wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

2010/11 Budget Review
simplicity
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 8:32:59 PM

Can someone please explain to me in a laymans language what the stamp Duty changes mean to us.

I am in the process of buying a house but still in the early stages and have been dragging the process to see if they will scrap the "thuggery" STAMP DUTY. I read the PDF in the Nation articles 143-147 on page 30 and didn't get the percentages right.

The current rate for stamp Duty is 1% of the property value and I didn't understand what the new rates per Mr. Muigai.

Someone please shed the light on those numbers and if possible a little info on the land rates...
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 10:13:38 PM

The rate reduced is the SD on mortgage/charge from 0.2% the loan amount to 0.1%. SD on transfer/purchase and leases remain at 4% and 2% depending on locale of land. Change not significant!
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 10, 2010 10:44:28 PM

Okay so the budget has been read. What's your take - Will this budget actually raise productivity and improve the business climate?

Thompson Reuters, Fact Box:

IMPORT DUTY MEASURES:

* Lower duty paid on wheat to 10 percent from 35 percent for a year, to enable millers supplement local production.

* Drops import duty on rice to 35 percent for one year from 75 percent.

* Removes import duty on petroleum coke, a key ingredient in cement manufacture, to boost construction. Building and construction sector was one of the star performers in 2009.

MORTGAGES

* Halves stamp duty fee paid on mortgages, charges and debentures to 0.1 percent from 0.2 percent to encourage investors.

* Proposes to raise core capital banks allowed to invest in mortgage financing to 40 percent from 25 percent.

EXCISE DUTY:

* Increase excise duty for malt beer to 65 shillings per litre from 54 shillings and that on non-malt alcohol to 55 shillings from 45 shillings per litre.

VALUE ADDED TAX:

* Kenya Revenue Authority to refund all new VAT claims that meet a low risk criteria within 120 days and will impose the most severe penalties in law on those found participating in fraud.

REMITTANCES:

* To grant amnesty on law requiring remittances to be declared to encourage Kenyans in the diaspora to send money back home for investment.

ISLAMIC BANKING:

* To amend law to allow interest-free Islamic banking.

Budget Presentation:
Time marked...http://www.nation.co.ke/News/Uh...0/-/10oaqd2/-/index.html

kyukkamba
#4 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 1:52:11 AM

muganda wrote:
Okay so the budget has been read. What's your take - Will this budget actually raise productivity and improve the business climate?

ISLAMIC BANKING:

* To amend law to allow interest-free Islamic banking.

Budget Presentation:
Time marked...http://www.nation.co.ke/News/Uh...0/-/10oaqd2/-/index.html

I am afraid some will start asking... If we have Islamic Banking then we must also have Christian Banking .... Si munaona vile Kadhi's courts have done to our Budget???? be careful they are comming for us ....Sad Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
Goliath
#5 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 12:14:01 PM

I would like clarification on the pension information where schemes will pay early? what is the position?
Fundaah
#6 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 2:16:37 PM

....Any typo?Pray .....anything good? ...Why has Uhuru not included the implication of the passing of the New constitution ....no mention at allShame on you Shame on you Shame on you ..... A mini budget already on the way? ....
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
tuvok
#7 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 2:51:20 PM

I like this bit:

For property buyers, stamp duty penalty was cut from 25 per cent to 5 per cent of the principal amount to encourage uptake of land and houses, as that on mortgage reduced from 0.2 per cent to 0.1 per cent.

Mpenzi
#8 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 3:43:56 PM

tuvok - the reductions of the stamp duty penalty doesnt add much value - what should have been reduced is the stamp duty itself on sale of land.
tuvok
#9 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 3:49:43 PM

Mpenzi wrote:
tuvok - the reductions of the stamp duty penalty doesnt add much value - what should have been reduced is the stamp duty itself on sale of land.

talk about cosmetic changes...
theman192000
#10 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 5:32:38 PM

Problem with this budget is that the government hopes to collect 609B in taxes against a recurrent expenditure of 676B. Further to this, there is development expenditure amounting to 321B bringing the total budget figure to 997B.

Pray tell, how does a finance minister plan to collect only 61% of his needs then tell us that borrowing will cover the shortfall? If the government was an individual or body corporate and went to a bank with this business plan, they would be chased out the door!
msotoville
#11 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 8:29:14 PM

@ theman192000

Methinks that the budget is built on a foundation of wishful thinking, creative accounting and crossing fingers. What makes it sort of work out is the kawa mwananchi...like you and me!

Example:

On unveiling the full EAC goodies expected later this July, trade in the region jumped 47%, banks went on a regional expansion spree, and hustler conversations huko downtown were peppered with tales of rich pickings in Rwanda/Sudan etc. By 2007, the trade balance stood in favour of Kenya to the tune of ½ a bn USD.

Like Mzee Biden pointed out, Kenya happens to be one of THE wealthiest non-mineral sub-saharan economies; this, thanks to the hard work and ingenuity of its citizens and not those white-haired empty suits at Treasury.

TheMan; fold up your sleeves, get your game face on and prepare to make Uhuru proudsmile .
So nice that its nasty, so bangin' its busting,
So slick that its sick, so dope its disgusting!
#12 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 11:04:57 PM

The deficit sounds scary....the recurrent exp even scarier!
jerry
#13 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 11:54:05 PM

You'll be able to get ur retirement savings within 30 instead of 60 days of retirement.

For those still working, I expected a widening of the tax brackets but it seems there were no changes. Tax Relief still 1,162/=. Taxing of those earning only, is it, 10,164/=! and MPigs paying no tax. How unfair.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#14 Posted : Sunday, June 13, 2010 10:23:22 AM

Kenya has discovered commercially viable oil in the north. Uhuru hopes to secretly make up the deficit through oil revenues.