wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

Japanese Imperial Army
#21 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2018 6:22:00 AM

Masukuma says, 'Why bother about Kepler and Galileo, when a perfect explanation exists, about the sun going around the earth? You can even see it with your own eyes!'

that's demonstrable... the rest of your "spiritual" hoopla isn't. heck even the Japanese stopped following the imperial Japanese version of it. secondly, the two are not even related - one is in the realm of the physical world -it does not beg our recognition to keep it working. All humans can die and it would keep on working... it doesn't care... you will come to recognize it upende usipende... the other one is in our intersubjective consciousness - kill all Japanese... it goes. They decided... it's a bad idea and they stopped... it went through some form of reformation after the war and now people who think they do apply those principles in their work... I am not too sure people would celebrate a kamikaze pilot right now. so yes... Perfectly good explanations for Bushido for Islamic Fundamentalism exist...
#22 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2018 6:28:53 AM

Masukuma says, 'Why bother about Kepler and Galileo, when a perfect explanation exists, about the sun going around the earth? You can even see it with your own eyes!'

that's demonstrable... the rest of your "spiritual" hoopla isn't. heck even the Japanese stopped following the imperial Japanese version of it. secondly, the two are not even related - one is in the realm of the physical world -it does not beg our recognition to keep it working. All humans can die and it would keep on working... it doesn't care... you will come to recognize it upende usipende... the other one is in our intersubjective consciousness - kill all Japanese... it goes. They decided... it's a bad idea and they stopped... it went through some form of reformation after the war and now people who think they do apply those principles in their work... I am not too sure people would celebrate a kamikaze pilot right now. so yes... Perfectly good explanations for Bushido for Islamic Fundamentalism exist...

Hahaha. You don't know if Bushido as spirituality is demonstrable or not!

So among perfectly good explanations, which form your best categories?

I told you reasoning is a mean task for you, just look at how you are running for emotional expressions!
#23 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2018 6:40:01 AM

Find out how Kepler and Galileo came to demonstrate how the earth moves around the sun, contrary to prevailing views, then apply the same method for Bushido.

#24 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2018 7:28:08 AM

Find out how Kepler and Galileo came to demonstrate how the earth moves around the sun, contrary to prevailing views, then apply the same method for Bushido.

Maybe it's the slight tummy ache I have or maybe it's remembering that there is no point in arguing with you or may be it's both. Today - I have 0 interest in arguing on intersubjective matters or arguing for argument sake! Could we go back to the Imperial Japanese Army and other REAL things?
#25 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2018 10:48:54 AM

heri wrote:
Been reading about some world war stuff (currently in an area of the world where wreckages from that war is still lying all over the place)
The Japanese imperial army was one determined bunch of guys... wah.. So they took over Malasyia imprisoning twice as many British and Aussie soldiers than they had. Run a tight ship and really required (arguably) the atomic bomb to make them surrender. Invasion of Japan by soldiers would have tried to kill 3 or 4 before going down - it would have been a bloody battle. After the Bomb - the emperor surrender the ones who could stand the shame of surrender did as orders required and others just hari kiried themselves on the road. it was impressive until I came to hear about some Japanese soldiers who surrender after 30 years. The guy had proper uniform. he kept his things clean and never knew that Japan surrendered. They had to fly in his former commander (the guy who gave him the orders) to go to the Philippines to withdraw the order. The fellow then surrendered to Marcos. Some other guy was found in Guam in 1972.... Kinda made me ask myself - how just how effective was the narrative of 'Japanese superiority and gain after fighting a noble fight for the emperor' to survive solo confinement 30 years down the line? What type of narrative do you come up with to create such tough and tenacious MoFos

are you reading this from a book and if so which one. i would be interested to pick it up

Sounds more like common sense, which makes sense. The US can attribute its super power status because they all speak the same language, unlike China which is divided and has taken them ions to get where they are with their Mandarin. Japan, small as it is could humble China in battle

That cannot happen my friend, not today. The indoctrination that happened on the IJA died with the twin nukes of 1945. Thereafter the Army was disbanded for almost a decade, with the troops being reorganized into a Police structure for internal security, with guarantee from the USA against external threats. In 1954 they formed the Japanese SELF DEFENCE Forces with a decree of NEVER interfering with the sovereignty of other nations whatsoever, including participating in UN missions etc.

