Masinga dam
murchr wrote:River Fork - A place where a river divides into several parts. In the case of Tana river, the river forks are the other smaller rivers that damp waters into the Tana - eg Sagana, Thika- (drain into Masinga dam), Thiba (drains into Gitaru), then after Kiambere there are rivers Mutonga, Rojwero, Thuci, Tula laga, Galole laga etc that just flow into the Tana uncontrollably. These rivers are responsible for the flooding when we hear of dams upstream being not full. The two dams, Grand falls & Mutonga are meant to regulate these rivers. @Murchr Grand falls and Mutonga dams do not exist yet, but as per the feasibility studies carried out in mid 1975, it was determined that the Seven Forks Cascade Hydropower Complex has a potential capacity of 11 Hydroelectric power generation dams of which the two above are part of. Generally these dams are: 1. Masinga 2. Kamburu 3. Gitaru 4. Kindaruma 5. Kiambere 6. Karura 7. Mutonga 8. Low Grand falls 9. Usheni 10. Adamson's Falls 11. Kora The first five dams have already been constructed and operational. The 6th, Karura dam construction works has already been awarded (awarded in October 2017 and is scheduled to be completed in july 2020) and the works are ongoing. Karura dam lies between Kindaruma HEP station upstream and Kiambere HEP station downstream. The 7th, Mutonga aka High Grand Falls has been tendered for three times and every time the tenders have been cancelled on accounts of corruption. This dam is expected to cost anywhere between Kshs 150 to 200 billion. It will be the second biggest dam after Aswan High dam in Egypt in area covering 165 square kilometres (size of town) and will carry a total of 5.6 billion cubic metres (5.6 trillion litres)of water and an HEP generation capacity of 700MW! I believe the works should have been awarded by now. The 8th, Low Grand Falls aka Lower Grand Falls has been designed but has not been tendered yet The 9th, Usheni, the 10th, Adamson's Falls and the 11th, Kora dams are only on the feasibility studies report. ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Kaigangio wrote:murchr wrote:River Fork - A place where a river divides into several parts. In the case of Tana river, the river forks are the other smaller rivers that damp waters into the Tana - eg Sagana, Thika- (drain into Masinga dam), Thiba (drains into Gitaru), then after Kiambere there are rivers Mutonga, Rojwero, Thuci, Tula laga, Galole laga etc that just flow into the Tana uncontrollably. These rivers are responsible for the flooding when we hear of dams upstream being not full. The two dams, Grand falls & Mutonga are meant to regulate these rivers. @Murchr Grand falls and Mutonga dams do not exist yet, but as per the feasibility studies carried out in mid 1975, it was determined that the Seven Forks Cascade Hydropower Complex has a potential capacity of 11 Hydroelectric power generation dams of which the two above are part of. Generally these dams are: 1. Masinga 2. Kamburu 3. Gitaru 4. Kindaruma 5. Kiambere 6. Karura 7. Mutonga 8. High Grand falls 9. Usheni 10. Adamson's Falls 11. Kora The first five dams have already been constructed and operational. The 6th, Karura dam construction works has already been awarded (awarded in October 2017 and is scheduled to be completed in july 2020) and the works are ongoing. Karura dam lies between Kindaruma HEP station upstream and Kiambere HEP station downstream. The 7th, Mutonga aka High Grand Falls has been tendered for three times and every time the tenders have been cancelled on accounts of corruption. This dam is expected to cost anywhere between Kshs 150 to 200 billion. It will be the second biggest dam after Aswan High dam in Egypt in area covering 165 square kilometres (size of town) and will carry a total of 5.6 billion cubic metres (5.6 trillion litres)of water and an HEP generation capacity of 700MW! I believe the works should have been awarded by now. The 8th, Low Grand Falls aka Lower Grand Falls has been designed but has not been tendered yet The 9th, Usheni, the 10th, Adamson's Falls and the 11th, Kora dams are only on the feasibility studies report. Great, thanks for the valuable information. Yes Mutonga and grandfalls do not exist hence there are only 5 dams so far. I was also informed that there are plans to combine some one or 2 of the dams to form one big dam, could that be Mutonga ? 100-200billion, are we about to see the contractor sarakasi that we witnessed with SGR? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:limanika wrote:Njunge wrote:hardwood wrote:[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4 The spillage is more of a trickle... I don't see it causing any harm downstream. 252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man?? You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal. The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu... Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana. No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5 Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844... Escapism, another thing, the walls are very strong and the spill ways were built to release the pressure when the dams are full. Wewe Murchir do you really understand what a spillway is? It doesnt "release pressure"......you make it sound like some spring or elastic thingy. It simply allows for spillage of excess water in the reservoir over the dam (hope you understand exactly what a DAM is). Earlier on you also intimated they are opened ........nope, they are not. They just sit there ndeeeee waiting for excess water to spill. Nikii mani TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
murchr wrote:Kaigangio wrote:murchr wrote:River Fork - A place where a river divides into several parts. In the case of Tana river, the river forks are the other smaller rivers that damp waters into the Tana - eg Sagana, Thika- (drain into Masinga dam), Thiba (drains into Gitaru), then after Kiambere there are rivers Mutonga, Rojwero, Thuci, Tula laga, Galole laga etc that just flow into the Tana uncontrollably. These rivers are responsible for the flooding when we hear of dams upstream being not full. The two dams, Grand falls & Mutonga are meant to regulate these rivers. @Murchr Grand falls and Mutonga dams do not exist yet, but as per the feasibility studies carried out in mid 1975, it was determined that the Seven Forks Cascade Hydropower Complex has a potential capacity of 11 Hydroelectric power generation dams of which the two above are part of. Generally these dams are: 1. Masinga 2. Kamburu 3. Gitaru 4. Kindaruma 5. Kiambere 6. Karura 7. Mutonga 8. High Grand falls 9. Usheni 10. Adamson's Falls 11. Kora The first five dams have already been constructed and operational. The 6th, Karura dam construction works has already been awarded (awarded in October 2017 and is scheduled to be completed in july 2020) and the works are ongoing. Karura dam lies between Kindaruma HEP station upstream and Kiambere HEP station downstream. The 7th, Mutonga aka High Grand Falls has been tendered for three times and every time the tenders have been cancelled on accounts of corruption. This dam is expected to cost anywhere between Kshs 150 to 200 billion. It will be the second biggest dam after Aswan High dam in Egypt in area covering 165 square kilometres (size of town) and will carry a total of 5.6 billion cubic metres (5.6 trillion litres)of water and an HEP generation capacity of 700MW! I believe the works should have been awarded by now. The 8th, Low Grand Falls aka Lower Grand Falls has been designed but has not been tendered yet The 9th, Usheni, the 10th, Adamson's Falls and the 11th, Kora dams are only on the feasibility studies report. Great, thanks for the valuable information. Yes Mutonga and grandfalls do not exist hence there are only 5 dams so far. I was also informed that there are plans to combine some one or 2 of the dams to form one big dam, could that be Mutonga ? 100-200billion, are we about to see the contractor sarakasi that we witnessed with SGR? Combining two dams to form one big one is actually a new phenomenon to me. Did that guy explain to you how two different dams having different topographical & geographical features and altitude above see level be combined??? This is not practical, at least here in Kenya. ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Kaigangio wrote:murchr wrote:River Fork - A place where a river divides into several parts. In the case of Tana river, the river forks are the other smaller rivers that damp waters into the Tana - eg Sagana, Thika- (drain into Masinga dam), Thiba (drains into Gitaru), then after Kiambere there are rivers Mutonga, Rojwero, Thuci, Tula laga, Galole laga etc that just flow into the Tana uncontrollably. These rivers are responsible for the flooding when we hear of dams upstream being not full. The two dams, Grand falls & Mutonga are meant to regulate these rivers. @Murchr Grand falls and Mutonga dams do not exist yet, but as per the feasibility studies carried out in mid 1975, it was determined that the Seven Forks Cascade Hydropower Complex has a potential capacity of 11 Hydroelectric power generation dams of which the two above are part of. Generally these dams are: 1. Masinga 2. Kamburu 3. Gitaru 4. Kindaruma 5. Kiambere 6. Karura 7. Mutonga 8. High Grand falls 9. Usheni 10. Adamson's Falls 11. Kora The first five dams have already been constructed and operational. The 6th, Karura dam construction works has already been awarded (awarded in October 2017 and is scheduled to be completed in july 2020) and the works are ongoing. Karura dam lies between Kindaruma HEP station upstream and Kiambere HEP station downstream. The 7th, Mutonga aka High Grand Falls has been tendered for three times and every time the tenders have been cancelled on accounts of corruption. This dam is expected to cost anywhere between Kshs 150 to 200 billion. It will be the second biggest dam after Aswan High dam in Egypt in area covering 165 square kilometres (size of town) and will carry a total of 5.6 billion cubic metres (5.6 trillion litres)of water and an HEP generation capacity of 700MW! I believe the works should have been awarded by now. The 8th, Low Grand Falls aka Lower Grand Falls has been designed but has not been tendered yet The 9th, Usheni, the 10th, Adamson's Falls and the 11th, Kora dams are only on the feasibility studies report. Kagizzard, leo umenifunza. I never knew. BTW whats the big deal in having such info in our books? I have never heard of 11 dams potential. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:limanika wrote:Njunge wrote:hardwood wrote:[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4 The spillage is more of a trickle... I don't see it causing any harm downstream. 252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man?? You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal. The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu... Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana. No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5 Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844... Escapism, another thing, the walls are very strong and the spill ways were built to release the pressure when the dams are full. Wewe Murchir do you really understand what a spillway is? It doesnt "release pressure"......you make it sound like some spring or elastic thingy. It simply allows for spillage of excess water in the reservoir over the dam (hope you understand exactly what a DAM is). Earlier on you also intimated they are opened ........nope, they are not. They just sit there ndeeeee waiting for excess water to spill. Nikii mani Hii ndio ubaya ya kuingilia ugali katikati. When you open a tap to reduce the water in a tank because the inflow is unstoppable what are you doing? Wbrb "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Kaigangio wrote:murchr wrote:Kaigangio wrote:murchr wrote:River Fork - A place where a river divides into several parts. In the case of Tana river, the river forks are the other smaller rivers that damp waters into the Tana - eg Sagana, Thika- (drain into Masinga dam), Thiba (drains into Gitaru), then after Kiambere there are rivers Mutonga, Rojwero, Thuci, Tula laga, Galole laga etc that just flow into the Tana uncontrollably. These rivers are responsible for the flooding when we hear of dams upstream being not full. The two dams, Grand falls & Mutonga are meant to regulate these rivers. @Murchr Grand falls and Mutonga dams do not exist yet, but as per the feasibility studies carried out in mid 1975, it was determined that the Seven Forks Cascade Hydropower Complex has a potential capacity of 11 Hydroelectric power generation dams of which the two above are part of. Generally these dams are: 1. Masinga 2. Kamburu 3. Gitaru 4. Kindaruma 5. Kiambere 6. Karura 7. Mutonga 8. High Grand falls 9. Usheni 10. Adamson's Falls 11. Kora The first five dams have already been constructed and operational. The 6th, Karura dam construction works has already been awarded (awarded in October 2017 and is scheduled to be completed in july 2020) and the works are ongoing. Karura dam lies between Kindaruma HEP station upstream and Kiambere HEP station downstream. The 7th, Mutonga aka High Grand Falls has been tendered for three times and every time the tenders have been cancelled on accounts of corruption. This dam is expected to cost anywhere between Kshs 150 to 200 billion. It will be the second biggest dam after Aswan High dam in Egypt in area covering 165 square kilometres (size of town) and will carry a total of 5.6 billion cubic metres (5.6 trillion litres)of water and an HEP generation capacity of 700MW! I believe the works should have been awarded by now. The 8th, Low Grand Falls aka Lower Grand Falls has been designed but has not been tendered yet The 9th, Usheni, the 10th, Adamson's Falls and the 11th, Kora dams are only on the feasibility studies report. Great, thanks for the valuable information. Yes Mutonga and grandfalls do not exist hence there are only 5 dams so far. I was also informed that there are plans to combine some one or 2 of the dams to form one big dam, could that be Mutonga ? 100-200billion, are we about to see the contractor sarakasi that we witnessed with SGR? Combining two dams to form one big one is actually a new phenomenon to me. Did that guy explain to you how two different dams having different topographical & geographical features and altitude above see level be combined??? This is not practical, at least here in Kenya. He gave reasons of money and new advanced and cheaper technology. I didn't quite get the gist of it all he was using engineering terms. But those were the reasons he gave. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
