20 Pages«<1011121314>»
Sonko sets a high bar for Governors
#221 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2018 4:28:04 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Gathige wrote:
Nairobians have to learn to live with "what" they elected.

https://www.nation.co.ke...4054-v7kkm6z/index.html

The madhouse that is Sonko’s City Hall office

Sonko’s typical day begins at 5am, or thereabouts, depending on how late he stayed up the previous night. When he arrives in the office, he is brought breakfast from a nearby hotel, his favourite sausage and eggs being part of the helping.

From 10 am, most of his meetings are punctuated with glasses of Cognac, his favourite brand. And, being a master of camouflage, next to the glass is always a package of apple juice. You can hardly tell he is in fact enjoying his whisky unless you’re an insider.

Occasionally, a number of Members of the County Assembly (MCAs) join in for a drink as the day wears on.

“What got me worried when I started working for him is the idea of drinking in the office. Yet interestingly, his confidence level increases and the tone changes once he has taken considerable amounts of the drink,” a senior officer said.

COMPLEX MAN

Multiple interviews with current and former City Hall staffers, some of whom started with him as Makadara lawmaker, revealed a complex personality that may appear easygoing with the masses but hard to please at work.

“When you take, say, 10 issues to him, by the time you are on the third item, he has lost concentration. He will begin checking his WhatsApp messages or log into Facebook for updates on things that are trending. And all his handlers know this. The moment you see that happen, you will be wasting your time if you continue talking to him,” an individual familiar with Sonko’s operations told the Sunday Nation.

“He has no regard for procedure, process or protocol. He does what he wants, when he wants, how he wants it and with whom he wants it,” another aide said.

“There was a day we were meant to meet an ambassador in town but, a few minutes to the agreed time, we suddenly saw him live on Facebook from Mukuru slums. It was chaos,” one of the handlers recalls.

One of Sonko’s ministers told the Sunday Nation in confidence that cabinet sittings are never without drama.

“In the middle of a serious discussion, he may remember that he was to send someone money, picks his phone and starts giving instructions to the person on the other end. You have to wait for him to finish,” said the CEC.

No wonder the starter of the thread aptly named it"Sonko sets a high bar for Governors" And he is the bartender in chief of the Governors Club

Hey! This is berow the mbeot. How come no one complains about the imbiber in Chief who seats in state house?

As long as Sonko delivers I say let him have his Konyagi. Kibaki was a drinker. Moi was not. Case closed

I also recall Kidero was sold to us as Mr clean, competent, honest, holy .... You name it, solution for Nairobi and see where he left us.

There's a click of Kikuyu leadership that was really disappointed when their tribes mate did not get the healm at City Hall (the night runners). What they do not realize is that Uhuru is running city hall by proxy and in fighting Sonko they are directly fighting Uhuru.
#222 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2018 6:09:56 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Gathige wrote:

Sonko’s typical day begins at 5am, or thereabouts, depending on how late he stayed up the previous night. When he arrives in the office, he is brought breakfast from a nearby hotel, his favourite sausage and eggs being part of the helping.

From 10 am, most of his meetings are punctuated with glasses of Cognac, his favourite brand. And, being a master of camouflage, next to the glass is always a package of apple juice. You can hardly tell he is in fact enjoying his whisky unless you’re an insider.

Occasionally, a number of Members of the County Assembly (MCAs) join in for a drink as the day wears on.

“What got me worried when I started working for him is the idea of drinking in the office. Yet interestingly, his confidence level increases and the tone changes once he has taken considerable amounts of the drink,” a senior officer said.

COMPLEX MAN

Multiple interviews with current and former City Hall staffers, some of whom started with him as Makadara lawmaker, revealed a complex personality that may appear easygoing with the masses but hard to please at work.

“When you take, say, 10 issues to him, by the time you are on the third item, he has lost concentration. He will begin checking his WhatsApp messages or log into Facebook for updates on things that are trending. And all his handlers know this. The moment you see that happen, you will be wasting your time if you continue talking to him,” an individual familiar with Sonko’s operations told the Sunday Nation.

“He has no regard for procedure, process or protocol. He does what he wants, when he wants, how he wants it and with whom he wants it,” another aide said.

“There was a day we were meant to meet an ambassador in town but, a few minutes to the agreed time, we suddenly saw him live on Facebook from Mukuru slums. It was chaos,” one of the handlers recalls.

One of Sonko’s ministers told the Sunday Nation in confidence that cabinet sittings are never without drama.

“In the middle of a serious discussion, he may remember that he was to send someone money, picks his phone and starts giving instructions to the person on the other end. You have to wait for him to finish,” said the CEC.

No wonder the starter of the thread aptly named it"Sonko sets a high bar for Governors" And he is the bartender in chief of the Governors Club

Hey! This is berow the mbeot. How come no one complains about the imbiber in Chief who seats in state house?

As long as Sonko delivers I say let him have his Konyagi. Kibaki was a drinker. Moi was not. Case closed

I also recall Kidero was sold to us as Mr clean, competent, honest, holy .... You name it, solution for Nairobi and see where he left us.

There's a click of Kikuyu leadership that was really disappointed when their tribes mate did not get the healm at City Hall (the night runners). What they do not realize is that Uhuru is running city hall by proxy and in fighting Sonko they are directly fighting Uhuru.

They know, but their focus is 2022, i think they assume UMK will be toothless by then.
#223 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2018 6:28:11 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Gathige wrote:

COMPLEX MAN

They know, but their focus is 2022, i think they assume UMK will be toothless by then.

Uhuru will call the shots in GEMA land in 2022 no one else has the "it". Anyone thinking that Kamwana is retiring is dreaming. Kamanda is finished, the Nyeri MP is suffering from SMS he makes noise jumping up and down to get noticed (classic Napoleon syndrome).
#224 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2018 6:36:03 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Gathige wrote:

COMPLEX MAN

Uhuru will call the shots in GEMA land in 2022 no one else has the "it". Anyone thinking that Kamwana is retiring is dreaming. Kamanda is finished, the Nyeri MP is suffering from SMS he makes noise jumping up and down to get noticed (classic Napoleon syndrome).

Wrong. Ohuru will be a spent force. And with ohuruto having eaten their boflo 50/50, there wont be any debts to pay.
#225 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2018 6:39:29 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Gathige wrote:

COMPLEX MAN

Wrong. Ohuru will be a spent force. And with ohuruto having eaten their boflo 50/50, there wont be any debts to pay.

Wazua lives 2022
#226 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2018 10:05:01 AM

Lol

City Hall nominee for chief finance officer admitted to lacking experience for the job and struggled with basic accounting terms during vetting.

Mary Nyambura Maina was taken to task to explain how she will preside over City Hall’s budget that runs into billions of shillings despite never having handled a budget of Sh1 million.

She said she supervises two clerks on her present job at Kenya Power.

“As much as I do not have the experience, I will follow the laid down rules. I plan to immerse myself into the job and learn in the process,” she said on Wednesday while appearing before Nairobi County Assembly’s Finance, Budget and Appropriation Committee.
#227 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2018 12:46:43 PM

Lol

City Hall nominee for chief finance officer admitted to lacking experience for the job and struggled with basic accounting terms during vetting.

Mary Nyambura Maina was taken to task to explain how she will preside over City Hall’s budget that runs into billions of shillings despite never having handled a budget of Sh1 million.

She said she supervises two clerks on her present job at Kenya Power.

“As much as I do not have the experience, I will follow the laid down rules. I plan to immerse myself into the job and learn in the process,” she said on Wednesday while appearing before Nairobi County Assembly’s Finance, Budget and Appropriation Committee.

Any relations with Kabura of the NYS cash in gunny bags saga?
#228 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2018 5:11:55 PM

Getting crazier by the day......

<<Sonko to take 300 hawkers, matatu drivers to Rwanda for benchmarking>>

https://www.the-star.co....or-benchmarking_c1746652
#229 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 10:48:33 AM

Iganamagana
#230 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 11:18:40 AM

Can the situation really get worse than this?
#231 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 2:58:03 PM

Iganamagana wrote:

Yes it can, easily.
#232 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 4:32:49 PM

These makaratasi ya kufunga nyama reporters think they will get more sales from witch-hunting Laughing out loudly . Its not even one year yet and every week there's some gas on Sonko. Alas! COLLINS OMULO relax, Nairobi problems were not to disappear in a day. At least you aint dying of cholera
#233 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 4:39:18 PM

Meanwhile this is how they steal aka eat at City hall

wukan
#234 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2018 11:07:08 AM

These makaratasi ya kufunga nyama reporters think they will get more sales from witch-hunting Laughing out loudly . Its not even one year yet and every week there's some gas on Sonko. Alas! COLLINS OMULO relax, Nairobi problems were not to disappear in a day. At least you aint dying of cholera

7 months into office Sonko should by now have a strong working plan. Sonko needs to move away from the patch work mentality which IMHO he is incapable of. At a personal level i'm getting to that point of crafting an exit strategy from Nairobi.
Iganamagana
#235 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2018 11:51:52 AM

Iganamagana wrote:

Yes it can, easily.

I was hoping we were at the lowest and there would be no more sinking. This is sad but the voters dug themselves into the hole. Time to enjoy the mud!
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#236 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2018 11:54:40 AM

stop silly reasoning.what has sonko done for the first 100 days nobody is saying he should solve all the problems i a weak but its clear he has done nothing.he'snot called a chokora governor for nothing
#237 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2018 1:18:28 PM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:

stop silly reasoning.what has sonko done for the first 100 days nobody is saying he should solve all the problems i a weak but its clear he has done nothing.he'snot called a chokora governor for nothing

What has any Gov done?
#238 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2018 2:00:11 PM

I think Kidero was more in control than Sonko....scary!
Fullykenyan
#239 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2018 2:17:33 PM

Honestly, i think Nairobi´s problem are not easy to solve. In Europe, If a city council constructs a road that passes through your door, you have to pay for that part that passes through your land,. In Kenya, Landlords are just waiting, that the gvt does everything, and in return their properties increase in value, while at the same time charging more per square metre for rent. In the end , mwanainchi is not gaining in anything
However, i think Sonko does not have the solution for Nairobi. He too seems drunk, confused and illiterate to manage Nairobi
Ngalaka
#240 Posted : Tuesday, April 24, 2018 3:42:19 PM

Meanwhile this is how they steal aka eat at City hall

Criticise Magufuli for employing these kinds of tactics but somewhat okay with Sonko doing itSad
Kusomea County Govt staff in a 'Baniani' shop.

Shop owner must be wondering auze kwanza or he should chomoa a msomo of his own to these errant fellows in solidarity with Bwana Mkubwa.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu