Hon. Kenneth Stanley Njindo Matiba
#141 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2018 7:22:59 PM

Is it fashionable in Kenya to be hypocritical?

We who were born at that time know exactly how some people who were in that pew treated Matiba. Some of us more than you can imagine.

Now we see the same people waxing lyrical on how Matiba was a great man. These same people were only tooooo willing to sing "fimbo ya nyayo".

Now look at them. With no shame. Then when their names are dropped, some people start talking about "being tasteless".

What is tasteless is being used by a governement to terminate the life of another. What is silly is pretending that people don't know. That they should never know. That they should never say that you were a useless person some years back.

This is just kionjo tu. A lot of people are going to start being named and shamed in public.

Malema just showed Africans how to deal with people who because they have power on Tuesday, expect us to katow to them for their bad behavior.

RIP Matiba and pole to the family.

To the others who are busy trying to change history on wazua, tunangoja yako ili tuwaeleze jamii zako ulivyo kua mtu asiye na adhili njema.

hakuna your tatas!!

Let me ask...do you lose your locus standi to talk about the good aspects of a person just because you didn't agree with them politically?
Let's assume that the person in question did something you never agreed with - does that define him?

Jus coz I disagree with you today doesn't mean kesho or 20 yrs from now I won't be seeing your point!

Kibaki and Biwott were beneficiaries of Matiba's "madness". They formed parties! At that point they must've seen his point!

We will all be discussed too, kwaneee???

ohhh come on!!!!

These people did not take his passport like Miguna.

They tried to kill him. When that did not succeed, they finished, not him, his family's businesses.

These Kanu people you love to wake up at 4am for are very bad people. I don't need to say it, even Satan is aware.

What's happening now is that the common man is being told exactly how bad some of these people really were.

Imagine someone poisoning you, taking your wealth. Then the asshole has the audacity to come to your funeral to sing how great you were.

In other countries, it's legal to shoot such hypocrites.

They wanted to kill him? kwani how hard is it to kill a guy?

I wouldn't know. But the wazua police brutality support group can enlighten us.

Tumetoka mbali sana na enzi za nyayo. With cops beating up Njoya in a church, students being sent home for years, whispering in bars.

It is important to remind those who might want to take us back that they won't be joining us for some events. Tunawaona na tunangoja yao.

God Bless the Matiba family. I have no way to imagine the pain that was inflicted on them by some of those people who were crying the loudest.

#142 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2018 7:24:35 PM

We who were born at that time know exactly how some people who were in that pew treated Matiba. Some of us more than you can imagine.

Now we see the same people waxing lyrical on how Matiba was a great man. These same people were only tooooo willing to sing "fimbo ya nyayo".

Now look at them. With no shame. Then when their names are dropped, some people start talking about "being tasteless".

What is tasteless is being used by a governement to terminate the life of another. What is silly is pretending that people don't know. That they should never know. That they should never say that you were a useless person some years back.

This is just kionjo tu. A lot of people are going to start being named and shamed in public.

Malema just showed Africans how to deal with people who because they have power on Tuesday, expect us to katow to them for their bad behavior.

To the others who are busy trying to change history on wazua, tunangoja yako ili tuwaeleze jamii zako ulivyo kua mtu asiye na adhili njema.

hakuna your tatas!!

Let me ask...do you lose your locus standi to talk about the good aspects of a person just because you didn't agree with them politically?
Let's assume that the person in question did something you never agreed with - does that define him?

Jus coz I disagree with you today doesn't mean kesho or 20 yrs from now I won't be seeing your point!

Kibaki and Biwott were beneficiaries of Matiba's "madness". They formed parties! At that point they must've seen his point!

ohhh come on!!!!

They tried to kill him. When that did not succeed, they finished, not him, his family's businesses.

These Kanu people you love to wake up at 4am for are very bad people. I don't need to say it, even Satan is aware.

What's happening now is that the common man is being told exactly how bad some of these people really were.

Imagine someone poisoning you, taking your wealth. Then the asshole has the audacity to come to your funeral to sing how great you were.

