New NYS Scandal
#201 Posted : Tuesday, June 05, 2018 9:56:12 PM

Baratang wrote:
No Bail. Remain in custody until their cases are heard and determined.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I think this magistrate or judge is doing this due to public pressure and expectations. These are not serious charges.

If you think they are not serious charges, just drop to Botswana or even China and after that we will compare notes.smile smile

I'm not saying the offense is not serious. I'm saying it is bailable and once the temperatures cool they will be allowed to post bail but it will be high, the ones who can afford the high amount of bail will be out. And I can bet you this will happen as soon as next week.

At a time when we grant bail to murder suspects, these too will be given on appeal

The courts should follow the law and stop playing politics with the rights of the accused ie right to bail.
#202 Posted : Tuesday, June 05, 2018 10:02:33 PM

Baratang wrote:

I think this magistrate or judge is doing this due to public pressure and expectations. These are not serious charges.

If you think they are not serious charges, just drop to Botswana or even China and after that we will compare notes.smile smile

I'm not saying the offense is not serious. I'm saying it is bailable and once the temperatures cool they will be allowed to post bail but it will be high, the ones who can afford the high amount of bail will be out. And I can bet you this will happen as soon as next week.

At a time when we grant bail to murder suspects, these too will be given on appeal

"Evidently from the description of the charges and arguments, all the accused are people of different means. There are those who will meet stringent bond terms and there are those who will not. How can the Court then exercise Art 27(1) without being accused of bias? They all face a joint charge in all the case files opened against them. What is a reasonable bond then when some are bound to afford while others cannot. Can it be staggered without being accused of discrimination?"

Very defective reasoning.

The Court of Appeal has held severally that a Bond Application cannot constitute a common parlay
Each accused's case is considered on its own merit independent of the commonality of the charges.

#203 Posted : Tuesday, June 05, 2018 10:14:22 PM

Baratang wrote:

"Evidently from the description of the charges and arguments, all the accused are people of different means. There are those who will meet stringent bond terms and there are those who will not. How can the Court then exercise Art 27(1) without being accused of bias? They all face a joint charge in all the case files opened against them. What is a reasonable bond then when some are bound to afford while others cannot. Can it be staggered without being accused of discrimination?"

Very defective reasoning.

The Court of Appeal has held severally that a Bond Application cannot constitute a common parlay
Each accused's case is considered on its own merit independent of the commonality of the charges.

#204 Posted : Tuesday, June 05, 2018 10:25:35 PM

Baratang wrote:

The courts should follow the law and stop playing politics with the rights of the accused ie right to bail.

If the judge has reason to believe that you are a in a position to undermine justice, you are denied bail
#205 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 6:44:38 AM

Baratang wrote:

If the judge has reason to believe that you are a in a position to undermine justice, you are denied bail

playing to the gallery
#206 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 8:49:31 AM

Baratang wrote:

With corruption, the tougher the judge the faster the case goes, if given bail, cases will go on forever. Wacha wakae ndani, what is remand for?
A New Kenya
penkon
#207 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 9:21:02 AM

Baratang wrote:

what do you mean? my money !lipstick and tattoos!!

penkon
#208 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 9:27:49 AM

Baratang wrote:

what do you mean? my money !lipstick and tattoos!!

#209 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 9:29:17 AM

This ahmednasir idiot who just follows rich people in courts and streets and hotels is a Kumbaff!!!!! Where is his big mouth when poor people spend months in remand without bail? How does he manage to charge government hundreds of millions "legal fees" aka "yapping fee" in a poor country like kenya? d'oh! A thieve who uses law, and wants to drive all the corruption funds into lawyer hands, hatutakubali, go bail out poor people in Kibera, jinga wewe! Clever lawyers and "laws for the rich" and another set for the poor, atapatikana tu one of this days, My peddi just spent weeks in cells for kitu one stone of weed. The law does not belong to ahamednasir idiotic head, he DARED maraga the same way claiming to be the controller of law and maraga did what the idiot was saying cannot be done.
A New Kenya
#210 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 9:45:03 AM

And bails and bonds even if available are not always affordable!!! Why go through all this arguments in court? Why? Just keep the corruption peeps in the cooler till the "grand corruption" ends then Kenya will be a much better place, the magistrate is VERY INNOVATIVE and insightful.
A New Kenya
#211 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 9:51:47 AM

90% of those who end up in court for drinking muratina sending abusive sms e.t.c cannot afford even bail, they do six months etc because of 30K , alafu unaskia watu wakilialia wakora.
A New Kenya
#212 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 10:01:33 AM

90% of those who end up in court for drinking muratina sending abusive sms e.t.c cannot afford even bail, they do six months etc because of 30K , alafu unaskia watu wakilialia wakora.

The other day, two poor Kenyans were jailed for three months for not paying a meal bill of Kshs 150. No lawyer said a word......uuuhhhh. Fak me!!. There was no revenue stream there!!

