kawi254 wrote:
Guys already baying for his blood citing dam location irregularly allocated

It's very easy to point a finger to the Muindi.

The amount of trees that people have destroyed in the past 30 years is mind boggling. I can attest to money changing hands daily so that more trees can be cut.

Very unfortunate incident. Even more unfortunate to make it a racist issue. It's a Kenyan tabia issue. From corruption all the way to destroying any tree you can lay your hand on.

But the dam has been there since colonial times.

There are several dams in the farm. The one that burst is recent

Must be this one. Coordinates on google maps -0.096924, 36.146400 . Seems like there was recent excavation, should be a recent dam at a high elevation.

These dams were once forest areas. Those homes people died in were once forest areas.

People like talking about Mau Forest. Take a walk in Subukia and see how tomatoes and french beans have taken over trees.

When Koigi Wa Wamwere was complaining about this dam, he was removed. By the very same people now complaining. He was called against development. Sasa ona. And they will still go to church on Sunday to pray.

Wacha uwongo we were not born yesterday

Endeleeni kukata miti ovyo ovyo tu. Na mundelee kujenga mademu ovyo ovyo.

Ngojeni serekal iwasaidie.

@alma: Even our ancestors/fore fathers used to live in forests as hunter gatherers or practicing slash and burn the forest agriculture. That said this is purely an engineering issue. Patel may have been very greedy to store all the water and let very little into the spill-way causing the dam (barrier) to collapse due to the weight/force of the water.

Yes. There are complaints of water hoarding, but proponents say that Gideon Moi had tapped water for all and sundry... Which makes me wonder, kwani this area is a beneficiary of how many people? What makes it a focus of so much 'help'? Looks like predominantly Kaleo

Nope. Solai is okuyoland, where nakuru cownty borders baringo. All those interviewees (and victims) are nyomba.
#25 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2018 8:39:28 PM

Sadly there is one just before Solai shopping center that's already leaking. I hope this time the authorities will be proactive!
#26 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2018 8:41:25 PM

Coolio wrote:
Sadly there is one just before Solai shopping center that's already leaking. I hope this time the authorities will be proactive!

Leaking or it's excess water discharging in the spillway? Anyway have seen kwa latest news that mathiangi has ordered the "controlled release" of water in all the other dams.
#27 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2018 8:54:21 PM

A dam should ALWAYS be built with the wall curving inwards not outwards like in the killer dam. Who built or approved this dam? He needs to compensate all the victims.

#28 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2018 9:02:27 PM

Hardwood, why are you complaining. The people in this area loved that dam. They loved it sooo much that when Koigi opposed it, he was given 15 votes. Wacha wakenya wajikaange na mafuta yao.

#29 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2018 9:20:16 PM

Johnstown disaster in 1889.

#30 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2018 9:28:47 PM

450 homes were affected. Casualties might be high, and could have been higher, but luckily the tsunami traveled for the first 2km within the unsettled patel farmland and this reduced the water force to some extent before it hit the villages downstream.
#31 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2018 9:48:15 PM

A dam should ALWAYS be built with the wall curving inwards not outwards like in the killer dam. Who built or approved this dam? He needs to compensate all the victims.

Just compare the patel dam nonsense to the well designed Ndakaini....#Physics101

#32 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2018 10:28:36 PM

Hardwood, why are you complaining. The people in this area loved that dam. They loved it sooo much that when Koigi opposed it, he was given 15 votes. Wacha wakenya wajikaange na mafuta yao.

I hope you dont twist my words.

There's nothing wrong with the EXISTENCE of the dam, the design and engineering and management is largely to blame for the disaster. This excess water that eventually broke would have been a problem for the locals even if the dam did not exist. So quit this adoration of politicians and discuss the issue with sobriety.
#33 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2018 10:33:15 PM

Before the collapse.....

#34 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2018 10:43:39 PM

If this was to be built inwards,the dam capacity would be greatly reduced...undesirable.

radiomast
#35 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2018 11:01:51 PM

There's nothing wrong with the EXISTENCE of the dam, the design and engineering and management is largely to blame for the disaster. This excess water that eventually broke would have been a problem for the locals even if the dam did not exist. So quit this adoration of politicians and discuss the issue with sobriety.

And how do you think people get away with such shoddy construction? By bribing local officials. Our corruption is literally killing us. We vote in corrupt officials and act surprised when disasters like this happen.

Same thing is happening in Nairobi. Why is Nairobi always flooded. because politicians grabbed land that was meant for drainage channels. Why is traffic endless? Because land for road reserves were grabbed.

Why is Kenyatta not for the faint hearted? Pure corruption and incompetence.

As Alma1 said above, we are reaping what we sowed. We support corrupt politicians and so we have no right to expect better.

I am sure the people responsible for this disaster will not be held accountable
#36 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2018 11:20:00 PM

radiomast wrote:

And how do you think people get away with such shoddy construction? By bribing local officials. Our corruption is literally killing us. We vote in corrupt officials and act surprised when disasters like this happen.

