wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

16 Pages<1234>»
New NYS Scandal
#21 Posted : Monday, May 14, 2018 9:01:27 PM

There is no scandal here . It's just hot mnyambuliko being blown all over.
NYS is here to stay
#22 Posted : Monday, May 14, 2018 10:23:05 PM

Can we say this is our culture?

#23 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 10:17:55 AM

yes..
#24 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 10:31:24 AM

yes..

You just have to look at the management of cooperative societies, saccos and county govts to know that the society is a mess. You have seen all the murders in land buying companies ........all emanating from corruption by the officials/directors elected in the grassroots and villages. Theft is in our DNA.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 10:44:44 AM

Also it is interesting how corruption is reported. Initially the PS in charge of NYS was reported as being Ms Lilian Omollo or Ms Omollo. Her name later evolved to Lilian Mbogo Omollo and now she is being referred to as Lilian Mbogo or simply Ms Mbogo. Is the evolution of the name engineered to pass a certain narrative?

Reminds me of the time wetangula was beaten by his wife. The wife's name as reported in the media evolved from Mrs Ann Wetangula, then to Ann Waceke Ngugi Wetangula and finally to Ann Waceke, Ms Waceke and Ms Ngugi.
jgithige
#26 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 11:30:05 AM

Also it is interesting how corruption is reported. Initially the PS in charge of NYS was reported as being Ms Lilian Omollo or Ms Omollo. Her name later evolved to Lilian Mbogo Omollo and now she is being referred to as Lilian Mbogo or simply Ms Mbogo. Is the evolution of the name engineered to pass a certain narrative?

Reminds me of the time wetangula was beaten by his wife. The wife's name as reported in the media evolved from Mrs Ann Wetangula, then to Ann Waceke Ngugi Wetangula and finally to Ann Waceke, Ms Waceke and Ms Ngugi.

Our media also is failing us badly. They sensationalize their reporting geared to sell. They report 10b missing alafu they give documentary evidence of about 200 mirrion.
"Blowing out someone else candle won't make yours shine brighter"-Anonymous
Wakanyugi
#27 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 11:37:06 AM

aemathenge wrote:
Until Kenyans get angry & tired, nothing will happen.

Until we call it theft and not corruption, nothing will happen.

Until we name and shame the thieves, nothing will happen.

Until we discipline these thieves on the streets the same way we discipline phone thieves on this streets nothing will happen. Forget the courts, they are incapable, unwilling or deeply compromised. They are part of the problem.

Get tired Kenyans!

I wait with wild anticipation to your rebuttal to the sentiments expressed by an Kenian economist I hold in great respect.

Copy and paste extract of the sentiments:

When Kenya was governed under a centralised system, grand corruption was a distant affair that benefited a limited circle of individuals.

A farmer could not conceive how he or she would ever get a kickback in the circle of corruption, until devolution.

When county officials divert public finances to their pockets, much of that money remains within the county economy.

It can be used to finance household expenses, education and health costs, as well as generally improve the quality of life of the corrupt individual and those in their circle.

Diverted public monies also become investment funds, where corrupt individuals suddenly have cash that can be directed to business activity.

I have travelled in counties where I have been openly told that this building or that business belongs to a government official.

This government official did not have these assets before, but suddenly they are serious financiers in the county.

And interestingly, these facts are not shared with a tone of bitterness or annoyance, there almost seems to be an appreciation that even if public monies are being stolen, at least they are benefiting the local economy.

After all, businesses are being financed, people are being employed to run and manage them and suddenly there is a new source of income for many.

This is not a justification of corruption, but rather an exploration of how it is evolving.

We seem to have moved on from the days when loot was sequestered in accounts in distant capitals of Europe and North America.

Now when public money is stolen, much of it sticks around.

How will this inform the fight against corruption?

How do strategies that seek to address corruption need to be updated to become relevant again?

These are questions for us all.

Source Link From The Business Daily

Many years ago Amerika used to be as corrupt as Kenia, if not more. But, being practical fellows, they realised they couldn't fight it, plus corruption has some benefits (more efficient allocation of resources, for one, like the economist above seems to be saying). So they decided to sanitize corruption and this way make it socially acceptable. You now know it as lobbying, facilitation, commission, finders fee, tip, appreciation etc etc. This created an efficient corruption market that largely forced the unit price down, so much that hardly anyone notices.

Is there a lesson for us here?
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#28 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 11:51:03 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

Until we discipline these thieves on the streets the same way we discipline phone thieves on this streets nothing will happen. Forget the courts, they are incapable, unwilling or deeply compromised. They are part of the problem.

Get tired Kenyans!

I wait with wild anticipation to your rebuttal to the sentiments expressed by an Kenian economist I hold in great respect.

When Kenya was governed under a centralised system, grand corruption was a distant affair that benefited a limited circle of individuals.

A farmer could not conceive how he or she would ever get a kickback in the circle of corruption, until devolution.

When county officials divert public finances to their pockets, much of that money remains within the county economy.

It can be used to finance household expenses, education and health costs, as well as generally improve the quality of life of the corrupt individual and those in their circle.

Diverted public monies also become investment funds, where corrupt individuals suddenly have cash that can be directed to business activity.

