are broken.

"If the asbestos capsules are directly inhaled or get in direct contact with the food, then users are likely to be exposed to cancer," the official said on Tuesday.
#115 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2019 3:29:21 PM

Nuteez peanut butter unfit for human consumption

https://www.the-star.co....an-consumption_c1887276

Nuteez peanut butter has been declared not fit for human consumption.

In a certificate of analysis on Thursday, the government chemist said it exceeds the maximum required limit of aflatoxin.

The peanut butter was found to be containing 28.08ppb aflotoxin, 18.08ppb more than the required limit.

The manufacturer of the peanut, Jetlak Foods Limited said they had not received any letter from the interior ministry on the same.

"...we are thus in the process of investigating the purported claim. We wish to reassure our esteemed customers that Jetlak prescribes to the highest standards of quality," managing director Anup Bid said.

Peanuts are susceptible to molds and fungus some of which are highly toxic.

A fungus called Aspergillus flavus produces a carcinogen that is twenty times more toxic than DDT, called aflatoxin.
#116 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2019 7:13:07 PM

In a certificate of analysis on Thursday, the government chemist said it exceeds the maximum required limit of aflatoxin.

The peanut butter was found to be containing 28.08ppb aflotoxin, 18.08ppb more than the required limit.

The manufacturer of the peanut, Jetlak Foods Limited said they had not received any letter from the interior ministry on the same.

"...we are thus in the process of investigating the purported claim. We wish to reassure our esteemed customers that Jetlak prescribes to the highest standards of quality," managing director Anup Bid said.

A fungus called Aspergillus flavus produces a carcinogen that is twenty times more toxic than DDT, called aflatoxin.

This could be a one off case during production.In such a case they need to recall them.
Otherwise why would KEBS allow it on shelves for such a long period?
jmbada
#117 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2019 9:25:35 PM

This could be a one off case during production.In such a case they need to recall them.
Otherwise why would KEBS allow it on shelves for such a long period?

What I dind disappointing is the entire government's slow response. No department can either verify or deny. Meantime, the manufacturer has to put out a statement stating that they have no formal notification. In the midst of all this, our darling media cannot conduct any verification on the letter.
#118 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2019 9:39:16 PM

jmbada wrote:

Otherwise why
would KEBS allow it on shelves for such a long period?

What I dind disappointing is the entire government's slow response. No department can either verify or deny. Meantime, the manufacturer has to put out a statement stating that they have no formal notification. In the midst of all this, our darling media cannot conduct any verification on the letter.

It's from the Goverment chemist under the MOH.
Jetlak is busy doing damage control instead of pulling them,apologizing and moving on.
#119 Posted : Friday, April 05, 2019 11:08:33 PM

the Star wrote:
Nuteez peanut butter has been given a clean bill of health by KeBS.

There were reports that the peanut was contaminated with aflatoxins.

"Suspension of the Standardization Mark permit no. 965 for Peanut Butter branded Nuteez has been lifted," KeBS said.
#120 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2019 6:34:31 PM

After I heard of Bob's death, I decided to look into AML, its causes risks etc...and of interest I found this.

Being exposed to certain chemicals

The risk of AML is increased if you have been exposed to certain chemicals.

For example, long-term exposure to benzene is a risk factor for AML. Benzene is a solvent used in the rubber industry, oil refineries, chemical plants, shoe manufacturing, and gasoline-related industries, and is also found in cigarette smoke, gasoline and motor vehicle exhaust, and some glues, cleaning products, detergents, art supplies, and paints.

Some studies have linked AML risk to heavy workplace exposure to formaldehyde, but this link has not been seen in some other studies.

The biggest issue with cancer seems to be environmental pollution .