the Kingdom of eSwatini
#21 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 6:02:02 PM

marex wrote:
kawi254 wrote:
Some small countries in Africa are not viable on their own and should be swallowed by their neighbors e.g

1. Malawi should be part of Zambia . They share similar ethnic group Chewa, Ngoni, Tonga...basically they are the same people.

2. Burundi should be taken over by Tanzania - virtually all Burundi people have been refugees in Tanzania.

3. Lesotho & Swaziland are just in some African Utopia and the sooner they become part of South Africa the better for them. Their citizens work and live in SA.

|The whole of Swaziland is in South Africa. Its like having Meru as a separate country but its within Kenya

Does size matter? Singapore is 700km2 ie 35km long and 20 km wide.That's an area like from nrb cbd to juja then down to kamulu and back to cbd. Monaco is even worse coz its just 2km2, which is like moving from central police to machakos bus station then to parliament, Serena hotel and back to central police. But these two are still viable countries, in fact very rich first world countries with some of the highest GDP. Therefore size doesn't matter but what matters is what you do. Singapore is basically a port while Monaco is a tax/moneylaundering haven. Money talks.

Monaco is independent?
#22 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 6:03:46 PM

kawi254 wrote:
Some small countries in Africa are not viable on their own and should be swallowed by their neighbors e.g

1. Malawi should be part of Zambia . They share similar ethnic group Chewa, Ngoni, Tonga...basically they are the same people.

2. Burundi should be taken over by Tanzania - virtually all Burundi people have been refugees in Tanzania.

3. Lesotho & Swaziland are just in some African Utopia and the sooner they become part of South Africa the better for them. Their citizens work and live in SA.

I vehemently disagree.. (Miguna style). Tribe is the most natural basis for nationhood. Look at European countries, they are basically tribal kingdoms like eSwatini. Once people have their own kingdoms then they can engage in cooperating with one another as equals. What you are saying has been tried before with disastrous consequences.

There was a guy called Tito who succeeded in creating one country called Yugoslavia that was made up of Serbs, Croats, Albanians, Slovenians etc. Walikosana vibaya sana. USSR survived for some 60 years before it also broke up but even for it to survive for as long as it did a lot of atrocities were committed by Stalin against small tribes. Stalin used to move whole ethnic groups from one place to another. Can you imagine all Luos being moved to Wajir or something like that.

Check out this:
https://en.wikipedia.org...fer_in_the_Soviet_Union

The more I read about these things the more I believe that Kenya even with all our bickering, tumejaribu. Wazungu just drew some lines around us and told us we are one country na tukakubali.

If you think kenyans hate each other and that we have 'tribalism' wait until you get a Serb and an Albanian in the same room or a Russian and a Georgian uone moto! Switzerland is a viable county and it's rather small. Belgium has it's own issues between the Flemish and French. Spain and Catalonia? France and corsica?
by the way Europe is full of these

The problem with Swaziland is not that it's small... it's that it's a kingdom!

I remember talking to a mzungu in the US who had a professor at her university, a whole professor in a US university which means he is not an unenlightened guy.... anyway this guy I think was a Kurd, the ones who are in Iraq, Syria and Turkey. This naive American girl who was also relatively well read at some point mistakenly called the guy Turkish and she was telling me how she could not understand how the guy kasirikad. He was so enraged, it is like she had insulted him and he went on to give her a long lecture about her ignorance. The interesting thing is the guy spoke Turkish language but felt insulted to be called Turkish. Some of these hatreds are quite interesting, at least in Kenya even a Luo and Kikuyu look different physically and speak different languages; a Palestinian and Israeli on the other hand look exactly the same and speak the the same languages but cannot agree on anything.

@Kusadikika, you think there's an absolute and objective difference between a Luo and a Kikuyu that even a Palestinian and an Israeli can observe?

And what's the probability that it's only the Kikuyus and the Luos who you know are distinguishable and many other peoples have such dichotomies but are indistinguishable?

Obviously, odds are that your world-view is fooling you.

And since you are enlightened enough to know who'd be enlightened, then clearly, there must be something wrong about our ideas of 'enlightenment'.
#23 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 6:10:46 PM

marex wrote:
kawi254 wrote:

|The whole of Swaziland is in South Africa. Its like having Meru as a separate country but its within Kenya

Does size matter? Singapore is 700km2 ie 35km long and 20 km wide.That's an area like from nrb cbd to juja then down to kamulu and back to cbd. Monaco is even worse coz its just 2km2, which is like moving from central police to machakos bus station then to parliament, Serena hotel and back to central police. But these two are still viable countries, in fact very rich first world countries with some of the highest GDP. Therefore size doesn't matter but what matters is what you do. Singapore is basically a port while Monaco is a tax/moneylaundering haven. Money talks.

Monaco is independent?

Yap. It's a sovereign independent state.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monaco
#24 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 6:13:42 PM

The Europeans are proud of their kingdoms, kings, queens, princes eg. England, Denmark, Belgium, Monaco, Spain. The same with arabs eg. Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Emirates, Oman. Also the asians eg Bhutan, Malaysia, Thailand. Let us Africans also be proud of our kings like mswati, lesotho etc. It was a big mistake for mzungu to trick/force us africans to abolish some of the major kingdoms that African had such as Zulu, Ashanti, Buganda, "Wangu wa makeri" kingdom etc while mzungu maintained his. Africans were told that it was primitive and ushenzi to continue having outdated cultures such kingdoms.

Kingdoms are the worst institutions ever!! if you only understood how difficult they made progress of these countries! They stood in the way! they were not the cause of the progress. including the English one!....
Monachies sometimes did get great Kings like Frederick the Great - and during their eras things worked! but if you ended up with dunderheads like the Ottoman King who banned printing and thus limited spread of knowledge within his kingdom and led to the utter decline of the once great Ottoman empire.

@mavegs, I always enjoy your research material so much... However, I think you misrepresented the above.

In reality, the first printing press in the Ottoman Empire dates back to the same period of that of in Europe. However, it did not gain popularity
The Ottomans knew about the printing press long before it was established on their soils. Hence, Evliya Çelebi, who was a 17th century Ottoman historian and traveler, talks about the printing press that he encountered in Vienna, as it was something familiar in his works
There were printing houses in Istanbul called "basmahane" in the 15th century. However, these printing houses were managed by Greek, Armenian and the Jewish community and they printed books in their own languages. The very first thing that the Greek printing house printed was a booklet targeting the Jews. Sultan Murad III signed a firman, an official decree, in 1587 allowing the sale of the books in Arabic, Farsi and Turkish, which were published in Europe, on Ottoman soil. Yet, the Turks did not like books that were printed in the printing houses, but rather preferred hand-written ones.

So the claims based on banning, or lack of interest to the printing press is baseless. After all, the Ottoman industrial revolution began in 17th century...

In 1798, the state founded three different printing presses, named Mühendishane, Üsküdar (Dârüttıbaa) and Takvimhane-i Âmire, which were later converted into state printing presses. During the reign of Sultan Mahmud II, religious books were allowed to be printed by printing presses.

So the banning was only on religious books. But any other subject matters were on print. Because the Ottomans knew about the printing press long before it was established on their soils.
#25 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 6:27:03 PM

kawi254 wrote:

I vehemently disagree.. (Miguna style). Tribe is the most natural basis for nationhood. Look at European countries, they are basically tribal kingdoms like eSwatini. Once people have their own kingdoms then they can engage in cooperating with one another as equals. What you are saying has been tried before with disastrous consequences.

There was a guy called Tito who succeeded in creating one country called Yugoslavia that was made up of Serbs, Croats, Albanians, Slovenians etc. Walikosana vibaya sana. USSR survived for some 60 years before it also broke up but even for it to survive for as long as it did a lot of atrocities were committed by Stalin against small tribes. Stalin used to move whole ethnic groups from one place to another. Can you imagine all Luos being moved to Wajir or something like that.

Check out this:

The more I read about these things the more I believe that Kenya even with all our bickering, tumejaribu. Wazungu just drew some lines around us and told us we are one country na tukakubali.

If you think kenyans hate each other and that we have 'tribalism' wait until you get a Serb and an Albanian in the same room or a Russian and a Georgian uone moto! Switzerland is a viable county and it's rather small. Belgium has it's own issues between the Flemish and French. Spain and Catalonia? France and corsica?

I remember talking to a mzungu in the US who had a professor at her university, a whole professor in a US university which means he is not an unenlightened guy.... anyway this guy I think was a Kurd, the ones who are in Iraq, Syria and Turkey. This naive American girl who was also relatively well read at some point mistakenly called the guy Turkish and she was telling me how she could not understand how the guy kasirikad. He was so enraged, it is like she had insulted him and he went on to give her a long lecture about her ignorance. The interesting thing is the guy spoke Turkish language but felt insulted to be called Turkish. Some of these hatreds are quite interesting, at least in Kenya even a Luo and Kikuyu look different physically and speak different languages; a Palestinian and Israeli on the other hand look exactly the same and speak the the same languages but cannot agree on anything.

@Kusadikika, you think there's an absolute and objective difference between a Luo and a Kikuyu that even a Palestinian and an Israeli can observe?

And what's the probability that it's only the Kikuyus and the Luos who you know are distinguishable and many other peoples have such dichotomies but are indistinguishable?

And since you are enlightened enough to know who'd be enlightened, then clearly, there must be something wrong about our ideas of 'enlightenment'.

@tycho I used the word enlightened loosely to mean that he would be the kind of guy having travelled far from his origin and met people from other parts of the world would be understanding of being mistaken for somebody else. Many Kenyans in the US get mistaken for Nigerians, Jamaicans and Haitians a lot. As for Luos and Kikuyu...... well do you think anybody in Kenya would mistake Robert Alai for a Kikuyu or Sabina Chege for a Luo? Other people from other parts of the world might mix them up lakini sisi tunajuana kama waswahili wa Pemba. So I guess you are right there might be a difference that a million differences in which a Palestinian can tell you he differs from an Israeli but to us looking at them they look the same.
#26 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 6:41:56 PM

kawi254 wrote:

Check out this:

@tycho I used the word enlightened loosely to mean that he would be the kind of guy having travelled far from his origin and met people from other parts of the world would be understanding of being mistaken for somebody else. Many Kenyans in the US get mistaken for Nigerians, Jamaicans and Haitians a lot. As for Luos and Kikuyu...... well do you think anybody in Kenya would mistake Robert Alai for a Kikuyu or Sabina Chege for a Luo? Other people from other parts of the world might mix them up lakini sisi tunajuana kama waswahili wa Pemba. So I guess you are right there might be a difference that a million differences in which a Palestinian can tell you he differs from an Israeli but to us looking at them they look the same.

If what you're saying is true, then how does this bias, I call it 'fallacy of paradigm' affect the statement of the main issue or substance of your post?

And don't you think that 'enlightenment' has been used with this particular fallacy at the heart of it?

I also think that there are many other issues that would need our criticism from your post. Like, 'If a and b are homogeneous then their relations must be complimentary and without acrimony'. This can't be true also.

In the end we begin to wonder what our intentions are when we use language to express ourselves.
#27 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 6:43:09 PM

kawi254 wrote:

Check out this:

@tycho I used the word enlightened loosely to mean that he would be the kind of guy having travelled far from his origin and met people from other parts of the world would be understanding of being mistaken for somebody else. Many Kenyans in the US get mistaken for Nigerians, Jamaicans and Haitians a lot. As for Luos and Kikuyu...... well do you think anybody in Kenya would mistake Robert Alai for a Kikuyu or Sabina Chege for a Luo?

Hehehe. Mzungu believes all black people are the same. But an African can tell between a Congolese, Nigerian, Kenyan. A Nigerian will further tell btw a Hausa or igbo while ghenyans will readily identify a joluo from okuyo. Mwafrika also thinks all msungus are the same. But a msungu will tell between an Irish, Scot, German, spaniard, greek or Russian. In the east Koreans, chinese, thai, filipino are also different. The world should just embrace its diversity.
#28 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 7:32:41 PM

Oooops kept on reading kingdom of swenani smile d'oh!

Na mi nasinda nikisoma 'Kingdom of Saitan'.

Ama ni vile Bishop Mukiri alikatazwa 'dirty jokes' na amekataa kusikia?

Shame on you Aliskia! Only that the flesh is weak..

#29 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 7:34:52 PM

kawi254 wrote:

Check out this:

@tycho I used the word enlightened loosely to mean that he would be the kind of guy having travelled far from his origin and met people from other parts of the world would be understanding of being mistaken for somebody else. Many Kenyans in the US get mistaken for Nigerians, Jamaicans and Haitians a lot. As for Luos and Kikuyu...... well do you think anybody in Kenya would mistake Robert Alai for a Kikuyu or Sabina Chege for a Luo?

Hehehe. Mzungu believes all black people are the same. But an African can tell between a Congolese, Nigerian, Kenyan. A Nigerian will further tell btw a Hausa or igbo while ghenyans will readily identify a joluo from okuyo. Mwafrika also thinks all msungus are the same. But a msungu will tell between an Irish, Scot, German, spaniard, greek or Russian. In the east Koreans, chinese, thai, filipino are also different. The world should just embrace its diversity.

Yes but you don't take offence when mislabed -sio?
#30 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 8:10:35 PM

kawi254 wrote:

Check out this:

Once huko majuu a msungu couldn't understand why me, a black Kenyan and a Senegalese couldn't communicate and needed a translator.
#31 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 8:43:51 PM

kawi254 wrote:

Check out this:

Once huko majuu a msungu couldn't understand why me, a black Kenyan and a Senegalese couldn't communicate and needed a translator.

You mean both of you didn't speak Afrikaans? Laughing out loudly
#32 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 8:51:15 PM

So I guess you are right there might be a difference that a million differences in which a Palestinian can tell you he differs from an Israeli but to us looking at them they look the same.

not always straightforward
kawi254
#33 Posted : Saturday, April 21, 2018 7:50:36 PM

So I guess you are right there might be a difference that a million differences in which a Palestinian can tell you he differs from an Israeli but to us looking at them they look the same.

not always straightforward

Pre-colonisation tribes inter-married a lot with their neighbors e.g Kikuyus with Maasai, Kalenjin and GEMA . In most towns the lasses from the Mountain are very popular with the guys from the Lake side and children are born of this relationships and if this kids are raised by single mothers they end up being "from the mountain". My point, the kikuyu (and most of our tribe's DNA) is not pure. Very soon you will start seeing Wanjiku's with well endowed behinds and an Akinyi with hockey stick legs.
Realtreaty
#34 Posted : Saturday, April 21, 2018 9:28:57 PM

#35 Posted : Monday, April 30, 2018 9:44:43 PM

To me that's exactly what democracy is - an experiment! a series of experiments. you try something - it works.. great! it doesn't - you try again next time. it's strength is that it has a fallback mechanism. You may end up chosing Trump but unlike the Kings of Old who you had to wait until they die and a 'good' king shows up - you can correct yourselves at the ballot.

Long live the king!
#36 Posted : Saturday, May 12, 2018 12:04:18 AM

#37 Posted : Saturday, May 12, 2018 11:32:54 AM

To me that's exactly what democracy is - an experiment! a series of experiments. you try something - it works.. great! it doesn't - you try again next time. it's strength is that it has a fallback mechanism. You may end up chosing Trump but unlike the Kings of Old who you had to wait until they die and a 'good' king shows up - you can correct yourselves at the ballot.

Long live the king!

I thought it is the parent's role to feed his/her children and not the gov't or mswati.
#38 Posted : Saturday, May 12, 2018 12:25:32 PM

Long live the king!

I thought it is the parent's role to feed his/her children and not the gov't or mswati.

yes - of course! but as I told you before monarchies are some of the worst institutions because they do not set an equal and predictable way for 'subjects' to engage in meaningful work. Private property is a myth in these states. Swaziland belongs to Mswati and he can take whatever he feels is working for himself or give it to anyone he pleases - when he pleases. This creates a culture of just doing the minimum needed and in these kinds of countries people end up doing nothing. Think of Kenya in the 80s but worse! When the threat of 'utanyanganywa na Moi or Biwott' was rampant but now... even worse! The only way to 'hack it' in this type of society is cronyism and patronage. Relationships matter...