“Law school teaches you one thing above all: how to speak while saying absolutely nothing.”
― Krysten Ritter, Bonfire

Fyatu
#213 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 10:10:55 AM

This ahmednasir idiot who just follows rich people in courts and streets and hotels is a Kumbaff!!!!! Where is his big mouth when poor people spend months in remand without bail? How does he manage to charge government hundreds of millions "legal fees" aka "yapping fee" in a poor country like kenya? d'oh! A thieve who uses law, and wants to drive all the corruption funds into lawyer hands, hatutakubali, go bail out poor people in Kibera, jinga wewe! Clever lawyers and "laws for the rich" and another set for the poor, atapatikana tu one of this days, My peddi just spent weeks in cells for kitu one stone of weed. The law does not belong to ahamednasir idiotic head, he DARED maraga the same way claiming to be the controller of law and maraga did what the idiot was saying cannot be done.

This matapaka is overrated. He was exposed in the presidential petition 2017 where he could not even construct proper sentences...he has thrived for too long in a mediocre Kenyan system of kizungu mingi and the time is nigh for him to get off the high horse.

One Chinese woman working in the SGR confided in me that the problem with most African countries colonized by what she called "imperialists" is that they inherited(copy pasted)everything from their colonial masters. She cited the bond/bail justice system peculiar to the British where a rich man could buy justice by the mere fact they could afford bond/bail.

If the handshake committee succeeds in recommending a change in the constitution, then the clause that says every suspect has a right to bail/bond should be amended to exclude corruption suspects, terrorists, rapists and murderers.

In the meantime kudos to the high sparrow and his wakora network for showing commitment to the fight against corruption...watu wakulwe na chawa huko industrial area
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#214 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 10:37:54 AM

Fyatu wrote:

This matapaka is overrated. He was exposed in the presidential petition 2017 where he could not even construct proper sentences...he has thrived for too long in a mediocre Kenyan system of kizungu mingi and the time is nigh for him to get off the high horse.

One Chinese woman working in the SGR confided in me that the problem with most African countries colonized by what she called "imperialists" is that they inherited(copy pasted)everything from their colonial masters. She cited the bond/bail justice system peculiar to the British where a rich man could buy justice by the mere fact they could afford bond/bail.

If the handshake committee succeeds in recommending a change in the constitution, then the clause that says every suspect has a right to bail/bond should be amended to exclude corruption suspects, terrorists, rapists and murderers.

In the meantime kudos to the high sparrow and his wakora network for showing commitment to the fight against corruption...watu wakulwe na chawa huko industrial area

A progression from a separate law for the nigger "black slaves". Pesa tu!
A New Kenya
#215 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 11:05:38 AM

Bail/bond is a right. No rationale for denying Kenyans their right. Slideshows!!!
#216 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 11:24:35 AM

Bail/bond is a right. No rationale for denying Kenyans their right. Slideshows!!!

The Magistrate sounds very intelligent, he has explained the legal reasoning. Then of course it bail should be free of charge, the Magistrate said not so in cases of ECONOMIC CRIMES, which he correctly says are worse than murder. Any other crime yes, but grand corruption Shame on you economic crime destroys people and nations., this is what people are always yapping about, deal with it so people can talk about other things.
A New Kenya
#217 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 11:29:51 AM

Njunge wrote:

The other day, two poor Kenyans were jailed for three months for not paying a meal bill of Kshs 150. No lawyer said a word......uuuhhhh. Fak me!!. There was no revenue stream there!!

“Law school teaches you one thing above all: how to speak while saying absolutely nothing.”
― Krysten Ritter, Bonfire

In a situation where Alma agrees with Much Know and Njunge the rest of human beings should know they are wrong.

Bail/bond is not a right. If it were, then there would be no reason for the lawyers to waste our time in court arguing about it.

The Judge can deny bail or make bail very expensive.

I hope they grant the bail but give them same amount as they stole. Economic criminals are worse than rapists and murderers combined and should be catwalking in and out of courts as they wish. This type of crime should be dealt with absolutely.

grolut
#218 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 11:30:15 AM

One is free to apply for it but they are not guaranteed to get it.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#219 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 2:38:11 PM

Where are those lawyers and the rest who are shouting "rights" wapelekee Anne sausages and bacon?. She's told the judge she is starving. It's as if she is the only inmate or the rest of Kenyans in remand eat ballast for supper. Jinga sana!!. Thanks God, the good judge heard none of that nonsense!
#220 Posted : Wednesday, June 06, 2018 2:40:41 PM

Njunge wrote:
Where are those lawyers and the rest who are shouting "rights" wapelekee Anne sausages and bacon?. She's told the judge she is starving. It's as if she is the only inmate or the rest of Kenyans in remand eat ballast for supper. Jinga sana!!. Thanks God, the good judge heard none of that nonsense!

You guys are sadists yawa Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly