New NYS Scandal
#141 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 12:35:23 PM

These tenderpreneurs are all innocent of the crimes they are charged with if we're to follow the law. The guilty party is the people behind making the payments. The 7 people or so making the payments, but each verified the vendor's papers and the goods supplied and okayed the payments. Now some 'vendors' did not even apply for the tender, that just found cash in their accounts. Maybe the only thing you can charge them with is not remitting taxes and that is assuming that they did not remit.
There are too may loopholes for these criminals to get away. There's no way they could have created an elaborate scheme to loot and no door to get out after. Even a building is built with an emergency, fire escape.

I fully agree with what Amollo Otiende said, that NYS was reintroduced as a looting basket for elections. Hi ni 2022 manenos.

You have a point there. They might be "safi kama pamba" as per the law because the paperwork is ok. Even the one said to have supplied air may walk free because the charge sheet reads that on “diverse dates between January 19, 2015 and June 12, 2017 in Nairobi, they fraudulently acquired property worth Sh59,846,750 as payment to Ann Wanjiku Ngirita of Annwaw Investment for goods not supplied”. On paper, she was supposed to supply foodstuff, stationery, hammers and firewood. The prosecution will have to prove that no firewood, beans etc were supplied.

It's important to note that the scandal is "old" coz the money was paid between 2015 and june 2017, before last elections. Is NYS 2 related to 2017 elections?

Looks like a water and air tight case to me, investigations are quite thourough. What some call an "open and closed" case. Court is formality here.

Also noting that government pays only after goods and services are delivered. Only engineering contracts get a percentage commitment fee in advance (if things haven't changed),the rest you go to banks & shylocks to get a loan and then pay later after you are paid. So how IFMIS paid before verification of goods were delivered... sijui.

All the payments are backed by documents. And the court will rely on documents to make a judgement.

Therefore the judge will ask:
1. Was the supplier among NYS approved suppliers? Answer Yes.
2. Was the tender advertised? Yes.
3. Did NYS award the tender? Yes.
4. Are there minutes of meeting awarding tender? Yes.
5. Were goods/services received? Yes.
6. Was payment made? Yes.

Not that I am supporting the "theft" but that is the fact as per the law.

Also each company bids alone, and therefore if you quote that you will sell gumboots to NYS at 5,000 each pair, and you are awarded the tender after NYS has reviewed all bids, then you haven't committed any crime. Just like you cant jail Kempinski CEO for selling his tusker at 500 bob when everyone knows it costs 150 hapo river road. Note that there is always a disclaimer in tender documents that the tenderer isn't bound to accept the lowest bid.

Several NYS officials are witnesses to the fraud, e.g forgery of goods received notes and signatures does not amount to following procedure, making unauthorized alterations, where did you get the goods and where are your receipts, invoices, rent for your go down,your employees, your duty declaration forms for the imported goods, receipts for lorry, in your non existent office? and issuing tenders based on your alterations e.t.c on the IFMIS and so fourth, we have heard enough, let the courts release them tujue!.This looks to me like a one hour case.
A New Kenya
#142 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 1:06:23 PM

Let the games begin ....

https://www.standardmedi...-night-in-police-custody
#143 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 2:03:54 PM

Anyone who has dealt with or worked for govt knows how difficult it is to be paid even 500 bob. Lots of written requests, justifications and approvals are required - approvals and signatures from the heads, to accountants, to internal auditors. Then you have to take days chasing the payment voucher as it goes through various approvals, by accounts, audit etc. And once the voucher is ready you aren't even sure if there is money in the "departmental vote" to pay you and the payment could take months to be effected. So when you see all these millions being paid at the speed of light, even to "strangers" jua kuna maneno.
#144 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 2:06:15 PM

[quote=Angelica _ann]Let the games begin ....

https://www.standardmedi...night-in-police-custody[/quote]

I would be very careful if I were her. In fact, I never understand why you should keep quiet in cases like this one. Sema yote just in case someone is thinking of dealing with you.

I don't believe for one second that this was done by a group of 3 senior officials. Hii ni kutu kubwa sana and had many blessings. Probably the killing of a goat as a sign of blessings from the ancestors.