And with poisoning you, they also hack your wife with pangas on head, and they cant say sorry, warogi kabisa, if they cant say sorry, wasomwe basi! I learnt a lot, i didnt know all this, good public education.
A New Kenya
Kili
#143 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2018 7:35:49 PM

I must agree with you on the suitability of Masinde Muliro of Kimilili .Principled & well educated.My father used to tell me in 1975,he(Muliro) was the only minister who dared to vote for adoption of the report on the death of JM.Very few people would defy Kenyatta those days.But remember he died before the elections and even if he had lived,i doubt Jaramogi as Chair of the original Ford would have allowed his deputy to carry the mantle
radiomast wrote:
Kili wrote:
Those who remember Matibas homecoming-from Rondon in 1992 will attest that it would have put MKs one in 2002 or even RAOs more recent one to shame.Until that point Genyans did not know the magnitude of his illness as his handlers had marketed him as fit as a fiddle-through Pius Nyamoras'Society' Magazine and Njeru Gatabakis 'Finance'-whose newsrooms the police would raid every other week.Good as Matiba may have been he would not have in opinion made a good President due to incapacitation.Age was taking its toll on Ford Kenya's Jaramogi too.I think MK was still our best bet then

By MK I hope you are not referring to Mwai Kibs. The man who contributed nothing to the fight for multipartism but jumped on the bandwagon when he realized KANU had become unsalable in central.

If Kenyan leaders could put pride aside, they would have selected the best candidate who would have beaten Moi. To me the best candidate at the time was Muliro. Looking back I think Muliro was dispatched because he was the one candidate who could have challenged Moi in the future. His death was very mysterious.

Matiba had become completely incoherent by 1992. Age was not on the side of JOO.

Had one of the heroes of the second liberation taken power in 1992 or even 1997, especially MM, I think Kenya would have already made significant steps towards addressing the issues that are plaguing us today namely corruption, ethnic tension etc.

Unfortunately we are still being ruled by the original KANU. All our presidents thus far have been people who are still entrenched in the old establishment and have a vested interest in maintaining the status quo.

Liv
#144 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2018 7:39:33 PM

hakuna your tatas!!

ohhh come on!!!!

I wouldn't know. But the wazua police brutality support group can enlighten us.

Tumetoka mbali sana na enzi za nyayo. With cops beating up Njoya in a church, students being sent home for years, whispering in bars.

It is important to remind those who might want to take us back that they won't be joining us for some events. Tunawaona na tunangoja yao.

God Bless the Matiba family. I have no way to imagine the pain that was inflicted on them by some of those people who were crying the loudest.

I find myself agreeing with Alma here... a very rare thing.
limanika
#145 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2018 7:43:02 PM

hakuna your tatas!!

ohhh come on!!!!

It may sound surprising but i want to 'hypothesize'something -Whereas the despots had the power to finish anybody if they wanted, it is Kibaki who actually saved matiba .blessing in disguise kind of thing...Why? Some time after kibaki resigned from govt on that xmas day 1991, the despots realized that an opposition candidate could not win when both matiba and kibaki were running..so they let him be released from prison, and also let him go for treatment abroad. And so Matiba survived. They also loosened abit and gave kibaki and odinga some space - for the same reason.

And the infamous kibaki saying about mugumo tree---he may never speak for himself but we know he didnt mean a thing...it was just a survival tactic..during those dark days, it only took 'perception' to be sent to makueni.

That said, the real reason the despots allowed multiparty-sim was pressure by america and the withholding of aid by the then so called bretton woods including international mother and father ...coz if there was no such pressure, they would have killed off all the trouble makers easily...But then, it took the 'noise' matiba and others made for the big brother to realize there was big problem and thus apply the pressure. So much so, if matiba had kept queit i think multipartysim would have delayed for over 10yrs, and perhaps not have happened at all. Coz it took the convergence of pressure by political activists and the global events of 1990's- (the fall of communism, end of cold war etc) to shift the scales against the despots.
#146 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2018 7:50:16 PM