chiaroscuro wrote:shadowinvestor wrote:It should be the 5 folks dam as the other 2 were never built. Having the dams all full is similar to having the Tana plus all other smaller tributaries and seasonal rivers flowing towards the Tana Delta. Abit of Geography- a delta is a generally flat area that floods during the rainy season- world over, it is not a new phenomenon. With the guys at Tana river, this should be a yearly migration to higher ground, it is just that last few years the rains have not been heavy making guys settle for longer periods. Pastoralist should tell you about grazing cattle in river valleys during flash floods or sand harvesters getting caught by flash floods. The dams have actually helped the impact of flooding, what we should accept that 2018 has been an outlier- I may be wrong but its the wettest year in recorded history where nature comes to retrace its path. Cutting down trees and bushland has contributed to overland flow of water as it's not trapped enhancing the flooding. harrydre wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:limanika wrote:Njunge wrote:hardwood wrote:[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4 The spillage is more of a trickle... I don't see it causing any harm downstream. 252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man?? You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal. The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu... Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana. No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5 Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844... Njesu! Why seven Forks? You know a fork? The instrument we use for eating? It is a broad piece of metal with one end split into narrow sharp spikes.... Before they built Kindaruma power station, the Tan river had naturally split into seven forks that then rejoined back into one river near the place where the dam wall is now located. Those of us who were in school in the 1970s were taught that this dam is called "The Seven Forks Dam"....because it was built at the place where the river used to have 7 forks.That name gained popularity and when other dams were later built, they were all together named "Seven Forks Dams" The truth is that the name Seven Forks has nothing to do with the number of dams! It is the river that used to have 7 forks at the sit where Kindaruma now sits. Imagine if they now built a dam at 14 Falls on the Athi River. We might call it the 14 Falls dam...and later start talking about "The 14 Falls Complex" It wouldn't mean that there are 14 dams.... The Chinese 3-Gorges dam.... You mean somebody expunged this info from the syllabus? Gaddemmit TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
murchr wrote:simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:limanika wrote:Njunge wrote:hardwood wrote:[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4 The spillage is more of a trickle... I don't see it causing any harm downstream. 252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man?? You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal. The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu... Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana. No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5 Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844... Escapism, another thing, the walls are very strong and the spill ways were built to release the pressure when the dams are full. Wewe Murchir do you really understand what a spillway is? It doesnt "release pressure"......you make it sound like some spring or elastic thingy. It simply allows for spillage of excess water in the reservoir over the dam (hope you understand exactly what a DAM is). Earlier on you also intimated they are opened ........nope, they are not. They just sit there ndeeeee waiting for excess water to spill. Nikii mani Hii ndio ubaya ya kuingilia ugali katikati. When you open a tap to reduce the water in a tank because the inflow is unstoppable what are you doing? Wbrb Well well, that is exactly NOT the way a spillway works.: TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
simonkabz wrote:Kaigangio wrote:murchr wrote:River Fork - A place where a river divides into several parts. In the case of Tana river, the river forks are the other smaller rivers that damp waters into the Tana - eg Sagana, Thika- (drain into Masinga dam), Thiba (drains into Gitaru), then after Kiambere there are rivers Mutonga, Rojwero, Thuci, Tula laga, Galole laga etc that just flow into the Tana uncontrollably. These rivers are responsible for the flooding when we hear of dams upstream being not full. The two dams, Grand falls & Mutonga are meant to regulate these rivers. @Murchr Grand falls and Mutonga dams do not exist yet, but as per the feasibility studies carried out in mid 1975, it was determined that the Seven Forks Cascade Hydropower Complex has a potential capacity of 11 Hydroelectric power generation dams of which the two above are part of. Generally these dams are: 1. Masinga 2. Kamburu 3. Gitaru 4. Kindaruma 5. Kiambere 6. Karura 7. Mutonga 8. High Grand falls 9. Usheni 10. Adamson's Falls 11. Kora The first five dams have already been constructed and operational. The 6th, Karura dam construction works has already been awarded (awarded in October 2017 and is scheduled to be completed in july 2020) and the works are ongoing. Karura dam lies between Kindaruma HEP station upstream and Kiambere HEP station downstream. The 7th, Mutonga aka High Grand Falls has been tendered for three times and every time the tenders have been cancelled on accounts of corruption. This dam is expected to cost anywhere between Kshs 150 to 200 billion. It will be the second biggest dam after Aswan High dam in Egypt in area covering 165 square kilometres (size of town) and will carry a total of 5.6 billion cubic metres (5.6 trillion litres)of water and an HEP generation capacity of 700MW! I believe the works should have been awarded by now. The 8th, Low Grand Falls aka Lower Grand Falls has been designed but has not been tendered yet The 9th, Usheni, the 10th, Adamson's Falls and the 11th, Kora dams are only on the feasibility studies report. Kagizzard, leo umenifunza. I never knew. BTW whats the big deal in having such info in our books? I have never heard of 11 dams potential. Hi Simon. Most of the books containing information on dams were printed prior to 1975 and are just reprinted without any meaningful updates which are meant to capture the latest studies' reports. ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:limanika wrote:Njunge wrote:hardwood wrote:[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4 The spillage is more of a trickle... I don't see it causing any harm downstream. 252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man?? You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal. The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu... Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana. No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5 Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844... Escapism, another thing, the walls are very strong and the spill ways were built to release the pressure when the dams are full. Wewe Murchir do you really understand what a spillway is? It doesnt "release pressure"......you make it sound like some spring or elastic thingy. It simply allows for spillage of excess water in the reservoir over the dam (hope you understand exactly what a DAM is). Earlier on you also intimated they are opened ........nope, they are not. They just sit there ndeeeee waiting for excess water to spill. Nikii mani Hii ndio ubaya ya kuingilia ugali katikati. When you open a tap to reduce the water in a tank because the inflow is unstoppable what are you doing? Wbrb Well well, that is exactly NOT the way a spillway works.: A spillway releases pressure from the reservoir no? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
murchr wrote:simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:limanika wrote:Njunge wrote:hardwood wrote:[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4 The spillage is more of a trickle... I don't see it causing any harm downstream. 252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man?? You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal. The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu... Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana. No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5 Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844... Escapism, another thing, the walls are very strong and the spill ways were built to release the pressure when the dams are full. Wewe Murchir do you really understand what a spillway is? It doesnt "release pressure"......you make it sound like some spring or elastic thingy. It simply allows for spillage of excess water in the reservoir over the dam (hope you understand exactly what a DAM is). Earlier on you also intimated they are opened ........nope, they are not. They just sit there ndeeeee waiting for excess water to spill. Nikii mani Hii ndio ubaya ya kuingilia ugali katikati. When you open a tap to reduce the water in a tank because the inflow is unstoppable what are you doing? Wbrb Well well, that is exactly NOT the way a spillway works.: A spillway releases pressure from the reservoir no? He must be talking about floodgates that are constructed for dams without a spillway. The floodgates are normally opened to regulate reservoir water levels.
