limanika wrote:
Njunge wrote:
[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4

The spillage is more of a trickle...smile I don't see it causing any harm downstream.

252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man??

You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal.

The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu...

Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana.

No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5

Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844...

Escapism, another thing, the walls are very strong and the spill ways were built to release the pressure when the dams are full.

Wewe Murchir do you really understand what a spillway is? It doesnt "release pressure"......you make it sound like some spring or elastic thingy. It simply allows for spillage of excess water in the reservoir over the dam (hope you understand exactly what a DAM is).

Earlier on you also intimated they are opened ........nope, they are not. They just sit there ndeeeee waiting for excess water to spill. Nikii mani

Hii ndio ubaya ya kuingilia ugali katikati. When you open a tap to reduce the water in a tank because the inflow is unstoppable what are you doing? Wbrb

Well well, that is exactly NOT the way a spillway works.:Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Liar

A spillway releases pressure from the reservoir no?

The terminology that you are using is giving your statements a totally different meaning. If you use pressure in as far as the dam or any other water storage reservoir is concerned, it means you are talking of the hydraulic pressure at a random point just below the surface of water to the very bottom of the dam.

In simple terms a spillway is a hydraulic structure that passes normal (operational) and/or flood flows in a manner that protects the structural integrity of the dam and/or dikes. These spillways are not just coupled to the dam works in a random manner but rather they are designed and sized hydraulically to safely pass floods equal to or less than the Inflow Design Flood (The inflow Design Flood is the most severe inflow flood (water volume) for which a dam and its associated facilities are designed.

Spillways are meant to keep the level of the stored water in a dam constant and at the same maintaining the normal flow of the river downstream.

That is exactly what i was trying to express without the jargon(kizungu mingi catwalk). Thank you for the explaination.

Now, on Kiambere---- What is that type of outflow that gushes water so hard like that?

Chute (Trouph) Spillway type with an ultimate design capacity of 4,500 cubic metres per second. With river Tana under normal water flow conditions at 571,000 cubic metres per hour this spillway can pass water equivalent to 29 combined river Tanas safely downstream at a go without affecting the integrity of the dam structure!!!

The current volume of water flowing into this dam is just about 2 combined river Tanas. I was just laughing when I was reading how anxious and worried people are because of the filling up of Kiambere dam.
#62 Posted : Tuesday, May 22, 2018 5:33:57 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
limanika wrote:
Njunge wrote:
[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4

The spillage is more of a trickle...smile I don't see it causing any harm downstream.

252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man??

You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal.

The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu...

Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana.

No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5

Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844...

Escapism, another thing, the walls are very strong and the spill ways were built to release the pressure when the dams are full.

Wewe Murchir do you really understand what a spillway is? It doesnt "release pressure"......you make it sound like some spring or elastic thingy. It simply allows for spillage of excess water in the reservoir over the dam (hope you understand exactly what a DAM is).

Earlier on you also intimated they are opened ........nope, they are not. They just sit there ndeeeee waiting for excess water to spill. Nikii mani

Hii ndio ubaya ya kuingilia ugali katikati. When you open a tap to reduce the water in a tank because the inflow is unstoppable what are you doing? Wbrb

Well well, that is exactly NOT the way a spillway works.:Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Liar

A spillway releases pressure from the reservoir no?

The terminology that you are using is giving your statements a totally different meaning. If you use pressure in as far as the dam or any other water storage reservoir is concerned, it means you are talking of the hydraulic pressure at a random point just below the surface of water to the very bottom of the dam.

In simple terms a spillway is a hydraulic structure that passes normal (operational) and/or flood flows in a manner that protects the structural integrity of the dam and/or dikes. These spillways are not just coupled to the dam works in a random manner but rather they are designed and sized hydraulically to safely pass floods equal to or less than the Inflow Design Flood (The inflow Design Flood is the most severe inflow flood (water volume) for which a dam and its associated facilities are designed.

Spillways are meant to keep the level of the stored water in a dam constant and at the same maintaining the normal flow of the river downstream.

That is exactly what i was trying to express without the jargon(kizungu mingi catwalk). Thank you for the explaination.

Now, on Kiambere---- What is that type of outflow that gushes water so hard like that?

Chute (Trouph) Spillway type with an ultimate design capacity of 4,500 cubic metres per second. With river Tana under normal water flow conditions at 571,000 cubic metres per hour this spillway can pass water equivalent to 29 combined river Tanas safely downstream at a go without affecting the integrity of the dam structure!!!

The current volume of water flowing into this dam is just about 2 combined river Tanas. I was just laughing when I was reading how anxious and worried people are because of the filling up of Kiambere dam.

Nice!