16 Pages<12345>»
New NYS Scandal
Wakanyugi
#41 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 4:52:15 PM

Also it is interesting how corruption is reported. Initially the PS in charge of NYS was reported as being Ms Lilian Omollo or Ms Omollo. Her name later evolved to Lilian Mbogo Omollo and now she is being referred to as Lilian Mbogo or simply Ms Mbogo. Is the evolution of the name engineered to pass a certain narrative?

Reminds me of the time wetangula was beaten by his wife. The wife's name as reported in the media evolved from Mrs Ann Wetangula, then to Ann Waceke Ngugi Wetangula and finally to Ann Waceke, Ms Waceke and Ms Ngugi.

So, is it false reporting? Is she an Omollo or a Mbogo?

Relax Mbogo is also a Luo name smile

It seems some of 'these people' are rather thin skinned.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#42 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 5:06:36 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Until Kenyans get angry & tired, nothing will happen.

Until we call it theft and not corruption, nothing will happen.

Until we name and shame the thieves, nothing will happen.

Until we discipline these thieves on the streets the same way we discipline phone thieves on this streets nothing will happen. Forget the courts, they are incapable, unwilling or deeply compromised. They are part of the problem.

Get tired Kenyans!

I wait with wild anticipation to your rebuttal to the sentiments expressed by an Kenian economist I hold in great respect.

Copy and paste extract of the sentiments:

When Kenya was governed under a centralised system, grand corruption was a distant affair that benefited a limited circle of individuals.

A farmer could not conceive how he or she would ever get a kickback in the circle of corruption, until devolution.

When county officials divert public finances to their pockets, much of that money remains within the county economy.

It can be used to finance household expenses, education and health costs, as well as generally improve the quality of life of the corrupt individual and those in their circle.

Diverted public monies also become investment funds, where corrupt individuals suddenly have cash that can be directed to business activity.

I have travelled in counties where I have been openly told that this building or that business belongs to a government official.

This government official did not have these assets before, but suddenly they are serious financiers in the county.

And interestingly, these facts are not shared with a tone of bitterness or annoyance, there almost seems to be an appreciation that even if public monies are being stolen, at least they are benefiting the local economy.

After all, businesses are being financed, people are being employed to run and manage them and suddenly there is a new source of income for many.

This is not a justification of corruption, but rather an exploration of how it is evolving.

We seem to have moved on from the days when loot was sequestered in accounts in distant capitals of Europe and North America.

Now when public money is stolen, much of it sticks around.

How will this inform the fight against corruption?

How do strategies that seek to address corruption need to be updated to become relevant again?

These are questions for us all.

Source Link From The Business Daily

We will be a corrupt nation for some years to come. Then it will end once we stop idolizing politicians/politics and people are able to make a decent living out of their own sweat.
Currently, the children being raised in Kenya in the informal settlements are envying children on the concrete village and if you talk to them, they believe that the parents living on the concrete village are all thieves largely because that's what their parents tell them. Most of these kids will grow up believing that the only way up is in government.

#43 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 1:42:08 PM

New NYS Scandal

Yaani it's like we were waiting for it. Brand new NYS scandal from a showroom near you
Sansa
#44 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 4:43:14 PM

New NYS Scandal

Yaani it's like we were waiting for it. Brand new NYS scandal from a showroom near you

Who bewitched us?
#45 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 5:27:19 PM

#46 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 5:40:27 PM

Step aside, sio Kamiti Sad Sad Sad Sad
#47 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 5:45:46 PM

Step aside, sio Kamiti Sad Sad Sad Sad

To allow investigation. First step but the frustration comes in when they are taken to court and the cases take forever. That breeds ground for a new scandals

Those who know how to hide under company names

Firstling Supplies Limited, which received Sh1.48 billion, was also cited in a report by the Auditor-General in 2012, meaning it has been doing business with government bodies for years.

The directors of the company based at Ukulima Co-operative House are James Thuita Nderitu and Yvonne Wanjiku Ngugi.

The firm is also related to Bosqure Systems Limited, which was paid Sh59 million. The latter has been doing business with some county governments.

https://www.nation.co.ke...7436-159wbhnz/index.html
#48 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2018 10:18:42 PM

Kisero on Daily Nation wrote:
Still, I will hold that any serious detective investigating the NYS scandal must concentrate on two areas: Ifmis and that department in the Ministry of Lands and Housing known as Supplies Branch.

Nearly all of the fake contracts which were used in the NYS scam purported to have emanated from Supplies Branch. And we have seen how crooked public officials with high-level Ifmis access rights would insert fake Supplies Branch contracts into the system in order to perpetrate the grand theft at NYS.
#49 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2018 11:39:03 PM

Jeezus. That is why I found it difficult to continue supporting jumbirreee.

#50 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2018 11:50:06 PM

This reminds me of kabura the hairdresser. The buck stops with Ohuru as head of govt. Jumbiree should be sent home since we very-angry taxpayers are tired of having our hard earned cash being stolen.