1. No indoctrination in the JSDF, while it is almost apparent in the PLAGF.
2. JSDF is a paltry 250k troops compared to the chinese PLA of 2.3m.
3. China has over 200 nuclear warheads, Japan has zero, though its western partners have a combined 8000 nukes.
4. Assorted Arty pieces: JSDF less than 1200 , PLAGF over 12,000.
5. Tanks and APCs: JSDF about 3500, PLAGF close to 15,000
6. Fighter & attack jets: JSDF-150, PLAAF- 1500 excluding attack helicopters.
7. PLA's long range Surface to Surface missiles....wacha tu.
8. China has a fighting capable manpower of over 300m compared to around 30m for Japan.
9. China has a combined 3.6m strong police force :- AP equivalent 2m, civil police equivalent 1.6m. Add another 500k for the Army reservists and over 2m people's militia (NYS).

One on one, Japan would be flattened by China in a few days if not hours.....Japan committed horrendous atrocities on the Chinese population, including mutilations and cutting off fetuses from pregnant women...The IJA was made up of heavily indoctrinated savages, animals......the revenge would be sweet & swift.
#26 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2018 1:02:16 PM

heri wrote:
Been reading about some world war stuff (currently in an area of the world where wreckages from that war is still lying all over the place)
The Japanese imperial army was one determined bunch of guys... wah.. So they took over Malasyia imprisoning twice as many British and Aussie soldiers than they had. Run a tight ship and really required (arguably) the atomic bomb to make them surrender. Invasion of Japan by soldiers would have tried to kill 3 or 4 before going down - it would have been a bloody battle. After the Bomb - the emperor surrender the ones who could stand the shame of surrender did as orders required and others just hari kiried themselves on the road. it was impressive until I came to hear about some Japanese soldiers who surrender after 30 years. The guy had proper uniform. he kept his things clean and never knew that Japan surrendered. They had to fly in his former commander (the guy who gave him the orders) to go to the Philippines to withdraw the order. The fellow then surrendered to Marcos. Some other guy was found in Guam in 1972.... Kinda made me ask myself - how just how effective was the narrative of 'Japanese superiority and gain after fighting a noble fight for the emperor' to survive solo confinement 30 years down the line? What type of narrative do you come up with to create such tough and tenacious MoFos

are you reading this from a book and if so which one. i would be interested to pick it up

Sounds more like common sense, which makes sense. The US can attribute its super power status because they all speak the same language, unlike China which is divided and has taken them ions to get where they are with their Mandarin. Japan, small as it is could humble China in battle

That cannot happen my friend, not today. The indoctrination that happened on the IJA died with the twin nukes of 1945. Thereafter the Army was disbanded for almost a decade, with the troops being reorganized into a Police structure for internal security, with guarantee from the USA against external threats. In 1954 they formed the Japanese SELF DEFENCE Forces with a decree of NEVER interfering with the sovereignty of other nations whatsoever, including participating in UN missions etc.

3. China has over 200 nuclear warheads, Japan has zero, though its western partners have a combined 8000 nukes.
8. China has a fighting capable manpower of over 300m compared to around 30m for Japan.
9. China has a combined 3.6m strong police force :- AP equivalent 2m, civil police equivalent 1.6m. Add another 500k for the Army reservists and over 2m people's militia (NYS).

One on one, Japan would be flattened by China in a few days if not hours.....Japan committed horrendous atrocities on the Chinese population, including mutilations and cutting off fetuses from pregnant women...The IJA was made up of heavily indoctrinated savages, animals......the revenge would be sweet & swift.

yes... unlike the Germans who accepted that for a period of time they were nasty animals, atoned for it and have not tried to deny it. Japan has not! China has not really forgotten it but Japan is not being an aggressor so it's all good... for now.
#27 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2018 3:12:37 PM

heri wrote:

The biggest gamechanger in war from 1945 onwards is the atomic bomb. Japan does not have one right now but I have heard that with their industrial capabilities they could produce them in a much shorter time than it has taken other countries to produce. Once nuclear weapons are in the picture I do not think it makes a big difference if you have 50 or 5000. It is Samson option for both opponents, mwaga ugali nimwage mboga, mutual destruction.

#28 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2018 4:29:38 PM

Maybe it's the slight tummy ache I have or maybe it's remembering that there is no point in arguing with you or may be it's both. Today - I have 0 interest in arguing on intersubjective matters or arguing for argument sake! Could we go back to the Imperial Japanese Army and other REAL things?