I have travelled in counties where I have been openly told that this building or that business belongs to a government official.

This government official did not have these assets before, but suddenly they are serious financiers in the county.

And interestingly, these facts are not shared with a tone of bitterness or annoyance, there almost seems to be an appreciation that even if public monies are being stolen, at least they are benefiting the local economy.

After all, businesses are being financed, people are being employed to run and manage them and suddenly there is a new source of income for many.

This is not a justification of corruption, but rather an exploration of how it is evolving.

We seem to have moved on from the days when loot was sequestered in accounts in distant capitals of Europe and North America.

How do strategies that seek to address corruption need to be updated to become relevant again?

Many years ago Amerika used to be as corrupt as Kenia, if not more. But, being practical fellows, they realised they couldn't fight it, plus corruption has some benefits (more efficient allocation of resources, for one, like the economist above seems to be saying). So they decided to sanitize corruption and this way make it socially acceptable. You now know it as lobbying, facilitation, commission, finders fee, tip, appreciation etc etc. This created an efficient corruption market that largely forced the unit price down, so much that hardly anyone notices.

Watching how banks raped US with mortgages, leading to an International market recession... not only getting away with it, but they rewarded themselves; I'm inclined to buy your argument. If we can't beat them ...

Kumbe tip is bribing the waiter to serve you better than others...

#29 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 1:07:53 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

Get tired Kenyans!

Watching how banks raped US with mortgages, leading to an International market recession... not only getting away with it, but they rewarded themselves; I'm inclined to buy your argument. If we can't beat them ...

If it is acceptable to tip the waiter, then it should be ok to tip the guy who gave you a multi-million shilling contract.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 1:12:12 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

Get tired Kenyans!

If it is acceptable to tip the waiter, then it should be ok to tip the guy who gave you a multi-million shilling contract.

However in our scenario the tip compromises contract delivery.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 2:46:55 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

Get tired Kenyans!

Tips are fine if you deliver

In Kenya we are talking about things that don't happen. I give you 1 birrions for doing nothing. That is not tipping, that is theft. You are a thief just like John Gakuo.

Wakanyugi
#32 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 6:44:54 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

Get tired Kenyans!

In Kenya we are talking about things that don't happen. I give you 1 birrions for doing nothing. That is not tipping, that is theft. You are a thief just like John Gakuo.

You mean like the way Banks made Billion's by selling air to Wanjiku of Amerika, in the name of CDFs, CDCs, repackaged sub prime mortgages and other fluff dreamed up by Wall Street Quant's? And then they got the same Wanjiku to bail them out when their scam hit the rocks?

That is not theft of course. After all Bazungu can not steal can they?
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#33 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 7:09:31 PM

Lets put a face to the thieves

1. Caroline Ajow Atieno Mango (unconfirmed reports she is a senior Police officer based in Gigiri.)

2. Briana Sally Ajow

3. Ian Robert Ajow

4. Peris Anyango Ajow

They are the directors of

Maanti Logistics
Carrotexx supplies
Jupecar garments
Pejows Agencies
Sallijow enterprises
Iantex enterprises

#34 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 7:21:47 PM

1. Caroline Ajow Atieno Mango (unconfirmed reports she is a senior Police officer based in Gigiri.)

2. Briana Sally Ajow

3. Ian Robert Ajow

4. Peris Anyango Ajow

Maanti Logistics
Carrotexx supplies
Jupecar garments
Pejows Agencies
Sallijow enterprises
Iantex enterprises

Hii pesa kidogo, thought we were talking 10b, yet this doesn't even reach 100m???
#35 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 8:15:24 PM

2. Briana Sally Ajow

3. Ian Robert Ajow

4. Peris Anyango Ajow

Maanti Logistics
Carrotexx supplies
Jupecar garments
Pejows Agencies
Sallijow enterprises
Iantex enterprises

Hii pesa kidogo, thought we were talking 10b, yet this doesn't even reach 100m???

It now becomes 'kidogo' and doesn't attract drama because a certain people aren't there? Si mwisi ni mwisi?

#36 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 8:18:13 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
aemathenge wrote:

Get tired Kenyans!

You mean like the way Banks made Billion's by selling air to Wanjiku of Amerika, in the name of CDFs, CDCs, repackaged sub prime mortgages and other fluff dreamed up by Wall Street Quant's? And then they got the same Wanjiku to bail them out when their scam hit the rocks?

That is not theft of course. After all Bazungu can not steal can they?

Seemingly, they cannot. A thief has to be dark skinned. Unless the narrative is, the auditors by failing to highlight graft, are the new thieves

Mike Ock
#37 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 8:33:02 PM

Get tired Kenyans!

Unfortunately we live in a world where, if you are truly tired of your country, the best option is to move out. Revolt nowadays is very irrational when a plan ticket anywhere is less than $1,000
#38 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 8:39:29 PM

So, is it false reporting? Is she an Omollo or a Mbogo?
#39 Posted : Tuesday, May 15, 2018 8:52:20 PM

Relax Mbogo is also a Luo name smile
#40 Posted : Thursday, May 17, 2018 4:21:30 PM

Relax Mbogo is also a Luo name smile

Ann....Laughing out loudly