After poisoning and hacking, they watch the banks snatch your things, and then start refusing with your compensation etc, I agree with Orengo, Hon. Matiba can only be rewarded in heaven, a true disciple of Christ, and such are always killed, given the nasty comments am hearing from some kumbuffs here, Its only heaven where we shall be free of some evil stinking breaths. Pray
A New Kenya
#147 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2018 8:11:22 PM

After poisoning and hacking, they watch the banks snatch your things, and then start refusing with your compensation etc, I agree with Orengo, Hon. Matiba can only be rewarded in heaven, a true disciple of Christ, and such are always killed, given the nasty comments am hearing from some kumbuffs here, Its only heaven where we shall be free of some evil stinking breaths. Pray

I agree with you and @alma (see my comment up there supporting shaming of hypocrites). That said, I have great respect for Mrs Matiba for standing beside him all this time. She has seen it all.
limanika
#148 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2018 8:24:17 PM

Kili wrote:
I must agree with you on the suitability of Masinde Muliro of Kimilili .Principled & well educated.My father used to tell me in 1975,he(Muliro) was the only minister who dared to vote for adoption of the report on the death of JM.Very few people would defy Kenyatta those days.But remember he died before the elections and even if he had lived,i doubt Jaramogi as Chair of the original Ford would have allowed his deputy to carry the mantle
radiomast wrote:
Kili wrote:
Those who remember Matibas homecoming-from Rondon in 1992 will attest that it would have put MKs one in 2002 or even RAOs more recent one to shame.Until that point Genyans did not know the magnitude of his illness as his handlers had marketed him as fit as a fiddle-through Pius Nyamoras'Society' Magazine and Njeru Gatabakis 'Finance'-whose newsrooms the police would raid every other week.Good as Matiba may have been he would not have in opinion made a good President due to incapacitation.Age was taking its toll on Ford Kenya's Jaramogi too.I think MK was still our best bet then

By MK I hope you are not referring to Mwai Kibs. The man who contributed nothing to the fight for multipartism but jumped on the bandwagon when he realized KANU had become unsalable in central.

If Kenyan leaders could put pride aside, they would have selected the best candidate who would have beaten Moi. To me the best candidate at the time was Muliro. Looking back I think Muliro was dispatched because he was the one candidate who could have challenged Moi in the future. His death was very mysterious.

Matiba had become completely incoherent by 1992. Age was not on the side of JOO.

Had one of the heroes of the second liberation taken power in 1992 or even 1997, especially MM, I think Kenya would have already made significant steps towards addressing the issues that are plaguing us today namely corruption, ethnic tension etc.

Unfortunately we are still being ruled by the original KANU. All our presidents thus far have been people who are still entrenched in the old establishment and have a vested interest in maintaining the status quo.

Muliro had worked very hard to re-unite jaramogi and matiba...when he was almost succeding, they did what they did....

And,Matiba health worsened after loosing the election coz of the trauma. Otherwise he could have managed to recover (and much faster) if he had won. But then, the despots would never had allowed him or any of the other opposition candidates to win...at whatever cost
#149 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2018 8:30:29 PM

You mean kina Kalonzo and Kibaki did all those things to Ken?

I thought the mzee who 'shamed' them at All Saints yesterday said their crime was denouncing Matiba and his call for Saba Saba in the National Assembly?

Hao wengine mnasema ni kina nani? HEDAM?
#150 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2018 8:53:55 PM

I agree with you and @alma (see my comment up there supporting shaming of hypocrites). That said, I have great respect for Mrs Matiba for standing beside him all this time. She has seen it all.

Unfortunately for some of these people, the days of singing "xxx was an honest man in your funeral are gone".

People honestly can't wait to pop some viceroy when some guys go. They are taking too long.

Today we are talking about those that attended. By the time they are getting old, we shall not be waiting for them to die. We shall say exactly who they were when they had power.

It is time to call a spade a spade. I for one will never vote for anyone who was ever a member of Kanu. Hata nilipwe ngapi.

#151 Posted : Thursday, April 26, 2018 9:31:49 PM

gk wrote:
Fullykenyan wrote:
Kalonzo the Mellon was the man KANU called upon to lead the attack against Matiba in 1990. Send us a signal 'mama'.

