6 Pages«<3456>
PCEA vs Kikuyu Kiama
#81 Posted : Monday, June 04, 2018 3:11:50 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
@Lolest wacha kumanganga and stick to the topic! From what I have explained above about the admission and working of the Ciaama cia Athuri could you please point out what these Ciamas do that the church does not do.
By the way, circumcision of girls has never been and was never an agenda in Ciama activities and deliberations and was never dealt with at Ciama level.

That part which you've not mentioned. The part for offering sacrifices to ancestors.

That's worship.

That is what the PCEA church young pastors want you to believe but all that is nonsense or rubbish to be precise.

There is no one time when the Agikuyu people made offerings to the ancestors...never did.
Any offering/sacrifices that were directed to Ngai (God) or that required God's intervention were done to God and only to God Alone under a Mugumo tree and only under a Mugumo tree.
Any other ritual or ceremony that necessitated the slaughtering of a sheep was only directed at that particular event and could be carried out anywhere else in the bush either under a tree or on an open space.

The Agikuyu "pastors" who performed these sacrifices (that were directed towards God) were not any ordinary people picked from nowhere and planted there like the church does. These were people who had been picked from Ciama cia Athuri and who had undergone all the stages of Kiama hierachy and were known to be thorough and just in their judgements, people who had won community and Ciama accolades from their past achievements both as parents and leaders within the community, people whose integrity could not be questioned, people who had already finished family task of bearing any more children as in they were old (over 70 years). The mantle was passed on to these people not by the Ciama but their predicessors who were also Ciama members.

Very well put. Our african societies were well structured, well governed and well functioning for hundreds (or is it thousands?) of years - politically, judicially, religiously etc before the mzungu landed on our shores about 100yrs ago and demonized our way of life.
#82 Posted : Monday, June 04, 2018 5:25:52 PM

While humans groups differ slightly biologically - the biggest differences happen to occur in the myths they intersubjectively choose to believe in. That's it... tofauti ya mwafrica na mzungu ni hiyo tu!the state that mzungu lived was no different from that ya mwafrican 1500 years ago. We were exactly the same for 65,000 years! The biological differences between mzungu and mwafrica did not start juzi. Tofauti ya Mkenya na Mtanzania ni hiyo pia... the myths we choose to believe in. Tofauti ya state of mkenya na mtanzania sio 100 years old. Same as the state of Kenyans and South Sudanese or Somali. Mjaluo wa Kenya and MDinka have very little biological difference but the myths they choose/forced/grew up with are different and it explains their differences. So the stark difference even in Kenya between one group of people (can be a family or an ethnic community or brothers are the myths they believe in). We do agree that some people are 'ahead' of others on some fronts. Denmark for example is a much nicer place to be when you are an old person than south sudan. All these differences are caused by 'culture' - the collection of myths we live our lives by. Unlike the differences in the biology of people - the differences in culture are HUGE... there are SUPERIOR CULTURES and there are RETROGRESSIVE CULTURES. The very fact that we have 'our' culture is a myth... enforced by these cultures to help them stay relevant and propagate. Each culture that did not have an effective 'propagation' mechanism -died when the guy who imagined it died! Once others choose to believe it... the culture lives on... if we don't - it dies ... most of these myths were indoctrinated to us when we didn't know better - when young and impressionable. The only way a RETROGRESSIVE MYTH can be propagated to a person who knows better is through guilt! But let's not fall for it! let's be held at ransom to hold on to what is demonstrably inferior and self-serving JUST BECAUSE OUR ANCESTORS COULD NOT COME UP WITH A BETTER MYTH especially because we know better myths exist! You are not your ancestor! It's quite likely that the ancestor who first dreamed what you were being guilt tripped into believing and enforcing knew what you know - they would not come up with what they came up with. They can be excused for their ignorance - you cannot!

What a load of bullcrap you have written up there.

Why? it's very factual that what we 'believe' is responsible for what we do! the reason people here are busy convincing each other on benefits of 'Ciama' and not on the law of gravity is simply because the existence of 'Ciamas' is related to the number of people who believe in them and their benefits. I tend to think that I know where I offended you... I called your beliefs a 'myth' and you don't want to believe it is. A myth is just an idea or a set of ideas that has no manifestation in nature. It's something we believe... What we believe in and act upon is not just related to things like Ciamas... it's something as widely accepted as time management or gender (being a man or a woman rather sex - than being 'male' or 'female')! when some people decided that time management was a good idea and they acted on it - they beat other people who did not have that as an idea! Time management is an 'idea'... it exists in our heads.... but people who believe and acted on it achieved 'more' of a certain 'type of thing' than those who didn't and in that way... it is more 'superior' towards the achieving of that 'type of thing' than not managing your time.
#83 Posted : Monday, June 04, 2018 5:31:49 PM

Since not all okuyos belong to PCEA but worship elsewhere, what is the opinion of the other churches eg catholic, anglican, baptist, seventh day, AIC, Wanjiru's Jesus is Alive, Church ile ya "mum and dad" aka kiuna's etc?
#84 Posted : Tuesday, June 05, 2018 9:08:47 AM

Just why should the culture of a man from muranga or Siaya be considered inferior to the culture of a man from Manchester England? All humans are equal and none should dictate to the other.

