wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

Explosive new book: Kenya looters 1963-2017
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 7:02:39 PM

I have been away reading this 600+ page book. Truth or sensationalism?

https://kenyatalk.s3.ama...b3c8c21b970f23aaee4.pdf

#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 7:11:02 PM

Sensationalism tupu
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 7:38:27 PM

Sensationalism tupu

Umesoma?

Seen some historical errors (like reference to Waiyaki wa Hinga and Koitalel arap Samoei as mzungu appointed paramount chiefs) but overall it's an okay easy read.(so far)
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 7:41:44 PM

Sensationalism tupu

Umesoma?

Seen some historical errors (like reference to Waiyaki wa Hinga and Koitalel arap Samoei as mzungu appointed paramount chiefs) but overall it's an okay easy read.(so far)

Don't worry about Murchr. After Hardwood was not paid, Murchr has become the resident mouthpiece for all things corruption. In fact if he supports you in a topic, jiulize maswali.

The Bible according to Murchr

Chapter 1

No one in the current gov't is corrupt. It's rarry mandowos fault.

#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 7:51:47 PM

Sensationalism tupu

Umesoma?

Don't worry about Murchr. After Hardwood was not paid, Murchr has become the resident mouthpiece for all things corruption. In fact if he supports you in a topic, jiulize maswali.

Chapter 1

When you see someone who has been hiding in the US writing about SGR, you just doubt everything about the writing. I will go through it but signs of sensationalism are quite evident. Ati Koitalel Laughing out loudly
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 8:03:26 PM

Sensationalism tupu

Umesoma?

Chapter 1

When you see someone who has been hiding in the US writing about SGR, you just doubt everything about the writing. I will go through it but signs of sensationalism are quite evident. Ati Koitalel Laughing out loudly

I don't get the gist of your argument. Do you mean to say that this guy is just like Miguna Miguna. He is not a Kenyan and should be deported at night by cops who don't even have bus fare?

What he has written is fake because he is not a Kenyan citizen?

#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 8:05:56 PM

Sensationalism tupu

Umesoma?

Chapter 1

I don't get the gist of your argument. Do you mean to say that this guy is just like Miguna Miguna. He is not a Kenyan and should be deported at night by cops who don't even have bus fare?

Stop twisting. Am just saying this guy is no point of authority, his writing is based on hearsay and political propaganda. We need to move away from having politicians manipulating our thinking.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 8:15:12 PM

Sensationalism tupu

Umesoma?

Chapter 1

Stop twisting. Am just saying this guy is no point of authority, his writing is based on hearsay and political propaganda. We need to move away from having politicians manipulating our thinking.

Me, twisting?

I'm not Itumbi. I hear that now he's camping at DP's office for the future.

I just ask questions that you never seem to answer.

What is point of authority? By which standards do we gauge the authority? Murchrs?

You have suggested that the guy is from the US. Taking the Sonko route of "cartels". It means nothing other than stoking emotions.

Question you should be answering is.

Which part of his book do you disagree with? Give evidence to the contrary.

Thus far, this US meddling non Kenyan seems to be the only one with facts on the table. You, as Murchr, want us to see the dancing on the floor, not the background music.

Apana boss.

Which part of his book do you disagree with? Otherwise, that book, as it is written. Is the AUTHORITY.

Kapish?

#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 8:20:33 PM

Sensationalism tupu

Umesoma?

Chapter 1

Me, twisting?

What is point of authority? By which standards do we gauge the authority? Murchrs?

You have suggested that the guy is from the US. Taking the Sonko route of "cartels". It means nothing other than stoking emotions.

Thus far, this US meddling non Kenyan seems to be the only one with facts on the table. You, as Murchr, want us to see the dancing on the floor, not the background music.

Apana boss.

Which part of his book do you disagree with? Otherwise, that book, as it is written. Is the AUTHORITY.

Kapish?

Sasa angalia umeanza compositions and bringing up people who are not involved. Point of authority is someone like James Comey. Someone in the mix. Hearsay ni porojo tu
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 8:25:34 PM

Sensationalism tupu

Umesoma?

Chapter 1

Me, twisting?

Apana boss.

Kapish?

Sasa angalia umeanza compositions and bringing up people who are not involved. Point of authority is someone like James Comey. Someone in the mix. Hearsay ni porojo tu

Wewe andika yako tusome.

In the meantime, we shall read this one.

#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 10:02:29 PM

Nimeona
Each one of the Kenyan presidents – together with their families and cronies – amassed enormous personal wealth through means which were not entirely lucid or honest. They used their positions to snatch large pieces of prime public land, raided public coffers, built luxury mansions, bought expensive personal items, and banked their loot overseas away from prying eyes

and smiled... are people going to get deemed as having being "dishonest" and at the same time working "within the law"? This is what tires me about Kenyans - we prefer to use subjective things such as "honesty" e.t.c. instead of THE LAW, REGULATIONS, PROCEDURES. We will never fix this thing until we change that.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 10:35:23 PM

Sensationalism tupu

I agree. Sad that he puts all the blame for Kenya's problems on the okuyo. Even the mess in the nyayo error is placed on the okuyo. By the way who is the Kamisi (petticoat) guy who wrote the book coz he is very petty? He surely lives up to his name.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, May 08, 2018 10:55:59 PM

Nimeona
Each one of the Kenyan presidents – together with their families and cronies – amassed enormous personal wealth through means which were not entirely lucid or honest. They used their positions to snatch large pieces of prime public land, raided public coffers, built luxury mansions, bought expensive personal items, and banked their loot overseas away from prying eyes

and smiled... are people going to get deemed as having being "dishonest" and at the same time working "within the law"? This is what tires me about Kenyans - we prefer to use subjective things such as "honesty" e.t.c. instead of THE LAW, REGULATIONS, PROCEDURES. We will never fix this thing until we change that.

@hardwood, have you paid the author for the book?

#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2018 7:27:59 AM

Sensationalism tupu

I agree. Sad that he puts all the blame for Kenya's problems on the okuyo. Even the mess in the nyayo error is placed on the okuyo. By the way who is the Kamisi (petticoat) guy who wrote the book coz he is very petty? He surely lives up to his name.

d'oh! d'oh! young man when were you born . Hon Joe Khamisi was a long time member of Parliament and previously worked in civil service KBC /VoK or something
#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2018 7:31:31 AM

#16 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2018 7:33:20 AM

#17 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2018 7:48:28 AM

Nimeona

@hardwood, have you paid the author for the book?

these are the types of things I am talking about unatoa pdf and you complain that people are dishonest about it - the same people applied a different set of goggles on the peeling back the mask book
#18 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2018 9:27:26 AM

Hehe.....the way the book describes Moi. Pg 129, 133

For most of his third 5-year term, Kenyatta’s health was failing and the
inevitable was expected at any given moment. As he weakened, the Kikuyu
political barons and captains of industry became increasingly alarmed after
sensing that Moi, “a man one of them described as ‘having posho (corn meal)
for brains,
’ might become president.

The man who was ignored and often humiliated by a section of high-ranking
Kikuyu elites and dismissed by the
British government as “shallow and rather unreliable
,” was sworn in as the
acting President by Chief Justice Sir James Wicks.

The British who had been watching Moi all along did not have much
respect for him partly because of his “precarious hold on the loyalties of his
own people (the Kalenjin), his incompetence as an administrator, and his
intellectual shortcomings…... "he is very unsophisticated by world standards.
In some ways, he remains a primitive from the outback
.”

While Kenyatta left professionals relatively free to handle issues of
national governance so long as they did not challenge his overwhelming
powers…Moi was intrusive in the running of government affairs. He insisted
on knowing everything taking place in government ministries. He was farmer number
one; and teacher number one. While Kenyatta ‘killed’ KANU because he saw
no need for it, Moi built it into a strong machine of intimidation and
manipulation.

"I call on all Ministers and Assistant Ministers and every other
person to sing like parrots,” he remarked sternly. “During Mzee
Kenyatta’s period, I persistently sang the Kenyatta tune until some
people said: ‘This fellow has nothing to say except to sing for
Kenyatta.’ “Therefore, you ought to sing the song I sing, If I put a
full stop you should put a full stop,” he said in 1984.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2018 9:39:32 AM

On ohuru....the book says:

In a 2009 diplomatic cable, the American Ambassador
Ranneberger informed Washington that Uhuru “appeared to be working
towards a presidential run in 2012.”

Ranneberger noted “several major strengths” in Uhuru. "Uhuru is bright and charming, even charismatic,” the
envoy told his seniors in Washington. “He is enormously wealthy, and
therefore has not had to engage in corruption".
#20 Posted : Wednesday, May 09, 2018 9:50:40 AM

On Jomo the books says....

In England, Kenyatta was identified with great Pan-Africanists of the
time like W. E. B. Du Bois, George Padmore, among others, and had the
charisma, force of personality and dedication to push the cause of equality
and justice for all. His association with Kwame Nkrumah of Ghana and
Kamuzu Banda of Malawi, helped reshape – at least to a certain degree – his
political thinking.

He engaged in street protests and attended almost every
political rally that took place in London to agitate for Africa’s emancipation.
Kenyatta was among those who prepared the landmark Fifth Pan-
African Congress in Manchester in 1945 which demanded an end to colonial
rule and abolition of racial discrimination.

He made one trip home in 1930
but returned to England in 1931 where he stayed until 1946. By the time of
his final return to Kenya, Kenyatta’s popularity had soared. He joined the
Kenya African Union (KAU) and toured areas beyond the Kikuyu enclave,
addressing public meetings in Mombasa, Nyanza, and the Rift Valley until
his arrest on 21 October 1952 on charges of managing Mau.

Jomo Kenyatta was stern but jolly, the kind of person any man would
want to have as a father-in-law. He was dignified, smartly-dressed and had
the demeanor of a ‘king.’ After becoming President, his trademark was a
fresh red rose and a badge of a cockerel, the symbol of the ruling party
KANU, neatly pinned on the lapel of his designer suit jacket. He laughed
loud and heavy and when seated leaned on his cane, his big ring glittering in
the sunshine.

In Africa and the world, the first Kenyan President was viewed as a Pan-
Africanist rubble-rouser and freedom fighter. At home Kenyans called him
“Mzee” (Wise Old Man), a title of reverence reserved only for respected old
men. He had a commanding presence and poise, and a charisma that was