#145 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 2:14:04 PM

Anyone who has dealt with or worked for govt knows how difficult it is to be paid even 500 bob. Lots of written requests, justifications and approvals are required - approvals and signatures from the heads, to accountants, to internal auditors. Then you have to take days chasing the payment voucher as it goes through various approvals, by accounts, audit etc. And once the voucher is ready you aren't even sure if there is money in the "departmental vote" to pay you and the payment could take months to be effected. So when you see all these millions being paid at the speed of light, even to "strangers" jua kuna maneno.

Another thing to note is that the financial year ends on june 30th. And therefore before then there is a spending frenzy to use up all the allocations of the year since returning unused money to treasury is considered poor performance since you never achieved/executed the activities you budgeted for, and could lead to future cuts in budget. That could be the reason why some payments are made without anything being supplied since you have to beat the financial year deadline.
#146 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 2:58:19 PM

I would be very careful if I were her. In fact, I never understand why you should keep quiet in cases like this one. Sema yote just in case someone is thinking of dealing with you.

I don't believe for one second that this was done by a group of 3 senior officials. Hii ni kutu kubwa sana and had many blessings. Probably the killing of a goat as a sign of blessings from the ancestors.

Her lawyer was very disappointed when the judge said that they will remain in custody. He rose up try to object but the judges ruling was final.

@Alma what if she conspired to eat with her colleagues?

@much know. This is the first phase of the case. Monies dished out without any goods or services given. Watu wa smart accounting bado.
#147 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 3:08:26 PM

Her lawyer was very disappointed when the judge said that they will remain in custody. He rose up try to object but the judges ruling was final.

@Alma what if she conspired to eat with her colleagues?

@much know. This is the first phase of the case. Monies dished out without any goods or services given. Watu wa smart accounting bado.

@Murchr from the faces of the lawyers and their screaming on twirra, I think I agree with @Muchknow that this is an easy case.

I don't think she's sick. Just the shock that all the years of her feeling hot to her neighbours have come to an end. You know women like kujifanya sana mbele za rafiki zao. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Lakini as an accomplice mimi naweza tafuta yeye sanaaa!. Madam speak, utaisha peke yako.

I am also very happy with that Magistrate. Magistrates are known to be lazy people but this one stayed past midnight.

So on Tuesday I doubt if those bails shall be 50 bob. Unfortunately for them if their accomplices fail to show up on Thursday, this lot may stay in for a long time. No bail. Wakae ndani kama sisi ambao tunashikwa na muratina hapa south c.

#148 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 3:17:17 PM

Meanwhile ohuru continues to score bonga points for fighting corruption...

https://www.the-star.co....pledge-support_c1765912

Envoys laud Uhuru action on corruption, pledge support

Eighteen foreign envoys have commended Kenya's renewed commitment to fight corruption and pledged to support the efforts.

The envoys noted that corruption is not a preserve of certain countries alone but a widespread menace whose eradication depend on political will and strong coordination between relevant agencies.

"No country is free of corruption, and many of ours have faced challenges. There are no shortcuts to tackling the problem. It requires strong Kenyan political leadership, a commitment to zero tolerance for corruption, and all government and law enforcement agencies working together," they said.
#149 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 4:23:23 PM

In the last NYS scam, everyone was saying that all the blame was on waeguru and not PS Mangiti and his officers. How come this time round the CS isnt being blamed but only the PS Omollo and her officers? Was fighting waeguru a witchhunt?
#150 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 4:34:53 PM

In the last NYS scam, everyone was saying that all the blame was on waeguru and not PS Mangiti and his officers. How come this time round the CS isnt being blamed but only the PS Omollo and her officers? Was fighting waeguru a witchhunt?

That was not witchhunt but sorcererhunt.

Anyway they say this new CS has not stayed long enough in the ministry.