Church hasn't said your culture is inferior. They'd have opposed culture in entirety but they haven't. Their issue is the worship element.
#85 Posted : Tuesday, June 05, 2018 9:48:59 AM

Ahsante sana Kaigangio. This desecration of a beautiful original culture by people who barely know anything about it really pains me.

Interestingly, you'll see the same fellas accepting dowry for their daughters, or even participating and enjoying such ceremonies. They will circumcise their sons. But they will insult the elders with their relentless intellectual and religious bullshit......implying that elders shouldn't follow their own culture.

Nobody is opposing Kikuyu culture. If they were, there wouldn't be Gikuyu services in PCEA. Because language one of the biggest parts of culture if not the biggest(funny that many athuuri in the kiama have children who cannot speak Gikuyu!)

Culture is not what your great great grandpa used to do in 1860. It's what seems normal now in your community. A polygamous man for instance was normal, it no longer is. Taking tea is now normal, it was unknown then. Living in thatched huts was normal, now a masonry house with mabati is the norm. Our forefathers wore animal skins,they ate yams, cassava etc; now we take ugali, rice, chapo. Wife inheritance was expected(refer to what happened to Johnstone Kamau son of Muigai when his father passed).

Some of the things that used to happen were very good. We would love to go back to the good things. There are also things which were not ok. Like female cut. I'm yet to see anyone in the cultural renaissance saying they're ready to go back to the cut! No one wants it! Why and it was part of what the ancestors were doing? Because we know better! Because it's no longer part of culture!!

Culture is more complex than mburi cia kiama!
Wakanyugi
#86 Posted : Tuesday, June 05, 2018 12:43:22 PM

Since not all okuyos belong to PCEA but worship elsewhere, what is the opinion of the other churches eg catholic, anglican, baptist, seventh day, AIC, Wanjiru's Jesus is Alive, Church ile ya "mum and dad" aka kiuna's etc?

I understand some Kikuyu Catholic priests have paid "mburi ya Kiama." So it seems their Church is OK with it. Even the PCEA will have to somehow walk back this foolishness. The backlash is beginning to tell, if the noise from vernacular radio stations is an indicator. .
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Mtu Biz
#87 Posted : Tuesday, June 05, 2018 12:44:36 PM

May be off the specific topic.

Sola Scriptura

#88 Posted : Tuesday, June 05, 2018 12:50:26 PM

Ahsante sana Kaigangio. This desecration of a beautiful original culture by people who barely know anything about it really pains me.

Interestingly, you'll see the same fellas accepting dowry for their daughters, or even participating and enjoying such ceremonies. They will circumcise their sons. But they will insult the elders with their relentless intellectual and religious bullshit......implying that elders shouldn't follow their own culture.

Nobody is opposing Kikuyu culture. If they were, there wouldn't be Gikuyu services in PCEA. Because language one of the biggest parts of culture if not the biggest(funny that many athuuri in the kiama have children who cannot speak Gikuyu!)

Culture is not what your great great grandpa used to do in 1860. It's what seems normal now in your community. A polygamous man for instance was normal, it no longer is. Taking tea is now normal, it was unknown then. Living in thatched huts was normal, now a masonry house with mabati is the norm. Our forefathers wore animal skins,they ate yams, cassava etc; now we take ugali, rice, chapo. Wife inheritance was expected(refer to what happened to Johnstone Kamau son of Muigai when his father passed).

Some of the things that used to happen were very good. We would love to go back to the good things. There are also things which were not ok. Like female cut. I'm yet to see anyone in the cultural renaissance saying they're ready to go back to the cut! No one wants it! Why and it was part of what the ancestors were doing? Because we know better! Because it's no longer part of culture!!

@Lolest...If there is one person who is very well devoid of the Agikuyu cultural and traditional structures knowhow, it is you. You know absolutely nothing and that is why you are telling us that Agikuyu culture is complex. It is not and never has it been.
Just look for an old knowledgeable man and ask him to advise you on the same. Don't rely on your church or social media. They will tell you only the bad side of it that they have heard from the church and the western media.

Two questions for you,

1. Do you know why the Agikuyu girls were being circumcised and what was the procedure before the "cut" ceremony?

2. Specifically which part of the female genital was cut and how much of it was removed?
#89 Posted : Tuesday, June 05, 2018 1:44:34 PM

Kaigangio wrote:

@Lolest...If there is one person who is very well devoid of the Agikuyu cultural and traditional structures knowhow, it is you. You know absolutely nothing and that is why you are telling us that Agikuyu culture is complex. It is not and never has it been.
Just look for an old knowledgeable man and ask him to advise you on the same. Don't rely on your church or social media. They will tell you only the bad side of it that they have heard from the church and the western media.

Two questions for you,

1. Do you know why the Agikuyu girls were being circumcised and what was the procedure before the "cut" ceremony?

2. Specifically which part of the female genital was cut and how much of it was removed?

I think when you tell her to look for an old man, it confirms her statement that the younger generation do not agree with the old customs.

I personally respect the Kikuyu culture and I know most of it but it's very hard to pass on to our kids in the urban setting. So I personally don't teach my kids but I tell them about it and explain when we're in a place where a ceremony is taking place. What I think is the culture will soon be ceremonial only. Whether that's good or bad is out with the jury...

#90 Posted : Tuesday, June 05, 2018 6:29:42 PM

@gizzard, that I got from Jomo's book. I hope you won't tell me that I should ignore it. It was written by a man who was heavily pro-conservation of the African way of life.

But my point is, these people saying they're taking Africans back to their culture are misleading us. Culture is what you guys do. It has been infused with mzungu ways but now that's our culture.
Invepreneur
#91 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 3:18:16 PM

Kaigangio wrote:

Two questions for you,

Please tell us. Wazee wetu walikuwa kwa kahalf. very little knowledge on culture/ traditions. Better still, do a sequel ama nikutafute?
Educate us wise one!
The hot stock is the one that everyone thinks that everyone else thinks....is the hot stock (Dixit & Nalebuff, 2008).
#92 Posted : Thursday, June 07, 2018 10:20:00 AM

The weakness I see with this new renaissance is that it does not have a way to enforce penalties when someone "strays" or implements half of what is required - watakupeleka wapi?
#93 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2018 4:45:05 PM

Consider this a very useless post.

I never really knew you are this much of an irritant, an ignorant one to add. Mbuzi za wazee zinakuwashia nini kijana? What is this that pains you so much when elders meet, eat, drink, chat and enjoy each others' company?

And then you veer off and tell us how Jesus will come back through the corrupt PCEA church.....

Shame on you

Wachana na wazee, they have broken no law, and they have not worshiped the devil.

Live yours and Let live!!!
#94 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2018 8:02:34 PM

I never really knew you are this much of an irritant, an ignorant one to add.
Mbuzi za wazee zinakuwashia nini kijana? What is this that pains you so much when elders meet, eat, drink, chat and enjoy each others' company?

And then you veer off and tell us how Jesus will come back through the corrupt PCEA church.....

Shame on you

Wachana na wazee, they have broken no law, and they have not worshiped the devil.

Nowadays you spit some poisonous venomPray Like a combo of Makales and Psycho

#95 Posted : Wednesday, July 25, 2018 8:13:06 PM

Religion should not interfere with a people's culture. In okuyo culture a young man had to pass through various stages until he became a respected elder in the community. To move through these stages you had to give mburi ya kiama to be admitted into the next rank. Therefore it's wrong for the church to try to interfere with this long cherished tradition. A newly circumcised man couldnt belong to the same rank or social class as his father or grandfather. As you moved from one class to the other you had to give mbuzi to members of the rank you were joining. That stratification was important in maintaining order in the society.
#96 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2018 12:12:03 PM

Muthuuri ti seems you're bored. Thought we left this stooro kitambo and said kila nyani...

But anyway, wacha tuondoe boredom. Katambe!

Which one, this post of yours? But it's funny to introduce your post by assessing it as uselessLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

I never really knew you are this much of an irritant, an ignorant one to add. Mbuzi za wazee zinakuwashia nini kijana? What is this that pains you so much when elders meet, eat, drink, chat and enjoy each others' company?
It is perfectly in order for wazee to do so. The issue of the church has to do with the worship element in the proceedings. As I told you earlier if you have to salimia ancestral spirits and sacrifice to them, you're at odds with Christian practice. Then you pray to the Kirinyaga deity. We were taught how to pray in scripture and we pray in Jesus' name. Not to a god who dwells in Mt Kirinyaga.

Shame on you

He is coming back. Whoever preaches this & their sinful nature is another issue

Tuliwachana kitambooooo!!! Lakini ju umeboeka wacha nikukumbushe. Nobody has said what they're doing is illegal. But it's unchristian. Just as you have a right to insult PCEA, allow them to tell their members about the rules that govern them. Surely, if one can't say they're Christian and Hindu at the same time, why should we be okay with someone who believes in Gikuyu religion and Christianity?

Yes, you need to listen to your own advice as a Gikuyu Religion fundamentalist

#97 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2018 12:32:33 PM

Religion should not interfere with a people's culture. In okuyo culture a young man had to pass through various stages until he became a respected elder in the community. To move through these stages you had to give mburi ya kiama to be admitted into the next rank. Therefore it's wrong for the church to try to interfere with this long cherished tradition. A newly circumcised man couldnt belong to the same rank or social class as his father or grandfather. As you moved from one class to the other you had to give mbuzi to members of the rank you were joining. That stratification was important in maintaining order in the society.

That whole ranking of men thing is perfectly in order! I will join saimoo and gizzards in condemning PCEA if they were to just oppose that.

The problem is when you mix Gikuyu traditional religion and Christianity. PCEA is saying if you want to belong to them, leave that other religion! This isn't new. Even in scripture in the new testament, wherever the apostles went they discouraged all practices that made Christian converts observers of 2 faiths.

You're also very wrong when you say religion & culture should not mix. Religion is part of culture. Seen how Muslims, Sikhs, Akorino dress,eat, greet? That is impact of religion on things that would be considered not religious.
#98 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2018 12:37:06 PM

The weakness I see with this new renaissance is that it does not have a way to enforce penalties when someone "strays" or implements half of what is required - watakupeleka wapi?

Shunning and not being allowed into the exclusive club's events.

You mess you're fined a goat or something.

The kiama people can correct me if I am wrong.

But the latest has been curses. Let me look up a facebook post on someone being cursed by a Gikuyu religion fundamentalist.
#99 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2018 12:46:51 PM

Ona sasa haya mambo...

Rígíi Nganga Wanjiku
23 July at 08:24
Múgo wa kíbirú akiuga,nímúkoya úthamaki wanyu gwa kahinda kanini,noúthamaki úgaikara gíkúyú inî kahinda okanini,(1963 1978)kahíí kanini gakuma karúrîrî kanini nígagathiî gúteng'era maria macio manene na gacinde ngerenwo karehere múthamaki wanyu kamútunye úthamaki,(1978 kipchoge keino brought the medal he won in London marathon and we lost it)
Úthamaki wanyu níúgathiî kariainí kahûngú ( flamingos lake) na úgícoka ,múgakorwo mwírîte ngúcí CIA maniúrú múríríire Ngai wanyu (1978 2012) nímúkagiyana múno múno na iria ría ihîî (lake Victoria) (mapambano supreme Court) nonîmúgacoka múríhote (handshake) nahíndí íyo nyoka ya cuma ígathama múkaro wayo îyegemanie na kíríma kírímbírú (sgr) nagwo mútitú Wa kereita níúkanyitana na Wa mbage (zip lining) nagwo thingira Wa Ngai Wa kírínyaga níúgakorwo úríkíte gíthúngúri kîa wairera ,nacio ciana níigakorwo cicoketie úthingu Wa maithe maria makúrú namagaka mathingira maúthingu ,,,,,úrathi úyú wína míaka magana maana kuma 1619 na úkaríka 2019 hihi wee wíwa kúríkanira nagwo kana gúcokia úthingu Wa maithe maitú?

ùngîmenya nakîî kana nî wama,kwona ùrandîka maùndù marîkîtie kùhinga? Twîre ùrîa arathire kuma rîu nginya 2030,onaithuî wahinga tùmwîtîkie.Otherwise,angîkorwo ndwatùheire ùndù ùcio 2000,ona rîu tigana naguo.Tarîu ndingîonio ùndù nî Ngai ndî toro ùrîa ùrîhinga,njage kwîra andù,alafu wahinga njugage,ona nî ndarotete.Ingîkorwo ndiaugire mbere ùtahingîte,nîguo Ngai agocithio,ona wahinga,ndiagîrîirwo kuga.Andùm atangîgîtîkia.Maregaga gwîtîkia Kristo na arariùkia andù makîonaga manjîtîkie?

Reply to reply above
Wee ndoiga níúkúrwara higo mwaka úyú útanathira naúige post ino tondú níngakúririkania tondú níúkahona waruta úira wakúnyúrúria uge Wa múgo wakíbirú

Somebody has been 'cursed'. He will get a kidney ailment coz of doubting words alleged to have been said by Mugo wa Kibiro in 1619.

Mugo wa Kibiro in 1619? These renaissance people!

https://www.facebook.com...alink/10156551883144872/
#100 Posted : Thursday, July 26, 2018 1:30:35 PM

I never really knew you are this much of an irritant, an ignorant one to add.
Mbuzi za wazee zinakuwashia nini kijana? What is this that pains you so much when elders meet, eat, drink, chat and enjoy each others' company?

Shame on you

Nowadays you spit some poisonous venomPray Like a combo of Makales and Psycho

Bro imebidi tu nishike nare.