wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

6 Pages123>»
PCEA vs Kikuyu Kiama
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 8:12:01 AM

That fight between the biggest church in Kikuyuland in the colonial days is back. Back then it was about female circumcision and traditional dances, today, it's something called mburi ya kiama.

The bile on that post on their fb pageSad See comments
https://web.facebook.com/pceaonline/

#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 10:11:43 AM

That fight between the biggest church in Kikuyuland in the colonial days is back. Back then it was about female circumcision and traditional dances, today, it's something called mburi ya kiama.

At this rate they will even oppose circumcision. Let the kiama kia ma be its one of the few items of custom that remains after the "church" demonised all else.
wal6807
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 11:12:03 AM

what is is this ceremony? never heard an of my rela's , inlaws ,parents /grand parents mention it?
"Children today are tyrants. They contradict their parents, gobble their food, and tyrannize their teachers."
•Socrates (470?-399 BC)
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 11:34:40 AM

wal6807 wrote:
what is is this ceremony? never heard an of my rela's , inlaws ,parents /grand parents mention it?

You must be from a staunch Christian family
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 11:37:44 AM

Rahatupu wrote:

At this rate they will even oppose circumcision. Let the kiama kia ma be its one of the few items of custom that remains after the "church" demonised all else.

The church is right

They are simply discouraging this rite as it is very religious in nature with steps like sacrificing to ancestors
kawi254
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 11:42:40 AM

Rahatupu wrote:

Asking for the Latin speakers, "What is mburi cia kiama ?"
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 12:06:41 PM

kawi254 wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

Asking for the Latin speakers, "What is mburi cia kiama ?"

Kiamas do not practice a "homogeneous" philosophy and ideology, thats foolishness and idiocy. The famous GEMA founded by Jomo and publicly opposed by the same PCEA some years back as an "oathing secret demonic society" is an example of a "modern" political kiama idea, the church wanted everyone speaking english, saluting the Queen, etc made generalizations, and were paid in CASH by mzungu to destroy Jomos reputation even after independence, , kiamas objectives and missions vary, some are bad, and openly evil, like kiama kia nkoma, some FAKE, some for hunters kiama kia athii in shags, and they would have a lodge for meeting called nyumba ya athii, there is one still located in my village, but was changed to a primary school ages ago, some focus on God/Christian (eg a certain portion of "so called" njuri ncheke over the last 70 years or so is christian, and the methodist church from majuu in colonial times and DC's like the lamberts ensured they were inducted there by blessing njuri hence it is split into two by a shuka), some centered on views of historically GEMA people, "mburi" is a "fee", generalization of kiamas as ancestral worship centers and anti church is the same kind of ignorant talk that was used to kill our ancestors, and they seem hell bent on perpetuating.
A New Kenya
wal6807
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 12:19:00 PM

wal6807 wrote:

You must be from a staunch Christian family

I first heard of this in the office that is why am suspicious of it to me its more like a shadowy group seeking "donations" more like matatu route wazee's
"Children today are tyrants. They contradict their parents, gobble their food, and tyrannize their teachers."
•Socrates (470?-399 BC)
Wakanyugi
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 12:22:23 PM

Rahatupu wrote:

This one the PCEA Church is going to lose and badly. Watch as the trickle out becomes a stampede.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 12:52:39 PM

Sometimes i think there is a conspiracy behind the history of the Kenyan churches enrolling school failures and mtu unajua alipata D- in CRE etc when you were scoring B has gone to some college and is a pastor, unakuta ni pastor kwa kanisa shouting about kiamas, even today, Theology only attracts desperadoes who have nowhere to go and they miserably fail to understand the Bible other than what is dictated to them by their "masters" abroad. Most of the street preachers ONLY hope to get enrolled in a theological college and find there way to America or for their kids, or to do a crusade with a mzungu pastor in their poster, if they are "smart" enough, open their own church like pastor mboro!
A New Kenya
#11 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 1:52:34 PM

I really pity the church that she can go advising her members not to involve themselves with the activities of a traditional entity or entities that they know nothing about. To me the church is one hell of a confused body that cannot indulge the members on cultural practices where most of its older members have gone through and they still do to date.

To start with, to be admitted to a Kiama did not mean that you were going to commit any illegality like oathing. There is no where in gikuyu history where the Ciama cia Athuri performed any oathing.

Secondly, the Agikuyu people, Kiama kia athuri agikuyu members feared/fear God and so does the church. Before any Kiama activities start they have to pray first and ask for blessings from Ngai (God)...and surprisingly the church follow that procedure too and they pray to Ngai.

