wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

South Africa vs Mexico Match Preview
#21 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 6:48:30 PM

That ball was in!!! Hiyo si offside! SA has paid the linesman.

#22 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 6:57:13 PM

its 0-0 at halftime. Hope the gods will be with SA in the second half as well!!
#23 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 7:05:25 PM

Hii game ni ya SA......possession does not pay, Mourhino taught us so!!!!
#24 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 7:17:51 PM

54 mins GOAL South Africa 1-0 Mexico (Tshabalala)

#25 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 7:19:57 PM

GOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL!!!!
#26 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 7:42:24 PM

78 mins GOAL South Africa 1-1 Mexico (Marquez)....and not looking good at all!!
anasazi
#27 Posted : Friday, June 11, 2010 8:06:14 PM

Some poor defending by S.A. Elementary mistakes made that lead to that equalizer
Form is temporary, class is permanent
Toxicity
#28 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 12:02:18 AM

how i wish egypt made it to the world cup!
update president set president = speaker where president is null
PONDI
#29 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 9:41:36 AM

mexico were denied a clear goal. I mean the SA defender in a luminous yellow shirt was by the bloody post! me thinks ref was given kitu small... ama bibi ya pili wa zuma. SA should have won their easiest group game. they wasted 2 great opportunities to kill of mexico. uruguay and france will hammer them.
#30 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 9:54:53 AM

Decent performance by South Africa but i'm still not impressed, Mexico controlled possession from the start....Where were S.A forward players? Modise & Tshabalala are both midfield players but they were the ones doing all the attacking.

I also think France should have fired their coach before the world cup...the guy has been making so many mistakes. Why did he leave out Benzema...Why put Henry & Malouda on the bench...Why put Evra (first world cup) as Captain....why Govou...WHY? The man of the match in last night's match with Uruguay was Abou Diaby.

The Vela goal was indeed offside. Two people have to be between you and the goal. In most circumstances the goalkeeper is the last man but it can be any two players. In this case only one man was between him and the goal when the ball was played therefore it was offside.

#31 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 10:08:20 AM

@Taz wrote
'Why put Evra (first world cup) as Captain....why Govou...WHY? The man of the match in last night's match with Uruguay was Abou Diaby.
Sad hapana leta mambo ya Man U vs Arsenal hapa. Does that mean a team making its debut to the WC should not have a captain. From the game jana Diaby had a terrific game but Evra spent most of the time in the opponents half.
#32 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 10:51:48 AM

Willin2learn....Unlike Evra, a captain is usually someone who has all the players respect,i have no issues with his performance as a player. Some members of the French squad demanded for Henry to be included in the starting 11 but the coach opted of the ineffective Govou
mukhamba!
#33 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 11:01:21 AM

I thought this was a mexico- South africa review? Mexico ni matata..watahangaisha watu these guys.
#34 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 11:01:43 AM

@Taz,
Mexico were denied a goal....The "third" player was not and did not interfere with play.....NOTE:As the cross came in,the keeper was in position and only left afterwards.....unfortunately, the referee's confusion is final.Mexico will advance as they have good strikers.I really like that Do Santos kid.Has the pace but needs to keep his shots low.Doesn't he remind me of Ronaldinh?o

France played without purpose and i can't understand why Benzema and Malouda never started the game.....Who in his right mind still thinks Govou is a player?It's early exit for them.
Dash
#35 Posted : Saturday, June 12, 2010 5:47:53 PM

@njunge, taz is very correct.if unsure google offside rules
#36 Posted : Monday, June 14, 2010 7:56:10 AM

the offside rule states

A player is in an offside position if: he is nearer to his opponents' goal line than both the ball and the second last opponent.

the call was on the level. the second last opponent was the goalie in this call.