#51 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2018 11:57:14 PM

From 791m to 9 Billion???????? Yaani over 10 times more has been stolen in round 2?
#52 Posted : Thursday, May 24, 2018 7:22:18 AM

#53 Posted : Thursday, May 24, 2018 8:17:57 AM

The new NYS investigation could turn out to be the real scandal here. For a start, it beats logic why the guys with technical capacity to investigate economic crimes, EACC, were cut out of this investigation. Anyone who has ever dealt with the DCI knows what is coming. Lawyers for the suspects will collect the easiest legal fees they have ever earned.

Not only have investigations been done in a record one week, there are plans to charge as many as 30 suspects in court. And our lazy journalists have a front row seat in the interrogation rooms.

In the last NYS heist, only two guys were found to have a case to answer. In this one it's unlikely even one will have a case.
#54 Posted : Thursday, May 24, 2018 9:00:18 AM

The new NYS investigation could turn out to be the real scandal here. For a start, it beats logic why the guys with technical capacity to investigate economic crimes, EACC, were cut out of this investigation. Anyone who has ever dealt with the DCI knows what is coming. Lawyers for the suspects will collect the easiest legal fees they have ever earned.

Not only have investigations been done in a record one week, there are plans to charge as many as 30 suspects in court. And our lazy journalists have a front row seat in the interrogation rooms.

In the last NYS heist, only two guys were found to have a case to answer. In this one it's unlikely even one will have a case.

The Media wants to tell us in the front page, that a yellow yellow is the one who took 9 birrions.

Unajua when they allow Mr. Impunity to write their headlines we have a problem.

Who took the 9 birrions and where to.

If the DCI is serious, charge each of those people on their own. I expect nothing but sensational newspaper headlines from this heist.

#55 Posted : Thursday, May 24, 2018 11:06:53 AM

Point of departure for the investigators is faulty-SMALL FISH. if the sleuths are serious they should start with forensic financial and transaction analysis targeting the TOP CATS. From here they should come down on clerical staffers who do the spade work of sourcing the dummies with to to channel the birrions and carry the gunias. At the tail end they should smoke out the "Kaburas" for effective prosecution and extract confessions while doling out immunity for cooperation to nail the TOP CATS. In the best case scenario no more than 5 to 10 musketeers should be presented in court for onward transmission to KAMITI.

Lakini this is a best case scenario beside the "legal" sector is salivating for their cut from the lawyers to the court clerks......
Wakanyugi
#56 Posted : Thursday, May 24, 2018 12:50:08 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Point of departure for the investigators is faulty-SMALL FISH. if the sleuths are serious they should start with forensic financial and transaction analysis targeting the TOP CATS. From here they should come down on clerical staffers who do the spade work of sourcing the dummies with to to channel the birrions and carry the gunias. At the tail end they should smoke out the "Kaburas" for effective prosecution and extract confessions while doling out immunity for cooperation to nail the TOP CATS. In the best case scenario no more than 5 to 10 musketeers should be presented in court for onward transmission to KAMITI.

Lakini this is a best case scenario beside the "legal" sector is salivating for their cut from the lawyers to the court clerks......

This is is taught in Prosecution 101 - offer immunity to the small fish provided they help nail the big fish. But in Kenya our institutions are not actually meant to catch anybody. They are meant to look busy while the crooks wait for Wanjiku's micro attention to focus on a new scandal and forget.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#57 Posted : Thursday, May 24, 2018 6:40:00 PM

Thought procurement is done based on budgets ama in gava things are different?
mwania
#58 Posted : Thursday, May 24, 2018 7:33:20 PM

Wanjiku will wake u very soon as the tax man goes for small traders and the majority will start feeling the pinch.. then they will know that when 9b is stolen, they have just lost their cash.. see this: https://www.standardmedi...ers-to-net-more-revenue The implication of this will be widespread and affect all those stalls in Kenya as they will have to pay the correct duty.
#59 Posted : Thursday, May 24, 2018 8:01:34 PM

Thought procurement is done based on budgets ama in gava things are different?

The allocations given every beginning of the year, ndio wana chovya
#60 Posted : Friday, May 25, 2018 10:00:29 AM

NYS should be disbanded and done away with.

That's not a solution. The same money will be put in agriculture where it will be stolen by the same people, the same way.

What role does NYS serve? You cannot steal 10B in agriculture without endangering the stomachs of people, which would in turn lead to a ruckus. You most certainly cannot steal that amount twice, in succession! Do away with NYS and empower technical schools

My friend, what I meant is it doesn't matter which ministry the money is put in for these gluttons to eat. In agriculture, it can be put in fertilizer, irrigation, research, farmer education, wheelbarrows, pesticide... the list is endless. The gluttons know that you can't take them anywhere anyway...

I hear you. But you can't eat 10B in Agriculture either way. Those are way too many wheelbarrows. Ask Bungoma

@Mukiri, now do you believe that you can steal from Agriculture? Like a prophet, I told you. Now see in today's Nation, theft of fertilizer subsidies cash of Kshs 6.3B. That's how you steal from agriculture.