Thirdly, Traditionally the Kiama kia Athuri activities during the entire session were four:

1. Admitting new members

2. Promotion of ripe members into the higher categories of Kiama hierachy. Here you have to appreciate that the lowest category (junior) is the man (Unmarried) who has paid/given the Ngoima ya Hako. This was/is mainly done by the young man's father on his son's behalf. After going through the basic lessons on how to carry himself and handle matrimonial and community issues and lastly gets married, he becomes legible to be promoted to the next category of Ndegwa after paying the required Ngoima ya Ndegwa. To be admitted to the next category (Horio) you are required to have accomplished some certain things in your married life (like having paid all you Ruracio(dowry))and participation in some certain community affairs too. There is the last category which is largely ignored known as Mwana. Here you had to give the Ngoima ya Mwana. This one occured at the vast ages (75 years and above) and was composed of old men who were preparing to pass the mantle to the next generation.

3. Dealing with cases (criminal, matrimonial and any other social ills or individual complaints which require settlement in terms of justice) and deliver judgement. This is akin to Judicial activities. The cases that were taken to Ciama cia Athuri had to be dealt with by the village elders first (Athuri a Thome) and if they cannot be resolved here that is when they were escalated to the kiama.

4. Discussions on the prevailing wider community issues affecting her well being, like for example, boys' circumcision period and which Riika the boys will be under, whether there is any threats from surrounding communities, whether there is any unusual occurencies, diseases and scourges that would require attention etc.

For all practical purposes No. 3 above was the most important.

As you can see there is a very close relationship between the way the church does their things right from worshiping to her own internal administration and the traditional methods used in keeping the society healthy or intact.
Here I am fully convinced that the church especially in Kikuyu regions borrowed heavily from the traditions.

Lately, I can see the same church has even taken the responsibility of arranging for the boys' circumcision...very interesting huh!!

Is the church now trying to criticise some things that they have been doing for the last 100 years?

#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 6:59:03 PM

Its a pity that the African is so brain washed to think his traditions are evil yet he will accept and participate in other cultures and traditions such as eating the body (sacrament) and drinking the blood.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 7:37:55 PM

Its a pity that the African is so brain washed to think his traditions are evil yet he will accept and participate in other cultures and traditions such as eating the body (sacrament) and drinking the blood.

Ndio sasa PCEA wanasema if you want to follow those ways of your ancestors ujue hailingani na Ukristo.

Why do people still want to be recognized as Christians if they think it's foreign and that our ancestors' ways were perfect?

Just be true to the god of the mountain and also to your ancestors. Pour libations and sacrifice to them. Go the whole hog and circumcise your daughters.

It's the superior way of the ancestors, right?
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 7:45:49 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:

This one the PCEA Church is going to lose and badly. Watch as the trickle out becomes a stampede.

Probably. It was very brave of them.

Most people will not leave. People value church membership even if they later accuse it of being a white man's religion. They want their kids to be members there. They want to be able to say I worship at this place in small talk in parties, they want to be known in church circles so that the same mzungu god servants that they so much claim to loathe officiate their funeral services.

Hapo kwa Eulogy pia they want that part for 'CHURCH' to be filled and elaborate.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 7:47:31 PM

The PCEA church can't claim to be the sole arbiter of who is a Christian and who isn't.

Therefore it's probable that a group can have both traditional and Christian practice.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 8:01:50 PM

Ndio sasa PCEA wanasema if you want to follow those ways of your ancestors ujue hailingani na Ukristo.

Why do people still want to be recognized as Christians if they think it's foreign and that our ancestors' ways were perfect?

Just be true to the god of the mountain and also to your ancestors. Pour libations and sacrifice to them. Go the whole hog and circumcise your daughters.

Thing is, we are not arguing about science but cultural traditions. Science states circumcision of gals is harmful. Those who want to be recognized as Christians may have their reasons eg to fit in society.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 8:41:07 PM

Na free masonry ni ukristo?
#18 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 9:22:19 PM

@Lolest wacha kumanganga and stick to the topic! From what I have explained above about the admission and working of the Ciaama cia Athuri could you please point out what these Ciamas do that the church does not do.
By the way, circumcision of girls has never been and was never an agenda in Ciama activities and deliberations and was never dealt with at Ciama level.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 10:22:03 PM

This is the reason why I say Africans are very confused. Very confused. No wonder we have so many problems.

If you decide you are a Christian. Please stick to Christinity.

If you decide you are a Muslim. Please stick to Islam.

If you decide you are a kiama kinda fella, PCEA has said wewe sio wao.

Sasa mnataka nini? This confusion in the Kikuyu especially is just a bit too much. You will never see me joining a kiama coz I see absolutely no purpose for it. Other than eating the money from a young guy hustling to marry their daughter. What purpose is this Kiama thing?

Watu wachague. Stop being confused and bringing confusion to your own families.

Thitifini
#20 Posted : Thursday, May 24, 2018 1:16:05 AM

@Kaigangio, nice summary.

Brainwash: Have you noted how the word "Ngoma" was sold to mean Saitan by Missionaries, yet from historical books (few available), the word means "ancestors".....

i.e. there were good "Ngoma", to whom sacrifices were offered to; and bad "Ngoma" to whom the 'Mùndù Mùgo" was employed to cleanse/used by "ndundu ya arogi"....

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating