wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

Fish in Nairobi River
#1 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2009 12:46:00 PM

according to today's Daily Nation,at last fish has come back to Nairobi River after months of cleaning the river. We surely have to give credit to mzee Michuki- the man is focused and gets work done.

'It requires a lot of carefulness to kill the fly that perches on the scrotum'
#2 Posted : Saturday, November 14, 2009 12:58:00 PM

Another cap to the Old Lion.

Live hard,die hard.
tinker
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 10:11:13 AM

So, what happened to Nairobi river. passed by Museum and Globe roundabout and I couldn't believe the stench. when did things wen't South. Over to you Ole Tobiko!!.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 10:42:09 AM

tinker wrote:
So, what happened to Nairobi river. passed by Museum and Globe roundabout and I couldn't believe the stench. when did things wen't South. Over to you Ole Tobiko!!.

It's coz of all the $hit from kileleshwa, kangemi and kawangware. I remember someone (@angelica?) recently commented here how she visited a friend huko kileleshwa or some place and stench in the apartment was unbearable. The key is to stop discharging raw sewage into the river.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 10:54:08 AM

tinker wrote:

It's coz of all the $hit from kileleshwa, kangemi and kawangware. I remember someone (@angelica?) recently commented here how she visited a friend huko kileleshwa or some place and stench in the apartment was unbearable. The key is to stop discharging raw sewage into the river.

Who will stop that discharge? You are always busy defending the gava, both devolve and central govts... Where are our taxes going... enriching themselves?
tinker
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 11:54:39 AM

tinker wrote:

Who will stop that discharge? You are always busy defending the gava, both devolve and central govts... Where are our taxes going... enriching themselves?

I feel for those living downstream, surely someone is sleeping on the job. Before we know it, there is a major outbreak of Cholera/Typhoid. then citizens en-mass in hospital, then the Govt allocates tax payers resources, the resources gets stolen...and then the vicious circle continues.

I agree with @AlphDoti, people should stop discharging raw sewage into the river.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 12:17:37 PM

tinker wrote:

It always starts with you, the citizen/developer/landlord. The developers and landlords should ensure their sewer systems are working and not overflowing into the river. Some landlords who have septic tanks deliberately discharge/pump kitchen and bathroom water directly into the rivers ndio septic isijae. Some even pump the sewage out of the septic tanks and into the river at night to save money on hiring those exhauster lorries. You all have a duty to report all these rogue individuals to NEMA, county public health dept or the police. As I said, it all starts with you.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 1:17:23 PM

tinker wrote:

It always starts with you, the citizen/developer/landlord. The developers and landlords should ensure their sewer systems are working and not overflowing into the river. Some landlords who have septic tanks deliberately discharge/pump kitchen and bathroom water directly into the rivers ndio septic isijae. Some even pump the sewage out of the septic tanks and into the river at night to save money on hiring those exhauster lorries. You all have a duty to report all these rogue individuals to NEMA, county public health dept or the police. As I said, it all starts with you.

I feel for those living downstream, surely someone is sleeping on the job. Before we know it, there is a major outbreak of Cholera/Typhoid. then citizens en-mass in hospital, then the Govt allocates tax payers resources, the resources gets stolen...and then the vicious circle continues.

I agree with @AlphDoti, people should stop discharging raw sewage into the river.

As @tinker says, someone is sleeping on the job. Yes, it starts with you but clearly this is not working. Someone must do his job, otherwise why do we have govt! WHy do we have policies! Why do we have laws! These excuses of coming here and saying: "sasa mnataka nifanye nini" must stop. Michuki did it, but all his effort has gone to waste...
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 2:11:16 PM

Here I was thinking that someone was narrating on how he ate fish in Nairobi river.I'm devastated... shattered expectations.
kayhara
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 2:41:29 PM

Haha the usual fish gang has arrived,
Is Nairobi river the same smelly sewer you pass somewhere along Outering near Donholm? Nairobi has a sewer line why not direct effluent to the sewers, does anyone check where all the industrial area companies take their liquid waste.
Also wananchi how many wazuans own those single room plots with a dirty water trench flowing to the back? Come on dig a septic tank at least.
To Each His Own
#11 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 2:58:06 PM

kayhara wrote:
Haha the usual fish gang has arrived,
Is Nairobi river the same smelly sewer you pass somewhere along Outering near Donholm? Nairobi has a sewer line why not direct effluent to the sewers, does anyone check where all the industrial area companies take their liquid waste.
Also wananchi how many wazuans own those single room plots with a dirty water trench flowing to the back? Come on dig a septic tank at least.

That is Ngong river, Nairobi river is the one which flows >>>>>>Kileleshwa-Chiromo, Museum hill-globe-kamukunji>>>>
kayhara
#12 Posted : Friday, June 15, 2018 11:37:04 PM

800 million allocated for rehabilitation, that cash can do serious work if not stolen, Tobiko seems Keen to please he should ace this one
To Each His Own
jgithige
#13 Posted : Saturday, June 16, 2018 11:26:16 AM

kayhara wrote:
800 million allocated for rehabilitation, that cash can do serious work if not stolen, Tobiko seems Keen to please he should ace this one

Hapa ni kutupa pesa kwa shimo. Rotich would have rather taken the 800m to pay our external debts.
"Blowing out someone else candle won't make yours shine brighter"-Anonymous