#151 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 4:36:08 PM

Youth and Gender CS Rachael Shebesh chairing a Youth leaders meeting in Mombasa. I will eat my slippers if the lady to the left of Shebesh is not someone's grandmother. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Fyatu
#152 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 4:45:33 PM

I like it how wazuans turn to experts overnight. I remember how people became experts on simple matters such as mysql stored procedures and how to conduct penetration testing overnight after it emerged that the witchdoctor was loosing the elections....now we have legal experts advicing us on what course the case will take when it is clear that H.E. Uhuru hataki ojinga...endeleeni kutoa maoni jameni
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#153 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 4:48:40 PM

Fyatu wrote:
I like it how wazuans turn to experts overnight. I remember how people became experts of matters mysql overnight after it emerged that the witchdoctor was loosing the elections....now we have legal experts when it is clear that H.E. Uhuru hataki ojinga...endeleeni kutoa maoni jameni

So ata wewe ulisema hakuna mahali hawa watu wanaenda? Wasn't that your expert opinion?
Fyatu
#154 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 4:50:34 PM

Fyatu wrote:
I like it how wazuans turn to experts overnight. I remember how people became experts of matters mysql overnight after it emerged that the witchdoctor was loosing the elections....now we have legal experts when it is clear that H.E. Uhuru hataki ojinga...endeleeni kutoa maoni jameni

So ata wewe ulisema hakuna mahali hawa watu wanaenda? Wasn't that your expert opinion?

Sawa baba...hapo unenipata.Laughing out loudly ..inakaa hii selective amnesia ni ugonjwa ya watu wengi na mimi ni mmoja wao
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#155 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 4:50:41 PM

Fyatu wrote:
Uhuru hataki ojinga...endeleeni kutoa maoni jameni

You can't stop Wazuans commenting on stuff son. Na kama Uhuru hakuwa anataka ujnga kwanzia mwanzo, mbona alichagua ng'ombe for CSs?
#156 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 5:01:36 PM

Njunge wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

You can't stop Wazuans commenting on stuff son. Na kama Uhuru hakuwa anataka ujnga kwanzia mwanzo, mbona alichagua ng'ombe for CSs?

Wacha tu, ati UMK hataki ojinga, those and other jokes take to your local upewe Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#157 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 6:35:21 PM

Given life has to continue at NYS ni lazima those vijana wakule,wavae na kadhalika.Swali nyeti who is supplying that place at the moment nani ana receive goods who is in that chain upto payment at the moment.
#158 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 6:38:59 PM

madollar wrote:
Given life has to continue at NYS ni lazima those vijana wakule,wavae na kadhalika.Swali nyeti who is supplying that place at the moment nani ana receive goods who is in that chain upto payment at the moment.

You will know in 2 years in another scandal!!!
#159 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 7:38:09 PM

Njunge wrote:
Fyatu wrote:

The executive should not dictate to the judiciary. Therefore Ohuru should let courts do their work whether anataka ojinga or not
hamburglar
#160 Posted : Wednesday, May 30, 2018 9:21:22 PM

I saw on TV Ruto talking about curbing corruption and calling for the arrest of all those implicated in the NYS scandal. My question is, does this Ruto guy really have a conscience? I literally almost threw up.

This guy has a big hotel sitting on grabbed public land and yet he has the audacity to lecture people on the ills of corruption? Really?

I have never seen a bigger hypocrite in my life. On Sunday he will be in church seated on the front pew shutting his eyes deep in prayer and acting all godly and then go to the office on Monday morning to scheme and plot how to steal more from Kenyans and how to eliminate his political opponents. How godly. Unbelievable.

Why can't Uhuru just put his foot down and tell these people that they can't do that shit under his presidency? Is it because Ruto helped him win the presidency and Waiguru is a long time friend? Maybe it's just me, but if I were president and my friends thought they could take advantage of my presidency to steal from hard working citizens, they would be in for a shock. I really can't stand people who have no integrity. We can be friends but don't bring your low life crap into our friendship. That shit is not going to fly with me.

People are demonizing that Girita family because they are a bunch of nobodys, why didn't they follow Waiguru and Ruto with the same vigor when they were accused of stealing public property? I am not defending these NYS suspects but if we are to start genuinely prosecuting folks then let's not act like we don't know who the biggest thieves in Kenya are. Let's audit Waiguru first and then reposses the land that Weston Hotel sits on. We can also revist criminal incidences of sijui akina Wetangula's Tokyo embassy saga and other past cases like that while we are at it. Let's start there. Why is Kabura not in prison even after confessing to collecting money in sacks? Let's put all these people in prison first before we can start applauding this small NYS arrests feat that won't go anywhere anyway.