wazua Thu, Apr 25, 2024

Flame Tree FTGH FY17
Pesa Nane
#1 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 11:59:44 AM

Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Pesa Nane
#2 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 12:02:18 PM

NIL Divs
Fyatu
#3 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 12:25:40 PM

Asante sana.
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Pesa Nane
#4 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 12:27:21 PM

Nakumatt

[Na-ku-mat]

Word origins: Nakuru mattresses

noun
1. A group or company or thing that exterminates other businesses.

2. A group, company, person or business establishment specializing in the elimination of other businesses especially by the application swindling tactics, money laundry, lease and rent defaults etc.

The Company made significant provisions against receivables from supermarkets in Kenya that have been extremely slow to pay.
#5 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 1:22:45 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:

NIL Divs

since listing this man has given no coin to anyone
#6 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 1:45:37 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

NIL Divs

and by the trend, next year shall be no different.. he appears on @yasserlist consistently

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#7 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 3:58:19 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

NIL Divs

and by the trend, next year shall be no different.. he appears on @yasserlist consistently

When's KQ paying a dividend? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Last I read, KQ wants shareholders to give it more money [which retail shareholders should so KQ can repay loans to KQLC members] instead of paying its shareholders money!
#8 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 4:07:13 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

NIL Divs

When's KQ paying a dividend? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Last I read, KQ wants shareholders to give it more money [which retail shareholders should so KQ can repay loans to KQLC members] instead of paying its shareholders money!

Wewe mzee ni nini yakuwasha na pesa tunataka kupatia @KQ smile

#9 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 4:15:23 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:

Not a core investment [& unlikely to be one in the near future unless performance picks up substantially] but I have a few shares.
FY 2017 has been brutal for most listed (& unlisted) firms. I am glad FTGH managed to make a small profit BUT how it navigates 2018 will be key.

Many manufacturing firms reduced sales (on credit) in 2H 2017 which partially explains the drop in turnover.
Sales to Nakumatt probably went to zero in 2H.
Sales to other distributors was probably reduced (as should be) based on slow payments.
Going into the elections probably slowed down trading as banks also reduced credit.
Farming took a huge hit from the drought, elections (fears of PEV), etc

Until we, as Kenyans, realize the need to encourage local manufacturing, such will be the fate of manufacturing firms that have foreign/import competition. Local manufacturing costs due to structural deficiencies are quite high vs some countries.

FTGH needs to:
- Reduce the receivables even if it lowers the turnover [It's better to make less on reduced turnover than have customers who do not pay!] KK did that successfully e.g. not supplying a certain slow-paying airline.
- Reduce admin costs [increase efficiencies?]
- Generate cash [reduce receivables] to pay down debt.
- Develop new distribution channels [company store, direct sales, online sales]
- Apply for reduced electricity tariffs.
- Scale down acquisitions of marginal businesses

Lots of challenges:
- Higher polymer prices. Oil is at $74 (April 2018)
- Higher fuel costs
- Reduced credit for customers
- Higher electricity charges [KPLC shenanigans]
- Corruption
- Competition

Tough times ahead.
#10 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 4:28:04 PM

@vvs no difference in terms of dividend with KQ Laughing out loudly

#11 Posted : Saturday, April 21, 2018 9:49:09 PM

Just PAT Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly [And without GoK's support!]

Not a core holding.

I am not "promoting" Flame Tree to anyone. My current status is "hold" but if the 1H 2018 results aren't favorable then I might dump them and move onto something better.

One reason I bought FTGH is the CEO is a 80% owner which means he has the most at stake if FTGH flounders.
#12 Posted : Saturday, April 21, 2018 10:28:06 PM

Just PAT Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly [And without GoK's support!]

Not a core holding.

I am not "promoting" Flame Tree to anyone. My current status is "hold" but if the 1H 2018 results aren't favorable then I might dump them and move onto something better.

One reason I bought FTGH is the CEO is a 80% owner which means he has the most at stake if FTGH flounders.

Kindly inform me which counter has earned you a return of over 20% in recent times

Ericsson
#13 Posted : Sunday, April 22, 2018 10:34:52 AM

Not a core holding.

Kindly inform me which counter has earned you a return of over 20% in recent times

Very valid statement
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#14 Posted : Sunday, April 22, 2018 10:29:48 PM

Not a core holding.

Over what time period?
#15 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 7:06:34 AM

Not a core holding.

Over what time period?

Since you started trading/investing..

#16 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 7:10:36 AM

Not a core holding.

Over what time period?

Almost all but KQ and Olympia.
Ericsson
#17 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 9:22:12 AM

Not a core holding.

Over what time period?

Almost all but KQ and Olympia.

Over the past one year
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#18 Posted : Monday, April 23, 2018 11:23:15 AM

Warren Buffett: "In large part, companies obtain the shareholder constituency that they seek and deserve. If they focus their thinking and communications on short-term results or short-term stock market consequences, they will, in large part, attract shareholders who focus on the same factors."

Buffett writes that earnings gyrations "don't bother us in the least." After all, "Charlie (Munger) and I would much rather earn a lumpy 15 percent over time than a smooth 12 percent."

Buffett warns that even a great company can see its "value stagnate in the presence of hubris or of boredom that caused the attention of managers to wander." The result: A "sidetracked" leadership that "neglects its wonderful base business while purchasing other businesses that are so-so or worse."

Keeping the above in mind... [2017 was a very tough year for many of my choices]

KK [Ask @Sparkly what price we bet on and do the math + 2 dividends]
Unga [25% from 33 to 40 in 2018 after Seaboard's offer + dividend]
Equity [50% + dividends]
NIC [30%+ and dividend]
Safaricom [I got in during the #Resist period + dividend]
DTB [From Sep 2016 to Mar 2018 50%+]

Laggards in share price performance?
KenRe [but NAV has increased though Mwarania's sacking was a shocker] but I "hope" that KenRe recruits a solid (foreign) CEO with significant experience in Reinsurance.
(My) Banks: Pre-interest cap prices now coming through but they are stronger in 2018 vs 2016.
Flame Tree: [Small holding for me] FY 2017 did a number on it but 2018 might be much better.

Isn't this thread about Flame Tree?