murchr wrote:simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:limanika wrote:Njunge wrote:hardwood wrote:[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4 The spillage is more of a trickle... I don't see it causing any harm downstream. 252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man?? You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal. The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu... Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana. No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5 Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844... Escapism, another thing, the walls are very strong and the spill ways were built to release the pressure when the dams are full. Wewe Murchir do you really understand what a spillway is? It doesnt "release pressure"......you make it sound like some spring or elastic thingy. It simply allows for spillage of excess water in the reservoir over the dam (hope you understand exactly what a DAM is). Earlier on you also intimated they are opened ........nope, they are not. They just sit there ndeeeee waiting for excess water to spill. Nikii mani Hii ndio ubaya ya kuingilia ugali katikati. When you open a tap to reduce the water in a tank because the inflow is unstoppable what are you doing? Wbrb Well well, that is exactly NOT the way a spillway works.: A spillway releases pressure from the reservoir no? That statement doesnt sound right at all. It may not be about pressure per se, but having a systematic way of draining excess water......rather than having water spilling all over the top of a dam (the barrier) and probably causing erosion and damage in the process. The spillway allows the water to harmlessly "spill over". Mambo ya pressure make it sound like the reservoir is bloated from eating too much madondo....... The dam is designed to a specific and definite capacity, and should be able to hold that water pressure when full......Where could this extra pressure that needs to be released be coming from? Ama Samaki zinanyamba nyamba huko TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Masinga has a spillway while kindaruma has floodgates. That is why there is more drama when kindaruma floodgates are opened. Masinga spillway. Kindaruma floodgates.
In ndakaini, the spillway is actually a hole in the ground at the "dam wall" where the excess water drains when the dam is full. Spillhole is structure to the right on first photo. Closeup of the hole spillway. Example of a hole spillway draining excess water.
murchr wrote:simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:limanika wrote:Njunge wrote:hardwood wrote:[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4 The spillage is more of a trickle... I don't see it causing any harm downstream. 252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man?? You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal. The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu... Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana. No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5 Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844... Escapism, another thing, the walls are very strong and the spill ways were built to release the pressure when the dams are full. Wewe Murchir do you really understand what a spillway is? It doesnt "release pressure"......you make it sound like some spring or elastic thingy. It simply allows for spillage of excess water in the reservoir over the dam (hope you understand exactly what a DAM is). Earlier on you also intimated they are opened ........nope, they are not. They just sit there ndeeeee waiting for excess water to spill. Nikii mani Hii ndio ubaya ya kuingilia ugali katikati. When you open a tap to reduce the water in a tank because the inflow is unstoppable what are you doing? Wbrb Well well, that is exactly NOT the way a spillway works.: A spillway releases pressure from the reservoir no? The terminology that you are using is giving your statements a totally different meaning. If you use pressure in as far as the dam or any other water storage reservoir is concerned, it means you are talking of the hydraulic pressure at a random point just below the surface of water to the very bottom of the dam. In simple terms a spillway is a hydraulic structure that passes normal (operational) and/or flood flows in a manner that protects the structural integrity of the dam and/or dikes. These spillways are not just coupled to the dam works in a random manner but rather they are designed and sized hydraulically to safely pass floods equal to or less than the Inflow Design Flood (The inflow Design Flood is the most severe inflow flood (water volume) for which a dam and its associated facilities are designed. Spillways are meant to keep the level of the stored water in a dam constant and at the same maintaining the normal flow of the river downstream. ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Ahsante sana Hardwood. We stand guided thanks to my keeping Murchr on his toes. Kumbe ata kuna Morning Glory Spillway TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
hardwood wrote:Masinga has a spillway while kindaruma has floodgates. That is why there is more drama when kindaruma floodgates are opened. Masinga spillway. Kindaruma floodgates. @hardwood, what you see in Masinga and Kindaruma are both spillways. One spillway is in the controlled (regulated) category while the other is in uncontrolled (unregulated) category. Also the spillway at Masinga dam is the side channel type while the one at Kindaruma is the drop type. ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:limanika wrote:Njunge wrote:hardwood wrote:[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4 The spillage is more of a trickle... I don't see it causing any harm downstream. 252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man?? You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal. The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu... Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana. No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5 Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844... Escapism, another thing, the walls are very strong and the spill ways were built to release the pressure when the dams are full. Wewe Murchir do you really understand what a spillway is? It doesnt "release pressure"......you make it sound like some spring or elastic thingy. It simply allows for spillage of excess water in the reservoir over the dam (hope you understand exactly what a DAM is). Earlier on you also intimated they are opened ........nope, they are not. They just sit there ndeeeee waiting for excess water to spill. Nikii mani Hii ndio ubaya ya kuingilia ugali katikati. When you open a tap to reduce the water in a tank because the inflow is unstoppable what are you doing? Wbrb Well well, that is exactly NOT the way a spillway works.: A spillway releases pressure from the reservoir no? That statement doesnt sound right at all. It may not be about pressure per se, but having a systematic way of draining excess water......rather than having water spilling all over the top of a dam (the barrier) and probably causing erosion and damage in the process. The spillway allows the water to harmlessly "spill over". Mambo ya pressure make it sound like the reservoir is bloated from eating too much madondo....... The dam is designed to a specific and definite capacity, and should be able to hold that water pressure when full......Where could this extra pressure that needs to be released be coming from? Ama Samaki zinanyamba nyamba huko You dont have to be vulgar describe nothing it doesnt make you cool or anything just exposes your ignorance. My use of the word pressure is in relation to "stress" that can occur when the dam is full. You only seem to think of pressure as air. We are not discussing miguu ya gari.... "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Kaigangio wrote:murchr wrote:simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:simonkabz wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:limanika wrote:Njunge wrote:hardwood wrote:[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4 The spillage is more of a trickle... I don't see it causing any harm downstream. 252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man?? You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal. The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu... Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana. No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5 Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844... Escapism, another thing, the walls are very strong and the spill ways were built to release the pressure when the dams are full. Wewe Murchir do you really understand what a spillway is? It doesnt "release pressure"......you make it sound like some spring or elastic thingy. It simply allows for spillage of excess water in the reservoir over the dam (hope you understand exactly what a DAM is). Earlier on you also intimated they are opened ........nope, they are not. They just sit there ndeeeee waiting for excess water to spill. Nikii mani Hii ndio ubaya ya kuingilia ugali katikati. When you open a tap to reduce the water in a tank because the inflow is unstoppable what are you doing? Wbrb Well well, that is exactly NOT the way a spillway works.: A spillway releases pressure from the reservoir no? The terminology that you are using is giving your statements a totally different meaning. If you use pressure in as far as the dam or any other water storage reservoir is concerned, it means you are talking of the hydraulic pressure at a random point just below the surface of water to the very bottom of the dam. In simple terms a spillway is a hydraulic structure that passes normal (operational) and/or flood flows in a manner that protects the structural integrity of the dam and/or dikes. These spillways are not just coupled to the dam works in a random manner but rather they are designed and sized hydraulically to safely pass floods equal to or less than the Inflow Design Flood (The inflow Design Flood is the most severe inflow flood (water volume) for which a dam and its associated facilities are designed.Spillways are meant to keep the level of the stored water in a dam constant and at the same maintaining the normal flow of the river downstream. That is exactly what i was trying to express without the jargon(kizungu mingi catwalk). Thank you for the explaination. Now, on Kiambere---- What is that type of outflow that gushes water so hard like that? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Masinga dam