wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

Masinga dam
#21 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 3:06:24 PM

[quote=murchr]Spilling began at 4

The spillage is more of a trickle...smile I don't see it causing any harm downstream.

252,000 cubic metres per hour is a trickle?? What are you smoking young man??
#22 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 5:50:22 PM

Surely, if you were told to move from what you call home today, where would you move to?
limanika
#23 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 8:29:21 PM

Njunge wrote:

The spillage is more of a trickle...smile I don't see it causing any harm downstream.

You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal.
#24 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 9:35:41 PM

limanika wrote:
Njunge wrote:

You two are both right and wrong...If the dams are full it means they cannot use the same to regulate the flow hence the people downstream are left at the mercy of mother nature as the river flows untamed. And it is not given there will be flooding. Only if it continues raining above normal.

The spill will only fill the other 7 forks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu...

Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana.
#25 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 10:19:04 PM

limanika wrote:
Njunge wrote:

The spill will only fill the other 7 folks dams, Gitaru, Kamburu...

Chida itakuwa if the walls can't hold no more!! Itakaa wakati wa Noah entire lower Tana.

No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5
#26 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 5:21:09 AM

limanika wrote:
Njunge wrote:

No sir!, first there are no 7 dams but 5 - Masinga, Kamburu, Gitaru Kindaruma and Kiambere, 2 are yet to be built. The other dams are full and are spilling too....Kiambere the last dam has been spilling for wks now. Masinga is the largest of the 5

Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844...
shadowinvestor
#27 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 11:58:09 AM

It should be the 5 folks dam as the other 2 were never built. Having the dams all full is similar to having the Tana plus all other smaller tributaries and seasonal rivers flowing towards the Tana Delta. Abit of Geography- a delta is a generally flat area that floods during the rainy season- world over, it is not a new phenomenon. With the guys at Tana river, this should be a yearly migration to higher ground, it is just that last few years the rains have not been heavy making guys settle for longer periods. Pastoralist should tell you about grazing cattle in river valleys during flash floods or sand harvesters getting caught by flash floods. The dams have actually helped the impact of flooding, what we should accept that 2018 has been an outlier- I may be wrong but its the wettest year in recorded history where nature comes to retrace its path. Cutting down trees and bushland has contributed to overland flow of water as it's not trapped enhancing the flooding.

limanika wrote:
Njunge wrote:

Boss, I didn't say they are 7, I called them by their name.. 7 forks dams... hawa watoto wa 844...

#28 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 12:37:49 PM

shadowinvestor wrote:
limanika wrote:
Njunge wrote:

It should be the 5 folks dam as the other 2 were never built. Having the dams all full is similar to having the Tana plus all other smaller tributaries and seasonal rivers flowing towards the Tana Delta. Abit of Geography- a delta is a generally flat area that floods during the rainy season- world over, it is not a new phenomenon. With the guys at Tana river, this should be a yearly migration to higher ground, it is just that last few years the rains have not been heavy making guys settle for longer periods. Pastoralist should tell you about grazing cattle in river valleys during flash floods or sand harvesters getting caught by flash floods. The dams have actually helped the impact of flooding, what we should accept that 2018 has been an outlier- I may be wrong but its the wettest year in recorded history where nature comes to retrace its path. Cutting down trees and bushland has contributed to overland flow of water as it's not trapped enhancing the flooding.

Hahaha. Watoto wa 844 kweli ni blunder

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#29 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 12:39:28 PM

shadowinvestor wrote:
limanika wrote:
Njunge wrote:

Hahaha. Watoto wa 844 kweli ni blunder

#30 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 1:24:30 PM

limanika wrote:
Njunge wrote:

Escapism, another thing, the walls are very strong and the spill ways were built to release the pressure when the dams are full.
#31 Posted : Friday, May 18, 2018 7:28:39 PM

The irony of all this is we were just dying the other day of ukame.
chiaroscuro
#32 Posted : Saturday, May 19, 2018 12:23:43 PM

shadowinvestor wrote:

limanika wrote:
Njunge wrote:

Njesu!

