Kusadikika wrote:masukuma wrote:mawinder wrote:In Kenya, I notice Shahs are very rich, Singhs are engineers and wakoras, Patels shopkeepers I guess in the same way mzungu cannot tell the difference between a tuareg and a mkamba - same thing happens to us. I happen to have tight relations with some Indians - real ones from India. Very cool people but what I realised is that they have same issues we have. They are as stereotyped as we are. Sindhis are cowards and like money. Panjabis are lifists and big talkers. Sijui wagani ndio wakipata kazi ya serikali hawatatoka. wengine ni maringo. India has over 1000 languages Gujaratis are like the Kikuyus and are disliked by all other tribes because they are the biashara people and are everywhere in the world. Punjabis are like the Luos, they are the ones who are more likely to have the poshest cars even when they do not have savings or a house. They also have the most flashy attires, most colorful weddings and most beautiful songs. Tamils ndiyo watu wa masomo na computer. These are the ones who went everywhere the British went, South Africa, SriLanka, Singapore, Malaysia, Canada, Fiji, Guyana. I would suspect back at home they would be the watu wa kazi ya serikali. What amazed me was the dislike they have for each other. If Kenyans think Indians are hard on them, they should try watching Indian interaction. In their clubs, Simba union is purely Kalasinga. No other Indian dare go there. GymKhana ni Shahs, Premier Club Singhs, Goan Gymkhan ni Goans. Worse still, in those clubs, in-fighting is like the Somalis. Family and status. They only come together when there's a common enemy