Has he been here(Riara Ridge) in shiny new suit and crying louder than us?

It is politics guys, stop being personal.
Matiba also hated moi because he was not a Kikuyu.
All Kikuyu activists lied low when Kibaki and Uhuru took over power.

Isn't it interesting how everything takes a tribal tone in Kenya. Haki I had not even thought Kalonzo was a kamba when I posted but just one of the now modern day 'freedom fighter'. How tables turn. Pole if we touched a raw nerve but mellon just initiated, John Keen, Bob Jalang’o, Kaparo and baba Jimmy were there too. All tribes were well represented.

Methinks it was tasteless to read out names of people who supposedly opposed Matiba during his fight for multipartyism?
If Matiba was a true democrat then he must have appreciated that others were entitled to air contrary opinions too.
To call out names of people on one's funeral (some of whom are dead or were present) merely because they disagreed with the deceased-as if he were an infallible saint- is the height of arrogance.
If Matiba had a grudge against his opposers in life, it was, like for us all, his own to carry or dispose off and anyone else arrogating to themselves that responsibility is a cheap con!
It's fair to record that Mabita only saw the light because he had lost favour with Moi yet there're lots of other people who had been agitating for pluralism much earlier and for longer.

Well said @gk. I'm sure Matiba forgave what was to forgive and forgot. His win for Kenya outweighs his opposers. But in the spirit of democracy, whomever wants to see it otherwise is ok too.

#152 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2018 6:59:47 AM

Nani hakuwa KANU? Please! Its all about when you left KANU and why?
#153 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2018 10:39:55 AM

Our new crop of leaders wont have joined KANU at all. The Sonkos, Alfred Keters, Alfred Mutuas, Jaguars etc

But all current big boys at the national stage were KANU men
#154 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2018 11:32:30 AM

Just because you joined, doesn't mean everyone did. I was eligible to join. Actually to get something I had to join. I refused after I saw someone being carried from a bar by young people like hardwood in red shirts. We never saw that old man again.

Those that joined agreed to sleep with the devil and do the devils bidding.

Before they come back to humanity, they must repent. Otherwise, they shall always be the devils children.

I don't need to tell them that. They know. That's why they continue stealing a lot thinking that they will bribe their way to heaven.

#155 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2018 11:33:14 AM

Our new crop of leaders wont have joined KANU at all. The Sonkos, Alfred Keters, Alfred Mutuas, Jaguars etc

But all current big boys at the national stage were KANU men

yes...
radiomast
#156 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2018 4:21:29 PM

Its more than that. Some people benefited significantly from KANU and are still benefiting from the KANU legacy.

Others were in KANU but at some point stood up and defied the powers that be. This includes the likes of Muliro, Koigi, Shikuku, Oneko, JOO, Kaggia et al.

And some people were never in KANU. You can make the case that many of the original 2nd liberation were never in KANU including James Orengo , Mukhisa Kituyi, Kiraitu Murungi, Anyang Nyongo, Muite, Imanyara................
Ryko
#157 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2018 4:32:47 PM

This story of "cremation" seems weirdo...

Yaani unaamua kuiva
I work so I can afford the amount of alcohol required to continue going to work
#158 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2018 4:33:27 PM

radiomast wrote:

Its more than that. Some people benefited significantly from KANU and are still benefiting from the KANU legacy.

Others were in KANU but at some point stood up and defied the powers that be. This includes the likes of Muliro, Koigi, Shikuku, Oneko, JOO, Kaggia et al.

And some people were never in KANU. You can make the case that many of the original 2nd liberation were never in KANU including James Orengo , Mukhisa Kituyi, Kiraitu Murungi, Anyang Nyongo, Muite, Imanyara................

Nope. You are wrong. They were all at one time kanu members.
#159 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2018 4:37:00 PM

Ryko wrote:
This story of "cremation" seems weirdo...

Yaani unaamua kuiva

Ashes to ashes, dust to dust.....
#160 Posted : Friday, April 27, 2018 5:07:05 PM

radiomast wrote:

Nope. You are wrong. They were all at one time kanu members.

When? I know Orengo was an MP in 1980s but others have no record of been in KANU