Hahaha.

You don't simply know what you are talking about and worse still, you can't think as objectively as you claim.

BTW chances are that you can't demonstrate to anyone that the earth goes round the sun. You only depend on hearsay.

Even this Japan thing, it's what you call 'inter subjective bs'.
#29 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2018 4:33:08 PM

Haha. Now you guys are military pundits talking objectively about armies!

You're just passing time playing 'impressario' right?
#30 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2018 1:45:48 AM

heri wrote:

Could=Past, Can=Present. This long narrative only goes to say that you did not read and understand, or the English language is a challenge smile

Yes you are right though. Things did change after Japan bit more than it chew. US after the Vietnam war, was like rattling a snake. BUT picture this, what is Japan's GDP per capita? China's? What is percent of Japan's productive (even arable) land is comparison to China? War has moved from brawn to brain, as is seen in the US-China economic manenos. I'm not saying Japan stands a chance against China, BUT in (sport) fighting kama MMA, I've seen smaller opponents knock out much larger ones..

Debate about war among super powers isn't healthy. Not currently. In an all out war, no holds barred, I doubt the power of Japan against China would matter. It would be a nuclear war, whose ramifications would be felt the whole world over. I doubt Japan is sitting duck after its Hiroshima/Nagasaki experience.

#31 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2018 2:28:26 AM

I have something that may make you understand where we are coming from...

f*** off, you muppet! no one likes talking to you.
#32 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2018 5:36:11 AM

Yeah. Especially when reasoning is defective and there's no other way out!
#33 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2018 5:44:08 AM

Isn't it lovely when some of you are reduced to regressive anal tendencies out of small 'debates'!

Eeh, baba watoto? Eminent scientists!
#34 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2018 6:04:22 AM

Isn't it lovely when some of you are reduced to regressive anal tendencies out of small 'debates'!

Yes it is...
now... could you go have a monologue somewhere
#35 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2018 6:12:19 AM

Yes it is...
now... could you go have a monologue somewhere

Not so fast Tojo!
#36 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2018 11:44:37 AM

Aiiii!
Bora uhai na airport
#37 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2018 3:42:40 PM

Aiiii!
Bora uhai na airport

Zote mbili zina happen kwa context ya war. A samurai knows Bushido is about sustaining one's self in order to enjoy these things.

So the samurai is reminded that once you're breathing, you are dead.

Every now and then, you do a death meditation. You inner army aligned and directed with discipline.

Your ruler can only be an emperor, and that Emperor must be a Man God.

Yeah. And the airport is sweet!
#38 Posted : Saturday, July 21, 2018 3:44:48 PM

1000 true Samurai, without weapons, can overcome a nuclear power whose million soldiers have no Bushido.

#39 Posted : Monday, July 23, 2018 3:37:00 PM

heri wrote:

Could=Past, Can=Present. This long narrative only goes to say that you did not read and understand, or the English language is a challenge smile

Yes you are right though. Things did change after Japan bit more than it chew. US after the Vietnam war, was like rattling a snake. BUT picture this, what is Japan's GDP per capita? China's? What is percent of Japan's productive (even arable) land is comparison to China? War has moved from brawn to brain, as is seen in the US-China economic manenos. I'm not saying Japan stands a chance against China, BUT in (sport) fighting kama MMA, I've seen smaller opponents knock out much larger ones..

Debate about war among super powers isn't healthy. Not currently. In an all out war, no holds barred, I doubt the power of Japan against China would matter. It would be a nuclear war, whose ramifications would be felt the whole world over. I doubt Japan is sitting duck after its Hiroshima/Nagasaki experience.

Could = Past????? I think not necessarily, and it leaves a lot of ambiguity with respect to the timeline in question.....I digress.

Anyway, I don't think there can be an all out nuclear fallout. Nukes often are referred to as the peace weapons,weapons that balance out state powers, for it would take an incredible moment of insanity to employ them in a campaign.

During Obama's reign of direct/indirect international violence, Putin reminded the West, severally, that Russia is a Nuclear State, wakuje pole pole. Nukes jolt even a mad man back to sanity.

BUT, there are TACTICAL nukes, those whose potency is to flatten a small centre like Gatundu or Sagana. These are deemed the most dangerous, as their likelihood of being actually used increases due to reduced collateral damage.