Why seven Forks?

You know a fork? The instrument we use for eating? It is a broad piece of metal with one end split into narrow sharp spikes....

Before they built Kindaruma power station, the Tan river had naturally split into seven forks that then rejoined back into one river near the place where the dam wall is now located.

Those of us who were in school in the 1970s were taught that this dam is called "The Seven Forks Dam"....because it was built at the place where the river used to have 7 forks.

That name gained popularity and when other dams were later built, they were all together named "Seven Forks Dams"

The truth is that the name Seven Forks has nothing to do with the number of dams! It is the river that used to have 7 forks at the sit where Kindaruma now sits.

Imagine if they now built a dam at 14 Falls on the Athi River. We might call it the 14 Falls dam...and later start talking about "The 14 Falls Complex" It wouldn't mean that there are 14 dams....

The Chinese 3-Gorges dam....
shadowinvestor
#33 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2018 10:47:11 AM

By the time we went to school, the forks were 5 Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

chiaroscuro wrote:
shadowinvestor wrote:

limanika wrote:
Njunge wrote:

Njesu!

Why seven Forks?

You know a fork? The instrument we use for eating? It is a broad piece of metal with one end split into narrow sharp spikes....

Before they built Kindaruma power station, the Tan river had naturally split into seven forks that then rejoined back into one river near the place where the dam wall is now located.

Those of us who were in school in the 1970s were taught that this dam is called "The Seven Forks Dam"....because it was built at the place where the river used to have 7 forks.

That name gained popularity and when other dams were later built, they were all together named "Seven Forks Dams"

The truth is that the name Seven Forks has nothing to do with the number of dams! It is the river that used to have 7 forks at the sit where Kindaruma now sits.

Imagine if they now built a dam at 14 Falls on the Athi River. We might call it the 14 Falls dam...and later start talking about "The 14 Falls Complex" It wouldn't mean that there are 14 dams....

#34 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2018 11:49:09 AM

Yaani there were no 7 dams? Wacha nivute kiti nisomesmile
#35 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2018 12:16:59 PM

Too much sensationalism about the dam overflow mpaka chonolists are camping at the dam and reporting live. It's the height of stupidity.

They expected to see a huge tsunami moving downstream after the "overflow" and they seem to be very disappointed nothing dramatic has happened. They need to learn some science.
#36 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2018 1:54:20 PM

Yaani there were no 7 dams? Wacha nivute kiti nisomesmile

lol

#37 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2018 5:15:14 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
shadowinvestor wrote:

limanika wrote:
Njunge wrote:

Njesu!

Why seven Forks?

River Fork - A place where a river divides into several parts. In the case of Tana river, the river forks are the other smaller rivers that damp waters into the Tana - eg Sagana, Thika- (drain into Masinga dam), Thiba (drains into Gitaru), then after Kiambere there are rivers Mutonga, Rojwero, Thuci, Tula laga, Galole laga etc that just flow into the Tana uncontrollably. These rivers are responsible for the flooding when we hear of dams upstream being not full. The two dams, Grand falls & Mutonga are meant to regulate these rivers.

#38 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2018 5:17:26 PM

Too much sensationalism about the dam overflow mpaka chonolists are camping at the dam and reporting live. It's the height of stupidity.

They expected to see a huge tsunami moving downstream after the "overflow" and they seem to be very disappointed nothing dramatic has happened. They need to learn some science.

Yes the media has no clue even in the reporting. They expected the Patel dam situation but in this case the water goes to pile up in Garissa and Garsen
#39 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2018 9:28:43 PM

The drank in my local was today saying that the flooding can only happen if the inflow into the dam is of high magnitude and the quantity of inflow and outflow (flooding) are directly proportionated'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#40 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2018 9:34:28 PM

The drank in my local was today saying that the flooding can only happen if the inflow into the dam is of high magnitude and the quantity of inflow and outflow (flooding) are directly proportionated'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

In local jargon they are very right!