wazua Fri, May 1, 2026

2010/11 Budget Review
msotoville
#11 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 8:29:14 PM

@ theman192000

Methinks that the budget is built on a foundation of wishful thinking, creative accounting and crossing fingers. What makes it sort of work out is the kawa mwananchi...like you and me!

Example:

On unveiling the full EAC goodies expected later this July, trade in the region jumped 47%, banks went on a regional expansion spree, and hustler conversations huko downtown were peppered with tales of rich pickings in Rwanda/Sudan etc. By 2007, the trade balance stood in favour of Kenya to the tune of ½ a bn USD.

Like Mzee Biden pointed out, Kenya happens to be one of THE wealthiest non-mineral sub-saharan economies; this, thanks to the hard work and ingenuity of its citizens and not those white-haired empty suits at Treasury.

TheMan; fold up your sleeves, get your game face on and prepare to make Uhuru proudsmile .
So nice that its nasty, so bangin' its busting,
So slick that its sick, so dope its disgusting!
#12 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 11:04:57 PM

The deficit sounds scary....the recurrent exp even scarier!
jerry
#13 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 11:54:05 PM

You'll be able to get ur retirement savings within 30 instead of 60 days of retirement.

For those still working, I expected a widening of the tax brackets but it seems there were no changes. Tax Relief still 1,162/=. Taxing of those earning only, is it, 10,164/=! and MPigs paying no tax. How unfair.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#14 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 10:23:22 AM

Kenya has discovered commercially viable oil in the north. Uhuru hopes to secretly make up the deficit through oil revenues.