wazua Mon, May 4, 2026

Kenya Uniforms for Schools
#1 Posted : Sunday, July 08, 2018 9:19:00 PM

Have we run out of development and corruption tackling ideas or what exactly do we hope to achieve by this?
#2 Posted : Sunday, July 08, 2018 11:36:45 PM

A unform should be uniform. After the yellow school buses now all school uniforms will be uniform i.e. same colour and fabric. Nice move since some pupils have been feeling inferior and unhappy due to their dull uniforms. Also some parents are forced to travel all the way from shags to Nairobi to buy uniforms at specific shops since school heads have formed cartels with shop owners. Now parents will be able to buy uniforms where they live....or even sew uniforms for their kids as long as they buy the fabric.

https://www.the-star.co....s-belio-kipsang_c1783738
#3 Posted : Sunday, July 08, 2018 11:41:29 PM

Why should a parent in e.g. nakuru or kisumu be told that the school's unique uniform is only found at "School Outfitters" shop in Nairobi?
#4 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2018 12:26:27 AM

[quote=hardwood]A unform should be uniform. After the yellow school buses now all school uniforms will be uniform i.e. same colour and fabric. Nice move since some pupils have been feeling inferior and unhappy due to their dull uniforms. Also some parents are forced to travel all the way from shags to Nairobi to buy uniforms at specific shops since school heads have formed cartels with shop owners. Now parents will be able to buy uniforms where they live....or even sew uniforms for their kids as long as they buy the fabric.

https://www.the-star.co....-belio-kipsang_c1783738[/quote]

Good idea. Similar to prisoners, whether in Shimo-la-tewa, kapenguria, Kamiti or Kingongo, they are all clad in the same stripped Cotton. Students too should be uniform in uniform

In our days, Khaki was khaki, and only sweaters differed. The shorts were as tough as buffallo skins and for whole of primo you only needed to replace once, majorly to factor physical growth and rarely wear and tear. Variety only came with the craftsmanship of the local tailor and not in colour.
#5 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2018 10:38:07 AM

Are these uniforms going to be centrally procured?

I can imagine the chaos in inter-school events. Your buses look the same, your uniform too. Then you're a teacher looking for Brian of Form 3 West the Sports Prefect. You see 50 boys who look like Brian. Then you find him tuning a girl from a school you can't tell coz all uniforms are the same

"Brian, I've been looking for you for hours!"

He turns round, " We ni nani? Ama unataka dame yangu? Jipe shughuli"

You move away embarrassed. Maybe that wasn't Brian. Brian isn't that red eyed. Even the nose. Is Brian's nose that broad?
#6 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2018 11:58:37 AM

Are these uniforms going to be centrally procured?

I can imagine the chaos in inter-school events. Your buses look the same, your uniform too. Then you're a teacher looking for Brian of Form 3 West the Sports Prefect. You see 50 boys who look like Brian. Then you find him tuning a girl from a school you can't tell coz all uniforms are the same

"Brian, I've been looking for you for hours!"

He turns round, " We ni nani? Ama unataka dame yangu? Jipe shughuli"

You move away embarrassed. Maybe that wasn't Brian. Brian isn't that red eyed. Even the nose. Is Brian's nose that broad?

They wont be centrally sourced. I think they will say that eg all shorts/skirts are grey, shirts/blouses blue and sweaters blue, socks grey with blue and white stripes. Then all parents have to do is walk into any shop and buy. Schools can then fix their school badges. Shida is what happens to all the other stock of different colours in shops.
#7 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2018 1:00:31 PM

If whoever wants real uniform, then apeane free of charge to all students/pupils.

And then institute tough laws against modifications.

And then, all upper middle and 'VIP's make sure their children go to school here and wear the same uniform.

Otherwise hii ni very subtle oppression being advanced.

Then worse still, we have no clear and progressive philosophy of education that's worth this uniformity.

Home schooling pap!
Sansa
#8 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2018 10:43:31 PM

This has got to be the dumbest idea! Yaani Amina thought deep and hard and came up with this madness. I thought she was smarter.
#9 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2018 11:05:09 PM

What do they hope to achieve?
Will it improve grades or reduce indiscipline?
Revive local industries?
How about equality? I don't think so.
We identify schools by their uniforms.

Some schools lack basic infrastructure,learning tools, water.
A uniform should be the least of our worries.

#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 10, 2018 6:48:44 AM

hoping they will choose 'dirty' colour like scouts khaki cos maji ni sida.

also the first set of uniform should be free

and materials should be sourced from local textile industry