Same thing is happening in Nairobi. Why is Nairobi always flooded. because politicians grabbed land that was meant for drainage channels. Why is traffic endless? Because land for road reserves were grabbed.

As Alma1 said above, we are reaping what we sowed. We support corrupt politicians and so we have no right to expect better.

Yes we are a corrupt den of people seeking to cut corners in everything we do. That is the problem we need to solve first.

1. Nairobi was never meant to have the number of people it has today 3+Millions is a disaster by itself. To understand the root cause of the problems experienced in Nrb, let me take you to 1900

Before the railhead reached Nairobi, the central economic activity for the young town had been big game hunting. By 1900, the town was a single street, driven by commerce as Asian railway builders settled in tin shacks on the plain. Beyond that street “lay the swamp where frogs lived every night at dusk they used to bark out their vibrant chorus and spread a cloak of deep, incessant sound over the little township” as Elspeth Huxley writes in White Mans Country.

On 18 May 1906, Sir James Sadler, commissioner for the Protectorate, wrote to Winston Churchill, Undersecretary of State for the Colonies, complaining about the emergence of Kenya’s capital: “…at the commencement of the 1902 plague…the then-commissioner, Sir Charles Elliot, was strongly of the opinion that the site, which had been selected three years before by the manager of the Uganda Railway without consulting medical or sanitary authorities, was, with its inadequate drainage, unsuitable for a large and growing population. [It is a] depression with a very thin layer of soil or rock. The soil was water-logged during the greater part of the year.”

The letter further reminds Churchill of the 1902 recommendation to move the city “to some point on the hills.” Sadler told Churchill this was a critical point in Nairobi’s history; that his predecessor had said: “…when the rainy season commenced, the whole town is practically transformed into a swamp.”

So clearly, the problems of Nairobi did not start yesterday or in 2013 when UK became president, then add to the fact that Nairobi residents are building everywhere even the so called suburbs are all cemented the ground is no longer permeable, so where will that water go to? Elsewhere in the civilized world, drainage is the first thing to be put in place, here, we build a whole 70 story building, then start thinking about roads and drains....

Back to the dam, no doubt that it was designed by some engineer from "The", i doubt if any maintenance was made.
#37 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2018 1:03:50 AM

radiomast wrote:

Yes we are a corrupt den of people seeking to cut corners in everything we do. That is the problem we need to solve first.

1. Nairobi was never meant to have the number of people it has today 3+Millions is a disaster by itself. To understand the root cause of the problems experienced in Nrb, let me take you to 1900

Before the railhead reached Nairobi, the central economic activity for the young town had been big game hunting. By 1900, the town was a single street, driven by commerce as Asian railway builders settled in tin shacks on the plain. Beyond that street “lay the swamp where frogs lived every night at dusk they used to bark out their vibrant chorus and spread a cloak of deep, incessant sound over the little township” as Elspeth Huxley writes in White Mans Country.

On 18 May 1906, Sir James Sadler, commissioner for the Protectorate, wrote to Winston Churchill, Undersecretary of State for the Colonies, complaining about the emergence of Kenya’s capital: “…at the commencement of the 1902 plague…the then-commissioner, Sir Charles Elliot, was strongly of the opinion that the site, which had been selected three years before by the manager of the Uganda Railway without consulting medical or sanitary authorities, was, with its inadequate drainage, unsuitable for a large and growing population. [It is a] depression with a very thin layer of soil or rock. The soil was water-logged during the greater part of the year.”

The letter further reminds Churchill of the 1902 recommendation to move the city “to some point on the hills.” Sadler told Churchill this was a critical point in Nairobi’s history; that his predecessor had said: “…when the rainy season commenced, the whole town is practically transformed into a swamp.”

So clearly, the problems of Nairobi did not start yesterday or in 2013 when UK became president, then add to the fact that Nairobi residents are building everywhere even the so called suburbs are all cemented the ground is no longer permeable, so where will that water go to? Elsewhere in the civilized world, drainage is the first thing to be put in place, here, we build a whole 70 story building, then start thinking about roads and drains....

Back to the dam, no doubt that it was designed by some engineer from "The", i doubt if any maintenance was made.

Good observation. However this was not the view during Governor Odhiambo's reign, what changed? Competency bar lowered smile
#38 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2018 5:05:57 AM

radiomast wrote:

Good observation. However this was not the view during Governor Odhiambo's reign, what changed? Competency bar lowered smile

I actually voted for Odhiambo against Baba yao because back then he had that PK talk and well you all know what happened. He couldnt even pay workers. I openly supported him here http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=26346 and http://m.wazua.co.ke/for...sts&t=34107&p=1 . I gave him time but alishindwa
#39 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2018 6:44:56 AM

Who wants to bet that nothing will happen to Patel? Who will bet against?

#40 Posted : Friday, May 11, 2018 7:34:42 AM

Who wants to bet that nothing will happen to Patel? Who will bet against?

What should happen and why? Kiulizo tu? What happemed to Kengen - Garissa residents when kiambere released its water?